Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V4, Latest:NO cap 4 unifi packages 4 now ^_^
geekster129
Mar 28 2010, 01:54 PM
Well, you have to understand that the Internet bandwidth operates in "tiers". So, there will be one supplier with one big fat backbone, and then sells to ISPs around the world, then each ISPs get a few slices, depending on the contract, and then with that few slices, it will be further divided either to the consumers, or continue to resell to an even smaller ISPs.
xpresside
Mar 28 2010, 01:55 PM
QUOTE(cyclonekid @ Mar 28 2010, 01:20 PM) I've been reading this thread since it started. They are comparing services from SG and MY. Well im currently in NZ for another 3 years and I think UniFi is better than any service over here.(besides the cap) Internet over here is very fast but damn expensive. Im paying RM 250 for 10mbps with only a 30GB package. If I pass my 30gb I need to pay RM5 for every GB I pass. Sigh... malaysians are used to being pampered with no cap. i was in aussie, adsl+ internode also got cap. each month 100+ aud i think. compare sg and malaysia like compare peanut to watermelon
Aggroboy
Mar 28 2010, 02:01 PM
Even American DSL can be pretty crap and expensive, at least in California.
They also have regional monopolies, so it's hard to get more than one decent ISP in one area.
cyclonekid
Mar 28 2010, 02:02 PM
QUOTE(xpresside @ Mar 28 2010, 01:55 PM) malaysians are used to being pampered with no cap. i was in aussie, adsl+ internode also got cap. each month 100+ aud i think. compare sg and malaysia like compare peanut to watermelon I agree. I've stop calculating in MYR. Just bare with it. Im also a massive downloader. But now have to calculate every month so I dont go overboard. TM should make this packages cheap. And charge RM 1 for every GB people go overboard without compromising the speed (Like over here). That way everyone can enjoy the package and those who love downloading should pay extra for the services. IMO...
dr2k3
Mar 28 2010, 02:13 PM
QUOTE(xpresside @ Mar 28 2010, 01:55 PM) malaysians are used to being pampered with no cap. i was in aussie, adsl+ internode also got cap. each month 100+ aud i think. compare sg and malaysia like compare peanut to watermelon maybe u all just too rich or dont bother or ur ISP is just taking advantage of you and u guys just keep quiet in taiwan where even free stuff shrink by 1cm they will shout on media and consumer sue company if their price is unreasonable(even with black and white contract)....police didnt do their job properly lead to property dmg/financial lost....they can sue government for compensation(wonder when will this happen in our country)...their 10mbs only 30 to 6x RINGGITMALAYSIA This post has been edited by dr2k3: Mar 28 2010, 02:21 PM
silverhawk
Mar 28 2010, 02:23 PM
Eyes on Target
QUOTE(dr2k3 @ Mar 28 2010, 01:48 PM) ur priority make sense.... they r giving one cake to too many people......still we pay for only a portion of the cake..not the whole whole cake(whole dedicated 1mb "pipeline" = 2-3k)(true 1mb or whatever mb dedicated lease line is 20 times more than what u are currently paying)...thats why we have 25:1 contention ratio....they split the cost between 25 end user so it seems slightly affordable to consumer You guys still don't understand the analogy >"< We are paying for cakes, because they advertise it as such. We are not paying for bites. If a cake is 1mbps, then a slice is something like 256kbps or something and a bite something like 56k  (which is what we get with streamyx sometimes). If they advertised that we're paying for bites and if they have extra cakes we can have it(off-peak limits), then no one would be complaining. However they want to market it enticingly, yet don't want to deliver on promises.
dr2k3
Mar 28 2010, 02:28 PM
QUOTE(silverhawk @ Mar 28 2010, 02:23 PM) You guys still don't understand the analogy >"< We are paying for cakes, because they advertise it as such. We are not paying for bites. If a cake is 1mbps, then a slice is something like 256kbps or something and a bite something like 56k  (which is what we get with streamyx sometimes). If they advertised that we're paying for bites and if they have extra cakes we can have it(off-peak limits), then no one would be complaining. However they want to market it enticingly, yet don't want to deliver on promises. it just your perception that ur paying for whole 1mb or maybe they advertise wrongly.....it did state it will go up to 1mb for the amount you pay....and it did(1 bite/taste of 1mb already =P)....but didnt say anything about 24/7 1mb...=p i know what u mean lol~ This post has been edited by dr2k3: Mar 28 2010, 02:32 PM
Aggroboy
Mar 28 2010, 02:31 PM
I don't know why you guys are clinging so tightly to the false advertizing argument.
Every company advertizes bombastically and overpromises anyways, my current employer won't get projects at all if they don't overpromise.
dr2k3
Mar 28 2010, 02:34 PM
consumer in our country is too quiet...just let ppl take advantage....we actually have the right to sue the company for false advertisement
silverhawk
Mar 28 2010, 02:39 PM
Eyes on Target
QUOTE(Aggroboy @ Mar 28 2010, 02:31 PM) I don't know why you guys are clinging so tightly to the false advertizing argument. Every company advertizes bombastically and overpromises anyways, my current employer won't get projects at all if they don't overpromise. Doesn't make it right. I don't over-promise when doing projects, and my clients like us because of that, they know exactly what to expect and exactly what they are paying for.Its the same with other services, and the best service to look at is web hosting companies. Many advertise unlimited, but you are actually limited. Which is why I rather pay for a service where I know how much I'm getting. Rather than unlimited but limit me when I use 2GB or something.
lalala_lalala
Mar 28 2010, 02:42 PM

the best solution for them is to cut the price half and maintain the cap...
if overlimit just pay more instead of reducing the speed rate...
dr2k3
Mar 28 2010, 02:43 PM
QUOTE(Aggroboy @ Mar 28 2010, 02:31 PM) I don't know why you guys are clinging so tightly to the false advertizing argument. Every company advertizes bombastically and overpromises anyways, my current employer won't get projects at all if they don't overpromise. i was wondering how ur employer survive all this year.... promise 2 but give 1?thats call cheating... no ppl sue ur employer?
Maxieos
Mar 28 2010, 02:56 PM
can home user apply for the unlimited business ?
This post has been edited by Maxieos: Mar 28 2010, 02:57 PM
dr2k3
Mar 28 2010, 02:58 PM
QUOTE(Maxieos @ Mar 28 2010, 02:56 PM) can home user apply for the unlimited business ? no....u need to register for a company first
mylinear
Mar 28 2010, 03:25 PM
QUOTE(cyclonekid @ Mar 28 2010, 01:20 PM) I've been reading this thread since it started. They are comparing services from SG and MY. Well im currently in NZ for another 3 years and I think UniFi is better than any service over here.(besides the cap) Internet over here is very fast but damn expensive. Im paying RM 250 for 10mbps with only a 30GB package. If I pass my 30gb I need to pay RM5 for every GB I pass. Sigh... When you want to do comparisons like this, you need to take into consideration the product or service and many other factors. You do not just look at prices andconvert the prices and and compare. For example, a meal at McD's in SG may cost SGD10, in MY may cost RM10, in NZ may cost NZ10. You cannot convert in this case and say one is cheaper than the other. Because meeals are produced locally with local employees etc etc. These sort of things are related to local earning power. Lets say you have a product from US costing USD100. In SG it may cost SGD140, in MY it may cost RM340. The figures will be different based on forex rates, taxes etc etc. Now say the company in MY is selling that for RM640 instead of RM340. Then you can say that the local company is overcharging because if you go to SG and get it and convert the SG price, it won't come to as much as RM640.
xpresside
Mar 28 2010, 05:22 PM
QUOTE(dr2k3 @ Mar 28 2010, 02:13 PM) maybe u all just too rich or dont bother or ur ISP is just taking advantage of you and u guys just keep quiet in taiwan where even free stuff shrink by 1cm they will shout on media and consumer sue company if their price is unreasonable(even with black and white contract)....police didnt do their job properly lead to property dmg/financial lost....they can sue government for compensation(wonder when will this happen in our country)...their 10mbs only 30 to 6x RINGGITMALAYSIA u dun like u dun have to use it. simple right? they are not forcing u to apply hsbb
silverhawk
Mar 28 2010, 05:27 PM
Eyes on Target
QUOTE(xpresside @ Mar 28 2010, 05:22 PM) u dun like u dun have to use it. simple right? they are not forcing u to apply hsbb Which is the whole point of the boycott. I can get it, but not going to get it and advocate others to do the same so that in the end, we all get an overall better experience.
almaty
Mar 28 2010, 05:41 PM
cant debate with theses people mate, dont waste your breath. "tak suka keluar, takde orang pakse" one day in the future, and i know it will happen. when i can go to eg. http://www.adsl2exchanges.com.au/and check which isp/telco serves my exchange and pick from their service offerings. i can pick this isp for my internet needs, that telco/isp for my voip and my number remains the same. that will be the future. i hope it comes sooner than later.
rushmode
Mar 28 2010, 06:08 PM

i dunno whether i want to boikot unifi or not but now i am certain that it will available in my place on Q3 as promised because there's literally a few banglas on the street in front of my house pulling fibers with huge "tm jalur lebar" signboard.
i will not subscribe to the stupidly expensive unifi in this near future but good to know there's option if i ever consider to upgrade my very old streamyx acc. would be nicer if there's a few more broadband providers as an options. BPL maybe..
silverhawk
Mar 28 2010, 06:11 PM
Eyes on Target
QUOTE(rushmode @ Mar 28 2010, 06:08 PM) i dunno whether i want to boikot unifi or not but now i am certain that it will available in my place on Q3 as promised because there's literally a few banglas on the street in front of my house pulling fibers with huge "tm jalur lebar" signboard. i will not subscribe to the stupidly expensive unifi in this near future but good to know there's option if i ever consider to upgrade my very old streamyx acc. would be nicer if there's a few more broadband providers as an options. BPL maybe.. Its not available for a lot of people yet, but the question is. If it was available to you now, do you think the packages are fair for the price? If not, what would you like to see changed until you are willing to pay? The whole point of the boycott is so that tmnet sees that there's opposition to their plans, and revise them to make it more fair to consumers. So if you can't get it now, but show that even when you can, you won't, then tmnet would be more likely to revise their plans, so when it does become available to you, you'll have a plan you like and can upgrade to it