Argument on Ping Kam, Chinese Wedding Custom/Tradition

deodorant
post Mar 26 2011, 02:45 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(uest91 @ Mar 25 2011, 11:00 PM)
Just a simple wedding, I dont want to spend over 30k just to tell ppl, I'M MARRIED where after few months, no one will remember it.

Haha status update in FB enough already. Then anyone who needs to know you're married will know ... tongue.gif
uest91
post Mar 26 2011, 08:13 AM

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 26 2011, 02:45 AM)
Haha status update in FB enough already. Then anyone who needs to know you're married will know ... tongue.gif
If all my relatives also have facebook account, I really will.
Winning11
post Apr 17 2011, 10:10 AM

283 posts

question.

what do we guys have to give to the parents during 'guo dai lai'?

both of our parents are the super casual type. and her parents are not taking the pork and all the fancy2 stuff as my wife is of mixed parentage

or i just pass them a cheque?? tongue.gif

and no. it is just a small amount of appreciation. not until rm10k sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Winning11: Apr 17 2011, 10:10 AM
yanniieee
post Apr 19 2011, 09:25 AM

Starsss!
564 posts

my brother just married few months ago, his mother in law asked 10k for "ping kam". really speechless. do they need this much?
@lice~~
post Apr 19 2011, 10:18 AM

565 posts

QUOTE(yanniieee @ Apr 19 2011, 09:25 AM)
my brother just married few months ago, his mother in law asked 10k for "ping kam". really speechless. do they need this much?
It is what they called "sell" daughter tongue.gif

Well, some people juz take the money issue too seriously.. money is important but it dun bring harm/burden

jlgoh9
post Apr 19 2011, 11:24 AM

22 posts

it really depends on the family... but if you can't afford it, negotiate... but usually the ping kam will pass back to the couple... negotiate until everyone is satisfied..we want a happy ending wedding... not a wedding that will make us long face each time we meet...
Cybuster
post Apr 19 2011, 11:33 AM

Yõu Are Nöt Lònely...
590 posts

QUOTE(samantha88 @ Feb 18 2010, 11:52 PM)
heard from friend, one of our ex-schoolmate faced the same situation as TS. In the end, she fork out the Ping Kam from her own account.

To me, it's not the money that matters, since 6K is not really that much. Is whether your future "family" is willing to take you as one of them and give out unconditionally.
When they can be so calculative over Ping Kam, you already know what's waiting ahead for you.

Sometimes, the amount of Ping Kam the girl's parents ask for is not because they see their daughther as an "investment transfer". They are actually testing the guys & also his family, testing the way they will treat their daughter.
More often or not, the girl's parent will only take part of the Ping Kam ( like 888, 2888) & the remaining they wil give back to the daughther, so that she got some money in hand if anything happpens in the future
This is not testing or not testing issue here. the facts is very clear that girl site money minded. If a girl site hope the daughter can get a good husband or not. how bout if i giv u 10k 20k then after that i dump ur girl? is the same.

If a parents wish their daughter to live happy and should not force them and tight them with this rules and regulations. Give them decide since they already big enough. wedding = already grown up and learn to have a family.
spunkberry
post Apr 19 2011, 11:43 AM

危ない人です
1,890 posts

I REALLY don't agree with this "let's ask for this much to test him" business.
Fei Kei
post Apr 19 2011, 11:25 PM

389 posts

QUOTE(samurai1337 @ Feb 18 2010, 08:00 PM)
I understand your situation (although I'm a guy). I am lucky that this didn't happen to me when I was getting married (instead, my mother-in-law only took small part of the given ping kam as hou yi tou)

Maybe I'm biased, and I'm on your hubby family side.. or rather I don't really like Chinese tradition and the social norm - they REALLY like to compare (everything, from the location, amount of ping kam, wedding photographer yada yada). I think that couples should just spend what they can afford rather than overspending just to prove that the husband is not stingy.

Parents sometimes have to understand that they demand a lot of money from their future son-in-law, but end up both daughter and son-in-law suffering

Anyway... I suggest the following:

- Try talking to your parents (yes, unluckily it IS your responsibility since they are your parents), explaining that both of you have already spent a lot and why at this moment it isn't feasible to give 6k. Do not say provoking statements like "It's not selling daughter" though

- Try to propose something that you and your hubby can afford. Maybe something like 2888 or 3888

- To be frank, 6k isn't that much. But as you're both short of cash, maybe ask your parents if your hubby can pay that 6k some time later instead of now. Otherwise, go for Personal Loan

I hope it helps, and I wish you all the best
if u love ur fiance, ELOPE!
outsider
post Apr 24 2011, 10:35 AM

~ get out ~
1,270 posts

RM 6K consider cheap jor la.... i heard the rate should be RM8K...

about the piggy, chicken and other thingy is required how ur family deal with them la...

Gary1981
post Apr 26 2011, 02:21 PM

1,610 posts

Mine is RM10k inclusive everything, pig, biscuits, & etc. No any tables required by them.
tech3910
post Apr 26 2011, 07:30 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

wen i get married, i wont b following chinese custom, tradition & rules....

if my parents in law ask for ping kam, i'll say no.
i just bare all the wedding fees, & dats dat.

if dey insist wan ping kam, i'll say...."ok, since u put it dis way, meaning u selling ur daughter.....how much u wan? i just hav 1 rule, u'll nvr see her again bcoz u sold her...."
leongal
post Apr 26 2011, 10:36 PM

~I have a new mission in life~
3,188 posts

QUOTE(Winning11 @ Apr 17 2011, 10:10 AM)
question.

what do we guys have to give to the parents during 'guo dai lai'?

both of our parents are the super casual type. and her parents are not taking the pork and all the fancy2 stuff as my wife is of mixed parentage

or i just pass them a cheque?? tongue.gif

and no. it is just a small amount of appreciation. not until rm10k sweat.gif
just do a direct transfer to their bank account

and since they are not fussy, save the hassle on the guo dai lai - no need to buy - save money too.
xecton
post Apr 27 2011, 01:05 AM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Apr 26 2011, 07:30 PM)

if dey insist wan ping kam, i'll say...."ok, since u put it dis way, meaning u selling ur daughter.....how much u wan? i just hav 1 rule, u'll nvr see her again bcoz u sold her...."
That is some big mighty talk. Let's hope your future wife will be supportive if it ever come to it.

One thing though, since you plan to bear all the wedding cost, do you intend to keep the angpows from the bride's side?
If not, then that is also the ping kam already.
tech3910
post Apr 27 2011, 01:49 AM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(xecton @ Apr 27 2011, 01:05 AM)
That is some big mighty talk. Let's hope your future wife will be supportive if it ever come to it.

One thing though, since you plan to bear all the wedding cost, do you intend to keep the angpows from the bride's side?
If not, then that is also the ping kam already.
i dun intend to get any presents or ang pau from my guest.
but if dey wan giv, dats optional.
who dey wanna giv, dats up to dem.
xecton
post Apr 28 2011, 09:15 AM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Apr 27 2011, 01:49 AM)
i dun intend to get any presents or ang pau from my guest.
but if dey wan giv, dats optional.
who dey wanna giv, dats up to dem.
So you do plan to give pingkam to your in-laws, in the form of tables.
tech3910
post Apr 28 2011, 10:51 AM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(xecton @ Apr 28 2011, 09:15 AM)
So you do plan to give pingkam to your in-laws, in the form of tables.
nah....
i'm not gonna do all this chinese wedding dinner thing....
xecton
post Apr 28 2011, 02:24 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Apr 28 2011, 10:51 AM)
nah....
i'm not gonna do all this chinese wedding dinner thing....
Even if my friend says its a non-traditional wedding, I would still give angpow.

You know what, I totally understand where you are coming from.
But when the time comes, remember to look at the big picture (which is not giving in to all the in-laws' demands).
tech3910
post Apr 28 2011, 03:17 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(xecton @ Apr 28 2011, 02:24 PM)
Even if my friend says its a non-traditional wedding, I would still give angpow.

You know what, I totally understand where you are coming from.
But when the time comes, remember to look at the big picture (which is not giving in to all the in-laws' demands).
Giving present or ang pau (i prefer giv present) when attenting wedding, it's kinda like good manner.
Not a must, but it looks good.

If ever gog married, it will be "our wedding", as in me & my future wife.
Sorry parents, srg future in laws, it's not ur wedding..
vandoren
post Apr 30 2011, 11:54 AM

488 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Apr 26 2011, 07:30 PM)

when i'm reading this, i'm really wondering how old are you?
if you really tell the same words to them, you are like threatening them.
if your future partner's parents insists wish to have it, maybe not a big amount of money,
maybe just as a token of appreciation to thank the parents for taking care of their daughter.
nothing can be perfect, that's why before marry, need to sit down to discuss with both side parents,
have a mutual agreement how to make the wedding.

Added on April 30, 2011, 12:05 pm
QUOTE(tech3910 @ Apr 28 2011, 03:17 PM)
Giving present or ang pau (i prefer giv present) when attenting wedding, it's kinda like good manner.
Not a must, but it looks good.

If  ever gog married, it will be "our wedding", as in me & my future wife.
Sorry parents, srg future in laws, it's not ur wedding..
maybe you are really rich or earning a lot
i calculated, a standard wedding cost about 25K++ (include wedding photo, wedding ring, buffet at house.. etc)
which haven't include wedding dinner which easily cost another 20K++
so, for normal couple like us, need the guest's angpow to help to cover some of the cost of wedding dinner

This post has been edited by vandoren: Apr 30 2011, 12:05 PM

9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0203sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:41 PM