A.C.Ryan | Playon!HD v2, FullHD Network Mediaplayer

Ngto
post May 13 2010, 09:05 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(yslysl @ May 13 2010, 12:42 AM)
just upgraded to latest firmware...very nice...
however, it resets my previous settings...
for the night mode setting under sound, set on/off or comfort ?

also, did they just change the subtitle font ?
it looks a bit different from previous 1...
thanks smile.gif
Of course 'Off' lah. Those settings are to control sound volume for night watching. I think to prevent from being too loud.

Subtitles fonts for MKV and other video formats got more shadow and slightly thicker for better contrast and clarity. BDMV subtitles are same as before because they are fixed by the movie.
-----------------------------

Update :-

The subtitles (MKV) may look nice against some background, but against a whitish background, the shadow look coarse and ugly. Very amateurish

This post has been edited by Ngto: May 23 2010, 11:25 PM
kapultek
post May 13 2010, 10:29 PM

1,376 posts

anybody want to sell their pohd mini
BoxBuilder
post May 13 2010, 11:43 PM

292 posts

Annoucement:
If you want a new chipset 1073+ for future HD Audio pass thru feature enable (still, no promise from AC Ryan ya), pls look for below serial No. for the new chipset:
ACR-PV73100+ 37071 onword
ACR-PV73200+ 11394 onword

All Box Builder resellers already stock in this new chipset units. Pls log to http://www.boxbuilder.com.my/PV73100.asp#buy to find their contact.
Cheers.

Added on May 13, 2010, 11:45 pm
QUOTE(kapultek @ May 13 2010, 10:29 PM)
anybody want to sell their pohd mini
Hi friend, it is a good chance to sell to above kaki lor. brows.gif

This post has been edited by BoxBuilder: May 13 2010, 11:45 PM
kapultek
post May 15 2010, 12:09 AM

1,376 posts

i want to buy le....
mc SEE
post May 16 2010, 06:43 PM

QUOTE(BoxBuilder @ Feb 22 2010, 06:42 PM)
DTS-HD downmix to analog or down to DTS 5.1 is ok, no pass thru. Until now, Dolby True HD still cannot work.

Cheers.
Hi..i also using Ac Ryan Mini connect to my LCD samsung by HDMI, then monster fiber optic cable connect to my AVR 140 harman kardon , but when i play the movie with the audio DTS and DD5.1, My AVR just show to Lelf and Right signal that function well but that not signal at my Rear speaker ( I'm tried all the audio mode in my AVR such like Dolby Surround, DTS surrround, DTS NEO:6) ... Simply speaking it just like playing 2.1 speaker is stead of DTS and DD5.1 function.

Then i check back with the spec of AC ryan Mini it show that:

Stereo
Dolby Digital AC3 5.1 (passthrough & downmix to stereo)
Dolby Digital Plus (passthrough)
DTS (passthrough & downmix to stereo)

1) May I know what the mean "passthrough" ? It is it really work on Dolby Digital AC3 5.1 and DTS?
2) I not really like the sentence "downmix to stereo" even i not so understand this sentence...?

I check my AC ryan that firmwire is show v7.0.21r 2898.... Is it this is the firmwire problem that can not support those Dolby Digital AC3 5.1 and DTS??? If so may I know which firmwire that can support this?

Hope that AC Ryan can give a good respon to this since we buying this to enjoy the Dolby Digital AC3 5.1 and DTS effect....but it seen like we get cheated...Hope to get good respon from which guy that familiar with this.

d@odao
post May 16 2010, 11:11 PM

Daodao
2,648 posts

QUOTE(mc SEE @ May 16 2010, 06:43 PM)
Hi..i also using Ac Ryan Mini connect to my LCD samsung by HDMI, then monster fiber optic cable connect to my AVR 140 harman kardon , but when i play the movie with the audio DTS and DD5.1, My AVR just show to Lelf and Right signal that function well but that not signal at my Rear speaker ( I'm tried all the audio mode in my AVR such like Dolby Surround, DTS surrround, DTS NEO:6) ... Simply speaking it just like playing 2.1 speaker is stead of DTS and DD5.1 function. 

Stereo

1) May I know what the mean "passthrough" ? It is it really work on Dolby Digital AC3 5.1 and DTS?
2) I not really like the sentence "downmix to stereo" even i not so understand this sentence...?

I check my AC ryan that firmwire is show v7.0.21r 2898.... Is it this is the firmwire problem that can not support those Dolby Digital AC3 5.1 and DTS??? If so may I know which firmwire that can support this?

Hope that AC Ryan can give a good respon to this since we buying this to enjoy the Dolby Digital AC3 5.1 and DTS effect....but it seen like we get cheated...Hope to get good respon from which guy that familiar with this.

passthrough = raw signal or original signal
downmix to stereo = changing the signal to stereo

if i m not wrong... hmm.gif
Skylinestar
post May 16 2010, 11:16 PM

Mega Duck
10,473 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ May 16 2010, 11:11 PM)
passthrough = raw signal or original signal
downmix to stereo = changing the signal to stereo

if i m not wrong... hmm.gif
passthrough = the player will send the 5.1 digital audio signal to external decoder (sound processor or avr) to decode the audio to analog 5.1 audio.

downmix to stereo = inside the player, 5.1 digital audio will be processed and downmixed to stereo 2.0. that means the center channel, surround channel and the dedicated LFE will all be squeezed into the left and right channels and delivered it as analog audio.
Ngto
post May 17 2010, 02:28 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(mc SEE @ May 16 2010, 06:43 PM)

Stereo

Before believing you are cheated, perhaps you should ask yourself whether maybe you are the one who lack the knowledge biggrin.gif

If you are using SPDIF Optical output, go to setup and enable SPDIF Raw. It will bitstream (Passthrough) the signal to your AVR to decode.

If you enable SPDIF LPCM of course you will get only stereo sound because Optical cable cannot handle the bandwith of decoded 5.1 signal so it's downmixed to stereo.

This post has been edited by Ngto: May 17 2010, 09:40 AM
mc SEE
post May 17 2010, 12:48 PM

QUOTE(Ngto @ May 17 2010, 02:28 AM)
Before believing you are cheated, perhaps you should ask yourself whether maybe you are the one who lack the knowledge  biggrin.gif

If you are using SPDIF Optical output, go to setup and enable SPDIF Raw. It will bitstream (Passthrough) the signal to your AVR to decode.

If you enable SPDIF LPCM of course you will get only stereo sound because Optical cable cannot handle the bandwith of decoded 5.1 signal so it's downmixed to stereo.
Thx for 2 brother give the explain.

Ya..brother..i'm new bird sorry so it is quite lack of knowledge sweat.gif

So what the audio output should i set in order to get 5.1 signal? I have try few time all is the same rclxub.gif

As i know Optical cable should be can handle the bandwith of decoded 5.1 signal is it? I using Monster® THX 400 Fiber Optic Audio Cable.
Ngto
post May 17 2010, 03:54 PM

4,350 posts

I already given you the answer, Enable SPDIF Raw. Doesn't matter Monster Cable or Godzilla Cable, Optical cannot carry decoded 5.1 , it can only carry Coded (bitstream/Raw) 5.1. Also set your AVR to Auto Detect Mode.

Generally only HDMI can carry decoded Lossless LPCM 5.1/7.1, provided your Receiver can also accept HDMI LPCM. Unfortunately the AC Ryan POHD can't support the HD Audio over HDMI, only the Core DTS 5.1.

This post has been edited by Ngto: May 17 2010, 04:04 PM
BoxBuilder
post May 17 2010, 07:29 PM

292 posts

Pls press 'setup' and enter the Audio and set as bro. Ngto mentioned above.
Cheers.
andy_lhc
post May 17 2010, 08:57 PM

542 posts

QUOTE(BoxBuilder @ Apr 29 2010, 01:33 PM)
Hi, We confirm Ngto is correct, even for the mini. Once you press >>l, it will ask you whether you want to go to next file. You press again, the player will play next file.
Thanks to bro Ngto and Box.......

I tried doing it on another folder.....Its fine......Just tat got 1 folder gone haywire......so i removed the folder and its fine.....
WereWolf84
post May 18 2010, 08:00 AM

984 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ May 17 2010, 03:54 PM)
I already given you the answer, Enable SPDIF Raw. Doesn't matter Monster Cable or Godzilla Cable,  Optical cannot carry decoded 5.1 , it can only carry Coded (bitstream/Raw) 5.1. Also set your AVR to Auto Detect Mode.

Generally only HDMI can carry decoded Lossless LPCM  5.1/7.1,  provided your Receiver can also accept HDMI LPCM. Unfortunately the AC Ryan POHD can't support the HD Audio over HDMI, only the Core DTS 5.1.
errr hmm.gif .....can we listen to DTS 5.1 audio by using coaxial cable?
Ngto
post May 18 2010, 08:30 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(WereWolf84 @ May 18 2010, 08:00 AM)
errr hmm.gif .....can we listen to DTS 5.1 audio by using coaxial cable?
If you have POHD Big (got both Optical and Coaxial) , sure can, same way as Optical.

But POHD Mini don't have the Coaxial output.

This post has been edited by Ngto: May 18 2010, 08:33 AM
mc SEE
post May 18 2010, 09:58 AM

QUOTE(Ngto @ May 18 2010, 08:30 AM)
If you have POHD Big (got both Optical and Coaxial) , sure can, same way as Optical.

But POHD Mini don't have the Coaxial output.
Thx...i get what you mean!!!
EDK
post May 19 2010, 11:43 AM

396 posts

Hi guys,

Is Playon!HD good to use for 24/7 download of torrents from tmnet? I am used to utorrent with obfustication in my pc for download and the speed is always quite good. Wonder if the built in torrent client for PlayOn can work as well too?

Also Playon!HD heavy duty use to download 24/7 is it ok?
Thanks for advice.
Ngto
post May 19 2010, 06:32 PM

4,350 posts

No, No shakehead.gif
hdwarexpert
post May 19 2010, 07:31 PM

1,342 posts

A big NO! NO! thumbup.gif
KiliKulu
post May 19 2010, 10:59 PM

339 posts

Hi guys, im a POHD mini user. Today i bought the original AC Ryan wifi dongle but i cant get it to work sad.gif

I connect the dongle and able to detect my Router SSID. Connect, enter WEP passkey, click ok and goes to "Testing" mode..then return to network screen. Nothing happen and no error msg on screen.

I check on my Netgear (WIFI B/G only) router and saw the wifi dongle mac address connected to the router but not getting any IP. Im wondering if the wireless N dongle can connect to WIFI B/G only router. Anyone?
economist
post May 20 2010, 03:47 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(KiliKulu @ May 19 2010, 10:59 PM)
Hi guys, im a POHD mini user. Today i bought the original AC Ryan wifi dongle but i cant get it to work sad.gif

I connect the dongle and able to detect my Router SSID. Connect, enter WEP passkey, click ok and goes to "Testing" mode..then return to network screen. Nothing happen and no error msg on screen.

I check on my Netgear (WIFI B/G only) router and saw the wifi dongle mac address connected to the router but not getting any IP. Im wondering if the wireless N dongle can connect to WIFI B/G only router. Anyone?
Not sure...mine N to N router ok........can even stream 1080p.....

need boxbuilder input..........

36 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Top

0.0382sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:12 AM