The Official Subwoofer Thread v3, Everything you need to know about bass!

cslee007
post Jun 9 2010, 12:34 PM

33 posts

Hi, all sifus

I'm a newcomer.
I want to setup a HT in my new house and need to get some advise.

My HT consists of

1. Onkyo TX-SR507
2. Speaker system: Jamo S606 HSC3

My listening area is 20 ft x 24 ft x 10 ft.
Is actually the living hall connected directly to dinning hall.

Would Jamo Sub 300 Or Wharfy SUB 250 good enough for this kind of application?

cslee007
post Jun 10 2010, 08:20 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(chewkl @ Jun 9 2010, 02:12 PM)
My hall is 14*18*10 and trust me Wharfy SW-250 is not up to that task.

Buy if U insist U want SW-250 PM me I am selling mine. biggrin.gif
How long u had been using the SW-250?
And how much u want to sell?
If the price is attractive, then may consider to buy and use it temporarily.
Plan to upgrade to Sub 25 later on as now really not afford coz just move to new house.

cslee007
post Jun 10 2010, 10:07 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jun 9 2010, 03:45 PM)
bigger sub such as?  tongue.gif

With the addition of sub and proper tuning, it does make a difference in movie watching as compare to a typical 5.0 system. A lot of time, many people overlook the .1 in their setup. It's not about 'whoompa whoompa'. It's all about integration to the rest of the spkrs that would enhance the sound enjoyment. It's not all about Loud Boomy Boom Boom (sorry, i can't help it)  whistling.gif  sweat.gif
Agree........

Added on June 10, 2010, 10:11 am
QUOTE(chewkl @ Jun 10 2010, 08:32 AM)
SW250 was purchased late last year but only opened up and used mid last month when I moved into the new pad. Kiasu so sapu first biggrin.gif

Frankly I am also not sure how much I bought mine and how much a new one is selling for now. Let me check and get back to U, but I would expect to sell it around 80% the price of a new one. Condition is perfect.
Let me know when u confirm the price.

Added on June 10, 2010, 11:07 am
QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jun 9 2010, 03:18 PM)
I agree that the smaller subs probably cannot fill the area, however, with some time taken to consider proper placement, it shd be no pushover. Might not get the slam u r looking for, but still u will feel the presence.
Which is better?
Velodyne CHT12-R or Wharfy SW250?
Will other brands of subwoofer unable to match with my current Jamo S606?

Added on June 10, 2010, 11:33 amAny comment on Jamo or Yamaha subwoofer?

This post has been edited by cslee007: Jun 10 2010, 11:33 AM
cslee007
post Jun 13 2010, 02:15 AM

33 posts

Hello, all sifus.
May i know how to manually set the receiver?

cslee007
post Jun 14 2010, 06:12 PM

33 posts

Hi guys,

After doing some study, i found out that klipsh/synergy sub-12 kind of boleh tahan also (based on the specs)

Frequency response: 24 - 120 Hz +/- 3 dB
Power handling: FTC rated power: 300W continuous @ 1% THD , Dynamic power : 650W
Max acoustic: 117dB
Driver: 12" fiber composite cone - down firing
Amplifier: BASH digital hybrid

Anyone using this sub? Is it good?
What is the price?
cslee007
post Jun 14 2010, 06:43 PM

33 posts

Are u sure?
Coz SW450 is only 10" sub whereas synergy Sub 12 is 12" sub.
How can SW450 replace sub 12?
cslee007
post Jun 15 2010, 10:49 AM

33 posts

Actually what kind of criteria that we need to pay attention when buying a subwoofer?
How to judge distortion or boominess?
cslee007
post Jun 15 2010, 11:43 AM

33 posts

Last time i used to heard some long & annoying bass sound from my neighbour before i move to new house.
Feel like dizzy listening to this kind of bass.
So this type of sub is not good, right?

cslee007
post Jun 15 2010, 11:52 AM

33 posts

Htkaki, how much is Klipsch SW450, RW-10d & RW-12d?

Added on June 15, 2010, 11:57 amAnyone there using Yamaha subwoofer?
Yamaha involved in HT quite long time also liao.
Who is using Yamaha YST-SW515? Any comments?

This post has been edited by cslee007: Jun 15 2010, 11:57 AM
cslee007
post Jun 29 2010, 11:38 AM

33 posts

Hi sifus,

Want to ask what will happened to my below setting?

Jamo speaker S606 (8" passive subwoofer): 45Hz ~ 20KHz
Onkyo setting subwoofer: No
Front: large
crossover: 80Hz
Speaker & AVr connection: Bi-wiring

80Hz below signal will go to passive subwoofer? or just dissappear?

cslee007
post Jun 29 2010, 12:42 PM

33 posts

The Jamo S606 front speaker build up with tweeter + mid range + 8" passive woofer.

So i do not exactly sure what is happened with my setting with
AVR setting (subwoofer): No
Front speaker: large
Crossover: 80Hz

So, i think .1 channel sure no with this configuration.
But all signal > 80Hz will send to front speaker, right?
And i lost all signal <80Hz as .1 doesnt exist or these <80Hz signal will send to the passive woofer in Front speaker?
cslee007
post Jun 29 2010, 03:21 PM

33 posts

Yes, i did run Audyssey and it basically set the crossover to 80Hz.
I think it set the crossover at 80Hz as it detect the surround speaker capability whereby it can only handle 80 ~ 20KHz.
Onkyo SR-507 doesnt allow me to set cut-off / crossover frequency for each speaker individually.

So, what is actually happened with my current setting?
cslee007
post Jun 29 2010, 04:39 PM

33 posts

anfieldude, i think u r right.
No choice lo, but to get a sub.

Any good recommendation that is < 2k?
Was thinking of getting Jamo Sub 300 with Bash amplifier.
Any comment?
cslee007
post Dec 27 2011, 11:39 AM

33 posts

Hi all sifus,

Currently i owned a set of Jamo S606. But the bass is kind of weak as it only have 2 x 8" passive subwoofer.
Thinking of getting an active subwoofer preferably works for movies & music (50/50%)
Want to have have ur opinons on below sub:

1. Infinity PS210MKII (offer RM 1399) - had an audition but i think is kind of boomy for music and Ok for movies based on my limited knowledge & experience.

2. Paradigm PDR100 (offer RM 1499) - not yet audition. But check spec it only have 120W RMS power, is it enough to cover my living + dining area (open concept) of 18ft x 24ft area?

3. Is CHT-10Q good for movies & music as well? Saw a lot of forum members use this sub. Not asking for an excellent musicality sub. Is it well enough to handle normal / entry level?

4. SVS PB10NSD - should be very good as i found out a lot of comments and articles from net. But not sure the price.

Hope sifus on there can give some guide / comments.
TQ

Added on December 27, 2011, 11:45 amHow about Paradigm DSP 3100? Good for music & movies?
How much?

This post has been edited by cslee007: Dec 27 2011, 11:45 AM
cslee007
post Dec 27 2011, 01:01 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(klimal @ Dec 27 2011, 12:23 PM)
For such a large area, you will need a bigger sub with more power.
Also as you listen to music half the time, it more likely you would prefer a sealed sub for it's musicality.
What is your budget that you have set for the subwoofer?
IIANM, there is a  pre-owned sealed SVS SB12-NSD for sale.
This will definitely be a good option.
Tight budget, 2.1k max.
I'm just at the entry level. No need SVS SB12 for the moment.
Just start & at the stage of exploring & enjoying HD audio & HT.

So, for this kind of budget, what is the best choose to go for?
1. Velodyne CHT-10Q (roughly 2.2k)
2. Paradigm DSP-3100 (not sure how much yet)
3. Paradigm PDR-100 (RM 1499)
4. Infinity PS210MKII (RM 1399)

Among these, which is the best for movies & music?

Checked online & found out the best subwooder for the range of US 399 - 550, the ranking as below
1. BIC F12 (US 499)
2. Emotiva Ultra Sub 10 (US 329)
3. Elemental A3S-250 (US350)

Any comments on these few models?

0.0441sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:54 PM