The Official Subwoofer Thread v3, Everything you need to know about bass!

klimal
post Jan 5 2010, 12:51 PM

1,136 posts

Hi guys and gals,
I am looking for a sub and had the oppurtunity to audition the Velo Impact 12 and CHT-10Q recently.
My HT consists of
Source a;PS3 Slim
Display : Pana 50" plasma HD ready
AVR : Onktyo 607
Front Infinity Primus 250,
Centre Infinity C25
Surround Infinity Minuette
Rear surround : Monitor Audio Studio 20.
My listening area is 14 ft x 21 ft x 8 ft. The ceiling is actually has twi heights. The front half is about 10 whilst the rear half is about 8 ft high
Opens on the front right half, to the dining area. The right rear half is a solid wall.
This opening has a 2 piece glass partition with a 3 ft gap for walking through.

Has any one had the chance to listen to an Infinity sub PS212?
It is a 12" 400watts RMS box, ported.
Power wise , it is more than the two Velo's and the freq response rivals even the CHT12.
Price wise is more or less equals the Impact 12
Any suggestions where one can audition this in KL/PJ area?
My budget is RM2500/-
I know power does not equal quality but my medium sized hall needs some serious oomph to bring out the lows.
Thanks a bunch !

This post has been edited by klimal: Jan 5 2010, 12:58 PM
klimal
post Feb 8 2010, 12:22 PM

1,136 posts

I just bought a new SVS PC-12NSD and it is GREAT!!!
I have it placed in the front left corner of my hall, next to the left main speaker.
I am contemplating using my old Infinity RS10 sub in the other corner using the second sub preout of my avr. The reason being it's too old and frayed physically at the top corner edges to be sold and storing it seems such a waste, as it's still running well.
Any thoughts on this would be much appreciated.
If i do decide to use it, any advise on how to set it up to integrate it with my SVS.

klimal
post Apr 19 2010, 12:25 PM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Apr 18 2010, 12:07 PM)
Take a look at what klimal is selling, seems like a good start.
Thanks for the referral, anfieldude.
The subwoofer has been sold to a nice gentleman from Teluk Intan.
klimal
post Aug 27 2010, 04:39 PM

1,136 posts

Pray tell where can one buy the dsp3400 for RM3.3K?
Can pm me the place if it's not proper to disclose that here.
klimal
post Aug 28 2010, 01:01 PM

1,136 posts

Can you set up dual 12NSD for me to audition?

klimal
post Aug 30 2010, 05:31 PM

1,136 posts

Let me know when the PC12-NSD arrives.
klimal
post Aug 31 2010, 11:52 AM

1,136 posts

Poison poison poison
I too dun have a sealed room for my system.
Living hall opening up to the dining area which in turn leads to the kitchen. Plus a stairway that leads from dining area to the upper floor.
I always feel the low freq but miss out the slam in the chest effect of the mid bass.
Hope a dual will help ease my sickness a bit.

This post has been edited by klimal: Aug 31 2010, 11:57 AM
klimal
post Dec 2 2010, 04:14 PM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Dec 2 2010, 03:22 PM)
Taukeh, time to move on to a different level lah. Paradigm, Def Tech, tarak ngam for you liao. Time for hi-end stuff  thumbup.gif
Welcome back Max....and the poisoning continues sweat.gif
klimal
post Dec 30 2010, 10:30 AM

1,136 posts

Was watching New Daughter (Kevin Costner) last night.
Does anyone else feel the LFE is pretty good in this movie?
At 1hr 37 min, when he went down into the mound, there is a sustained LF pressure for about 3 mins.
Could feel my eardrums being pressurized...It is not loud but sustained.
I have new found respect for my entry level PC-12 ...it didn't have the proper environment to shine previously.

Added on December 30, 2010, 10:34 am
QUOTE(htkaki @ Dec 22 2010, 12:30 PM)
I have been using rear surround for years until the Audyssey DSX.

Out of itchiness and curiosity, I tested out the DSX Wide. Instantly, hooked on it. I get better surround ambiance than using rear surr. In this case, the front soundfield seems to be wider than the room. It is very expansive sound compare to the conventional 7.1 that 'choked' up the front.

I am going to use a pair of bipole surround spkrs soon (have to wait for shipment). This will give better surround envelopment.

The best part for DSX is that you do not need the BD to be encoded in 7.1. Forum member, butter finger is a lucky dude since he is the first one to experience DSX Wide and Height. He came in right after I have finished with the setup and calibration.

I let him experience the difference; with DSX Wide and Height, DSX Wide only, w/o DSX. He is impressed with the 9.1.
For front height effects, does one have to activate the IIz on the avr ?
Ifl running at 5.1 True HD or DTS-HDMA, will it utilize the front height ?
Does it need disc with encoded front height info for the effects to be heard?

This post has been edited by klimal: Dec 30 2010, 10:34 AM
klimal
post Jan 17 2011, 03:57 PM

1,136 posts

How much will shipping cost be to W. Malaysia?
klimal
post Jan 24 2011, 05:51 PM

1,136 posts

Last week, during one lunch time, I had a quickie visit to a shop near where I was having lunch in Pandan Indah.
He had a 18" Kaino sub hooked up with a 12" JBL DSP250.
Played a clip from Eli, the assault at the old couple's house where they had the gattlin machine gun.
Man, the thump in the chest was insane..boomy as expected but I think with better EQ can be reduced
Aside from it's industrial look, anyone ever contemplated going down this route. Combining one for it insane mid-bass power with the LFE extension of SVS/Rhythmic...etc
klimal
post Jan 25 2011, 11:30 AM

1,136 posts

you can drop by yourself if you are in the area.
It is in a 1st floor lot, over a unisex salon.
You can call him for an audition. Joseph 016-215 3744
Be prepared tho as his place is very cluttered and messy, as he does a lot of installs for HT.
Just go and feel THE FORCE !!

This post has been edited by klimal: Jan 25 2011, 03:13 PM
klimal
post Jan 25 2011, 02:30 PM

1,136 posts

Tune the X'over to 10Hz above the lower freq response of the bookself.
If hooked to an avr with equilizer/audyssey,/YPAO/MACC, let the avr do the calibration, then set to 80Hz at the avr.
In these cases, either turn the freq to max or enable the cross=over defeat switch on the sub itself

This post has been edited by klimal: Jan 25 2011, 03:08 PM
klimal
post Jan 25 2011, 05:32 PM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(RayKazansky @ Jan 25 2011, 03:25 PM)
I dun have AVR, but I am using my Azur stereo amp for movies also...

This is the Frequency Range for my bookshelf from specs page:
On Axis @ 0° ±3dB 65-21,000 Hz
Off Axis @ 30° ±3dB 65-10,000 Hz
Lf Cutoff -10dB 55Hz

Which frequency should I set to? 65Hz (55+10) or 75Hz (65+10)?  blush.gif
Try both and see which sounds better.
Let your ears be the judge.
I will go for the 75 Hz first.
klimal
post Jan 25 2011, 09:47 PM

1,136 posts

It's like going for a round with mike tyson !!!
Yes, it is chest thumping and will bring out your lunch.
The 15 ins 400 watts rms is <2K.
Problem is to convince HM to have one in the hall. It certainly difficult to blend with decor.
klimal
post Jan 27 2011, 09:17 AM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(RayKazansky @ Jan 25 2011, 01:40 PM)
Sifoos, I need help.

I'm new to sub, and I would like to know how to properly tune the frequency knob on the sub.

Is there any device to ensure low frequencies that cannot be produced by bookshelfs will be handled by sub and the same frequency will not be produced by both bookshelfs and sub.

Maybe my ears are hearing wrongly tuned setup, sorry if my question is confusing...
So how did it go?
What x'over point did you settle on?
klimal
post Jan 29 2011, 07:13 PM

1,136 posts

You must turn down the gain on the subwoofer and rerun audyssey again.
Are you using both the sub pre-out from the 608 and connected to the left and Right RCA inputs?
This will give a increased gain. Try using just one output.
Try and achieve -3dB to 0 at the avr setting.

This post has been edited by klimal: Jan 29 2011, 07:36 PM
klimal
post Jul 18 2011, 11:01 PM

1,136 posts

I am planning to run two dedicated power lines for my subwoofer and power amplifier.
Can anyone suggest a suitable gauge for the cables or would any standard cable suffice?
I am running a 5.2 system with dual subs.

Currently, one power point is powering my subwoofer, 5 channel power amp, Dune Base 3.0 and avr.
The pre-amp is also powering my surround speakers whilst the power amp is powering my center channel and bi-amped front speakers.

The other sub is drawing power from another separate phase power point. It is sharing with the plasma TV and Astro decoder. I think it has enough juice as the other components do not draw that much current.

During dynamic loud passages, I think the LFE is being starved of juice. shakehead.gif

klimal
post Jul 19 2011, 09:44 AM

1,136 posts

Denon 3808 :Dynamic Power 2 ch: 140 watts x 2 : 280
Anthem PVA 5 Max power output : 1125
SVS PC-12_NSD DSP : 400 watts RMS
Dune Base 3.0 : ??

Total : 1,805 watts.
So i am still within the max of 3120.
Am I correct or did I use the wrong figures?

klimal
post Jul 19 2011, 09:57 AM

1,136 posts

1805 /240 = 7.52 amps

0.0211sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:57 PM