Argument on Ping Kam, Chinese Wedding Custom/Tradition

xecton
post Aug 25 2010, 09:32 AM

The Reverend
734 posts

I don't know whether to laugh or cry when people try to measure love with money, be it a husband-wife love or parents-child love.
xecton
post Apr 27 2011, 01:05 AM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Apr 26 2011, 07:30 PM)
wen i get married, i wont b following chinese custom, tradition & rules....

if my parents in law ask for ping kam, i'll say no.
i just bare all the wedding fees, & dats dat.

if dey insist wan ping kam, i'll say...."ok, since u put it dis way, meaning u selling ur daughter.....how much u wan? i just hav 1 rule, u'll nvr see her again bcoz u sold her...."
That is some big mighty talk. Let's hope your future wife will be supportive if it ever come to it.

One thing though, since you plan to bear all the wedding cost, do you intend to keep the angpows from the bride's side?
If not, then that is also the ping kam already.
xecton
post Apr 28 2011, 09:15 AM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Apr 27 2011, 01:49 AM)
i dun intend to get any presents or ang pau from my guest.
but if dey wan giv, dats optional.
who dey wanna giv, dats up to dem.
So you do plan to give pingkam to your in-laws, in the form of tables.
xecton
post Apr 28 2011, 02:24 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Apr 28 2011, 10:51 AM)
nah....
i'm not gonna do all this chinese wedding dinner thing....
Even if my friend says its a non-traditional wedding, I would still give angpow.

You know what, I totally understand where you are coming from.
But when the time comes, remember to look at the big picture (which is not giving in to all the in-laws' demands).
xecton
post May 2 2011, 04:19 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(uest91 @ May 2 2011, 04:15 PM)
My mom 20 years ago, ping kam also 5k d...
So how much do you want your future husband to pay for you?
How much do you think you are worth?
xecton
post May 4 2011, 09:55 AM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(Gary1981 @ May 4 2011, 08:43 AM)
@tech3910

No offense. IMHO, what is a value for selling a child to a parents would you think?It may be 1k, or 10k or even 100k or even 1million? When a parents let a guy married their daughter, what is their feelings especially for their mum? Will my daughter will be good after married?Do you know the ping kam they got may return back to their daughter or perhaps saved it for their daughter case need it in future?

However, it depends on your capability in term of $$ to give to your parents.
No offense Gary, but I find your reasoning for pingkam very demeaning and disrespectful to the groom, not to mentioned stupid and worthless.

You talked about the feelings of the mum when marrying her daughter.
You are not being specific but I'll assume that you mean the concerns and worries the mum will have about how the bride's life will be upon her marriage.
Now that is fine, but how is money going to elevate the concerns?
A rich but useless guy can pay a lot, a poor nice guy cannot. So it the rich guy going to be a better husband?
No, the mum (or parents) should already know the groom from the dating stage. That should be how the parents determine how good a person the groom is. Not with money (unless all they care about is money).
And the other reasoning you have about saving those money for their daughter, why is there a need for that?
Why can't the bride and groom save their own money? If they can't do that on their own, then they shoulnd't get married in the first place.

Are we still living in the age where the daugthers stay at home until suitors come knocking for the hand in marriage? When parents know nothing of the guy except for what the matchmaker said about him. Where money will measure the groom's family standing.

I am surprised that despite being the internet generation, the youngsters are still so mindlessly traditional.
xecton
post May 4 2011, 02:31 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(Gary1981 @ May 4 2011, 11:21 AM)
@xecton

"what is a value for selling a child to a parents would you think?It may be 1k, or 10k or even 100k or even 1million?"

Apologize for not being specific. My above phrase is meant to people that comment the ping kam that request from the parents are relation to selling their daughter. To sell a child is not only abt 10k, 100k or whatever. There are no specific value to raise a child.
The discussion is not moving on coherently, but never mind....
So in response to your answer, what is the pingkam for?

0.0233sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 04:14 PM