A.C.Ryan | Playon!HD v2, FullHD Network Mediaplayer

bond
post May 9 2010, 12:54 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ May 9 2010, 08:45 AM)
There is a screen adjustment feature in all the FW, but I don't know if it works or not. I have tried it before but it doesn't have any effect on my LCD TV.
Yea, i do notice the screen size setting in POHD does not change anything, may be it will affect the picture when zoom in/out, never bother to use zoom function.

what i mean earlier was the picture size setting from the tv, the Toshiba ZV series do provide few options and native mode give the pq. However from 2901 onward, believe it is related to realtek SDK 3.0, the picture shift to the right when display in native mode.

Wide
Use this setting when watching a wide-screen
DVD, widescreen video tape or a 16:9 broadcast
(when available). Due to the range of widescreen
formats (16:9, 14:9, 20:9 etc.), you may
see bars on the top and bottom of the screen

Native
This setting will display the image correctly
without distortion or picture clipping.
dizfire
post May 9 2010, 02:02 PM

20 posts

i bought this yesterday from digitalmall, RM 480 + RM 250 for a 1tb WD HDD

bought it from aoneplus

the SA there, his name is aven, was really, really good. he knew ALL his stuff - sounded like he posts on lowyat forums too haha.

it was a toss up between this or WD TV Live - the way i see it, the 2 main cons for playon!HD: 1. being perhaps slightly lower PQ and 2. the downmix of TrueHD sound (from what i gather) doesn't really affect me at all seeing im just using a 42 inch lcd and normal tv + hifi speakers.

he convinced me i wouldnt be able to tell the difference

on the plus side, i get to put in an internal HDD (which i really wanted), play RVMB and also the timeseek feature.

using this was a breeze, spent alot of time messing around with all the features, and i like how its possible to adjust subtitle size and position. i didnt think this was important but actually its pretty cool biggrin.gif

streaming from my CPU by LAN network was also no problem, PQ was great!

one question though to all the experienced users out there - everytime i watch something, am i supposed to choose the display setting to match it? for example if normal .avi series, should i choose NTSC? and then 720 for 720 movies, 1080 for 1080 movies, etc. or does it not make a difference, and i should just use my lcd remote to adjust the size to fit properly?

thanks!
BoxBuilder
post May 9 2010, 08:49 PM

292 posts

Pls use the highest resolution as your LCD TV can handle. It is downgrade resoltuion compatible.
WereWolf84
post May 9 2010, 09:55 PM

984 posts

Now POHD is able to playback blu-ray source - BDMV flawlessly thumbup.gif rclxms.gif wondering what would be the next release feature? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by WereWolf84: May 9 2010, 09:55 PM
johnny82
post May 10 2010, 12:02 AM

831 posts

hmm ive got a few question for the sifus here
1) if i upgrade the firmware would it affect the hdd installed inside?
2) does the yamj service work over lan?
dizfire
post May 10 2010, 02:48 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(BoxBuilder @ May 9 2010, 08:49 PM)
Pls use the highest resolution as your LCD TV can handle. It is downgrade resoltuion compatible.
hi bro boxbuilder, i don't mean my lcd settings. i mean the top left button (or one of those very close to the top left) on the POHD remote. the one that switches between NTSC, 480, PAL, 720, 1080 etc.

do i change this to accomodate whatever it is im watching?

also, can i ask, what's the difference between 50hz and 60hz (for 720 and 1080i and 1080p)

oh, and also whats the difference between 1080i and 1080p blush.gif sorry real newb

Added on May 10, 2010, 2:51 am
QUOTE(bond @ May 9 2010, 12:54 PM)
Yea, i do notice the screen size setting in POHD does not change anything, may be it will affect the picture when zoom in/out, never bother to use zoom function.

what i mean earlier was the picture size setting from the tv, the Toshiba ZV series do provide few options and native mode give the pq. However from 2901 onward, believe it is related to realtek SDK 3.0, the picture shift to the right when display in native mode.

Wide
Use this setting when watching a wide-screen
DVD, widescreen video tape or a 16:9 broadcast
(when available). Due to the range of widescreen
formats (16:9, 14:9, 20:9 etc.), you may
see bars on the top and bottom of the screen

Native
This setting will display the image correctly
without distortion or picture clipping.
from my experiences so far, using my lcd settings, if i watch at "native" it's fine if i changed the POHD settings to match, otherwise i choose "wide", and i have to zoom to 0.9 (90%) otherwise the sides get clipped a tiny bit.

This post has been edited by dizfire: May 10 2010, 02:51 AM
hosiery2u
post May 10 2010, 10:13 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(WereWolf84 @ May 9 2010, 09:55 PM)
Now POHD is able to playback blu-ray source - BDMV flawlessly  thumbup.gif  rclxms.gif  wondering what would be the next release feature?  hmm.gif
Doesn't it able to play blu-ray source since last few months? The blu-ray you still have to rip it first before you can watch it on POHD due to BD protection. One thing for sure, no Dolby Thru HD and DTS HD MA/HR, this is the only down side for a proper HD Media Player.
cannavaro
post May 10 2010, 12:50 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(hosiery2u @ May 10 2010, 10:13 AM)
Doesn't it able to play blu-ray source since last few months? The blu-ray you still have to rip it first before you can watch it on POHD due to BD protection. One thing for sure, no Dolby Thru HD and DTS HD MA/HR, this is the only down side for a proper HD Media Player.
Note the word 'flawlessly'.
Previously when you try to play a BDMV folder you'd have to manually select the M2TS files, and you can't change chapters.
Not the case anymore. biggrin.gif

Ngto
post May 10 2010, 09:25 PM

4,350 posts

Just to add, the previous FW 2901 can already play BDMV automatically , but only if , the whole movie itself is in the largest M2TS file. If the movie is not the largest M2TS file, it will play back the movie wrongly. Then have to Manually select to play.

Also if movie is broken up to many parts, it will be useless playing the movie manually , because everytime a new part loads, there will temporarily be a blank screen followed by the Stop and play sign.

New FW 3875 now, as you mentioned, can play back flawlessly as it can now read the BDMV playlists and so it will know which is the correct chapter to play first and gives you the option to select and skip chapters, which the previous FW 2901 couldn't do.

This post has been edited by Ngto: May 10 2010, 09:27 PM
hosiery2u
post May 11 2010, 09:31 AM

78 posts

Every sifus out there, got something need your help, I have bought the Avatar BD, I tried to rip it into my POHD hard disk using AnyDVD HD ripper, after that I tried to play the movie, and my POHD come out "Bitstream Error Stop Playing". I have even tried the FabDVD to rip this BD, but the result is just the same, may I know what I have done wrong and making this movie unable to play on my POHD?

WereWolf84
post May 11 2010, 09:47 AM

984 posts

QUOTE(hosiery2u @ May 11 2010, 09:31 AM)
Every sifus out there, got something need your help, I have bought the Avatar BD, I tried to rip it into my POHD hard disk using AnyDVD HD ripper, after that I tried to play the movie, and my POHD come out "Bitstream Error Stop Playing". I have even tried the FabDVD to rip this BD, but the result is just the same, may I know what I have done wrong and making this movie unable to play on my POHD?
I think you haven't update your firmware to the latest new firmware 3875
Ngto
post May 11 2010, 10:32 AM

4,350 posts

Yes, update to latest FW first and try again.
hosiery2u
post May 11 2010, 10:34 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(WereWolf84 @ May 11 2010, 09:47 AM)
I think you haven't update your firmware to the latest new firmware 3875
Brother, my POHD has the latest firmware already, I have ripped a few movies, including Harry Potter, Mr. & Mrs. Smith..., now only the Avatar and Night at Musuem 2 can't play and both movies also BD+ copy protected and both also from 21th Century FOX.
cannavaro
post May 11 2010, 10:49 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

Are you using the latest version of AnyDVD HD?
hosiery2u
post May 11 2010, 10:52 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ May 11 2010, 10:49 AM)
Are you using the latest version of AnyDVD HD?
Yes, just downloaded from slysoft website, but trial version only, will it affect the ripping for trial version?
Ngto
post May 11 2010, 01:18 PM

4,350 posts

I suspect the protection has not been removed when you ripped. Someone mention to use AnyDVD HD ver 6.6.3.8 If I am not mistaken. Also try playing around with the Settings for the Removal options.

This post has been edited by Ngto: May 11 2010, 01:22 PM
hosiery2u
post May 11 2010, 03:12 PM

78 posts

I think i'm gonna try again later, usually we will make it to "region free", crack the "prohibited operation menu", disable "BD Live". What else should we do?

Added on May 12, 2010, 9:19 amNow I have found that my POHD unable to playback the Avatar BD because of the BD+ DRM and the region code unable to set to "Region Free", so because of these 2 problem, my POHD unable to playback the file. Does anyone know how to make these 2 items away?

This post has been edited by hosiery2u: May 12 2010, 09:19 AM
yslysl
post May 12 2010, 10:19 PM

313 posts

is the latest firmware stable?
my firmware is v7.0.6 r2901
does it format the hdd when i upgrade to this latest firmware?
thanks smile.gif
WereWolf84
post May 12 2010, 10:29 PM

984 posts

QUOTE(yslysl @ May 12 2010, 10:19 PM)
is the latest firmware stable?
my firmware is v7.0.6 r2901
does it format the hdd when i upgrade to this latest firmware?
thanks smile.gif
the new firmware 3875 is stable and can playback BDMV flawlessly while 2901 cannot do that
no, you don't need to format the hdd whenever you update the firmware
you're welcome smile.gif
yslysl
post May 13 2010, 12:42 AM

313 posts

just upgraded to latest firmware...very nice...
however, it resets my previous settings...
for the night mode setting under sound, set on/off or comfort ?

also, did they just change the subtitle font ?
it looks a bit different from previous 1...
thanks smile.gif

This post has been edited by yslysl: May 13 2010, 12:44 AM

36 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0186sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:34 PM