yeah.. call the CS NOW!!!
Astro B.yond V3.0, HD Content Available
Mar 11 2010, 01:42 AM
5,515 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
yeah.. call the CS NOW!!!
Mar 11 2010, 01:43 AM
233 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
I'll make sure your comments are heard at work tomorrow
regarding subtitles in the black area on Discovery. This has always been the case of any 4:3 letterboxed programme. |
Mar 11 2010, 01:43 AM
1,839 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
I know what the letter s means in V 1.1s. It's Sheer Stupidity!
Added on March 11, 2010, 1:44 am QUOTE(TallJustin @ Mar 11 2010, 01:43 AM) I'll make sure your comments are heard at work tomorrow Thanks bro, really appreciate that.regarding subtitles in the black area on Discovery. This has always been the case of any 4:3 letterboxed programme. This post has been edited by spikey2506: Mar 11 2010, 01:44 AM |
Mar 11 2010, 01:53 AM
233 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
QUOTE(spikey2506 @ Mar 11 2010, 01:43 AM) I know what the letter s means in V 1.1s. It's Sheer Stupidity! no worriesAdded on March 11, 2010, 1:44 am Thanks bro, really appreciate that. so it's pretty clear your thoughts on zoom. Let us know about other issues. That whole PQ on SD channels over HDMI should be resolved also the random black screen going to HD channels should be fixed to. |
Mar 11 2010, 02:00 AM
QUOTE(TallJustin @ Mar 11 2010, 01:53 AM) no worries Except for the zoom issue, this update looks stable. I especially like the extra stability in the EPG. No more no information messages like before. The stretched picture can only be obtained through component output. I have tried all picture and aspect ratio settings on my tv to get the stretched pic thru HDMI, to no avail. LG user here.so it's pretty clear your thoughts on zoom. Let us know about other issues. That whole PQ on SD channels over HDMI should be resolved also the random black screen going to HD channels should be fixed to. This post has been edited by spikey2506: Mar 11 2010, 02:01 AM |
Mar 11 2010, 02:00 AM
1,472 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: SumwHeRe In MaLaYsIa |
I guess this time astro didnt do the testing very well. Why dont they just leave stretch with 2 other options.. I dont think its a major problem by turning stretch function on to people.
With the zoom now....subtitle like cut into half and not to forget the logo..do they test the subtitle before deploying it. Hope to see more improvement from Astro.Its weird though to see those pillar box in pillarbox mode..atleast for me...Lol |
Mar 11 2010, 02:33 AM
15,705 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Tg. Rambutan |
Haih. I tot the roadshow was still at 1U. Wanted to get it today. Then sampai there the show habis d.
Mar 11 2010, 02:35 AM
5,515 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
QUOTE(ianho @ Mar 11 2010, 02:33 AM) Haih. I tot the roadshow was still at 1U. Wanted to get it today. Then sampai there the show habis d. astro website also can.. under byondnah http://www.astro.com.my/byond/subscribenow.asp This post has been edited by razuryza: Mar 11 2010, 02:36 AM |
Mar 11 2010, 03:01 AM
15,705 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Tg. Rambutan |
QUOTE(razuryza @ Mar 11 2010, 02:35 AM) I wanna get from sum1 fast. Online reg sure slow slow 1. I hoping to get it b4 weekend so can see F1 in HD. HeheThat day at 1U, the salesman promised me within 2 days. |
Mar 11 2010, 03:21 AM
914 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Dear talljustin,
Can u inform them to update firmware for the normal sd dsr thomson with component/composite from 2009. epg navigation not responsive at times(when jump by page up/down or enter the channel number) and the BACK button on the remote is useless. So sad Astro is abandoning their old market users This post has been edited by skippro: Mar 11 2010, 03:49 AM |
Mar 11 2010, 03:24 AM
1,042 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
the PQ is improving (because of pillar box and zoom mode, not because of its really improved)? the only way to tell is bring back the stretch mode!
Mar 11 2010, 03:43 AM
807 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
Astro Arena available already or not?
I feel I wont be turning off my Byond until the zoom problem is fixed |
Mar 11 2010, 04:03 AM
Imagine the horror of those who left their Byond on standby just before they went to bed. I foresee tons more rants will emerge after those poor souls wake up later.
Mar 11 2010, 04:07 AM
807 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
QUOTE(TallJustin @ Mar 11 2010, 01:43 AM) I'll make sure your comments are heard at work tomorrow actually how long will it take for astro to fix the problem?regarding subtitles in the black area on Discovery. This has always been the case of any 4:3 letterboxed programme. if it will take more than a day, i suggest astro rollback the firmware update to stretch mode while u guys fix it, let the viewers get their normal viewing of the channels actually guys..if u check out Tall Justin's blog about the firmware update, it can clearly be seen that the channels logo is gone in zoom mode for this instance in the picture on the blog, its the australia network logo gone in zoom mode so i cant believe astro went ahead with the firmware update even though they actually new it already or were they too focused on getting the PQ better on SD channels? check it out http://stinkyfruit.wordpress.com/ This post has been edited by dxjb: Mar 11 2010, 04:17 AM |
Mar 11 2010, 05:29 AM
647 posts Joined: Jan 2010 From: Klang |
My TV can set to stretch mode (wide zoom) when astro mode is 4:3 using HDMI, wonder why y'all can't.
But I still prefer byond stretch mode (if I want it stretch) in previous byond firmware 1.01, because tv wide zoom will cropped some left & right part (start from minutes part will be gone in astro banner) even though I set my tv to overscan. It will be great if byond have step zoom (from pillar box untill full screen), so user can set to what they're prefer. My tv has 4 step zoom from overscan (but not until full screen for 4:3), I prefer to max zoom for SD channel. But the thing is, it will also zoom for HD channel which is I don't like. The step zoom in my tv can't set with zoom button, I need to go to screen setting, a bit annoying. With this new byond 1.1s, I need to set my tv to overscan. Still play around, still not sure it will suite my preference or not. |
Mar 11 2010, 05:53 AM
1,042 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
QUOTE(eMKs @ Mar 11 2010, 05:29 AM) My TV can set to stretch mode (wide zoom) when astro mode is 4:3 using HDMI, wonder why y'all can't. i can use wide zoom but i need to revert back the setting of the TV to the original whenever i want to switch to HD channel. quite troublesome rite? also there's still pillar on left and right side (top and bottom are fit)But I still prefer byond stretch mode (if I want it stretch) in previous byond firmware 1.01, because tv wide zoom will cropped some left & right part (start from minutes part will be gone in astro banner) even though I set my tv to overscan. It will be great if byond have step zoom (from pillar box untill full screen), so user can set to what they're prefer. My tv has 4 step zoom from overscan (but not until full screen for 4:3), I prefer to max zoom for SD channel. But the thing is, it will also zoom for HD channel which is I don't like. The step zoom in my tv can't set with zoom button, I need to go to screen setting, a bit annoying. With this new byond 1.1s, I need to set my tv to overscan. Still play around, still not sure it will suite my preference or not. i dont want the zoom.. just give me back stretch.. if zoom, sure some parts of top and bottom will gone if want to fill up left and right side |
Mar 11 2010, 06:52 AM
647 posts Joined: Jan 2010 From: Klang |
Yeah, hope that astro will fix it soon. I suggest Byond version 1.1SE
Mar 11 2010, 07:41 AM
121 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
wow... i suprised people would accept strecth over pillarbox...
i have been using pillarboxes for byond since day one.. i dont like pictures not looking like they supposed to be.. this update not bring much effect to me.. football in SD still piss poor.. though i very much appereciate the more complete info on guide...still jumping between channel guide is stil a hassle.. |
Mar 11 2010, 08:24 AM
10 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
Woke up at 3.30 to watch UCL football...
see HD channel for MAn Utd - AC Milan match... than suddenly remeber real madrid match on 813.... switch channel... WOPW why picture so big and no score and starsport logo... oh no!!!! zoom mode!!! damn.. now have to see pillar box... why buy big tv when the picture is getting smaller just to read the score or subtitle... PLS BRING BACK STRETCH MODE... Note: my wife is screaming at me because she is uncomfortable with pillar mode.. she said "ITU LA TUKAR LAGI KE BYOND.. DAH LA KENA BAYAR RM20.. NAK TGK ASTRO RIA PUN DAH KECIK....".. i'm speechless.... |
Mar 11 2010, 09:08 AM
1,346 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
QUOTE(TallJustin @ Mar 11 2010, 12:55 AM) You can can still stretch via your TV if you prefer to. There is no 4:3 mode under HD (only 16:9), so the zoom options made the SD channels so so awful, still prefer stretch mode which is fit to screen. Can we have extra options, i.e. zoom, stretch, pillar box?Zoom option is perfect for 4:3 letterboxed shows. |
| Change to: | 0.0443sec
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 12:52 AM |