Qash-M
post Mar 15 2010, 08:35 PM

#FreePalestine
6,105 posts

QUOTE(MK84 @ Mar 15 2010, 07:57 PM)
Testing HD capture from Astro B.yond.

Testing video capture from the B.yond decoder HDMI output.

The setup goes from Astro Byond (HDMI)-> HDFury2 (Component + Optical out) -> HD-PVR -> Media Center

The LCD TV gets it's feed via HD-PVR component pass through.

The video capture details. Input source is 1280x720.

Click on the pics for larger pictar.

Things left to do:
1. Get DVBLink to work.
2. Get IR Blaster to work.
3. Setup EPG.

Test clip:
http://hotfile.com/dl/32892570/e27ac3f/Ast...apture.mp4.html
I would prefer .ts video instead.. Also, i wanna know the average bitrate on HD channel:clap:

This post has been edited by Qash-M: Mar 15 2010, 08:41 PM
whatsupbro
post Mar 15 2010, 08:50 PM

~Musician wannabe~
1,952 posts

any updates??
dxjb
post Mar 15 2010, 09:18 PM

807 posts

I see that there is not many complaints here and on astro FB..
why everyone stop being angry?
the war is over?
I dont think we have the stretch mode back yet but seem quiet all of a sudden..
please update on whoever has got reply from MCMC or other department
I hope people follow up and not give up
or else...
ASTRO WINS!!! oops.gif

This post has been edited by dxjb: Mar 15 2010, 09:22 PM
zwanvedder
post Mar 15 2010, 09:40 PM

Rock For Choice
1,589 posts

QUOTE(dxjb @ Mar 15 2010, 09:18 PM)
I see that there is not many complaints here and on astro FB..
why everyone stop being angry?
the war is over?
I dont think we have the stretch mode back yet but seem quiet all of a sudden..
please update on whoever has got reply from MCMC or other department
I hope people follow up and not give up
or else...
ASTRO WINS!!!  oops.gif
wat can we do hmm.gif ..kita hanya orang kecil wink.gif ....can we live w/o Astro hmm.gif ...for me NO...just get on with it sweat.gif ...Component+ HDMI... cry.gif
hye
post Mar 15 2010, 09:48 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Mar 15 2010, 04:35 PM)
I just got off the phone with them after receiving the same email from this Muhammad Jan Rawi guy.
I told them I want to speak to Rawi or your manager.
To make the long story short I did not get to speak to either one (typical lah)
The CS I spoke to - I asked her do you have Byond at home? Do you think its right to watch with heads and tails all chopped off? I said I want to know if this is a problem you guys are fixing or is it something permanent cause if its permanent then I want to cancel my Byond and go back to the normal package. I told her I can understand they want to broadcast in the correct aspect ratio but why do they give an option which is useless to most people. Do you like to watch with heads and subtitles chopped off?

anyway she will get back to me.....biasa la

I think more people should threaten to change back to normal. vmad.gif
I argues with Astro in the same manner before. Quite useless I think. From the way the CS answered, they sounded like they are trained to get this kindof nuclear blast from their customers. Astro should be thought a lesson and the government as well for tolerating and creating monopolism.
fizzy15
post Mar 15 2010, 09:57 PM

159 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Mar 15 2010, 09:48 PM)
I argues with Astro in the same manner before. Quite useless I think. From the way the CS answered, they sounded like they are trained to get this kindof nuclear blast from their customers. Astro should be thought a lesson and the government as well for tolerating and creating monopolism.
we can not do anything as we already gonna pay starting this april..and we also cannot terminate for 1 year..either astro repair or not they wins..we all should know how they work..but we still being cheated by them..but nothing can be done since we are all 1Malaysia..hahahaha
m_imrun
post Mar 15 2010, 10:11 PM

127 posts

I think this gogo2 guy works for astro. maybe he is the idiot who came up with these zoom ideas. That is why he try so hard to defend it with his 'pilar boxes' and stuff.

Gogo2..don't u get it?? the problem is not about the pilar boxes. It is about the strecth function that has been replace with the zoom function. Can u see it clearly now?

Just restore it to as it before. Stretch and pillar box. Or on the other hand, just provide the three functions, zoom, pillar box and stretch. Everyone happy
SUSgogo2
post Mar 15 2010, 10:14 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(dxjb @ Mar 15 2010, 05:29 PM)
gogo2..are u working for astro..?
coz u dont seem to share the feelings for others here..
u only seem to care about yourself and ur Pillar-Box
i wonder how u would have reacted if astro say according to international standard only zoom mode is allowed
No more pillar box..no other options that suits you...
Or u only have zoom mode and stretch..no more of ur beloved pillar box..
How would you feel for paying extra money and getting the best Tv but cannot watch according to ur style?
I know that will not happen
But damn..i know u dont like stretch mode and like pillar box but people have their own viewing style
Ur eyes like pillar box but others like stretch mode..n u say its not important..to u it isnt
For others it is..so let them choose and stop telling people what they should like or should watch..
I'm not working for Astro. It's just that a lot of LCD buyer does not know what is ratio aspect. If know, sure
will watch in Pillar box mode. smile.gif Every human the same. I'm sure all human like pillar box because that's how
it was intended to be viewed by the director. Cheers bro! thumbup.gif

Added on March 15, 2010, 10:16 pm
QUOTE(m_imrun @ Mar 15 2010, 10:11 PM)
I think this gogo2 guy works for astro. maybe he is the idiot who came up with these zoom ideas. That is why he try so hard to defend it with his 'pilar boxes' and stuff.

Gogo2..don't u get it?? the problem is not about the pilar boxes. It is about the strecth function that has been replace with the zoom function. Can u see it clearly now?

Just restore it to as it before. Stretch and pillar box. Or on the other hand, just provide the three functions, zoom, pillar box and stretch. Everyone happy
no la. I'm not working for astro. zoom mode is also not acceptable. The only acceptable mode for SD is 1:1 which is
pillar box mode. Believe me, you guys will be happy to watch in pillar box mode. It's meant to be watch that way.
No other way is acceptable. That's consumer right. Right to correct aspect ratio. rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by gogo2: Mar 15 2010, 10:16 PM
CTU
post Mar 15 2010, 10:31 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Mar 15 2010, 10:14 PM)
I'm not working for Astro. It's just that a lot of LCD buyer does not know what is ratio aspect. If know, sure
will watch in Pillar box mode. smile.gif Every human the same. I'm sure all human like pillar box because that's how
it was intended to be viewed by the director. Cheers bro!  thumbup.gif
Hey look..its gogo2 going on and on and on again about his pillar box..
U just dont get it do you?
U might buy the LCD TV to watch in the CORRECT RATIO ASPECT thats why u watch in PILLAR BOX..
But get this in ur head boy, u are not the same with others
Some people buy big LCD or Plasma becaue they wanna see big full screen programmes on TV
They dont care if its the CORRECT RATIO ASPECT or if the picture is distorted..
They dont wanna buy big LCD Tv to watch in Pillar Box..they just want full screen..and not zoomed..get it?
So what if they are not watching it in the intended mode made by the director
People have choices..
N since when did u get ur PHD and make research saying all humans like pillar box?
Ur damn wrong there..there are many here who dont like pillar box so dont put words into people's mouth
Stop campaigning for people to watch in Pillar Box here..we have our own style of viewing
U wanna talk bout Pillar Box 24 hours a day?
Go start ur own thread!!!

spikey2506
post Mar 15 2010, 10:34 PM

Professional Bum
1,839 posts

QUOTE(CTU @ Mar 15 2010, 10:31 PM)
U might buy the LCD TV to watch in the CORRECT RATIO ASPECT thats why u watch in PILLAR BOX..
Some people buy big LCD or Plasma becaue they wanna see big full screen programmes on TV
They dont wanna buy big LCD Tv to watch in Pillar Box..they just want full screen..and not zoomed..get it?
People have choices..
N since when did u get ur PHD and make research saying all humans like pillar box?
Ur damn wrong there..there are many here who dont like pillar box so dont put words into people's mouth
Stop campaigning for people to watch in Pillar Box here..we have our own style of viewing
Just let him rant. Don't layan him. He's probably just some kid with a lot of free time after SPM. He'll shut up if we ignore all his replies. We have more urgent issue now than to layan him.

So Astro is playing dirty eh?
SUSgogo2
post Mar 15 2010, 10:35 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(CTU @ Mar 15 2010, 10:31 PM)
People have choices..
good evening bro. stretched version of SD is not full screen bro. Stretched is stretched. Actually pillar
box is also full screen. Just that it did not fill the screen.

i say all human like pillar box because when you look at you wife, you want it to look fat? of course not.
You want it to look exactly how she is. No one want to watch movie with stretched people. This is based
on my assumption that people want to see their wife look correctly.
sn4
post Mar 15 2010, 10:37 PM

36 posts

To: SKMM ( aduanskmm@cmc.gov.my)
cc: Astro (wecare@astro.com.my)

Dear SKMM,
... See more
we are called upon to lodge a complaint with you as customers that has subscribed to the Astro Beyond service, we are currently encountering problems where the broadcast of non High Definition or Standard Definition SD are of poor quality and are zoomed in . In order to rectify the zooming we as the customer have to choose the picture format of 4:3 compared to HD on 16:9.

The full report on this problem is as reported by the internet newsportal Malaysian Insider today at:

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/index.p...yond-customers-

After effort to get Astro to respond or explain on the their facebook page, goes unheeded , i have chosen to lodge this complaint with you.

This is due to the fact that Astro has failed to communicate nor they have informed the customers on their intention to upgrade the software or quality of broadcast to the customers.
In doing so, we the customers, paying an extra RM20 for the HD services are now getting a raw deal on the SD channels.

Hope that in the future Astro would be more considerate and would treat their customer with more respect and not simply implement changes without any notifications.
--
7 minutes ago · Report

So guys... if you are unhappy, just copy and paste my complaint and send to the email adresses of SKMM.
Hopefully we get a quick response..
6 minutes ago · Report

we shld follow the same

This post has been edited by sn4: Mar 15 2010, 10:39 PM
m_imrun
post Mar 15 2010, 10:41 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Mar 15 2010, 10:35 PM)
good evening bro. stretched version of SD is not full screen bro. Stretched is stretched. Actually pillar

i say all human like pillar box because when you look at you wife, you want it to look fat? of course not.
You want it to look exactly how she is. No one want to watch movie with stretched people. This is based
blah...blah2..pillar box..blah2..blah2..1:1 aspect ratio...blah2..same things all over again..

Everyone has their own preferences la bro.. it is not up to you..i think about 90% forumers in here just want the zoom function replace back with the stretch function..we don't care about fat..1:1 aspect ratio..blah2..pillar box..just open new thread la bro..

This post has been edited by m_imrun: Mar 15 2010, 10:42 PM
sn4
post Mar 15 2010, 10:41 PM

36 posts

ok gogo2 , we get ur point... so? go ahead enjoy ur pillar..... just let us, the non pillar guy to request for astro to give back the stretch option...end of story

This post has been edited by sn4: Mar 15 2010, 10:42 PM
CTU
post Mar 15 2010, 10:43 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Mar 15 2010, 10:35 PM)

owh u dont aceept if ur wife is fat is it?
No wonder u dont accept people have their own choices
Look who's talking nonsense now..
comparing stretch mode in Tv to his wife..
N u sound so silly with this:

stretched is stretched. Actually pillar box is also full screen. Just that it did not fill the screen.

u dont seem top get the point people want stretch mode so that it can fill the screen
Ur Pillar box doesnt fill up the screen..
Gosh u r acting like an SPM kid now..just let people make their own choices and u go enjoy ur pillar box

m_imrun
post Mar 15 2010, 10:47 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(sn4 @ Mar 15 2010, 10:37 PM)

Dear SKMM,
... See more
we are called upon to lodge a complaint with you as customers that has subscribed to the Astro Beyond service, we are currently encountering problems where the broadcast of non High Definition or Standard Definition SD are of poor quality and are zoomed in . In order to rectify the zooming we as the customer have to choose the picture format of 4:3 compared to HD on 16:9.

The full report on this problem is as reported by the internet newsportal Malaysian Insider today at:

After effort to get Astro to respond or explain on the their facebook page, goes unheeded , i have chosen to lodge this complaint with you.

This is due to the fact that Astro has failed to communicate nor they have informed the customers on their intention to upgrade the software or quality of broadcast to the customers.
In doing so, we the customers, paying an extra RM20 for the HD services are now getting a raw deal on the SD channels.

Hope that in the future Astro would be more considerate and would treat their customer with more respect and not simply implement changes without any notifications.
Good report format bro..nicely written..will copy and e-mail to SKMM..I lodge a report to SKMM before, about my celcom broadband service. I must say.. i was very happy with their action..Even the celcom exec written me a personal letter to apologize about my problem..
sn4
post Mar 15 2010, 10:49 PM

36 posts

err its not mine.. from astro FB...credit to that guy heehe
mirzan007
post Mar 15 2010, 10:50 PM

501 posts

QUOTE(sn4 @ Mar 15 2010, 10:37 PM)

Dear SKMM,
... See more

--
7 minutes ago · Report

So guys... if you are unhappy, just copy and paste my complaint and send to the email adresses of SKMM.
Hopefully we get a quick response..
6 minutes ago · Report
we shld follow the same
GOOD IDEA bro! all we need now is for everyone to complaint at the same time. Better if you guys using your own words.. EVEN better if you could includes the name of the guys working in ASTRO responsible for the problems mentioned... can i add, pls cc to the respective menteri as well.. they all have KPI nowadays.. give power to consumers... lets see how it goes thumbup.gif
SUSgogo2

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(CTU @ Mar 15 2010, 10:43 PM)
owh u dont aceept if ur wife is fat is it?
No wonder u dont accept people have their own choices
Look who's talking nonsense now..
comparing stretch mode in Tv to his wife..
N u sound so silly with this:

stretched is stretched. Actually pillar box is also full screen. Just that it did not fill the screen.

u dont seem top get the point people want stretch mode so that it can fill the screen
Ur Pillar box doesnt fill up the screen..
Gosh u r acting like an SPM kid now..just let people make their own choices and u go enjoy ur pillar box
I'm not sure if I should continue the debate here. I think Astro is doing community service here that
we should not fill up the screen of our LCD if the picture is stretched. Since you guys not accepting other
people opinion and still insist on stretched mode, i will feel sad bro. SD is not meant to be enjoyed in
stretched mode sad.gif
dannychen

1,263 posts

QUOTE(m_imrun @ Mar 15 2010, 10:47 PM)
Good report format bro..nicely written..will copy and e-mail to SKMM..I lodge a report to SKMM before, about my celcom broadband service. I must say.. i was very happy with their action..Even the celcom exec written me a personal letter to apologize about my problem..
Everybody! Pls lodge your complaint here.

126 Pages « < 90 91 92 93 94 > » Top

0.0559sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:50 AM