18 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Travel Will you spend 10k to go traveling?

10&Counting
post Feb 10 2012, 04:09 PM

QUOTE(lowyatter @ Feb 10 2012, 01:24 PM)
Work every day every year without holiday...kinda defeats the whole purpose of living.

Even if you don't earn much it would still be nice to holiday once in a while, maybe set aside some money every month for a nice holiday. If poor then go once every few years lor, if richer then can go every year.

Important thing is to go out and see new experiences and new countries and have fun doing it.
lowyatter, Well said!!!

"To travel is to live." - H. C. Andersen ...

Small pay, save, save, save - no luxury purchases and fancy restaurants
Happy memories and life time experiences more than make up for the sacrifices

When one is young, time is on your side but for when you're young at heart, go before the legs give out.
There'll be time for luxury indulgences later, nearer to home when the heart is willing but the body is reluctant.

Traveling is addictive - Enjoy while you can - No regrets! rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by 10&Counting: Feb 10 2012, 04:16 PM
zhngmykahzhng
post Feb 16 2012, 10:21 PM

I am not willing to spend that much that's why I do backpacking with budget hotel.

On the other side, the most (air ticket only and not from my own wallet) to US with Cathay business class almost RM20K each person. This shall be my highest ever in a life time because I just couldn't freaking willing to do that insane spending. ** Is a company ** Not countable?

shohoku_14
post Feb 18 2012, 07:31 PM

89 posts

flash back in year 2006 when i went nagoya, although total spent almost 7k, including all, for 8 days, its totally worth for it... and im so lucky coz that time exchange rate not so high, and my accommodation is totally free (home-stay program)...

if got chance, will go japan again... but now in planning, is to clear ASIA target 1st... siem reap, HK, taipei, seoul, shanghai, beijing mostly 1st... after that onli will figure out for backpack Europe across several countries..
h3ll0
post Feb 20 2012, 08:11 PM

29 posts

how about if travelling by joining travel agency? I'm planning to travel by travel agency (I'm thinking about Apple Holiday) coz they include everything already, the flight tickets, hotels, meals, etc.. can anyone share their experience if it's worth it to spend 10k?
mmyy
post Feb 20 2012, 08:31 PM

QUOTE(h3ll0 @ Feb 20 2012, 08:11 PM)
how about if travelling by joining travel agency? I'm planning to travel by travel agency (I'm thinking about Apple Holiday) coz they include everything already, the flight tickets, hotels, meals, etc.. can anyone share their experience if it's worth it to spend 10k?
Where are you planning to go?
youngman28
post Feb 20 2012, 10:58 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(lowyatter @ Feb 10 2012, 02:24 PM)
Work every day every year without holiday...kinda defeats the whole purpose of living.

Even if you don't earn much it would still be nice to holiday once in a while, maybe set aside some money every month for a nice holiday. If poor then go once every few years lor, if richer then can go every year.

Actually with AA available, the cost for travel have reduce subtantially, provide you plan ahead, choose the low cost destination, and do some home work before travelling.

Added on February 20, 2012, 11:01 pm
QUOTE(lowyatter @ Feb 10 2012, 02:24 PM)
Important thing is to go out and see new experiences and new countries and have fun doing it.
+1, beside that can relax our body and soul, in short, can re-charge battery again

This post has been edited by youngman28: Feb 20 2012, 11:01 PM
Warfare08
post Feb 21 2012, 01:03 AM

Due to certain circumstances that changed my life back in year end 2010, I started to travel alot in the year 2011. I spent about 8k to travel around SEA countries in year 2011 alone (2k each trip). I visited 4 different countries with the 8k alone, which excluding my business trip to Beijing.

In short, I visited 5 different countries in year 2011 alone and I think I started to get addicted with traveling. I wasn't traveling much back then due to financial constraint and personal circumstances. Eventually I realised that I can even travel with small little amount of budget and mind you, I don't earn alot (averagely and able to live comfortably)

I had lots of fun, I learnt alot and I made new friends along the journey. I must say that I realised there's whole lot of new world out there waiting for you to discover. Some say, I can even do better, visit more places and countries with the budget that I've spent and I told them, well, I will learn from my mistakes then (part and parcel of life smile.gif)

Since I got addicted to travels, I have few plans in queue for the year 2012. The coming trip would be traveling to Europe which will cost me another 10k. I made the itinerary myself, booking myself, research myself, etc. and I must say that I've learnt a whole lot more than my previous trips to SEA countries. Soul searching trip is not an easy trip to plan IMHO tongue.gif

So the question, what makes me to spend so much on traveling? IMHO, there are things which you can't exactly buy with money alone. You gotta spend some efforts in doing that you need/should/want to do in order to carry on with life and live the life to the fullest. With that being said, not only cash are required for such traveling, but time and efforts. However, the return of your hardwork is priceless when you feel that everything is worth it in the end, be it psychology or emotional wise smile.gif

I've always believe in "you gain something, you lose something" smile.gif I will definitely travel more and more in coming years.

This post has been edited by Warfare08: Feb 21 2012, 01:03 AM
tishaban
post Feb 21 2012, 02:25 AM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(zhngmykahzhng @ Feb 16 2012, 10:21 PM)
I am not willing to spend that much that's why I do backpacking with budget hotel.

On the other side, the most (air ticket only and not from my own wallet) to US with Cathay business class almost RM20K each person. This shall be my highest ever in a life time because I just couldn't freaking willing to do that insane spending. ** Is a company ** Not countable?
It's all relative now isn't it? If you make 5-6 figures a month then 10k is insignificant. Problem is when you make lots of money will you have the time to spend on yourself? I have investment banker/private equity friends who make millions but don't have time to spend the money.

Anyway my current US trip is already costing close to 6k... ouch.

Shazzac
post Feb 21 2012, 09:29 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Feb 21 2012, 02:25 AM)
It's all relative now isn't it? If you make 5-6 figures a month then 10k is insignificant. Problem is when you make lots of money will you have the time to spend on yourself? I have investment banker/private equity friends who make millions but don't have time to spend the money.

Anyway my current US trip is already costing close to 6k... ouch.
I totally agree with you.

US Trip at RM6k, not bad what? Incl. air ticket and accommodation?

I'm in the midst of looking out for a better fare to Barcelona/Madrid - then head on to Portugal for 2.5 weeks. Hope there will be some promotion next month (as currently, most fare promotion are for travel up to June and selling period up to end of Feb). Wish me luck!

I am totally overspending for this year's trip budget having gone to Spain & Portugal in Jan and Seoul next month!
Cas
post Feb 21 2012, 09:42 AM

262 posts

Travelling IS addictive. I usually do 5 different countries a year with my hubby. I remember even when I was pregnant, I still went on holidays because I just couldnt sit quietly at home. I felt something was missing and the itch to travel was just strong! Really felt the pinch after giving birth but on certain ocassion my mom was kind enough to take care of my baby so I could go places, including Europe last year. Now that my child is bigger, our travelling has resumed and hopefully she will enjoy these new places that we'll be showing her. Her first trip was to Bali last year and she just LOVED it - she was the happiest baby on board.

And some of you guys are totally right, I know lots of people who make alot of money but they dont have time to spend it at all. That's not how I'd like to live.

stimix
post Feb 21 2012, 09:49 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

No matter how I spent, all my previous trips never exceed RM2k/pax all-in inc of air fare, acc, food, transports & souvenirs..haha..

I'm gonna do the same in my nxt 7D5N Tokyo trip. Right now, I already spent RM900/pax on air fare & prebooked hotel. So budgetting only RM1K/pax on transports, food & souvenirs..haha.. Yeah I think I can achieve it
Shazzac
post Feb 21 2012, 09:58 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Feb 21 2012, 09:49 AM)
No matter how I spent, all my previous trips never exceed RM2k/pax all-in inc of air fare, acc, food, transports & souvenirs..haha..

I'm gonna do the same in my nxt 7D5N Tokyo trip. Right now, I already spent RM900/pax on air fare & prebooked hotel. So budgetting only RM1K/pax on transports, food & souvenirs..haha.. Yeah I think I can achieve it
rclxms.gif thumbup.gif notworthy.gif

I think you are the champion is budget travels lor.

No matter what, I still end up with medium range hotels/b&b if i can find. But currently been sourcing rooms/apartments/flats from www.airbnb.com which saves me a whole lot - being some accommodations are actually very centrally located, hence myself saving on train tickets to go from places to places.

I'm only planning to bring 1mil won to Seoul for my 6 day trip in March. I wonder how can I get it to reduce........ afraid not enough money for food later. ;P The last night in Seoul, will be spent at the airport because my flight is at 8.30am the next day (AAX). Too lazy to rush from city to airport at the earliest hour! I think must wake up at 4.30am to mandi, get ready, breakfast and then 5.30am need to be at train station and it takes about 40 mins from city to airport... what a rush! Hopefully the transit hotel in Incheon airport got room, if not.... just hang out at airport. LOL! If i can tahan 19hrs in Doha Airport, I can certain tahan 7 hours in Incheon airport.
stimix
post Feb 21 2012, 10:06 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

RM2800/pax to Seoul more than enough for 6 days provided you prebooked your accomodations haha.. FYI, I only spent less than RM800 for my 6D4N there. Incheon airport on the 2st floor having a superb resting nest..damn comfy & wth big Samsung LCD...Anyway, the airport so quiet after 9:30pm..All duty free shops closed at 9:30pm haha.. I'm not sure whether they will shut off the lighthing after midnite or not biggrin.gif ..I hv bd experience stranded wth all lights off at Gimpo airport..walking in the dark looking for taxi to Seoul.. sad.gif ..That time no direct train to Seoul and the airport train till Gimpo airport only and their subway ended at 11:30pm & so do their domestic airport..damn blush.gif sad.gif

QUOTE(Shazzac @ Feb 21 2012, 09:58 AM)
rclxms.gif  thumbup.gif  notworthy.gif

I think you are the champion is budget travels lor.

No matter what, I still end up with medium range hotels/b&b if i can find. But currently been sourcing rooms/apartments/flats from www.airbnb.com which saves me a whole lot - being some accommodations are actually very centrally located, hence myself saving on train tickets to go from places to places.

I'm only planning to bring 1mil won to Seoul for my 6 day trip in March. I wonder how can I get it to reduce........ afraid not enough money for food later. ;P The last night in Seoul, will be spent at the airport because my flight is at 8.30am the next day (AAX). Too lazy to rush from city to airport at the earliest hour! I think must wake up at 4.30am to mandi, get ready, breakfast and then 5.30am need to be at train station and it takes about 40 mins from city to airport... what a rush! Hopefully the transit hotel in Incheon airport got room, if not.... just hang out at airport. LOL! If i can tahan 19hrs in Doha Airport, I can certain tahan 7 hours in Incheon airport.
vanpersie91
post Feb 21 2012, 10:38 AM

Regular-ly posting shits and stuffs
1,478 posts

MYR 10K - travel outside malaysia...is it enuff?
stimix
post Feb 21 2012, 10:48 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Just read my earlier comment.. I dun spent >RM2K on all my oversea travels so far haha and that inc of airfare, hotel, food & transportation haha
Shazzac
post Feb 21 2012, 10:55 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Feb 21 2012, 10:06 AM)
RM2800/pax to Seoul more than enough for 6 days provided you prebooked your accomodations haha.. FYI, I only spent less than RM800 for my 6D4N there. Incheon airport on the 2st floor having a superb resting nest..damn comfy & wth big Samsung LCD...Anyway, the airport so quiet after 9:30pm..All duty free shops closed at 9:30pm haha.. I'm not sure whether they will shut off the lighthing after midnite or not  biggrin.gif ..I hv bd experience stranded wth all lights off at Gimpo airport..walking in the dark looking for taxi to Seoul..  sad.gif ..That time no direct train to Seoul and the airport train till Gimpo airport only and their subway ended at 11:30pm & so do their domestic airport..damn  blush.gif  sad.gif
Sure??? RM800?!?!?!?! Confirm??!?!?! Wow, then I'll probably bring 500k won = RM1600. Should be more than enough. Yes my accommodation already booked beforehand and paid for dy. RM800+ for 6 nights at a small studio near Seoul Station. Promo price at USD45 per night!! I think it's a superb price since I can't find anything cheaper and I don't feel comfy staying at those 8 bed or 6 bed dorm.

Thanks for the tip on the 2nd floor though. Was it full when you were there then? I plan to actually depart from Seoul city at 10pm (anytime after dinner). Hopefully they have free wifi all over the place but at least maybe some designated areas, if not, will be damn bored. If really shut the lights after midnight will be good, at least can sleep, rather than being at Doha airport - the lights damn bright 24/7. LOL

Poor you! But at least you got into seoul safe and sound la!

QUOTE(vanpersie91 @ Feb 21 2012, 10:38 AM)
MYR 10K - travel outside malaysia...is it enuff?
100% confirm can!

mat sputnik
post Feb 21 2012, 10:59 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(Shazzac @ Feb 21 2012, 09:29 AM)

I'm in the midst of looking out for a better fare to Barcelona/Madrid - then head on to Portugal for 2.5 weeks. Hope there will be some promotion next month (as currently, most fare promotion are for travel up to June and selling period up to end of Feb). Wish me luck!

For long-haul sales keep an eye on those Middle-eastern carriers -- Emirates, Qatar, Etihad, Gulf Air. They have periodic sales, all the way to South America, esp. Emirates. Late last year, Qatar did a campaign - got KUL-DOH-OSL for just RM1.2k, all-in, full service some more. Early this year Emirates did global sale, so got another ticket KL - St Petersburg, for RM2.4k, traveling in April, on A380. We are doing Finland, Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania too.

Btw if you are a history buff, do Andalucia while in Spain -- Granada, Cordoba, Sevilla are awesome. A side trip to Gibraltar is cool. smile.gif

===

stimix
post Feb 21 2012, 11:02 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Haha..Yes.. That's one of bloody cool & futuristic airport..Another +1 for Incheon..Our KLIA nothing if compare to this...this is one of the many relaxing lzy chair in Incheon lounge..Mine was almost empty and we occupied all the LCDs & the chairs.. Photo random from google.. This longe without LCD screen..but all occupied biggrin.gif

Added on February 21, 2012, 11:03 amI see what you;'e eeying there unker.. brows.gif ..Your travel maps still empty @ South America brows.gif
QUOTE(mat sputnik @ Feb 21 2012, 10:59 AM)
For long-haul sales keep an eye on those Middle-eastern carriers -- Emirates, Qatar, Etihad, Gulf Air. They have periodic sales, all the way to South America, esp. Emirates. Late last year, Qatar did a campaign - got KUL-DOH-OSL for just RM1.2k, all-in, full service some more. Early this year Emirates did global sale, so got another ticket KL - St Petersburg, for RM2.4k, traveling in April, on A380. We are doing Finland, Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania too.

Btw if you are a history buff, do Andalucia while in Spain -- Granada, Cordoba, Sevilla are awesome. A side trip to Gibraltar is cool. smile.gif

===
This post has been edited by stimix: Feb 21 2012, 11:03 AM
Shazzac
post Feb 21 2012, 11:05 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(mat sputnik @ Feb 21 2012, 10:59 AM)

===
Thanks for that mat.

I'm already eyeing Middle Eastern carriers. I took Qatar Airways twice for my europe trip. Layover sucks for super cheap prices but I'm working on it.

Waiting for March so can check if they have any offer for travel in Aug. Currently their fares are for travels up to June only.

Yup, i knew about the Emirates global sale BUT, travelling time didn't suit me so...... And yea, I knew bout the Oslo fare by QR as well, BUT i was already going to Spain/Portugal then. LOL Talk about timing!!!!

Currently fare to BCN via SQ is RM3.4k and QR is RM3.3k. Transit times are both attractive though. Couldn't find anything cheaper than this! But we'll see!
mat sputnik
post Feb 21 2012, 11:06 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(Shazzac @ Feb 21 2012, 10:55 AM)
Sure??? RM800?!?!?!?! Confirm??!?!?! Wow, then I'll probably bring 500k won = RM1600. Should be more than enough. Yes my accommodation already booked beforehand and paid for dy. RM800+ for 6 nights at a small studio near Seoul Station. Promo price at USD45 per night!! I think it's a superb price since I can't find anything cheaper and I don't feel comfy staying at those 8 bed or 6 bed dorm.

Thanks for the tip on the 2nd floor though. Was it full when you were there then? I plan to actually depart from Seoul city at 10pm (anytime after dinner). Hopefully they have free wifi all over the place but at least maybe some designated areas, if not, will be damn bored. If really shut the lights after midnight will be good, at least can sleep, rather than being at Doha airport - the lights damn bright 24/7. LOL

$45 single occupancy is good deal, make sure got en-suite, otherwise fight for toilets with the dorm ppl. smile.gif
Your budget looks fine, the only spoiler is when you wanna take day trips to DMZ, Nami or one of those ski resorts, otherwise pay by card. Or maybe compulsive shopping.

And yes, DOH is awful for lengthy layover, ICN is heaven!

===

18 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0194sec    1.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:35 PM