18 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Travel Will you spend 10k to go traveling?

TSabubin
post Jan 14 2010, 03:03 PM, updated 15y ago

10,423 posts

Traveling around MY is fine as it's cheap. But what about going to US or UK or Japan and other countries. Those are expensive.

So, are you willing to spend 10k (for you and your partner) to go traveling? Because that 10k is for airplane ticket, hotel lodging, traveling fees, tickets and food only. That means 10k just gone like that.

For some people it is worth it but for some you get nothing (tangible) in the end.

Discuss....
Putraskyline
post Jan 14 2010, 03:07 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Jan 14 2010, 03:03 PM)
Traveling around MY is fine as it's cheap. But what about going to US or UK or Japan and other countries. Those are expensive.

So, are you willing to spend 10k (for you and your partner) to go traveling? Because that 10k is for airplane ticket, hotel lodging, traveling fees, tickets and food only. That means 10k just gone like that.

For some people it is worth it but for some you get nothing (tangible) in the end.

Discuss....
I splurge that much occasionally in Asean country depend on the purpose of my trips. Especially the places that I think I would be there only once in my lifetime. I never regret when I saw my banking account after went back for trips. Its really enjoy and rejuvenate trips. I'm addict to that lifestyle tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Putraskyline: Jan 14 2010, 03:08 PM
xenon_aniki
post Jan 14 2010, 03:15 PM

1,067 posts

for me 10K is quite expensive. maybe i like to go more to less expensive country like Taiwan, Vietnam & Thailand. the idea is to see other people place anyway.
tpleong
post Jan 14 2010, 03:20 PM

795 posts

I have spend 20k/30k per trip a few times but never regretted. The memory u get is eternity.......but we need to strike a balance , don't overspend on holidays smile.gif

This post has been edited by tpleong: Jan 14 2010, 03:27 PM
stimix
post Jan 14 2010, 03:21 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Well, for Average M'sian not easy but for those really above average, esp those earning 5 figure/mth , RM10K, will be peanut to them...Only 1 mth out of 1 yr salary mah....why not...

If I earn so much, I might be spending the same as those above avg ppl liao....just like putraskyline, sharkteef (Permabanned liao), travelers, & more haha
TSabubin
post Jan 14 2010, 03:22 PM

10,423 posts

Other asean countries are relatively cheap compared to developed countries like US, UK, Japan and even Australia. Places like Las Vegas or Japan or Europe is a must go for people who like traveling.

Personally, I do not like going to backward places like China or India. The people there are really crazy. Con here, con there and so dirty.

Anyway...10k is considered quite low for 2 people if you are going to traveling in Europe. No way it's enough.

Let's say it take you like 6-12 months to save up 10k then go travel, all gone.
??!!
post Jan 14 2010, 03:46 PM

2,521 posts

10K is enuf just for 1 pax go Japan...

If a person don't see the value in travelling, no matter how much, also they say it's not worth...maybe jus a few photo for remembrance.

But if one is travel maniac like some of us here, ...the value can't be measured in RM & sen, (altho we will need them to go travel, the experiences, the humbling moments when one is struck by the immense beauty of some places and the strong human spirit of the people of the land we are visiting.
stimix
post Jan 14 2010, 03:49 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

I won't do that man saving for 6mth for RM10K...My max is 1 mth salary on that particular year...That's why last year all my oversea trips all ended in Hostels...haha

caprina
post Jan 14 2010, 04:08 PM

76 posts

travel according to your wallet thickness... the thicker the wallet (with cash of course) the more they will spend.. the farther they will go.. if i have the money i will go seeing those iceberg and what not.. some people dont appreciate this traveling thing.. they prefer spend less.. cuti-cuti malaysia and spend more on things they can see.. house or car or something..
??!!
post Jan 14 2010, 04:22 PM

2,521 posts

TS should re -word the question to

If you have the money, would you spend RM10k on a trip?

Several years ago, our family of 5 used up Rm35k for 3 wks in NZ..it's was really good, worth every sen of it...went river fishing, glacier walking, stay in log cabin & also a horse ranch etc .

Am planning a Norway tour ---to walk the glacier and do the fjords ...a 1 wk trip staying in tents, and basic forest cabins costs RM7k without food, air tkt and connection to/from the incoming city in Norway. Can't help it that some cities are expensive due to high cost of living.
SUSMr.Wokayyy
post Jan 14 2010, 06:27 PM

62 posts

i spend > 10k on my flight tickets alone each time.
??!!
post Jan 14 2010, 07:04 PM

2,521 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Wokayyy @ Jan 14 2010, 06:27 PM)
Fly Business/First Class .....jeles nya drool.gif drool.gif
RegentCid
post Jan 14 2010, 08:31 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,036 posts

WHy Not? I go japan 3 day I spent RM35k....something is mmoney cannot buy...that is happy time together with your love one when traveling
navilink
post Jan 14 2010, 09:59 PM

【ツ】
10,782 posts

QUOTE(??!! @ Jan 14 2010, 04:22 PM)
TS should re -word the question to

If you have the money, would you spend RM10k on  a trip?

Several years ago, our family of 5 used up Rm35k for 3 wks in NZ..it's was really good,  worth every sen of it...went river fishing, glacier walking, stay in log cabin & also a horse ranch etc .

Am planning a Norway tour ---to walk the glacier and do the fjords ...a 1 wk trip staying in tents, and basic forest cabins costs RM7k without food, air tkt and connection to/from the incoming city in Norway. Can't help it that some cities are expensive due to high cost of living.

norway happens to the among the highest cost of living city! tongue.gif

anyway for me, willing to spend 10K, but would preferably explore all places in the country with the minimest cost and longest time.. no hotel, no exquisite dining, no beer, no luxury in short..
Putraskyline
post Jan 14 2010, 10:15 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Wokayyy @ Jan 14 2010, 06:27 PM)
Thats great.I would love to, but due to budget constraint, mostly I fly through AA tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Putraskyline: Jan 14 2010, 10:17 PM
stimix
post Jan 14 2010, 11:25 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Ehhh doesn't sound like Putra liao biggrin.gif ..Mr Wokayy likes biz class bcos got stewardess massage his head wan biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Jan 14 2010, 10:15 PM)
Thats great.I would love to, but due to budget constraint, mostly I fly through AA  tongue.gif
Ami Tsun
post Jan 14 2010, 11:30 PM

Look at some of the tour packages, eg Hokkaido 7 days, The Silk Road 12 days, 10 days Egypt, 11 days NZ, all are around 5k. So, each couple could very well be >10k..

10k for travelling? Yes, I would, but may be once every 5 years or so, a treat to my parents. Other time just go budget independent tour..

So far, has only brought (belanja) my parents to Tasmania, 8 days, SGD 7k...

Putraskyline
post Jan 15 2010, 12:03 AM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 14 2010, 11:25 PM)
Ehhh doesn't sound like Putra liao  biggrin.gif ..Mr Wokayy likes biz class bcos got stewardess massage his head wan  biggrin.gif
Haha....I also got budget lah Stimix, Mr. Wokayy are on infinity budget. Mostly I spend much on hotel only.
SUSMr.Wokayyy
post Jan 15 2010, 01:01 AM

62 posts

mostly i spend on food
tpleong
post Jan 15 2010, 09:12 AM

795 posts

Think each one has their own priority & budget, the important thing is, one must feel its worth it.

18 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0376sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 04:21 PM