QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 4 2010, 10:20 PM)
llol~~but all goods. at least can still play games , not play hardout anyways.
Acer Aspire 4740G-432G50, Need opinion.
Feb 4 2010, 06:22 PM
77 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: Auckland, New Zealand |
Feb 4 2010, 06:23 PM
12,925 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(Alizmonster @ Feb 4 2010, 06:19 PM) i know but atleast it can perform decent mah~ better than bloody intel GMA's Does not even qualify as mid9600gt of course lar outperform. we're talking about a mid class gaming laptop man. laptop~~~D: mid ones would be 9600GT , and higher ends would be like 9800GT or 275/285. This thing is meant for low end. you can game but then you can't really push the settings up. Don't compare Intel GMA , thats out of the question. Its not a gaming card and this laptop is nice for watching movies and occasional gaming . You could throw a new game and it still plays at a lower resolution and such. Acer should have at least included a 340M or some of its other classes so that it would be better |
Feb 4 2010, 06:24 PM
1,985 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Penang Island |
i'd advise ppl to stay away from AP set (imported or whatever the term is) laptops..if da respective service center would not accept your laptop in case anything goes wrong.
imagine da waiting time + cost if u were to get ur laptop fixed by these shops etc. just a friendly note cuz i've seen ppl buying laptops for cheap n when things go wrong, da authorized service center refuse to entertain em n they're left wit no choice but to pay premium prices for repairs n spare parts. |
Feb 4 2010, 06:25 PM
QUOTE(prasys @ Feb 4 2010, 10:23 PM) Does not even qualify as mid kkkkkkkkk chill chill. mid ones would be 9600GT , and higher ends would be like 9800GT or 275/285. This thing is meant for low end. you can game but then you can't really push the settings up. Don't compare Intel GMA , thats out of the question. Its not a gaming card and this laptop is nice for watching movies and occasional gaming . You could throw a new game and it still plays at a lower resolution and such. Acer should have at least included a 340M or some of its other classes so that it would be better but i'm happy with it. well at least it's faster than HD4570 lar.. i'm happy http://www.notebookcheck.net/NVIDIA-GeForc...0M.22439.0.html |
Feb 4 2010, 06:27 PM
12,925 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(Alizmonster @ Feb 4 2010, 06:25 PM) kkkkkkkkk chill chill. Nope I am just stating the facts only. Thats all. Its just to explain that its not a true gaming card. Its okay if you're going to play with certain games like COD4. But GTA IV is out of the question even if the CPU is capable of handling GTA IV , but the GPU is just to weak for GTA IV. Seriously , GTA IV demands a good CPU and GPU togetherbut i'm happy with it. well at least it's faster than HD4570 lar.. i'm happy http://www.notebookcheck.net/NVIDIA-GeForc...0M.22439.0.html If you're okay with low settings and resolution , no doubt this is 5031514131313x better then Intel GMA This post has been edited by prasys: Feb 4 2010, 06:28 PM |
Feb 4 2010, 06:28 PM
1,304 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: Kuala Lumpur |
hd4570 better
Feb 4 2010, 06:30 PM
QUOTE(GothFebrio @ Feb 4 2010, 10:28 PM) http://www.notebookcheck.net/NVIDIA-GeForc...0M.22439.0.htmlgo down and look at the 3dmark. it states that 310M faster wor.... Added on February 4, 2010, 6:33 pm QUOTE(prasys @ Feb 4 2010, 10:27 PM) Nope I am just stating the facts only. Thats all. Its just to explain that its not a true gaming card. Its okay if you're going to play with certain games like COD4. But GTA IV is out of the question even if the CPU is capable of handling GTA IV , but the GPU is just to weak for GTA IV. Seriously , GTA IV demands a good CPU and GPU together Ok Thanks for the advice larr,, or facts ... If you're okay with low settings and resolution , no doubt this is 5031514131313x better then Intel GMA This post has been edited by Alizmonster: Feb 4 2010, 06:33 PM |
Feb 4 2010, 07:40 PM
3,648 posts Joined: Sep 2009 From: Twixt nether and ether |
QUOTE(prasys @ Feb 4 2010, 06:01 PM) I doubt the GeForce 310M can take it , its a pretty weak card. Its a rebranded 210M , aka 105M aka 8400M GS even the CPU is capable. You can play the games (newer ones) at lower resolution and such Slight misinformation here. The G 210M isn't a rebrand of the G 105M. The former has twice as many shader cores to begin with. QUOTE(Alizmonster @ Feb 4 2010, 06:30 PM) http://www.notebookcheck.net/NVIDIA-GeForc...0M.22439.0.html Don't swear by the benchmarks on that site. They are sometimes extrapolated from other data and thus not always accurate.go down and look at the 3dmark. it states that 310M faster wor.... As prasys already stated, the 310M is a rebadge of the G 210M and both are inferior to the HD4570, ceteris paribus. |
Feb 4 2010, 07:59 PM
QUOTE(LokiD.d.G @ Feb 4 2010, 11:40 PM) Slight misinformation here. The G 210M isn't a rebrand of the G 105M. The former has twice as many shader cores to begin with. icicicic Don't swear by the benchmarks on that site. They are sometimes extrapolated from other data and thus not always accurate. As prasys already stated, the 310M is a rebadge of the G 210M and both are inferior to the HD4570, ceteris paribus. |
Feb 5 2010, 09:20 AM
431 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
QUOTE(LokiD.d.G @ Jan 18 2010, 07:48 PM) Because 3DMark is heavily GPU reliant and the HD5470 is merely a HD4570 that has undergone a die shrink and a moderate OC. RAM speed rarely makes a difference in terms of performance; Thus taking all that into account, the benchmark score does seem to concur pretty nicely. But perhaps with better drivers in the future, you can expect to see a small performance boost, gaming wise. Can you upgrade the graphics card on 4740 and will it improve the benchmark.Don't expect too much though |
Feb 5 2010, 10:40 AM
14,813 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
QUOTE(Tak3shi @ Feb 5 2010, 09:20 AM) Almost can't upgrade graphic card on notebook, except with some high-end model.No need to focus too much on the benchmark, its just a synthetic test, not really represent real-world performance. |
Feb 5 2010, 11:31 AM
2,059 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
@takeshi
Yup, dun rely much on the benchmark of 3dmark06, that just for guidance |
Feb 5 2010, 05:24 PM
431 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Feb 5 2010, 10:40 AM) Almost can't upgrade graphic card on notebook, except with some high-end model. No need to focus too much on the benchmark, its just a synthetic test, not really represent real-world performance. QUOTE(monza84 @ Feb 5 2010, 11:31 AM) @takeshi Im contemplating whether to get the 4740 or mx11 as there isn't much difference with 5760. Benq is sold out and i'm impatientYup, dun rely much on the benchmark of 3dmark06, that just for guidance |
Feb 5 2010, 05:26 PM
m11x is much much more powerful than 4740, at least in gaming
what 5760? This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Feb 5 2010, 05:27 PM |
Feb 5 2010, 08:53 PM
62 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
QUOTE(iZZiDeltA @ Feb 4 2010, 11:05 AM) Hi. i m posting this comment with the acer aspire 4740g itself, the RM2499 model. i got an extra headphone to b honest, the performance is so so only, especially with the given hardware specs 1) response time is slow, example there is minor freeze opening programs, u cant see instant click and appear situation 2) i5 means 4 cores? but burning the recovery disc make me almost impossible to surf nets with applets and java templates........, like youtube etc 3) too many junks program like the built in games and useless utilities actualy slow down the performance, while alot of the programs are trial only, it takes up unnesscary space too 4) hardware spec may seems tempting, like multitouch pointer, 720p webcam, dual layer dvd ram etc but it takes me almost 1hours ++ to fnish burning the 4 recovery discs.. the webcam resolution is just 640x320, while the pointer is not responsive like in macbook.. 5) for gaming i think it is a big NO since it takes so long just to startup simpleprograms like browsers, even microsoft office will write more when i get to use and explore more with it By the way to those who are interested in this try to get from HARVEY NORMAN i think they are givin the best deal in town so far free laptop lock free keyboard protector free usb mouse free lcd cleaning clothe free 4gb pendrive free 3 fans laptop cooler free rm40 bakers cottage voucher as far as i know senQ oni giv 4gb pendrive and a very small amount of cash rebate.............. |
Feb 6 2010, 12:16 AM
35 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
Feb 6 2010, 02:00 AM
279 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
hey guys any idea how much is m11x and when is it arriving at m'sia? thx
sorry for the wrong thread tho |
Feb 6 2010, 02:02 AM
QUOTE(woonyoung91 @ Feb 6 2010, 02:00 AM) hey guys any idea how much is m11x and when is it arriving at m'sia? thx please ask here ------> http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1248168sorry for the wrong thread tho » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Feb 6 2010, 10:25 AM
1,849 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
QUOTE(iZZiDeltA @ Feb 4 2010, 11:05 AM) Hi. i m posting this comment with the acer aspire 4740g itself, the RM2499 model. Response time very slow? Mind tell me whats ur startup speed and shutdown speed? I donou, but mine 5740 run everything smoothlyto b honest, the performance is so so only, especially with the given hardware specs 1) response time is slow, example there is minor freeze opening programs, u cant see instant click and appear situation 2) i5 means 4 cores? but burning the recovery disc make me almost impossible to surf nets with applets and java templates........, like youtube etc 3) too many junks program like the built in games and useless utilities actualy slow down the performance, while alot of the programs are trial only, it takes up unnesscary space too 4) hardware spec may seems tempting, like multitouch pointer, 720p webcam, dual layer dvd ram etc but it takes me almost 1hours ++ to fnish burning the 4 recovery discs.. the webcam resolution is just 640x320, while the pointer is not responsive like in macbook.. 5) for gaming i think it is a big NO since it takes so long just to startup simpleprograms like browsers, even microsoft office will write more when i get to use and explore more with it By the way to those who are interested in this try to get from HARVEY NORMAN i think they are givin the best deal in town so far free laptop lock free keyboard protector free usb mouse free lcd cleaning clothe free 4gb pendrive free 3 fans laptop cooler free rm40 bakers cottage voucher as far as i know senQ oni giv 4gb pendrive and a very small amount of cash rebate.............. |
Feb 6 2010, 08:43 PM
739 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
i heard that 4740 i3 maybe cant play FIFA10..because the GC cant support...
anyone can clarify this? and i really duno which to choose ASUS or ACER... haiz... |
| Change to: | 0.0278sec
5 queries
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:46 AM |