10 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

GameCube, PS2 and XBOX, The Good , The Bad and The Ulgy ?

SUSMatrix
post Mar 4 2005, 04:41 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Nah....Let them clown on for a while. It'll be heartless not to let them make a mockery of themselves when they enjoy it so much!!

Just see how low can they go!! It's fun!!!

Cheers.

wcliang
post Mar 4 2005, 06:09 PM

585 posts

my small experince.....

i starting join here just cos i thinking to buy a console ( hehe thinking to buy ps2)
so start come in here and there to search for info & price......
at the end.....

Xbox better graphic ps2 no comment ...... remark: like watch DVD leh man

xbox less games ps2 more games remark: no doubt i can't play all even less games

xbox modchip stabil ps2 not very good? ( slim model)

xbox can play DVD movie ps2 not recommend

xbox value added : media centre (XBMC) -> CD ,VCD,MP3, Photo....wat others?... thumbup.gif .

answer : i bought my xbox ! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by wcliang: Mar 4 2005, 06:14 PM
stringfellow
post Mar 4 2005, 08:20 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

DEal, PJ, you've called for the right of parley, and im glad we both parleyed for for ceasefire. thumbup.gif

And Matrix, i dont know if you are tell yourself you're cool or something with your present way of responding to posts in this thread, but you're a one man show.One man show in making the jokes, delivering the jokes, and unfortunately too, one man show in laughing at your own jokes, and your self importance. Maybe you should try stepping out of this air bubble you're living in and see what kind of person you have become in this thread.

Back to the topic, I chose PS2, GC and XBOX because i have no choice but get them when i wanted to play games on them. I got my first GC when i was giddy for some Star Wars:Rogue Leader action, , got my first Xbox after seeing how beautiful DOA3 was at the time of its release, while my first PS2 was the 10000 series, along with Ridge Racer V a week after the Japanese launch.

GC starts getting interesting when Eternal Darkness came out.At first wasnt sure if it is a hit or a miss, since it was published by Silicon Knights, and the only thing that crosses my mind when SK is mentioned is the Legend of Kain series. Got into conversation with Silkworm, and convinced me over for the purchases and laughed my butt off for even worrying. It is then i think GC is worth a shot.

Xbox was bought with a bundle in mind.Initially was just interested to get only DOA3, but at the time of purchase , the shops werent able to un-bundle and sell me DOA3 only. Got 7 other games and paid quite a hefty sum for it, which is at the time, was not available for modification. The moment i start seeing its potential, is when Panzer Dragoon Orta and Jet Set Radio Future was released, and they were lightyears graphically compared to the offerings from the other consoles. The graphic whore in me was thoroughly satisfied, and with Sega fresh from its decision to go developer-only, provided the goods with their awesome Xbox offerings. Dabbled immediately with the progressive scan capabilities when MS launched the HD Pack, and i will always remember my first experience seeing Panzer Dragoon Orta in beautiful HD.

PS2 and me had a very long relationship.I was at the point of going crazy with anticipation with news and articles pouring out from newspapers, mass medias like CNN and CNBC(programs like E! and other tech-related shows, there arent any TechTV channel at that time, circa 2000) pumping out an almost daily mention about the PS2 leading up to its Japanese 3/4/2000 release. Went teary eyed(both in awe, and horror) when saw the crazy crowd congregating when the clock stroke launch night.Awe coz i didnt know the response would be THAT immense, and horrified calculating my chances of securing one for myself, at such close time to launch day. Got a call from Sunway Piramid, and to make long story short, i got the unit meant as display unit, and begged them to sell that, as premium price. My living room has never been the same again sinc then. The moment i realised PS2 was destined for greatness is when Tekken Tag, Devil May Cry and FFX was released.

In short, it is the games that compelled me to make the decision of getting a console. It does not matter to me if it moddable, although if it is, then it's a bonus. My jaws went slack when i saw SoulCalibur on Dreamcast for the first time, and that vision was compelling enough to make me splurge. But i was excited to when they released the first GD-ROM silvers in the form of DOA2, with that swap disc.
prazole
post Mar 4 2005, 09:03 PM

Sleepyhead..
1,513 posts

QUOTE(Uzumaki NaruTo @ Mar 4 2005, 03:27 PM)

one thing for sure the future of console sub forum is going to be like the real world thread if people keeps acting like kids. i mean making flaming sigs really immature man. grow up la. even i got my ps2 still have time to browse and enjoy others console screenies.

if you see others doing mistake try politely to correct them rather than using caps and literally jumps on the mistake. we all are civilized person eh? some of us have the leisure of multiple console while others have one (poor students like me) so share knowledge is the best way to do. clamining have multiple consoles and making hoo haa whenever sees someone make mistake.doesnt show your maturity you know.[/i]

and you are? rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif
yawn

This post has been edited by prazole: Mar 4 2005, 09:33 PM
PrivateJohn
post Mar 5 2005, 12:30 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

Hello no more name calling. Later h@h@ ban all of us, i don't want to see my beautiful 0% warning bar goes up. Anyway prazole i think you should stop it. You are pushing it to the limits. It makes no difference by changing your sig to that and flaming another guy like that...directly. I think now matrix and prazole need to cool down.
(Maybe bringing in a pc games supporter will change the situation abit 'coz with one common enemy they will all stand united like how bush united the american against "terrorist")

As a matter of fact i find the debate kinda fun, it keeps me up during the night. Oh well...

Now as for me, i am a pure pc gamer since dune 2 (my first pc game). When i am kiddo i only play some nintendo games at my cousin house etc, never really own one.

Until the day my brother bought a ps2 (by telling my mother it's a home entertainment system! we didn't buy to play games only but to play movie & music...erm...you know we are bluffing.)

I watch my brother play some of the game, i play some of it. I find most of the game require long hour of playing. I found some of my favourites like suikoden, killzone, getaway. Some i didn't manage to play but think it's good are dark cloud 2, dothack etc but then game like final fantasy, omnimusha, slg type game doesn't appeal to me.
I don't fancy perfect look & way too sexy babe/guy in some sexy costume (or japanese fasyion) as game character and the animation turns me off ( example ffx - 2, when they run/walk and dance to kill enemy).
Slg game used to be my favourite when i was young until my friend play the robot games everyday and the process is like not much there. It makes me have some kind of slg-phobia. I am not much of a fan for fighting/sports game unless it's a house party etc then i will give it an exception.

Only then i realise i prefer western game over japanese game. I think all of these explain why i seldom play ninja gaiden, doa & sudeki on my xbox. One of my favourite japanese game on xbox is phantom dust. I must say it's very creative and very competitive as well if you have friend who actually play it. What kind of xbox games i play? The post is getting too long...so you can just browse through my thread for more info. Before i end this, i must say one thing that japanese developer have an edge over the western developer are their CG making skills. No doubt about their cg, most of it are top notch. As for western developer are their skill in making multiplayer games.

Lastly, i think that's how xbox got hold of its new market. People like me...in between pc & console.

This post has been edited by PrivateJohn: Mar 5 2005, 12:37 AM
prazole
post Mar 5 2005, 01:05 AM

Sleepyhead..
1,513 posts

i personally feel.. japanese game makers are more creative and artistic..
they can create a new series of game and still the ideas are so fresh and new..
eg are like ICO, Animal Crossing, Katamari Damacy, DOA:VBX, MGS3 with those new hunting for food and self healing thingy...

western game juz revolve around FPS, Comand & conquer type strategy...
yes, now and then they upgrade the graphics and then new weapon and AI, usually with a slap in bad storyline... with really dissapointing endings...
..and a whole bunch of EA sports game that comes out every year without fail..
feels more like making money over making games as passion...
however there are really good games once in a while like HL2, with the gravity gun.. smile.gif pure fun!

also im a big fan of fighting games.. and japanese make better fighting games than the western.. eg capcom's street fighter both 2d and 3d.. or snk's kof.. tekken.. virtua fighter..
the few western made fighting game i can remember now is maybe killer instinct and mortal kombat.. both.. gory at their extreme.. not my cup of tea..

still im all open to any good games any platform.. i say bring it on..

private john.. i kindda think sudeki is.. made by western game maker.. not sure though..

PrivateJohn
post Mar 5 2005, 01:23 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

Creative ya...they can even come up with comics and it's just all about fishing biggrin.gif
With different fishing rod comes with different power.

Some might find their new creation lovely, some might find it...ya know.
Forgot to add, animation fan should definitely go for ps2. It's the homeland for japanese anime.
PS2 also target at broader audience (any age)...xbox mostly teen above.
As for action game western developer aren't that bad afterall.

You are right, sudeki are done by Uk developer, ain't no japs. in an attempt to break into japanese market.

BTW...my favourite webcomic Ctrl-Alt-Del. Just like a warning sign for all of us.

This post has been edited by PrivateJohn: Mar 5 2005, 04:45 AM
snipersnake
post Mar 12 2005, 02:13 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

one thing guys,

ps2-cheap hardware, shitty graphics...but awesome games
xbox-top of edge tech..AWESOME LIVE sevice..but not enough good games..
dreamcast- the humblest of all, died to soon due to sony's agressive marketing strategy..
sonic_cd
post Mar 12 2005, 02:33 AM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Mar 12 2005, 02:13 AM)
one thing guys,

ps2-cheap hardware, shitty graphics...but awesome games
xbox-top of edge tech..AWESOME LIVE sevice..but not enough good  games..
dreamcast- the humblest of all, died to soon due to sony's agressive marketing strategy..
dreamcast ? he its one good machine...btw, u own ar ?
snipersnake
post Mar 12 2005, 02:35 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

yup!! play it until now!!
tidusthecoolest
post Mar 12 2005, 02:41 AM

Uzairi Diehard Supporter
1,102 posts

My Dreamcast rosak last month sad.gif
Now only left with PS2 and GameCube.
Maybe will consider buying an Xbox. rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by tidusthecoolest: Mar 12 2005, 02:42 AM
SUSMatrix
post Mar 17 2005, 11:03 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Dreamcast sucks!!! Bought it for 3 months and then SEGA pull the life support system from it!!! Worst RM800 i ever spent!!

snipersnake
post Mar 17 2005, 11:28 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

dont blame the system dude..blame the omega hype sony pumped for ps2..

also the earthquake that shook taiwan...it effected dreamcast production..
wcliang
post Mar 22 2005, 05:10 PM

585 posts

转自EG,作者:EG-ps-x
我是一家电玩店BOSS,同时也是一个电子游戏的狂热爱好者,给我带来最多快乐的

是FC与PS1,说实话从PS1的时代走过来PS2一直是我最想得到的东西,在刚拿到PS2的时

候我简直要疯狂掉了。因为对游戏的这份狂热,我开了一家属于自己的电玩店,虽然规模

不大但总算完成了自己的一个梦想。起初我主要是以卖PS2为主,时间大概是在02和03年

吧,因为那段期间的PS2对与我们生意人来说其优点是+IC芯片较为成熟、软件众多、知

名度高、质量好。也许是因为地理位置的关系,我们这个地方更多的客人是以开类似与网

吧经营方式的电视游戏吧为主!但同时也存在一个弊端,因为游戏吧24小时的营业、以及

散装光盘碟对光头的长期影响,使以PS2为主的游戏设备都没有太长的使用寿命。维修、更换

光头、更换原装手柄对这些大多以下岗工人经营的游戏吧而言是一个极大负担。最大的欣

慰就是从18000型到39001型的PS2质量都还算很硬,但是到了5xxxx型系列以后,因为有

烧机的危险加之游戏吧的长时间使用,这个问题也就更大了。说句玩笑话,我碰到过一台

50006型连续烧机达4次之多,当然我也绝对在开始就加装过免烧驱动IC的!也许看到这里

会有玩家反驳说"怎么我买的5xxxx系列的机子玩了这么久都还没事?",不是每台PS2都会

烧机,而我只想说的是开店到现在我卖出去的上百台XBOX的硬件返修率为零!

因为以上种种的原因,我开始把目光投向了冷宫中的XBOX。听说了EVOX系统后,我

开始在一些技术性较强的网站学习。工夫不负有心人,XBOX的硬件维修、EVOX系统的安

装、常用外部软件的安装使用、完美更换非官方硬盘及光驱、硬盘游戏中文菜单列表、软

件+IC........已全部掌握(相信本论坛有不少朋友更厉害)。带着这些东西,我想对我的

客人来说应该是有很大的利处的。起码对光头的损耗就小了,这个我相信本论坛的朋友应

该不用我多说了吧。

但是也碰到了新的问题:XBOX软件数目太少以及客人认为的大作较少、手柄不适应

等问题!跟你们说吧我们这里的玩家喜欢些什么呢:魔鬼电单车、真三国系列、数码宝

贝、实况系列、侠盗猎车系列、火影、龙珠Z。其实这些游戏XBOX上基本上都有了,连

XBOX的实况也开始有高人在汉化了。但是在我们这,忍龙就是敌不过鬼武者3,生或死系

列就是赢不了火影系列,光环系列------更是无人问津!就算是同一个游戏,XBOX也会被

玩家以不习惯其手柄等理由给否决掉。其原因--至今为止我还是搞不清楚,也许是PS2

太根深蒂固了吧,多数的PS2玩家都不太愿意去接受XBOX,这又是受了怎样的误导呢?

真的很苦恼啊!

对于这些问题,我也问过身边的很多人,他们大多数说的原因就是PS2的游戏性强!

而当我反问他们,"如果对于一个从没有接触过游戏的人,给他个FC的游戏,再给他一个

次世代画面级别的垃圾游戏,你们会如何选择?"答案是--次世代的垃圾游戏。这或许不

是唯一的选择,但这应该是大多数人的意见 。有次我在做客户访问的时候,曾听到围观的

人说到"谁会去买XBOX啊?有本杂志上说PS2才是全世界最强的家用游戏平台..",唉~~~

他起码知道这些东西叫"家用游戏平台"。至于手柄的问题,从目前的情况看来不光是弄个

转接器就能解决的了,因为它毕竟还得另外花钱啊~不过起码我觉得XB的手柄实在是不

差,美版的我更当是宝贝,呵呵~~个人喜好问题啊。

今天看了"终与明白UCG对XB的介绍为何这么肤浅了。"这个帖子,这句"唯一不满的

是片头动画,因为是美式风格的。。。。",果然说的太xxxx了,也许正是因为这样的话,

影响了一些玩家的选择吧...

XBOX的种种附加功能和目前霸主的游戏画面同时也使得我自己更加的喜欢她!PS2

我现在基本不玩了,一般是用来给客人试碟,不蛮大家说最新的GT4、鬼泣3、真354、合

金装备3....我就硬是没碰到(呵呵~~~只是个人喜好不同而已,PS2的玩家别误会~)。

因为他们的画面说句老实话我真的玩不下,勉强的说2004年我玩过的唯一一个PS2游戏就

皇牌4。本店的名字叫POPTOOL电玩总汇,今后的打算不会改变,我仍然会主要向客人推

荐购买XBOX,当然PS2也是会做的,只能尽量在+IC焊接以及IC选择上做的细致一些

了,最近出了50009的+IC芯片,我这里也卖了几台了,客人使用时间还不长,情况还不

能确定,希望它能取代过去质量好的18和39系列,这样玩家也就能买到质量好的主机了。

我是个电玩迷,还是很超级的那种,同时也是个电玩BOSS,艰苦并快乐着.........

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Copy from a chinese website.

PrivateJohn
post Mar 22 2005, 06:31 PM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

I am just like him...almost.
Anyway just don't get it...
因为是美式风格的。。。。",果然说的太xxxx了

What does this means...

He is right about people opinion on xbox. Alot never really try it and condem the machine already.
Some own it but they only play xbox japanese game that's why they don't really like xbox. (obviously ps2 have more jap game)

This post has been edited by PrivateJohn: Mar 22 2005, 06:34 PM
stringfellow
post Mar 22 2005, 08:32 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

How about some who actually tried Xbox , but found that there are mostly ports of PC games which plays better and looks better on the PC?Im this kind of Xbox owner, which i dont find investing in another title which is readily available on the PC and looks better not worth getting. And im not into anything like Battlefield/Brothers in Arms kind of game which I still dont get even if it is available on PS2.

It's easy really, MS is trying to bring the PC-experience to the console scene with these ports, but consoles have always been and will always will be a "jump in and play" platform. If you like modding your Xbox, whether software-like or physically, you are basically still in the PC-modding mentality, in which most console gamers are not into and are alien to them.They are used to "plug this in and it works straightaway", not complications.

In the end, choose the games of your preference and go to the consoles in which the games resides. But in the case of Xbox, im not getting Doom3 on Xbox as i had the better looking and prior experience with the PC version. Only games that are exclusive and available on Xbox interests me, which is why Ninja Gaiden and DOA:U is high on Xbox most wanted list. Upcoming games? Unreal Championship 2, and Splinter Cell Chaos Theory are the only ones im interested in, with SC mostly because it is available first on Xbox.If it appears on PC first, i would have skipped it altogether in favor of the better looking PC version.

P/S:This post was proofreaded and carefully written as to not offend anyone who hold their Xboxes dear to their hearts, as we all know how console factioning and overpassionateness towards certain consoles here are known to be quite evident in here.
PrivateJohn
post Mar 22 2005, 09:29 PM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

Ya but you miss out few points.
First by asking you one question. What's your pc graphics card. Mine is 9800 only and the grahpic is pretty much the same if pc are tweaked to play smoothly. Unless you wana have higher resolution, anti alliasing max out etc and have a lag game.
You will only have better graphic if you have 6800 and above, but sadly i can't afford that.

Second, xbox are not just about Battlefield/Brothers in Arms. For what type of western games...just go in the xbox introduction thread as it has been repeat over and over again. Those ported game does look as good as pc with normal gfx but ps2 version are not.
BTW, i believed xbox player get doom 3 are for its coop gameplay. My roommate is waiting anxiously to play doom 3 coop with me 'coz he hasn't finish it on pc.
As you can see western developer are mostly developing games for PC. Japanese 95% on ps2 but nothing much on pc, just look at how many japanese pc games developer out there.
So it's normal to have this thought of xbox are just pc ported game.

Third, xbox is pretty much plug and play. Modding are simply to bring your console experience to next level.

Conclusion?
Xbox to play multiplatform game, pc ported game, and xbox exclusive game. Modding for media center is optional.

Ps2 are for japanese famous title-big library of rpg game...need more to say?
I don't think getting ps2 for pc ported game would be a good idea.
Sports game are easily available on cross platform.

If you like all of the console A games, you wouldn't have time for other console and vice versa. If you are the picky type,
certainly you are the rich one and only play the few titles on one console then move on to another.

In order to get a better picture of my thought, just head to most of the forum populated with xbox user, i believed it's pretty much the same. To help you even more in understanding what i am trying to say, the type of game like in ps2 - god of war, killzone...ya these titles gain lots of attention from me.

Playing 3 types of games in one machine is what make xbox a selling point.
Prove that i am wrong.

OT : head to Teamxbox for interview about japanese developer having hard time publishing international game and complain microsoft lack of effort in marketing xbox in japan or something.

This post has been edited by PrivateJohn: Mar 22 2005, 09:37 PM
cocklea
post Mar 22 2005, 09:29 PM

Droid
5,939 posts

I love both my PS2 and the Xbox. Both are the awesomeness. I dunno, but it is hard for me to compare them both coz i love them both soooooo much. It is hard to part from them when PS3 and Xbox360 comes out, just like my precious N64 and Dreamcast. You know what they say, the PS2 and the Xbox is like a Madonna concert while the N64 and Dreamcast is the opening act (maybe Britney Spears). Sure, u buy the ticket to watch Madonna girate on stage, but in the end, you want Britney back on stage, u know what i mean?

I dont have Gamecube. Well, i have one before, but sold it off to this thread starter (thanx again for that). I dunno what i would do if i still have that door stopper. Not insulting Nintendo here, i think the GC is not up to MY standard. <-- See how i emphasize the word MY there? Coz its MY standard. So nintendo fanboy please, BACK OFF!
stringfellow
post Mar 23 2005, 06:47 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

To answer PJ's question, i got X800XTPE and 6800U for both of my gaming rigs at home.I guess that answers a few questions.

Still, i got myself and Xbox for games like DOA, Pander Dragoon Orta and Jet Set Radio Future.I didnt get them for PC ports.They play much better at better resolution and graphics on my PC gaming rigs.

I dont play sports games, so getting the best version on Xbox is a moot point for me. Cross platform games cases are a bit trickier.I've always havea beef with the Xbox controller, even with the smaller S Controller, i still develop cramped hands after extended periods of time. Not so wtih DS2 on PS2.This have somewhat swayed my interest in getting PS2 versions of crossplatform games rather than Xbox.

Still, Xbox360 has caught itself under my interest radar, with its promise of the HD Era.But people has got to kidding themselves when they say PS3 wont have the edge next gen in terms of processing power and graphical capabilities. The Xbox was released mor than a year later than Xbox with much more power under the hood compared to Xbox, and MS just want a head start next gen to emulate PS2's current success next gen.PS3 will be released projected fall 2006, which is 6-8 months later than XboxNExt, and discarding fanboy glasses while scrutinising this matter, it is simple logic to say that PS3 will have the edge in terms of power.Thinking otherwise would show your biasness towards XboxNExt, since the similar scenario is present in current gen.

Interesting isnt it? XboxNExt playiny the PS2 part (emphasis on game , not graphics), while PS3 takes the mantle for processing power(as do how Xbox fanboys were screaming how powerful this console is , compared to the other two consoles). Nintendo is a wildcard here, and i personally think playing the "i dont care what others are doing, i just want to be innovative with my gyroscopic controller and gimmicky doodads" part will not translate into larger userbase next gen if they dont break out of their cocoon and start creating mainstream games and attracting mainstream gamers..
PrivateJohn
post Mar 23 2005, 08:26 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

I dont play sports games, so getting the best version on Xbox is a moot point for me. Cross platform games cases are a bit trickier.I've always havea beef with the Xbox controller, even with the smaller S Controller, i still develop cramped hands after extended periods of time. Not so wtih DS2 on PS2.This have somewhat swayed my interest in getting PS2 versions of crossplatform games rather than Xbox.

That explained everything.

I thought next gen console, xbox2 will have an edge over the software part in graphics while ps3 is on the hardware and gamecube trying to create a new market 'coz they know they have no match to mainstream hardcore game in xbox2 & ps3. That's what i read from games industry site

This post has been edited by PrivateJohn: Mar 23 2005, 08:59 AM

10 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0251sec    1.06    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:23 AM