104 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Bottom

The Official Subwoofer Thread v3, Everything you need to know about bass!

TShtkaki
post Aug 27 2010, 09:56 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

IIRC, it is around RM14.5K for the normal finish. Not sure whether it comes with the 'vital' PBK kit.

If it comes with PBK kit, it is a worthy purchase and local warranty too.

Somehow, I am still very much a 'vented sub' guy. Been listening to dual sealed sub for movies, still doesn't suit my preference. For music and concert, there is no single doubt that the sealed sub is the way to go.
paskal
post Aug 27 2010, 10:27 AM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ Aug 27 2010, 07:44 AM)
I think one of the reason is traditionally most of us will think a branded sub performance will never surpassed a ID sub at the same price range. In fact, base on the review, Paradigm DSP3400 looks like a very good bargain below RM 5k range. I'm interested in DSP3400 now as if I were to DIY a ported 13Av.2 single sub, I estimate at least RM 500 for cabinet and another RM 2.5k for a 1kw amp plate. Might as well get a DSP3400 and call it a day. Anyone had a chart of the freq response of DSP3400? Max SPL before major distortion kick in?

We are here to share information. Not that we worship a single brand. If you ask me, Am I happy with A7s-650? Yes. Is there any other brand I'm interested? Definitely... especially the Submersive HP... if only Mark is responsive.
freq response graph for the DSP3400 are somewhat hard to get. tried searching highs and lows for it, but never found any. maybe i'm just bad at using google. biggrin.gif

the DSP3400 retails for USD899 in the US, similar price bracket as the PC12+ which are going for USD949. the PB12-NSD retails for USD599.
at USD899, i might be calling it overpriced compared to the 16Hz PC12+. but at RM3.3k which is cheaper than even the PB12NSD, it's a bargain. after all, it was intended to compete with the PC12+, but over here we're pitting it against a lower price bracket PB12NSD.

QUOTE(htkaki @ Aug 27 2010, 09:35 AM)
paskal, the PB12-NSD and DSP-3400 belongs to the same owner?
not the same owner. not even the same test environment. but i've listened to the DSP3400 at 3 different places. first at the shop's auditon room, second at my house, and third time at the owner's house. in all 3 instances it sounds better than the PB12NSD.

kindda hard to get an owner to loan me his precious sub just to do a comparison right? the PB12NSD is in penang island, 2 hours drive from here.
and after listening to the DSP3400 at 3 different places and coming the same conclusion each time, don't think i'll be buying a PB12NSD anywhere in the near future.
kc01
post Aug 27 2010, 11:06 AM

124 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Aug 27 2010, 12:35 PM)
Probably he is busy making the subs for the bulk order from OZ tongue.gif

46 Submersives to be exact. I'm still waiting for mine, ETA end Sep or early Oct.
anfieldude
post Aug 27 2010, 11:17 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Aug 27 2010, 10:27 AM)
freq response graph for the DSP3400 are somewhat hard to get. tried searching highs and lows for it, but never found any. maybe i'm just bad at using google. biggrin.gif

the DSP3400 retails for USD899 in the US, similar price bracket as the PC12+ which are going for USD949. the PB12-NSD retails for USD599.
at USD899, i might be calling it overpriced compared to the 16Hz PC12+. but at RM3.3k which is cheaper than even the PB12NSD, it's a bargain. after all, it was intended to compete with the PC12+, but over here we're pitting it against a lower price bracket PB12NSD.
not the same owner. not even the same test environment. but i've listened to the DSP3400 at 3 different places. first at the shop's auditon room, second at my house, and third time at the owner's house. in all 3 instances it sounds better than the PB12NSD.

kindda hard to get an owner to loan me his precious sub just to do a comparison right? the PB12NSD is in penang island, 2 hours drive from here.
and after listening to the DSP3400 at 3 different places and coming the same conclusion each time, don't think i'll be buying a PB12NSD anywhere in the near future.
paskal,
It really does not matter how u came to the conclusion why the paradigm is better as long as u r happy with ur purchase.

kc01
post Aug 27 2010, 11:21 AM

124 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Aug 27 2010, 12:56 PM)
Somehow, I am still very much a 'vented sub' guy. Been listening to dual sealed sub for movies, still doesn't suit my preference. For music and concert, there is no single doubt that the sealed sub is the way to go.
htkaki

My earlier shorlisted gear was the PC12+, PB12+ and PB13U. Now you have time to auditioned SB series, for movie experience, does the SB12 comes close to PB/PC12+ as both the SB and PB/PC have similar price range?

Or what about SB13 vs PB/PC13U?

TShtkaki
post Aug 27 2010, 12:16 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(kc01 @ Aug 27 2010, 11:21 AM)
htkaki

My earlier shorlisted gear was the PC12+, PB12+ and PB13U. Now you have time to auditioned SB series, for movie experience, does the SB12 comes close to PB/PC12+ as both the SB and PB/PC have similar price range?

Or what about SB13 vs PB/PC13U?
The PB / PC; vented sub is built primarily for movie and SPL in mind. The SB is for quality and not SPL drag race.

IMHO, the SB is good for small and medium room with 'authority' over >40Hz region while the PB/PC is for ULF and room filling bass.

Then again, both are of different characteristic. Some prefers sealed and some prefer vented sub smile.gif

Btw, how much is Sub25 down under?
jchong
post Aug 27 2010, 12:58 PM

5,989 posts

Seems that Paradigm is good value in MY like what htkaki mentioned. For DSP3400 US$899 RRP over there vs RM3.3k here (3.67x). Or the Sub 25, US$4000 RRP there vs RM14.5k here (3.63x).

Paradigm must have a very efficient int'l distribution system.
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Aug 27 2010, 12:59 PM

801 posts

Yes! It is hard to get a PB12NSD vs DSP 3400. However here is a PC12NSD vs DSP3400. I believed PC12NSD is similar to PB12NSD.

Here is the 'review' http://hornyangmoh.blogspot.com/2009/09/12-vs-14.html

Oh! Please don't shoot me............very poor peasant here. blush.gif
jchong
post Aug 27 2010, 01:01 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Aug 27 2010, 09:44 AM)
Bro, still cracking your head over your room acoustic issue?

I think it is better for you to make time and come over to have a listen first before I ship the Ultra to you. At least, you know the 'benchmark' smile.gif .

The other day, I went to a customer place. His room has really bad acoustic and limited space to place the sub. I told him to rectify it first coz he ain't going to get much of the potential from his system with that kind of square room.

Anyway, I am glad that more and more HT enthusiasts place importance on room acoustic rather than 100% on the gears alone.
Yeah, still exploring ways to get the most out of my room acoustics.

One thing I found, putting the sub in the rear position (near my couch) is bad. The freq curve drops off sharply at the low end.
kc01
post Aug 27 2010, 01:44 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Aug 27 2010, 03:16 PM)
The PB / PC; vented sub is built primarily for movie and SPL in mind. The SB is for quality and not SPL drag race.

IMHO, the SB is good for small and medium room with 'authority' over >40Hz region while the PB/PC is for ULF and room filling bass.

Then again, both are of different characteristic. Some prefers sealed and some prefer vented sub  smile.gif

Btw, how much is Sub25 down under?

Not sure how much is Sub25, google it but cannot find pricing. But RRP for DSP3400 is A$1.6k (on special A$1,199) and SUB12 - RRP$3.5k (special A$2.6k)
paskal
post Aug 27 2010, 02:17 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(HornyAngMoh @ Aug 27 2010, 12:59 PM)
Yes! It is hard to get a PB12NSD vs DSP 3400. However here is a PC12NSD vs DSP3400. I believed PC12NSD is similar to PB12NSD.

Here is the 'review' http://hornyangmoh.blogspot.com/2009/09/12-vs-14.html

Oh! Please don't shoot me............very poor peasant here. blush.gif
now we have 3 people posting similar finding about the dsp3400.

excerpts from your review:
And the finding is Paradigm DSP 3400 is a better sub when compare to the SVS PC-12NSD. The SVS PC-12NSD just can’t go as low as the Paradigm DSP 3400 & also it power output is not as powerful or as loud as the Paradigm DSP 3400 even though the SVS has a more powerful amp.

people should really look into this dsp3400 if they're looking for a new sub with around RM3k budget.

QUOTE(jchong @ Aug 27 2010, 12:58 PM)
Seems that Paradigm is good value in MY like what htkaki mentioned. For DSP3400 US$899 RRP over there vs RM3.3k here (3.67x). Or the Sub 25, US$4000 RRP there vs RM14.5k here (3.63x).

Paradigm must have a very efficient int'l distribution system.
maybe the tax and shipping for the dsp3400 is lower. after all, it is smaller than the svs yet it weights roughly the same (29.5kg)
klimal
post Aug 27 2010, 04:39 PM

1,136 posts

Pray tell where can one buy the dsp3400 for RM3.3K?
Can pm me the place if it's not proper to disclose that here.
ycs
post Aug 27 2010, 05:13 PM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Aug 27 2010, 04:36 AM)
i'm gonna let it run it for a couple of weeks then make a freq response graph for it. if indeed it goes lower than 19Hz, then IMO it's a better buy than the SVS PB12-NSD.
hearing how people are dissing the DSP3400 previously (when lightning69 posted his impressions) and making fun of it, i really think people should hear a different opinion.
i do agree sound is a very subjective issue, but thoughts about a competing product can't be dissed-up (if the word even exists) entirely just because it is a different product compared to those which we are familiar with.

i think forumers should be (more) free in sharing their opinions and should not be scared to post and telling others about it.
if people are still shooting blindly like how lightning69's impressions are being shot at, we won't hear any other opinions about any competing products because fear of being shot down.

bro if you have seen then sub, then i reckon maybe this time you will ask the shopowner to power it up and hear how it performs. you won't regret that few minutes of your time.
look forward to see your FR chart.

below is my PB12-NSD chart

paskal
post Aug 27 2010, 06:43 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(klimal @ Aug 27 2010, 04:39 PM)
been reading the forums for quite a while now (check my date of registration) and there's been more than a couple of times where forumers share the contact information for C.T. Seong, kevin the tv seller, addresses for tv shop in ampang and etc etc. if should it's against policy then by all means it's been happening more than one time.

[edited: pm me if you want contact info]

i'm not in any way associated to the shop. i'm not being paid to give good reviews for it.
but i do think people should know about it as it's in my honest opinion the sub to beat at around RM3k

QUOTE(ycs @ Aug 27 2010, 05:13 PM)
look forward to see your FR chart.

below is my PB12-NSD chart

i'm gonna let it run-in for a few weeks first before taking any measurement. the driver must be loosen up first.

This post has been edited by paskal: Sep 4 2010, 06:32 PM
ronaldjoe
post Aug 27 2010, 07:39 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Aug 27 2010, 09:35 AM)
Probably he is busy making the subs for the bulk order from OZ tongue.gif

paskal, the PB12-NSD and DSP-3400 belongs to the same owner?

ronaldjoe, the Sub25 is the sealed sub to beat. It's price is surprisingly good over here. If for me, I would try it out instead of Submersive given those reviews.
So boss, you want to sell my SB13? Now itchy but no moolah for 2 sub25. sweat.gif

Added on August 27, 2010, 7:52 pm
QUOTE(kc01 @ Aug 27 2010, 01:44 PM)

Not sure how much is Sub25, google it but cannot find pricing. But RRP for DSP3400 is A$1.6k (on special A$1,199) and SUB12 - RRP$3.5k (special A$2.6k)
Pricing does not work in this manner in Bolehland coz it's Malaysia Boleh!. So Apa pun boleh!
Hence, we can't form our expectation on local pricing based on prices from overseas. biggrin.gif

Added on August 27, 2010, 7:54 pm
QUOTE(klimal @ Aug 27 2010, 04:39 PM)
Go to Asia Sound Equipment, Amcorp Mall.

This post has been edited by ronaldjoe: Aug 27 2010, 07:54 PM
jchong
post Aug 27 2010, 08:25 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Aug 27 2010, 07:39 PM)
So boss, you want to sell my SB13? Now itchy but no moolah for 2 sub25.  sweat.gif
Can start with 1 first, then add second later smile.gif
ronaldjoe
post Aug 27 2010, 09:11 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Aug 27 2010, 08:25 PM)
But boss you are the one who poisoned me with your dual subs setting drool.gif
dlyz
post Aug 27 2010, 09:24 PM

Dynaudio
1,827 posts

Wow.. 3.3k o.0" i wonder if locally can nego tis low. i might bite the bullet soon tongue.gif

This post has been edited by dlyz: Aug 27 2010, 09:25 PM
TShtkaki
post Aug 27 2010, 09:55 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Aug 27 2010, 08:25 PM)
LOL.... good idea. It will only takes him 3-4 months to get the second unit.

Will be doing EQ1 tomorrow. This time, 1 input, 2 outputs (2X 13-Ultra)
jchong
post Aug 27 2010, 10:01 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Aug 27 2010, 09:55 PM)
Will be doing EQ1 tomorrow. This time, 1 input, 2 outputs (2X 13-Ultra)
Looking forward to your review.

104 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0340sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:55 PM