Astro B.yond V4.1, WELCOME TO THE NEW WORLD OF HD

eMKs
post May 19 2010, 09:26 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ May 19 2010, 08:57 AM)
so, I can't use my external HDD with Byond... like that?  ohmy.gif

You bought it too early. We still don't know how PVR in byond will work & if there is any additional charge. It's still in testing stage, how about if the testing found a lot of bugs? You will be disappointed it will not come out by this month. Not to let you down, I just prepare for the worst laugh.gif
btw you can use your HDD for other purpose as well icon_rolleyes.gif
THEALB10N
post May 19 2010, 10:31 AM

246 posts

Will the beyond box be able to record 2 channels simultaneously, or at least record 1 while you watch another?

If not its a real step down from the astro max STB.

Also, does anyone else get annoyed when you are reading the info on the EPG and it just disappears? How can you get the EPG to stay up?
AjkR06
post May 19 2010, 10:44 AM

that's me
1,552 posts

QUOTE(THEALB10N @ May 19 2010, 10:31 AM)
Will the beyond box be able to record 2 channels simultaneously, or at least record 1 while you watch another?

Also, does anyone else get annoyed when you are reading the info on the EPG and it just disappears? How can you get the EPG to stay up?
unfortunately, byond will only allow u to record the channel that you're currently watching.... rolleyes.gif
byond only have one tuner, but max have 2 tuners...
konglw
post May 19 2010, 10:50 AM

Hi All,
I'm new to this forum and need to share my problem on B'yond decoder. I have encountered on numerous occasion where the B'yond decoder shuts down automatically during usage.
Has anyone encounterd similar problem?

liverpool red
post May 19 2010, 11:04 AM

I see stars
1,437 posts

Have just called astro to subscribe byond icon_idea.gif

Hopefully it can be installed within the ten working days as they claim, need it for world cup drool.gif
eMKs
post May 19 2010, 11:38 AM

647 posts

You can set banner time. Default is 10s, not sure the maximum, will check it later.
Alternatively, you can press tv button. It will stay there until you exit smile.gif
AjkR06
post May 19 2010, 11:46 AM

that's me
1,552 posts

QUOTE(eMKs @ May 19 2010, 09:26 AM)
You bought it too early. We still don't know how PVR in byond will work & if there is any additional charge. It's still in testing stage, how about if the testing found a lot of bugs? You will be disappointed it will not come out by this month. Not to let you down, I just prepare for the worst  laugh.gif
btw you can use your HDD for other purpose as well  icon_rolleyes.gif
yes, it's my own mistakes cry.gif . Bought that HDD too early. It was the promotion actually when yesterday, I accompany my friend to the computer shop, then I saw they are doing monthly promotion ( i think that's the stock clearance promotion).., 320GB Buffalo external HDD for just RM180. biggrin.gif
so now, I'm just using that external HDD to backup all my files, movies, mp3 so on from my main HDD. But i really hope that I can use ot with Byond in future time...

Added on May 19, 2010, 11:50 am
QUOTE(digilife @ May 19 2010, 09:14 AM)
Buffalo external HDD hav 2 types,
its stated on the box, either it hav Turbo speed data transfer or otherwise
i bot the turbo one but the turbo mode cannot run on HD Media player, meaning Byond also wont be able to run tat, IMHO tongue.gif
you make the early conclusion.... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by AjkR06: May 19 2010, 11:50 AM
writesimply
post May 19 2010, 12:14 PM

934 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ May 19 2010, 02:15 AM)
And the conclusion is...? hmm.gif

My conclusion for widescreen SD transmission is this: Astro will not do it until more than 60% of their subscribers have HDTVs. By which time, the same number would have already migrated to B.yond, or are forced to upgrade if Astro wants to migrate to H.264 codec for all of their transmissions.

Judging from the sale of VCDs which is still fairly significant, TV owners in Malaysia are mostly 4:3 CRT SDTVs. They don't see the value of DVDs - which most often has anamorphic video - so they also won't see the value of widescreen SD transmission. When they DO get a HDTV, THEN they'll demand for it.

But as I said earlier, by which time HD channels will be the default and SD channels are provided free or at minimal costs.

QUOTE(johnny82 @ May 19 2010, 07:41 AM)
i thought astro enable the sd to be displayed widescreen ? the picture do looked stretched tho..still it looks ok to me after a while.. haha

You're talking about the B.yond function with regards to SD channels. What we were talking about is widescreen SD transmission where the video is actually anamorphic video like what is on anamorphic DVDs.

You can still get the aspect ratio of SD channels correct using the aspect ratio function on B.yond. But you'd have to use your TV remote as well. First, enable the zoom function on B.yond; this will stretch the video. Second, use the Zoom function on your TV to squash it back to the correct aspect ratio; use a channel like Discovery, NGC or History to make the adjustments. BE MINDFUL that the non-anamorphic widescreen programs do not have the same aspect ratio. Some are correct 16:9 while others are more zoomed in; for example some of the programs on Star World like Mercy and Trauma.

fuad

This post has been edited by writesimply: May 19 2010, 12:22 PM
Qash-M
post May 19 2010, 12:31 PM

#FreePalestine
6,104 posts

I always thought that Astro H.264 migration is more advance than Japan MPEG2 codecs, yet Japan have more HD channel. cool.gif
THEALB10N
post May 19 2010, 01:14 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(writesimply @ May 19 2010, 12:14 PM)
My conclusion for widescreen SD transmission is this: Astro will not do it until more than 60% of their subscribers have HDTVs. By which time, the same number would have already migrated to B.yond, or are forced to upgrade if Astro wants to migrate to H.264 codec for all of their transmissions.

Judging from the sale of VCDs which is still fairly significant, TV owners in Malaysia are mostly 4:3 CRT SDTVs. They don't see the value of DVDs - which most often has anamorphic video - so they also won't see the value of widescreen SD transmission. When they DO get a HDTV, THEN they'll demand for it.

But as I said earlier, by which time HD channels will be the default and SD channels are provided free or at minimal costs.

You're talking about the B.yond function with regards to SD channels. What we were talking about is widescreen SD transmission where the video is actually anamorphic video like what is on anamorphic DVDs.

You can still get the aspect ratio of SD channels correct using the aspect ratio function on B.yond. But you'd have to use your TV remote as well. First, enable the zoom function on B.yond; this will stretch the video. Second, use the Zoom function on your TV to squash it back to the correct aspect ratio; use a channel like Discovery, NGC or History to make the adjustments. BE MINDFUL that the non-anamorphic widescreen programs do not have the same aspect ratio. Some are correct 16:9 while others are more zoomed in; for example some of the programs on Star World like Mercy and Trauma.
fuad
Interesting.

Back in the UK, you set your STB to the screen format you have i.e. 4:3 or 16:9. The STB then either displays the channel in its native 16:9 format, or crops it (i.e. what Astro does) to the 4:3 format for normal TVs.

Surely this would be the best solution, as 4:3 SDTV owners would get to watch channels as they currenty are displayed, and 16:9 SD and HD owners would be able to watch the channels in their native format. Neither TV owner would then have a stretched picture or black bars on the screen biggrin.gif

Food for thought.

Added on May 19, 2010, 1:18 pm
QUOTE(AjkR06 @ May 19 2010, 10:44 AM)
unfortunately, byond will only allow u to record the channel that you're currently watching....  rolleyes.gif
Oh dear sad.gif

I hope they release an STB that has 2 tuners in the future! (They'll probably charge for it).

This post has been edited by THEALB10N: May 19 2010, 01:18 PM
TSapexg2
post May 19 2010, 02:30 PM

Lotus F1 Fans..haha
1,241 posts

QUOTE(konglw @ May 19 2010, 10:50 AM)
Hi All,
I'm new to this forum and need to share my problem on B'yond decoder. I have encountered on numerous occasion where the B'yond decoder shuts down automatically during usage.
Has anyone encounterd similar problem?
i think u should contact astro cs 4 ur case... wink.gif
dxjb
post May 19 2010, 03:23 PM

807 posts

QUOTE(eMKs @ May 19 2010, 11:38 AM)
You can set banner time. Default is 10s, not sure the maximum, will check it later.
Alternatively, you can press tv button. It will stay there until you exit  smile.gif
Actually, the default is 5 seconds and the maximum is 10 seconds..

This post has been edited by dxjb: May 19 2010, 03:25 PM
klseet
post May 19 2010, 03:34 PM

130 posts

Wah, only away for 1 week+ and now grow another 20 pages, did I miss out something important or interesting blink.gif
Any update on the Astro recording function ?

When I heard we lost Thomas cup straight 3-0 to China, quite sad la .... friends were telling me we have tons of supporters in stadium and our players did played to their best, but those China players are equally strong ....

Hmmm, just wonder how was the Thomas Astro Super Sport HD? Was told not that smooth, why ?

Now looking forward to the Worldcup, hope will be in town to enjoy nod.gif

Added on May 19, 2010, 3:43 pm
QUOTE(writesimply @ May 19 2010, 12:14 PM)

fuad
Actually I did ask similar question before about native 4:3 aspect being stretched into 16:9 format, apparently Astro does not have any option to allow us to set display 4:3 aspect format for those SD channels, neither does the Astro remote has the function to adjust it when switching between HD & SD channel.

Honestly, I personally don't like to watch 4:3 being stretched into 16:9, it become SSFF (Short-Short-Fat-Fat), so I have to use the TV remote to adjust aspect ratio display, this is something I personally find it troublesome la... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by klseet: May 19 2010, 03:45 PM
AjkR06
post May 19 2010, 04:08 PM

that's me
1,552 posts

Honestly, I personally don't like to watch 4:3 being stretched into 16:9, it become SSFF

I also don't really like to watch 4:3 videos stretched into 16:9
When I watch TV, I always set SD channel to Pillarbox, but unfortunately the rest of my family did not like Pillarbox.
They keep said that "pillarbox" make the screen smaller. Yes, that's true since we're just using the 37" inch LCD. I don't really care about that since I don;t like to see the people become stretched and the actor on the TV will become short and fat. Thank God, that we can set the aspect ratio option by just pressing the button on the remote.
So, when I watching TV, I will set to pillarbox, and when my family watching TV, they will set to fit-to-screen. But default setting is fit-to-screen tongue.gif

This post has been edited by AjkR06: May 19 2010, 04:10 PM
enriquelee
post May 19 2010, 04:16 PM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,510 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ May 19 2010, 10:44 AM)
unfortunately, byond will only allow u to record the channel that you're currently watching....  rolleyes.gif
This is crap. Eveybody go more and more advance everyday. But Astro make the other way round.
dxjb
post May 19 2010, 04:54 PM

807 posts

is there any other way that astro can adjust the software or something so that we can watch one channel and record another?
Instead of issuing a new decoder that has 2 tuners..
I mean is there no other way to replace the missing 2 tuners bit still have the same ability?

Either the person at astro who came up with the one tuner decoder now is DUMB or BRILLIANT as Astro could issue a decoder with 2 tuners at a cost..
My guess is the latter scenario..
art6969
post May 19 2010, 05:24 PM

1,518 posts

once more time

still waiting.....user posted image
minimize
post May 19 2010, 07:40 PM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(THEALB10N @ May 19 2010, 01:14 PM)
Back in the UK, you set your STB to the screen format you have i.e. 4:3 or 16:9. The STB then either displays the channel in its native 16:9 format, or crops it (i.e. what Astro does) to the 4:3 format for normal TVs.

Surely this would be the best solution, as 4:3 SDTV owners would get to watch channels as they currenty are displayed, and 16:9 SD and HD owners would be able to watch the channels in their native format. Neither TV owner would then have a stretched picture or black bars on the screen biggrin.gif
Astro should follow this step..

Added on May 19, 2010, 7:45 pm
QUOTE(art6969 @ May 19 2010, 05:24 PM)
once more time
still waiting.....user posted image
I want this user posted image

This post has been edited by minimize: May 19 2010, 07:45 PM
art6969
post May 19 2010, 07:58 PM

1,518 posts

QUOTE(minimize @ May 19 2010, 07:40 PM)
Astro should follow this step..

Added on May 19, 2010, 7:45 pm
I want this user posted image
hopefully ananda kristnan read our thread here
whatsupbro
post May 19 2010, 08:04 PM

~Musician wannabe~
1,952 posts

we want em all... but sadly we'll never get em all.. well at least not for another 10 years or so... biggrin.gif

Recording function.... dun really care that much.. New HD channel is much more important... Hahaha...

108 Pages « < 72 73 74 75 76 > » Top

0.0305sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:31 PM