104 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Bottom

The Official Subwoofer Thread v3, Everything you need to know about bass!

anfieldude
post Jun 29 2010, 01:45 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(cslee007 @ Jun 29 2010, 12:42 PM)
The Jamo S606 front speaker build up with tweeter + mid range + 8" passive woofer.

So i do not exactly sure what is happened with my setting with
AVR setting (subwoofer): No
Front speaker: large
Crossover: 80Hz

So, i think .1 channel sure no with this configuration.
But all signal > 80Hz will send to front speaker, right?
And i lost all signal <80Hz as .1 doesnt exist or these <80Hz signal will send to the passive woofer in Front speaker?
Ur front speakers are set as large so it shd be full range.

Set the crossover to full range if possible, normally if there is no subwoofer present, it shd set at full range.

Did u run Audyssey?
cslee007
post Jun 29 2010, 03:21 PM

33 posts

Yes, i did run Audyssey and it basically set the crossover to 80Hz.
I think it set the crossover at 80Hz as it detect the surround speaker capability whereby it can only handle 80 ~ 20KHz.
Onkyo SR-507 doesnt allow me to set cut-off / crossover frequency for each speaker individually.

So, what is actually happened with my current setting?
anfieldude
post Jun 29 2010, 03:47 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(cslee007 @ Jun 29 2010, 03:21 PM)
Yes, i did run Audyssey and it basically set the crossover to 80Hz.
I think it set the crossover at 80Hz as it detect the surround speaker capability whereby it can only handle 80 ~ 20KHz.
Onkyo SR-507 doesnt allow me to set cut-off / crossover frequency for each speaker individually.

So, what is actually happened with my current setting?
Most likely, information below 80Hz is lost on all channels. Also LFE .1 is not channeled to the mains.

Edit : Removed double bass as it is not relevant.

Ur main speaker goes down to 42Hz. So ur satellite speakers are causing the 80Hz cutoff as you said. Nothign much can be done for now as it is the limitation of ur amp.

I would suggest getting a sub to solve ur woes.

This post has been edited by anfieldude: Jun 29 2010, 04:15 PM
cslee007
post Jun 29 2010, 04:39 PM

33 posts

anfieldude, i think u r right.
No choice lo, but to get a sub.

Any good recommendation that is < 2k?
Was thinking of getting Jamo Sub 300 with Bash amplifier.
Any comment?
jchong
post Jun 29 2010, 05:16 PM

5,989 posts

Yeah I would also agree with the suggestion to get a sub. Firstly, to solve the 80Hz crossover from your AVR and the missing .1 LFE channel and secondly also to get the really low bass.

Although your S606 has the 8" passive woofer, it still cannot produce the low bass that a true subwoofer can. Means you're missing out on a lot of the "boom". Adding a sub will add a whole new dimension to your system.
ambg
post Jun 29 2010, 07:26 PM

115 posts

Noob question, would it be better with 2 ard 2.3K subwoofer or one near 4.2K subwoofer for a HT (7.1 vs 7.2)? TQVM.

taqies
post Jun 29 2010, 09:02 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(ambg @ Jun 29 2010, 07:26 PM)
Noob question, would it be better with 2 ard 2.3K subwoofer or one near 4.2K subwoofer for a HT (7.1 vs 7.2)? TQVM.
n great subs are better than 2 great subs, 2 great subs are better than 1 great sub, 1 great sub is better than 2 average subs, 2 average subs are better than 1 average sub. (n>2)

Draw your own conclusion.
anfieldude
post Jun 29 2010, 09:46 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(taqies @ Jun 29 2010, 09:02 PM)
n great subs are better than 2 great subs, 2 great subs are better than 1 great sub, 1 great sub is better than 2 average subs, 2 average subs are better than 1 average sub. (n>2)

Draw your own conclusion.
To add:

Also price alone does not mean its a good sub....

The ID companies seem to produce good subs that are much better priced.
taqies
post Jun 29 2010, 11:03 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jun 29 2010, 09:46 PM)
To add:

Also price alone does not mean its a good sub....

The ID companies seem to produce good subs that are much better priced.
That is certainly true, more bang for ur buck if you go DIY route.
chewkl
post Jun 30 2010, 08:25 AM

Peasant
2,170 posts

My Wharfy SW-250 is still up for sale @ RM1.5k...whistling.gif
TShtkaki
post Jun 30 2010, 08:45 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(chewkl @ Jun 30 2010, 08:25 AM)
My Wharfy SW-250 is still up for sale @ RM1.5k...whistling.gif
Fuyooo.... firesale ah for this What Hi-Fi 5 Stars sub tongue.gif ?

http://www.whathifi.com/Review/Wharfedale-Diamond-SW250/

This post has been edited by htkaki: Jun 30 2010, 08:46 AM
chewkl
post Jun 30 2010, 09:26 AM

Peasant
2,170 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jun 30 2010, 08:45 AM)
Fuyooo.... firesale ah for this What Hi-Fi 5 Stars sub  tongue.gif ?

http://www.whathifi.com/Review/Wharfedale-Diamond-SW250/
Thanks for the "promo" boss...thumbup.gif

Added on June 30, 2010, 9:29 amThanks for the "promo" boss...thumbup.gif
RM1.5k also sell lah...see your SVS poison got no antidote one...laugh.gif

This post has been edited by chewkl: Jun 30 2010, 09:29 AM
pierreye
post Jun 30 2010, 10:38 AM

1,308 posts

QUOTE(ambg @ Jun 29 2010, 07:26 PM)
You have to determine what is the min spec you need from the sub. Do you need sub that dig deep (sub 20hz)? If you have a sub that can only go to 25hz flat, then 2 sub doesn't mean you can go down to 15hz depends on the rolloff. I would advice to go for one very good sub first (preferable down to 20hz -3db) then add on when you had the budget for second sub.

The advantage for dual sub is to smooth the freq response for multiseat and around 3-6db louder compare to one sub.
ambg
post Jun 30 2010, 01:05 PM

115 posts

Thks for all SIFUS (master) advice.

Then will there be any options for ard 3K on subwoofer?

Btw what is ID companies imply in the statement,"ID companies seem to produce good subs that are much better priced"?

TQ.
mpyw
post Jun 30 2010, 01:39 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(ambg @ Jun 30 2010, 01:05 PM)
Thks for all SIFUS (master) advice.

Btw what is ID companies imply in the statement,"ID companies seem to produce good subs that are much better priced"?

TQ.
ID company get rid of the middleman...thus savings on the marketing/dealer profit gives you much reduce price and more fund channel to the products itself.
for sub ID company, look for those like HSU Research, SVS (slowly turning away from ID company except in US), Submersive, eD, Emotiva (not really good at sub), Axiom, for the same priced item from them, you get mush higher performance compared with general branding products.

Only hassle is most are from US/North America....so a lil hassle for warranty claim and repair
ambg
post Jun 30 2010, 02:01 PM

115 posts

So in short best shot will be SVS? (since htkaki is the dealer in malaysia) or SVS no longer consider as ID coz is commercialized now?

What would be the best bet for ard RM3K sub for both movie 70% (movie & concert 5.1 or 7.1 depends on investment based on limited budget) & music (CD, stereo 2.1)?

Rgds,
jchong
post Jun 30 2010, 02:23 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(ambg @ Jun 30 2010, 01:05 PM)

TQ.
ID = Internet Direct. Most of these brands sell direct via their website (no retail store) in USA. Cut out middleman so will be cheaper. Of course as some expand overseas (like SVS) they will appoint local distributor to offer support.

Check with htkaki what is available around 3k.
anfieldude
post Jun 30 2010, 02:26 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(ambg @ Jun 30 2010, 02:01 PM)
So in short best shot will be SVS? (since htkaki is the dealer in malaysia) or SVS no longer consider as ID coz is commercialized now?

What would be the best bet for ard RM3K sub for both movie 70% (movie & concert 5.1 or 7.1 depends on investment based on limited budget) & music (CD, stereo 2.1)?

Rgds,
ID companies have their disadvantages. More and more ID companies are realising that serving the international market is more difficult that the domestic market. So in essence, to give some people who like to have peace of mind that there is local warranty available the appoint agents/dealers to serve far east markets. I think it is a good move. It also allows people so far away to actually hear the product 1st before buying.

I would advise you to PM htkaki as I believe he can work out something based on your budget for some demo sets (if avail) or a little extra to meet ur needs.

If u still do not want to, there are other brands out there like Sunfire, Velodyne and other who market the traditional way.
nders
post Jun 30 2010, 02:30 PM

Age of lost direction
1,070 posts

hi guys, can sifus point me to a shop/seller that able to ship subwoofer to Kuching East Malaysia?

my budget is RM800. I need those with RCA in and volume to be used with a pair of active monitors for music listening. No need too good, cos i just need the extra oomph.

Thanks!
anfieldude
post Jun 30 2010, 02:32 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(nders @ Jun 30 2010, 02:30 PM)
hi guys, can sifus point me to a shop/seller that able to ship subwoofer to Kuching East Malaysia?

my budget is RM800. I need those with RCA in and volume to be used with a pair of active monitors for music listening. No need too good, cos i just need the extra oomph.

Thanks!
RM800...is tough to get a active subwoofer. Even Velo's Impact 10 is RM1300. Why not check with Junwei in Kuching he might have something that someone traded in....

104 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Top

0.0238sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:43 AM