130 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Bottom

Credit Card v9, RM50 GST dilemma

maxh3h3
post Feb 18 2010, 01:13 PM

got got gotta feeling already
753 posts

i received a stan char platinum even though i never apply for it and yet to activate it yet.

Kinda excited because this is my first platinum.

Considering to keep it and cancel all my cards.

Anyone know about the stan char CC about the annual fee rm50 charge?
i m not a heavy user so i dont bother to keep so many card in the wallet

pls advice
steventan85
post Feb 18 2010, 01:22 PM

6,447 posts

currently there is a lot of HSBC scam where their sales agent cheated the customer about the Rm50 rebate. i will report to bank negara and call their card center to cancel it
winner
post Feb 18 2010, 02:05 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(maxh3h3 @ Feb 18 2010, 01:13 PM)
i received a stan char platinum even though i never apply for it and yet to activate it yet.

pls advice
If you activate the card, it shows that you have already accepted the card and a service tax of RM50 will be immediately charged onto your 1st month statement. On the other hand, annual fee of SCB cc is waiveable.

SCB Plat CCs are quite decent compared to some CCs issued by local banks.
hye
post Feb 18 2010, 02:24 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Feb 18 2010, 01:22 PM)
currently there is a lot of HSBC scam where their sales agent cheated the customer about the Rm50 rebate. i will report to bank negara and call their card center to cancel it
What's the story ? Please don't grumble in here without putting up a proper story. Do practice responsible reporting.
deeplyheartbroken
post Feb 18 2010, 05:03 PM

774 posts

pls advice
Did you recently got a loan or any accounts on SCB? My sis at 22 got the same plat cc recently offered by SCB & she only just started working.
maxh3h3
post Feb 18 2010, 06:18 PM

got got gotta feeling already
753 posts

QUOTE(deeplyheartbroken @ Feb 18 2010, 05:03 PM)
Did you recently got a loan or any accounts on SCB? My sis at 22 got the same plat cc recently offered by SCB & she only just started working.
i only have a savings acc with SCB with an amount of money inside, i guess SCB wanna encourage me to use more money by using their credit card.
oyama
post Feb 18 2010, 08:58 PM

925 posts

Guys..i'm not well aware bout CC..just want to know..how can i apply for a CC? and what's the requirement.. i mean some bank want to know how much our saving in the bank.. and etc..so can anyone explain? thanks~
steventan85
post Feb 18 2010, 09:26 PM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Feb 18 2010, 02:24 PM)
What's the story ? Please don't grumble in here without putting up a proper story. Do practice responsible reporting.
the sales rep told me that by swiping 5x in the 1st month , my Rm50 will be waive ... my colleague called up HSBC and the call center told him there is no such promotion icon_rolleyes.gif
winner
post Feb 18 2010, 09:35 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(oyama @ Feb 18 2010, 08:58 PM)
Guys..i'm not well aware bout CC..just want to know..how can i apply for a CC? and what's the requirement.. i mean some bank want to know how much our saving in the bank.. and etc..so can anyone explain? thanks~
Always refer to Page 1 of this thread, and surf the websites of respective banks for the answers.

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Feb 18 2010, 09:26 PM)
the sales rep told me that by swiping 5x in the 1st month , my Rm50 will be waive ... my colleague called up HSBC and the call center told him there is no such promotion  icon_rolleyes.gif
Do not listen to those sales agents. I am surprised that HSBC cc sales personnel also use this kind of tactics.
gkweng
post Feb 18 2010, 10:27 PM

140 posts

pls advice
Yeah! I got this offer from SCB too...

When i received the letter from SCB offer me a platinum card... I was so happy biggrin.gif

But when I call to their CS & check what is the credit limit.... And he told me: "6K". mad.gif platinum credit limit at 6K only? I on the spot ask them to cancel my card... Even my HSBC gold card credit limit is higher that SCB platinum...
eddievh
post Feb 18 2010, 10:34 PM

3,218 posts

Sifu,how credit card interest are calculated? Ok,my case,statement is every 5th, 5nov09 statement Rm0 outstanding Rm0 usage,then 5dec09 state came ok la Rm0,around 10dec i swipe Rm2000 after taht no more using,5Jan2010 state came Rm2000 due must pay is 25jan2010 On 7jan is issue a chqRm1987 then no more using then 5feb2010 state came the statement stated BalanceRm13 + finance charge Rm22 ,

Really that high ka the finance charge or they calculate it wrongly? All this while i pay in full so i am not very familiar with the calculation. I wanted to complain but before i do that i need to ask sifu,if not kena balik very shy la.

thank you.
hye
post Feb 18 2010, 11:12 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(eddievh @ Feb 18 2010, 10:34 PM)
Sifu,how credit card interest are calculated? Ok,my case,statement is every 5th, 5nov09 statement Rm0 outstanding Rm0 usage,then 5dec09 state came ok la Rm0,around 10dec i swipe Rm2000 after taht no more using,5Jan2010 state came Rm2000 due must pay is 25jan2010 On 7jan is issue a chqRm1987 then no more using then 5feb2010 state came the statement stated BalanceRm13 + finance charge Rm22 ,

Really that high ka the finance charge or they calculate it wrongly? All this while i pay in full so i am not very familiar with the calculation. I wanted to complain but before i do that i need to ask sifu,if not kena balik very shy la.

thank you.
Bro ... your info very messy, luckily I'm in a good mood to analyse it.

- 5th Dec cycle / 25th Dec payment due.
- You swipe RM2K on the 10th Dec and for no interest you should have paid in full on the 25th Dec
- You paid on the 7th Jan, means you incur 13-15 days of interest. Based on approx 1.5%, you attracted about RM15 in interest
- Don't forget, since you paid on the 7th Jan, there's a late penalty.

RM22 sounds kindof right. Plus your RM13 will continue to attract interest on a daily basis till you settle it.
ashkamz
post Feb 19 2010, 12:12 AM

28 posts

thank you.
call their cs. ask them to calculate for you and request them to fax you the calculation. (this is the most annoying and want-to-avoid-at-all-cost thing for all cc cs).

You top up another rm13 first before you call. Ask them if he/she dont want to do the calculation, just waive the charges for you.

Just a suggestion. But at least it works for me. tongue.gif

hye
post Feb 19 2010, 09:01 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(ashkamz @ Feb 19 2010, 12:12 AM)
call their cs. ask them to calculate for you and request them to fax you the calculation. (this is the most annoying and want-to-avoid-at-all-cost thing for all cc cs).

You top up another rm13 first before you call.  Ask them if he/she dont want to do the calculation, just waive the charges for you.

Just a suggestion. But at least it works for me.  tongue.gif
Please do not suggest bullying / threatening tactics. The folks here are not barbarians / uncivilized people ... just ask nicely and I'm sure the CS will help you with your request. For everyone's benefit, the interest rate are calculated via the bank's computer thus I don't doubt much about the possibility of err. Yes ... error may happen from time to time and the best way as to not to incur or dispute about the interest rate is to always pay on time and in full all the time.

Don't flame me but the senior folks here repeatedly warned about cc high interest charges and some folks have got burned by this mistake. Still ... many take it lightly but many make one hella noise when the bank imposed the interest charges and make demands on the interest charges.

I have already roughly calculated the interest in the previous post. It probably would not differ much than the one calculated via the computer.

This post has been edited by hye: Feb 19 2010, 09:07 AM
cenkudu
post Feb 19 2010, 09:27 AM

1,206 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Feb 18 2010, 11:12 PM)
Bro ... your info very messy, luckily I'm in a good mood to analyse it.

- 5th Dec cycle / 25th Dec payment due.
- You swipe RM2K on the 10th Dec and for no interest you should have paid in full on the 25th Dec
- You paid on the 7th Jan, means you incur 13-15 days of interest. Based on approx 1.5%, you attracted about RM15 in interest
- Don't forget, since you paid on the 7th Jan, there's a late penalty.

RM22 sounds kindof right. Plus your RM13 will continue to attract interest on a daily basis till you settle it.
Bro Hye,

Correct me if I'm wrong, I think in this case he should pay in full before 25th January to avoid interest. 20 days interest free is from the statement date to the due date. If the transaction occur in 10 Dec, it will only appear in the next billing statement on 5th January. However if he choose not to pay in full by 25th January the interest will be calculated from the day the transaction occur which is from 10 Dec onwards.
hye
post Feb 19 2010, 11:08 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(cenkudu @ Feb 19 2010, 09:27 AM)
Bro Hye,

Correct me if I'm wrong, I think in this case he should pay in full before 25th January to avoid interest. 20 days interest free is from the statement date to the due date. If the transaction occur in 10 Dec, it will only appear in the next billing statement on 5th January. However if he choose not to pay in full by 25th January the interest will be calculated from the day the transaction occur which is from 10 Dec onwards.
I could be mistaken as well so I actually written down all the timelines. What he said was his statement cycle was on the 5th and payment will be due on the 25th. It is actually up to 20 days interest free and not 20 days interest free. Means if you make a transaction on the 5th (and posted) and billing cycle on the 10th, you will need to pay for this when the date due. If it is not posted then you are safe coz it'll go to the next payment cycle.

- He started from 5th Nov (Statement) and due on the 25th Nov. (Payment due) RM0 outstanding
- 5th Dec (Statement), 10th Dec RM2K, 25th Dec (Payment due) RM2K due, RM0 payment done
- 5th Jan (Statement), 7th Jan payment RM1987 25th Jan (Payment due)
- 5th Feb (Statement), RM22 interest ... this came from Jan non payment for about 13-15 days + late payment charge

Anyone wish to correct me ?

This post has been edited by hye: Feb 19 2010, 11:09 AM
winner
post Feb 19 2010, 01:03 PM

2,221 posts

thank you.
A few important points (in sequence) to note:

1. Statement date: 5th of the month
2. You spent RM2000 on 10/12/09
3. Statement date for expenses done from 6/12/09 to 5/01/10: 5/01/10
4. Payment due date: 25/1/10
5. You made a payment of RM1987 via cheque on 7/01/10, therefore there was no RM5 late payment penalty because you made minimum payment before 25/1/10.
6. Outstanding payment as at 25/01/10: RM13
7. Statement date for expenses done from 6/01/10 to 5/02/10: 5/02/10

The interest imposed for the outstanding amount of RM13 should be calculated from 26/01/10 to 5/02/10. Based on an interest rate of 18% per annum, your compound interest until 5/02/10 should be around RM0.06 only. Unless you have mistaken the payment date of your RM1987 or you did not give us the full picture, the bank might have over-charged you!
eddievh
post Feb 19 2010, 04:57 PM

3,218 posts

I also think the interest should be around like winner said,but that bloody bank(Alliance) insisted they calculate it corectly. They insist the interest is base on 2k that i use not the outstanding of Rm13.

No,i remember my payment date,it is not a late payment.

roy918
post Feb 19 2010, 06:14 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(eddievh @ Feb 19 2010, 04:57 PM)
I also think the interest should be around like winner said,but that bloody bank(Alliance) insisted they calculate it corectly. They insist the interest is base on 2k that i use not the outstanding of Rm13.

No,i remember my payment date,it is not a late payment.
Seems like you not fully understand the credit card terms and conditions that you put your signature on it.
When you read your credit card terms and conditions (can refer to item 10 here), finance charges are charged to RM2000 (not the outstanding balance of RM13) from posting date to your partial payment date when you not fully settled by next due date.

Estimation: RM2000 x 1.25% x 27/30 = RM22.5

Just learn something new today, interest free period only good IF make full payment

This post has been edited by roy918: Feb 19 2010, 06:18 PM
eddievh
post Feb 19 2010, 06:28 PM

3,218 posts

QUOTE(roy918 @ Feb 19 2010, 06:14 PM)
Seems like you not fully understand the credit card terms and conditions that you put your signature on it.
When you read your credit card terms and conditions (can refer to item 10 here), finance charges are charged to RM2000 (not the outstanding balance of RM13) from posting date to your partial payment date when you not fully settled by next due date.

Estimation: RM2000 x 1.25% x 27/30 = RM22.5

Just learn something new today, interest free period only good IF make full payment
ok,understood. So for those bankrupt kaki,if prevoius month got no outstanding amount and following month usage got not enough money to pay full just pay minimum only you will still get charge for the interest with the same amount. Correct ar?

130 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Top

0.0303sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:20 AM