10 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

GameCube, PS2 and XBOX, The Good , The Bad and The Ulgy ?

stringfellow
post Mar 23 2005, 09:34 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

So suddenly now Xbox2 will become the new PS2, while PS3 will take the role of Xbox this gen? How can MS suddenly gain so much third party support, while PS3 suddenly lose theirs?

Nothing is certain until these next gens are out and about.But rest for sure, PS3 still will have the third party support that makes PS2 such a market leader this gen. MS is going some catching up, and is making lost ground with its next gen Xbox2, which is why they plan to launch first, so that more third party devs will publish their titles on Xbox2 first because Xbox2 comes out of the gate first.

But then again, coming out of the gate first didnt help Dreamcast against the PS2 last gen.Moral of the story? Nothing is certain....one thing's for sure, i'll be getting next gen consoles , all of them if necessary, if the games i want to play are on them.
PrivateJohn
post Mar 23 2005, 10:02 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

Erm what i meanst microsoft got is software advantage in coding for graphic etc. Not 3rd party support for games. If you head on to the link i gave you will get what i mean.
stringfellow
post Mar 23 2005, 10:06 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(PrivateJohn @ Mar 23 2005, 10:02 AM)
Erm what i meanst microsoft got is software advantage in coding for graphic etc. Not 3rd party support for games. If you head on to the link i gave you will get what i mean.
GDC: Sony promises developers an easy ride on PS3

WEll, if you're using the same website for your sources.....
PrivateJohn
post Mar 23 2005, 10:14 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

Ya but if you go through the news...sony are giving promise etc which is more subjective while microsoft have prototype demo etc. On top of that, SpeedTreeRT Integrated in u3 engine, unreal 3 engine, havoc physic etc implement on xbox 2. That's the point of it. I believe those are not hardware advantage, and through all the news you will find out ps 3 which has far more processing power compare to xbox2 which is...the hardware part we are debating about.

BTW, why are you getting scct for xbox but not pc? For me i am getting the ori for pc. Hopefully limited edition ( do you think msia have it?) and...ya-know-what for xbox.

This post has been edited by PrivateJohn: Mar 23 2005, 10:20 AM
snipersnake
post Mar 23 2005, 12:33 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

its all about the games gentlemen..its all about the games..
stringfellow
post Mar 23 2005, 02:01 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

BEcause the Xbox version plays on a controller? While the PC version, if you're stuck without a gamepad, is impossible to play on keyboards. If the game shines, i might get a PC controller myself.
paanjang16
post Apr 8 2005, 09:25 PM

335 posts

I am thinking of getting an Xbox in Australia. The price of a "new" Xbox is around AUD 249 w/o any games. Then I saw got used/second hand Xbox selling for about AUD 149 , AUD 100 cheaper (RM 300 cheaper!). XBox games retail for AUD 99 (cost more than PC games) for new and about half price for 2nd hand, if got. I'm planning to buy one maybe in June (my b'day in June and that time after exams tongue.gif ) . Since I am keen to buy one, I wanna ask some questions:

1)If I were to buy a second hand one, what I should check and ask?
2)Can play Xbox live in M'sia?
3)If I ever want to mod it when I return to M'sia, can it be done and how much? , if so, will it make my Xbox cannot connect to Xbox live?
4)How much ori Xbox games cost in M,sia? whistling.gif
5)Got any different in Xboxes produced in different years? like if 1 is produced in 2002 and another in 2005?

I was hoping to get PSP as well, but then dunno when it will arrive in aus. unsure.gif Then again it will cost around AUD 499 cry.gif . So better get PSP in M'sia when I get back.
streamline
post Apr 9 2005, 12:09 AM

424 posts

before i decide to buy for one console among three of those console, i will think what game of it's will worth to me to play. so here it goes, i decide to own a ps2 as my console gaming at the moment. Why? because i am Square-Enix fan and the number of RPG game in one console. although in Gamecube have one of their title, Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicle, it's just one game for me if i get it. i might get it aswell, but i think better if i get the xbox since the releasing game ratio is like XBOX > Gamecube. For XBOX all i can say is most of game is majority made from Western style gaming.For example, if Square-Enix have decide to make games for XBOX only and they quiting Sony, for sure, i will get XBOX. so it's depend for me to my favourite.
Every consoles have their pros and cons, so you decide it smile.gif
PrivateJohn
post Apr 9 2005, 12:21 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

Ya, Every consoles have their pros and cons.

1)paanjang16, i think maybe you need to check whether it's still under working condition?hehe...
2)you can play in singapore xbox live, recently they held a halo 2 competition..winner get free gift and go to europe or US (forgot) for competition.
3)yes, mod already you risk yourself ban from xbox live because rumours of xbox live checking your hdd even your modchip in stealth mod.
4)ask djinn
5)got difference...like the recent case of bad solder xbox. Anyway it's 30 cases or so worldwide, shouldn't be a big problem.
SpreadBeaver
post Apr 9 2005, 07:40 AM

244 posts

XBOX live user here . Still havent got ban from modifying my XBOX. Just make sure stealth mode is on everytime u play LIVE n no HDD mod definitely. Hope to c anybody who goes LIVE in SPCT soon. Cheers! smile.gif
snipersnake
post Apr 15 2005, 05:48 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

QUOTE(SpreadBeaver @ Apr 9 2005, 07:40 AM)
XBOX live user here . Still havent got ban from modifying my XBOX. Just make sure stealth mode is on everytime u play LIVE n no HDD mod definitely. Hope to c anybody who goes LIVE in SPCT soon. Cheers!  smile.gif
yup, i know a dude in klang and he is on LIVE..moded summore..
Spawnster
post Apr 18 2005, 09:36 PM

497 posts

the xbox i got is modded and though i hvn't tried it (no broadband), it can either be booted up in ori mode or mod mode. so if i were to on xbox live then it shouldn't be a problem...just need an ori game.
deus_ex_machina
post May 16 2005, 05:11 AM

1,165 posts

The purpose I play a game not because of the game play but the storyline. That's the reason why I dumped my PC games to give a way to console. Which console should I choose? XBox or PS2? No need the next generation console.
prazole
post May 16 2005, 02:31 PM

Sleepyhead..
1,513 posts

QUOTE(deus_ex_machina @ May 16 2005, 05:11 AM)
The purpose I play a game not because of the game play but the storyline. That's the reason why I dumped my PC games to give a way to console. Which console should I choose? XBox or PS2? No need the next generation console.
boils down to this.. if u like japanese games.. go ps2..
if u like western games.. go xbox.. im thinking since u are migrating from PC games.. and PC games mostly made by westerners.. u might want xbox..
really up to u.. y not try n see which console has game which interest u most..
do research
refnulf
post Jul 13 2005, 06:46 PM

I love Hulu
7,937 posts

This is a good thread, I've wanted a direct comparison for ages. Hmmmm, but I guess owning all three is the best tongue.gif

The way I see it, the xbox has all the games that I've been interested in, not to say that the ps2 does not, it's just that the xbox has the majority for my personal preference.

So I guess it's basically up to what a person wants, the list of games are important tongue.gif It's what you're going to be playing. But I'll still say go with both, the xbox and the ps2 tongue.gif Hell, wait for the xbox 360 and the ps3 user posted image

This post has been edited by refnulf: Jul 13 2005, 06:49 PM
Harle
post Jul 20 2005, 03:57 PM

82 posts

I think Ps2 is the best of allcoz it has the lots of RPG games that I can play. Gamecube is not half bad as well...but, I can't really say that unless I owned one, eh? But the games in GC are quite fun [featured in X-Play, and other games progs in Tech TV]. As for XBox, well...I kinda wish there's more RPGs for XBox.
Wai
post Jul 23 2005, 01:44 PM

jAck
1,042 posts

well , i wanna to know the compare between this 3 console so far!

1st , the graphic performance !
i know tat xbox is better than ps2 , but i have not little idea about gamecube ! how is the graphic about gamecube?

2nd,the popular that release between this 3 console !
so far i vote for ps2 have the most enjoyful games , how about xbOX and gamecube , wat is their famous games?

3rd,the additional function between those 3 !
i have no idea, so wat is it ? can somebodysaid
wcliang
post Jul 31 2005, 01:11 AM

585 posts

QUOTE(Wai @ Jul 23 2005, 01:44 PM)
well , i wanna to know the compare between this 3 console so far!

1st , the graphic performance !
i know tat xbox is better than ps2 , but i have not little idea about gamecube ! how is the graphic about gamecube?

2nd,the popular that release between this 3 console !
so far i vote for ps2 have the most enjoyful games , how about xbOX and gamecube , wat is their famous games?

3rd,the additional function between those 3 !
i have no idea, so wat is it ? can somebodysaid
xbox famous for halo2, addon features xbmc,dvdplayer,photoviewer,onlinegaming

bodybuilder
post Aug 1 2005, 07:02 PM

1,254 posts

may i know how much better is the xbox over ps2 in term of graphics??thanks
ruztynail
post Aug 2 2005, 12:49 AM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

nearly twice better