i got a question
how do i know if i am in a 3g or 3.5g network using iphone?
iPhone Club v11 - iPhone related news & Questions, Super-N00b FAQ/Q&A Thread
Apr 12 2010, 03:36 PM
1,736 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
i got a question
how do i know if i am in a 3g or 3.5g network using iphone? |
Apr 12 2010, 04:07 PM
5,786 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: VIC - The Place To Be |
QUOTE(yujin86 @ Apr 12 2010, 03:36 PM) no way.besides i reckon that it shouldn't concern you so much (if you are in malaysia) because the HSDPA (or so eloquently called the next 3G generation) isn't supported by most of the local carriers. even in australia, only telstra has it. |
Apr 12 2010, 04:13 PM
QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Apr 12 2010, 04:07 PM) no way. i tot maxis hav 3.5g which is up to 3.6 mbps?besides i reckon that it shouldn't concern you so much (if you are in malaysia) because the HSDPA (or so eloquently called the next 3G generation) isn't supported by most of the local carriers. even in australia, only telstra has it. while 3g only 384kbps? |
Apr 12 2010, 04:19 PM
6,497 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(divinemist @ Apr 12 2010, 02:55 PM) Hello, yes u can use india carriers without any problem sir...I'm an iPhone 2G (firmware 3.1) user. I will be going to India for 2-3 months on a project. Will I still be able to use this unlocked & jailbroken iPhone with Indian carriers? Basically, once we unlock, can we use the device with any carrier? Please comment. Thanks. |
Apr 12 2010, 04:22 PM
1,231 posts Joined: Aug 2009 From: Nilai---KL |
QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Apr 12 2010, 04:07 PM) no way. how come not in modern warfare 2.....besides i reckon that it shouldn't concern you so much (if you are in malaysia) because the HSDPA (or so eloquently called the next 3G generation) isn't supported by most of the local carriers. even in australia, only telstra has it. |
Apr 12 2010, 04:24 PM
QUOTE(yujin86 @ Apr 12 2010, 04:13 PM) they do have it (the technology)but the GSM frequency bands are not supported. seriously just do a quick research online. for starters Added on April 12, 2010, 4:25 pm QUOTE(yuvanesh @ Apr 12 2010, 04:22 PM) i'm actually playing now. LOLadd me then! This post has been edited by nokia2003: Apr 12 2010, 04:25 PM |
Apr 12 2010, 05:09 PM
1,231 posts Joined: Aug 2009 From: Nilai---KL |
QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Apr 12 2010, 04:24 PM) they do have it (the technology) yup long time ago..psn id : harmeet5but the GSM frequency bands are not supported. seriously just do a quick research online. for starters Added on April 12, 2010, 4:25 pm i'm actually playing now. LOL add me then! |
Apr 12 2010, 07:20 PM
1,344 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: somewhere in the galaxy *~o~o*-* |
QUOTE(refugeez86 @ Apr 11 2010, 10:53 PM) ya me too... i think all iphone user got same problem wif facebook via safari... facebook apps also got some problem wif notification.. anyone know why? QUOTE(saksoba @ Apr 11 2010, 10:56 PM) the developer of facebook already abandon the app rite? might be there is an issue with the new fb and current current fb app Not all iPhone users has the same problem.. it's kinda subjective.. mine is working all the while.. before and after jailbreak.. using Safari or the FB apps itself..btw, I'm on Maxis.. The Internet settings, perhaps? |
Apr 12 2010, 07:21 PM
636 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
hey, i am using 3GS 16gb 3.1.2 firmware.
Anyone know how come when i connect using my house wifi then it will dc and i have to re-dl the games. but on my laptop, my internet connection never dc at all. i have tried few times on my iphone already and still same thing happen. it will dc after dl-ing for some time. before this never had this problem as i dl-ed up to 200mb also no dc. Anyone know whats wrong? |
Apr 12 2010, 07:24 PM
QUOTE(lilster @ Apr 12 2010, 07:21 PM) hey, i am using 3GS 16gb 3.1.2 firmware. set to 'never'Anyone know how come when i connect using my house wifi then it will dc and i have to re-dl the games. but on my laptop, my internet connection never dc at all. i have tried few times on my iphone already and still same thing happen. it will dc after dl-ing for some time. before this never had this problem as i dl-ed up to 200mb also no dc. Anyone know whats wrong? ![]() |
Apr 12 2010, 07:39 PM
yup, already did that. thats why i used to be able to dl things for hours cuz 200++ mb. but now, keep dc after a while.
Apr 12 2010, 08:00 PM
QUOTE(lilster @ Apr 12 2010, 07:39 PM) yup, already did that. thats why i used to be able to dl things for hours cuz 200++ mb. but now, keep dc after a while. no idea then.but my previous 3GS unit had some WiFi issues (had troubles latching on the network sometimes). hence i exchanged for another one. |
Apr 12 2010, 08:16 PM
hmm, dont know whether they will change for me or not. since it was working fine last 2 weeks when i just got it and it is hard to prove that it will dc after a while. thanks for your input
Apr 12 2010, 08:33 PM
839 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Apr 12 2010, 04:24 PM) they do have it (the technology) This is quite weird, because when I use Nokia, I can see the icon below signal strength sometimes switch from 3G to 3.5G, I thought Maxis have 3.5G already, but actually no?but the GSM frequency bands are not supported. seriously just do a quick research online. for starters ![]() |
Apr 12 2010, 09:00 PM
QUOTE(G K Lai @ Apr 12 2010, 08:33 PM) This is quite weird, because when I use Nokia, I can see the icon below signal strength sometimes switch from 3G to 3.5G, I thought Maxis have 3.5G already, but actually no? can you try to scrutinise what i have just said earlier? gosh...![]() your nokia phone obviously supports that GSM frequency spectrum. however, iPhone doesn't in some countries (for obvious reasons, if your network doesn't broadcast in the range of GSM frequency supported by the iPhone 3GS, surely you cannot use it?) Added on April 12, 2010, 9:08 pmlet me quote from the article again and this round point out some hints. QUOTE The most common 3G frequencies in Australia are 850Mhz and 2100Mhz which are both supported by the new iPhone along with a third 1900 Mhz frequency QUOTE Telstra, Australia's largest mobile operator, have not yet offered the iPhone its customers despite the device being compatible to its high speed Next G 850Mhz network. QUOTE "It's important that consumers understand when they are choosing their mobiles that some of these new phones simply won't work properly on other frequencies like 900." "Just this week Singtel Optus' CEO was claiming a new mobile would operate on its proposed 3G network but failed to mention it was on the wrong frequency. It's like someone claiming they can get cable TV without a cable." This post has been edited by nokia2003: Apr 12 2010, 09:08 PM |
Apr 12 2010, 09:25 PM
5 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
any sifu can show me where i can get the step to connect my laptop to Iphone so i can connect to internet...
just sign up i88 package from Digi...sorry if this question been ask...hop sifu here can help...thanks |
Apr 12 2010, 11:33 PM
2,230 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: App Store |
for iPhone 2G user just like me hehe:
Apple to drop support for 1st gen iPhone via TUAW Another Steve Jobs Email: Apple To Drop Support For The First-Generation iPhone via TechCrunch |
Apr 13 2010, 01:08 AM
QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Apr 12 2010, 09:00 PM) can you try to scrutinise what i have just said earlier? gosh... I ask this because I'm a little confused, sorry for bothering... |
Apr 13 2010, 01:13 AM
Apr 13 2010, 01:49 AM
QUOTE(yujin86 @ Apr 13 2010, 01:13 AM) i also not very understand Ya, maybe... but i think he mean 3.5g got many other bandwith while nokia 3.5g is compatible wif local carriers while iphone 3.5g is more advanced with diff bandwith??? Sometimes don't know whether we should ask questions here... Should we make research elsewhere then keep quiet here...? |
| Change to: | 0.0298sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:55 PM |