125 Pages « < 102 103 104 105 106 > » Bottom

REIT V2, Real Estate Investment Trust

debbieyss
post May 17 2011, 05:45 PM

Look at all my stars! I want to be a SUPERSTAR!
4,458 posts

QUOTE(Veda @ May 17 2011, 05:43 PM)
Yes, economic crisis appears to come in 10 or 11 year cycles.

However, stock markets do not only crash according to this cycle.

I was just a kid then, but I believe the Malaysian stock prices also went down badly in 1993 or 94 and around 2000?
So, when is your next estimated crisis then? brows.gif
Veda
post May 17 2011, 05:45 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ May 17 2011, 04:13 PM)
I am very surprise to see some people actually wishing for another crisis to come just because they want to buy something stocks that give yield of 12-13%?! What are they thinking?! They prefer to lose their jobs to buy some stocks giving them yield of 12-13%? LOL!  moneyflies.gif  bye.gif
rclxs0.gif   cheers.gif
I do not want a crisis just yet ..... at least not this year or next ........... but if it does come, I am not the least afraid of losing my job.

Added on May 17, 2011, 5:49 pm
QUOTE(debbieyss @ May 17 2011, 05:45 PM)
So, when is your next estimated crisis then?  brows.gif
Nobody knows. No use trying to time the market. Just be prepared at all times.

This post has been edited by Veda: May 17 2011, 05:49 PM
Muliku
post May 17 2011, 06:12 PM

274 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ May 17 2011, 05:45 PM)
So, when is your next estimated crisis then?  brows.gif
some would trade reit i.e. buy when mkt dips and sell after reaching their target, then repeat
some would collect reit when mkt dips and reinvest divvy when mkt dips again

just for fun reading only
large asteroid passing near earth on 08.11.11 http://neo.jpl.nasa.gov/news/news171.html
conspiracy theory linking to 11.11.11 some1's favourite numbers?? tongue.gif
ooph OTT liao

TScherroy
post May 17 2011, 09:34 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Veda @ May 17 2011, 05:43 PM)
Yes, economic crisis appears to come in 10 or 11 year cycles.

However, stock markets do not only crash according to this cycle.

I was just a kid then, but I believe the Malaysian stock prices also went down badly in 1993 or 94 and around 2000?
KLSE suffer major setback on 1994, after super mega bull run.
1997 Asian financial crisis. (This could be once in our life-time), nothing to cheer about this one, lot of company went burst.
2001-2002 mini dip
2008 308 political Tsunami

No matter how, you don't wish it to happen.
You may see it as big opportunity when looking back.
But when you are dealing at that time, there were lot of uncertainty factors, which listed company can go burst or in trouble.

It is easy for anyone to look back and comment, but at actual time particular time, you never know the market or your specific stock can recover, or burst.
There are stocks that still not recover from 1994, 1997, even until now, and some already missing on the board.

HJebat
post May 17 2011, 09:53 PM

1,035 posts

I am very surprised to see some senior member actually don't know that we live our own life, and not other people's life. We live on our own expectation & not others'. One man's meat is another man's poison. One Junior Member's wish is another Senior Member's nightmare!

If we want to lose our job, it's our business & our life! If we want 30% yield, it's our expectation. So? What were they thinking?! They think they're so senior that they are highly respected & work for Welfare Department. There's a need to become busy-body & take care of every citizens' welfare. LOL!

Self-employed welfare department senior member also afraid of losing job laugh.gif Why? Not smart enough to play? Oh, i get it...Malaysia's share market is too tough. No worries, can always play Monopoly. Not smart enough? Ok, la...go play guli cool2.gif
rclxs0.gif bye.gif moneyflies.gif
Veda
post May 18 2011, 04:51 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ May 17 2011, 09:34 PM)
KLSE suffer major setback on 1994, after super mega bull run.
1997 Asian financial crisis. (This could be once in our life-time), nothing to cheer about this one, lot of company went burst.
2001-2002 mini dip
2008 308 political Tsunami

No matter how, you don't wish it to happen.
You may see it as big opportunity when looking back.
But when you are dealing at that time, there were lot of uncertainty factors, which listed company can go burst or in trouble.

It is easy for anyone to look back and comment, but at actual time particular time, you never know the market or your specific stock can recover, or burst.
There are stocks that still not recover from 1994, 1997, even until now, and some already missing on the board.
I don't think it's a matter of wish or don't wish. If we live for 45 more years, we will no doubt experience at least a dozen more stock market crashes and 3-5 economic crises. Anyway, I've experienced bad, traumatic times in my life and a mere economic crisis will not shake me smile.gif
TScherroy
post May 18 2011, 04:59 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Veda @ May 18 2011, 04:51 PM)
I don't think it's a matter of wish or don't wish. If we live for 45 more years, we will no doubt experience at least a dozen more stock market crashes and 3-5 economic crises. Anyway, I've experienced bad, traumatic times in my life and a mere economic crisis will not shake me  smile.gif
I don't think I have 45 more years... biggrin.gif
So less stock market crash scene for me may be. tongue.gif laugh.gif

Actually live through a crisis, is a valuable experience, which can be beneficiary for future.
wongmunkeong
post May 18 2011, 05:13 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ May 18 2011, 04:59 PM)
I don't think I have 45 more years...  biggrin.gif
So less stock market crash scene for me may be.  tongue.gif  laugh.gif

Actually live through a crisis, is a valuable experience, which can be beneficiary for future.
What doesn't kill U, makes U stronger?
Sometimes, when actually GOING THROUGH it, U may wish it kills U OR U may have an out of body experience tongue.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: May 18 2011, 05:13 PM
HJebat
post May 18 2011, 08:26 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ May 17 2011, 07:11 AM)
Heheh - my apologies HJebat. I track my investments in "net profit/loss" form, thus i disregard the gross DY%, not in my pocket = waffor, gimme false hope only that stats  sweat.gif
wong, how do you calculate your "net profit/loss"?
& why do you put up that...that, apa nama that " " thing har? doh.gif telinga ka?

QUOTE(Currylaksa @ May 17 2011, 09:39 AM)
To get that kind of yields, you need to invest near to historical low.

For some of those REITs, it's when they first dropped post-IPO... now lambat liao rclxub.gif
QUOTE(cherroy @ May 17 2011, 01:48 PM)
If you able find a 12-13% yield in current bullish market, then better be careful.
It could be too good to be true...  tongue.gif

Market is somehow got its own efficient, they don't wait for you to buy 12-13% yield good investment.
Guys, that's why sometimes i bang my head on the keyboard; because i let that extraordinary moment to slip off doh.gif
If you were me, how are you going to react?
You know that early teens yield are a rare occasion for reit & that opportunity wouldn't wait for you.
But on the other hand, you have no prior knowledge about reit.
So, do you give it a pass while you equip yourself with enough info?
Or just grab that opportunity while it's still available?
TScherroy
post May 18 2011, 09:12 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ May 18 2011, 08:26 PM)
Guys, that's why sometimes i bang my head on the keyboard; because i let that extraordinary moment to slip off doh.gif
If you were me, how are you going to react?
You know that early teens yield are a rare occasion for reit & that opportunity wouldn't wait for you.
But on the other hand, you have no prior knowledge about reit.
So, do you give it a pass while you equip yourself with enough info?
Or just grab that opportunity while it's still available?
My advice is always the same.
Don't know/understand, do not invest.

How do you ensure the reit won't go burst during bad time or when the yield is teen number time?
You/we don't know.
There were well known reit in overseas went burst during the global crisis time, and never recover until now.

Opportunity is always there, you don't need to buy at the bottom to make money.
You may miss the opportunity to make 50%, 80%, 100% return, but if well equiped yourself, and invest wisely, getting a 10%, 15%, 20% return also very good.

While if invest wrongly, money burned resulted in little capital left, which eventually you lose many many more opportunity in the future as stock market is
no capital, no talk.
HJebat
post May 18 2011, 10:21 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ May 18 2011, 09:12 PM)
My advice is always the same.
Don't know/understand, do not invest.

How do you ensure the reit won't go burst during bad time or when the yield is teen number time?
You/we don't know.
There were well known reit in overseas went burst during the global crisis time, and never recover until now.

Opportunity is always there, you don't need to buy at the bottom to make money.
You may miss the opportunity to make 50%, 80%, 100% return, but if well equiped yourself, and invest wisely, getting a 10%, 15%, 20% return also very good.

While if invest wrongly, money burned resulted in little capital left, which eventually you lose many many more opportunity in the future as stock market is
no capital, no talk.
Ooo...so my thumb-sucking activity is correct, eh? biggrin.gif
Even almost after 3 years since the crisis, i'm still in beginner level sweat.gif
But when the next crisis come along, i know i'm more well-equipped than before thumbup.gif
Thanks, cherroy...for advice & infos rclxms.gif
wongmunkeong
post May 19 2011, 07:56 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

HJebat, my calc of per transaction's net profit / loss, even if still held (thus pre-calculated), assumes:

Current Closing Price (or selling price if i just sold)
+ Dividends Received

Less Costs:
Purchase cost
Selling Cost (pre-calculated)

and divided into 364.25 days pa of time between purchase and selling to get XX%pa profit/loss

The ears? "" - i like ears, nice to hold, especially beautiful women's tongue.gif
Seriously though, i put "" as it's my personal definition of net profit / loss, even if still held. Some people tracks net profit / loss held without including the cost IF sold now. I'm more pessimistic that way brows.gif
HJebat
post May 19 2011, 11:34 AM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ May 19 2011, 07:56 AM)
HJebat, my calc of per transaction's net profit / loss, even if still held (thus pre-calculated), assumes:

Current Closing Price (or selling price if i just sold)
+ Dividends Received

Less Costs:
  Purchase cost
  Selling Cost (pre-calculated)

and divided into 364.25 days pa of time between purchase and selling to get XX%pa profit/loss

The ears? "" - i like ears, nice to hold, especially beautiful women's  tongue.gif
Seriously though, i put "" as it's my personal definition of net profit / loss, even if still held. Some people tracks net profit / loss held without including the cost IF sold now. I'm more pessimistic that way  brows.gif
I can't get the bolded part...

Current closing price + Dividends : RM2.25
Less costs : RM1.55
Bought in 2008 & assume that i sell in 2011.
How do i do the math when i reach the bolded part? hmm.gif
wongmunkeong
post May 19 2011, 12:20 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ May 19 2011, 11:34 AM)
I can't get the bolded part...

Current closing price + Dividends : RM2.25
Less costs : RM1.55
Bought in 2008 & assume that i sell in 2011.
How do i do the math when i reach the bolded part? hmm.gif
To be clearer, i'll use the example below. Your data needs to be more specific in terms of Dividend amount, date bought (2008 isn't a date, it's a year), date sold tongue.gif

Eg.
Bought: 1/1/2008
Bought at $1
Units: 3,000

Dividends: $0.10 single tier

Sold: 30/06/2009
Sold at $1.20
Units: 3,000

a. Cost of Purchase = ($1 * 3,000) +brokerage +stamp duty
I'll assume here that Cost of Purchase = $3,043

b. BEP = Cost of purchase - Net Dividend received, say $3,043 - $300 = $2,743

c. Net Profit = Sales - (brokerage + stamp duty) - BEP,
say $3,600 -$21 -$2,743 = $836

Thus the pa% returns calculation based on the above (in Excel formula) would be:
((BEP +Net Profit) / BEP) ^(1 / (Date Sold -Date Purchased) /364.25) -1

where: (BEP +Net Profit) / BEP = simple Profit % (er.. minus 1 please from here)
where: (Date Sold -Date Purchased) = days held. Dividing this by 364.25 days will get U years
where: ^(1 / blah blah). The basic formula is derived from S = P * (1+%)^n

Anyone rclxub.gif yet? heheh - it looks simple in Excel. Any maths genius can check the above? I just translated it from my Excel spreadsheet from interpretation of the cells' data - did my spreadsheet (finalized) several years ago wub.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: May 19 2011, 01:07 PM
debbieyss
post May 21 2011, 11:05 AM

4,458 posts

I have few questions again. Just take AXREIT for example:

CODE
Final distribution of income of 4.98 sen per unit (of which 4.62 sen per unit is taxable and 0.36 sen per unit is non-taxable in the hands of unitholders) in respect of the period from 29 August 2009 to 31 December 2009.

What does distribution of income mean? Distribution of Dividend?

2. After taken account of management fee, dividend rate of each quarter for AXREIT is 7-8%? Or 7-8% each year?

3. According to what I know, any REIT would not distribute the same dividend every year, right? So what is the minimum dividend rate for AXREIT?
kmarc
post May 21 2011, 11:18 AM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ May 21 2011, 11:05 AM)
I have few questions again. Just take AXREIT for example:

CODE
Final distribution of income of 4.98 sen per unit (of which 4.62 sen per unit is taxable and 0.36 sen per unit is non-taxable in the hands of unitholders) in respect of the period from 29 August 2009 to 31 December 2009.

What does distribution of income mean? Distribution of Dividend?

2. After taken account of management fee, dividend rate of each quarter for AXREIT is 7-8%? Or 7-8% each year?

3. According to what I know, any REIT would not distribute the same dividend every year, right? So what is the minimum dividend rate for AXREIT?
To answer your questions:

1) For REITs, the correct term is distribution per unit (DPU) rather than dividend. They are actually the same, in terms of you getting the money in the end! smile.gif

Take a look at my guide on "REITs and dividend" : http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1039913
- Post no #5

2) Yield for REITs is usually quoted as % per year.

3) REITs usually distribute 90% or more of their profits. As such, the amount of DPU would depend on their profits and there is usually no fixed minimum dividend rate for any REITs. However, if that particular REITs has a stable income, you more or less would know how much they will get each year.

This post has been edited by kmarc: May 21 2011, 11:19 AM
debbieyss
post May 21 2011, 11:22 AM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 21 2011, 11:18 AM)
To answer your questions:

1) For REITs, the correct term is distribution per unit (DPU) rather than dividend. They are actually the same, in terms of you getting the money in the end! smile.gif

Take a look at my guide on "REITs and dividend" : http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1039913
- Post no #5

2) Yield for REITs is usually quoted as % per year.

3) REITs usually distribute 90% or more of their profits. As such, the amount of DPU would depend on their profits and there is usually no fixed minimum dividend rate for any REITs. However, if that particular REITs has a stable income, you more or less would know how much they will get each year.
Thanks for your reply.

I thought REIT distribute dividend 3 or 4 times a year? Or is it I mistaken?
kmarc
post May 21 2011, 11:27 AM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ May 21 2011, 11:22 AM)
Thanks for your reply.

I thought REIT distribute dividend 3 or 4 times a year? Or is it I mistaken?
Nope. Some REITs give quarterly DPU, some give 6-monthly. Take a look here: http://mreit.reitdata.com/

In the "Period" column, you can see either 1H, 2H, Q1, Q4 etc. 1H means first half of the year, meaning that the particular REIT distributes every 6-months. Q4 means fourth quarter, meaning that that particular REIT distributes quarterly. wink.gif
debbieyss
post May 21 2011, 11:35 AM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 21 2011, 11:27 AM)
Nope. Some REITs give quarterly DPU, some give 6-monthly. Take a look here: http://mreit.reitdata.com/

In the "Period" column, you can see either 1H, 2H, Q1, Q4 etc. 1H means first half of the year, meaning that the particular REIT distributes every 6-months. Q4 means fourth quarter, meaning that that particular REIT distributes quarterly. wink.gif
In that case, would every REIT give DPU on a fix momentum basis? Meaning if REIT A gives once every 6 months, forever gives DPU once every 6 months?
omgimnoob
post May 21 2011, 12:18 PM

141 posts

Yes.. if not they will either give bonus shares (reinvestment plan) or else they are in trouble...oh...they meaning us too!! lol

125 Pages « < 102 103 104 105 106 > » Top

0.0168sec    0.87    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:26 AM