Astro B.yond, HD Content Available

boxsystem
post Dec 20 2009, 06:00 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Dec 20 2009, 05:07 PM)
Make sure they call u to confirm your order dont just wait the installer wont come !
I am in Johor.Applied on11-12-09, after  vmad.gif  mad.gif  order confirmed on 17-12-09 and stiil awaiting installation ! As I have said Astro and TM take it or leave it, they always win !! They have 100 % govt. backing !
Another silly thing is HBO, why is HBO having the same movies on HBO SD and HBO HD ? So we pay for 2 same channels ! HBO should have some brains to show selected hits on HBO HD!
About NGC why do they  have NGC Rojak ? I think NGC Wild and NGC Adventure wld be fine.
Now the sound level ,why is it getting softer and softer ? From level 20 now i use level 35 for my hall viewing.!  cry.gif  rclxub.gif
Wow, I thought I have cleared the explanation on HBO years ago in an another one of ASTRO's thread.

Same movies playing all over again? Blame HBO not ASTRO. ASTRO is just only paying for their rights to broadcast it all over Malaysia. They don't have any control on which and what movies to be played and whatnot. Same goes to ESPN, Star Movies, Cinemax and others.

We/you can only blame ASTRO for its poor customer service and bad receptions whenever it pours. Well, maybe some of us need to read that with KU-band, we are prone to be having interrupted signals and whatnot. KU-band is more suitable to be broadcasted over countries which aren't having heavy rains. Try to google around.

I've been working for ASTRO in the past and now working for company which mingle around with satellite and receptions has helped me in understanding the nature of this type of technology.
AstInst
post Dec 20 2009, 06:07 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(kelvin @ Dec 20 2009, 12:51 PM)
Maybe their install to landed property first. Flat & condo need to wait a bit longer  :blink:
Me also register on first launch day on Friday. Until now still waiting for the installer, after CS call me only last Wed for T&C.  :sweat:
Wonder to know if in a single house have 2 decoder, is installer going to install the new disc direct to new HD decoder and leave the old disc to old SD decoder since new disc cannot be shared.
Wonder to know if in a single house have 2 decoder, is installer going to install the new disc direct to new HD decoder and leave the old disc to old SD decoder since new disc cannot be shared. Yes, that is exactly what they should do, two boxes and two dishes.
rickrick
post Dec 20 2009, 06:11 PM

Perth please be good to my business !!
505 posts

just installed byond at 3pm just now, location klang.
the hd quality is superb but only for some shows, some are showing sd quality in hd too.
aiks i thought same channel for the hd quality, but different channels...
btw the installer told me that lcd would have better quality view as i have plasma tv. but quality still good!
smileguy
post Dec 20 2009, 06:15 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(boxsystem @ Dec 20 2009, 06:00 PM)
Wow, I thought I have cleared the explanation on HBO years ago in an another one of ASTRO's thread.

Same movies playing all over again? Blame HBO not ASTRO. ASTRO is just only paying for their rights to broadcast it all over Malaysia. They don't have any control on which and what movies to be played and whatnot. Same goes to ESPN, Star Movies, Cinemax and others.

We/you can only blame ASTRO for its poor customer service and bad receptions whenever it pours. Well, maybe some of us need to read that with KU-band, we are prone to be having interrupted signals and whatnot. KU-band is more suitable to be broadcasted over countries which aren't having heavy rains. Try to google around.

I've been working for ASTRO in the past and now working for company which mingle around with satellite and receptions has helped me in understanding the nature of this type of technology.
wow
so you the right person to help us bypass Astro, recomend us a small dish plus a China decorder to get FTAlah friend ! rclxms.gif
minimize
post Dec 20 2009, 06:17 PM

1,543 posts

Which band are u think are suitable for Malaysia?
AstInst
post Dec 20 2009, 06:20 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(minimize @ Dec 20 2009, 12:51 PM)
Existing installer try to sell me some device that will increase a satelite signal that can decrease rain fade problem. But i think it all just a gimmick.
It just a small device attach between cable and decoder.

They also tell me that are no problem when using a splitter. I means for existing decoder. Not for a byond decoder.

BTW: your explanation is very informative.
For an older installation of SD only decoders you can use splitters because all the decoders only need to see Measat 3 (on the low frequency range). However, every splitter will reduce the signal by 50%, this is simply laws of physics. In technical terms splitters create a parallel path for the signal, this doubles the capacitance of the cable therefore reducing the signal strength. It is always best to have one decoder to one dish.

The "device" that your installer is trying to sell you is most probably a inline amplifier. These only make the signal stronger they do not clean it up, this means that not only does the signal get stronger but any noise or interference (caused by rain) will also get strengthened. The only time you should need one is if your cable has to run for more than 20m to the decoder.

There is an alternative of using dual, quad or octo LNBs on the dish, these give 2,4 or 8 independent full signal strength outputs from the LNB, that means you can connect up to 8 decoders to one dish each with its own cable run from the dish direct to the decoder. However, I have never seen these in Malaysia and they are very expensive. For now, one dish should be connected to one decoder.
boxsystem
post Dec 20 2009, 06:22 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(minimize @ Dec 20 2009, 06:17 PM)
Which band are u think are suitable for Malaysia?
I am not sure tongue.gif

But my office is working around with C-band. Hehe. Anyway .. ASTRO could improve their signals by transmitting with more power.

FTA channels eh? Some of them are available in KU and some with C. If you have dishes for both then .. voila! Woohoo!

But can KENA with MCMC lah ...

This post has been edited by boxsystem: Dec 20 2009, 06:24 PM
neb
post Dec 20 2009, 06:33 PM

2,234 posts

just realized that dish size increase is not to tackle rain-fade, but to allow for drifting error in one of the satellite position, measat 3a seems to be drifting from 91.5° east, also the dish must now pointed at centre position between these 2 satellites to receive optimum signal.

astro currently uses these ku-band transponders on measat 3 for SDTV broadcast, each transponder carried about 14 SDTV channels:
10982, 11062, 11102, 11182, 11482, 11522, 11562, 11602, 11642, 11682 (in MHz)
for these downlink frequencies, 9750MHz lo (local oscillating) frequncy is used, no need to use 22KHz to switch to 10600MHz, that is why we can share sigle LNB dish to multiple decoders.

if astro is to use higher downlink frequency to broadcast HD channel, thus must use 22KHZ switch to select 10600MHz lo frequency, then dish can no be shared

wow lots of money to spend for HD broadcasting! rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by neb: Dec 20 2009, 07:05 PM
pknride
post Dec 20 2009, 06:33 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(honamd77 @ Dec 20 2009, 01:44 PM)
area Kuantan..ada sesape dah dpt bYond?
blh share no hp installer?.mane tau nama dlm list diaorg biggrin.gif

5 day past edi..left 5 day..hope got gud new 2mrow
nowadays raining..extend install bYond is posible..
i'm at pekan.. still waiting call from installer since astro call to confirm and
brief about t&c last tuesday.. bro, check ur pm..
honamd77
post Dec 20 2009, 06:47 PM

Enjoy Your Life Before You Die
1,008 posts

QUOTE(pknride @ Dec 20 2009, 06:33 PM)
i'm at pekan.. still waiting call from installer since astro call to confirm and
brief about t&c last tuesday.. bro, check ur pm..
will check biggrin.gif

hdmi-2 function a.k.a. av @ video only?
boxsystem
post Dec 20 2009, 07:13 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Dec 20 2009, 06:33 PM)
just realized that dish size increase is not to tackle rain-fade, but to allow for drifting error in one of the satellite position, measat 3a seems to be drifting from 91.5° east, also the dish must now pointed at centre position between these 2 satellites to receive optimum signal.
astro currently uses these ku-band transponders on measat 3 for SDTV broadcast, each transponder carried about 14 SDTV channels:
for these downlink frequencies, 9750MHz lo (local oscillating) frequncy is used, no need to use 22KHz to switch to 10600MHz, that is why we can share sigle LNB dish to multiple decoders.

if astro is to use higher downlink frequency to broadcast HD channel, thus must use 22KHZ switch to select 10600MHz lo frequency, then dish can no be shared
It is ... tongue.gif

minimize
post Dec 20 2009, 07:47 PM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Dec 20 2009, 06:33 PM)

Waahh.. around RM2 million every year per transponder. But if you compare with total malaysia subcriber that almost 3 million subcriber, of cause they can make a money. tongue.gif

Added on December 20, 2009, 7:55 pm
QUOTE(AstInst @ Dec 20 2009, 06:20 PM)
For an older installation of SD only decoders you can use splitters because all the decoders only need to see Measat 3 (on the low frequency range). However, every splitter will reduce the signal by 50%, this is simply laws of physics. In technical terms splitters create a parallel path for the signal, this doubles the capacitance of the cable therefore reducing the signal strength. It is always best to have one decoder to one dish.

The "device" that your installer is trying to sell you is most probably a inline amplifier. These only make the signal stronger they do not clean it up, this means that not only does the signal get stronger but any noise or interference (caused by rain) will also get strengthened. The only time you should need one is if your cable has to run for more than 20m to the decoder.

There is an alternative of using dual, quad or octo LNBs on the dish, these give 2,4 or 8 independent full signal strength outputs from the LNB, that means you can connect up to 8 decoders to one dish each with its own cable run from the dish direct to the decoder. However, I have never seen these in Malaysia and they are very expensive. For now, one dish should be connected to one decoder.
Maybe in the future LNBs will use fiber optic cable or CAT5e. Easy to split using switch/hub. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by minimize: Dec 20 2009, 07:55 PM
Ares187
post Dec 20 2009, 08:15 PM

1,096 posts

Got my astro byond fixed today at 3.30 pm , he called me at 2.30 pm to ask if he can come today and i said okie , he came one hour later . Fixed it and its working fine . Hope for more HD channels soon . I called last friday to subscribe and got it fixed today .
kaspersky-fan
post Dec 20 2009, 08:23 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(Ares187 @ Dec 20 2009, 08:15 PM)
Got my astro byond fixed today at 3.30 pm , he called me at 2.30 pm to ask if he can come today and i said okie , he came one hour later . Fixed it and its working fine . Hope for more HD channels soon . I called last friday to subscribe and got it fixed today .
very nice for you, i also subscribed on fri... still waiting for my turn though yawn.gif ...

Added on December 20, 2009, 8:27 pm

thats the thing, no matter what the prob is, the customers will all blame astro... hbo is not even a channel made by astro to begin with...how could they control their channels programming? the only thing astro can do is complain to hbo lol....

This post has been edited by kaspersky-fan: Dec 20 2009, 08:27 PM
MX510
post Dec 20 2009, 08:33 PM

Love Me Sin Hate Me Sinner
4,038 posts

Already signup the installer will come this week
prasys
post Dec 20 2009, 08:46 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

I am going to call them tomorrow to find their status ! Oh well I am not sure how their system works
smileguy
post Dec 20 2009, 09:02 PM

3,147 posts

QUOTE(kaspersky-fan @ Dec 20 2009, 08:23 PM)
very nice for you, i also subscribed on fri... still waiting for my turn though   yawn.gif ...

Added on December 20, 2009, 8:27 pm
thats the thing, no matter what the prob is, the customers will all blame astro... hbo is not even a channel made by astro to begin with...how could they control their channels programming? the only thing astro can do is complain to hbo lol....
Pls note the issue here is 2 channels showing same movies not about Astro ! Batman on 411 and 431 at the same time ! icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on December 20, 2009, 9:04 pm
QUOTE(prasys @ Dec 20 2009, 08:46 PM)
I am going to call them tomorrow to find their status ! Oh well I am not sure how their system works
good luck keep us updated ! Pls be prepared for vmad.gif mad.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by smileguy: Dec 20 2009, 09:04 PM
twL
post Dec 20 2009, 09:26 PM

Photographer
1,146 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Dec 20 2009, 09:02 PM)
Pls note the issue here is 2 channels showing same movies not about Astro ! Batman on 411 and 431 at the same time !  icon_rolleyes.gif
if u r not getting same movie on HBO and HBO HD,
maybe the fee u pay is not RM20 but over than it,
maybe purpose of HBO HD launched just for the subscribers with HD TV and decoder,
not a all new and different channel for us with HD decoder only.. smile.gif
zonan4
post Dec 20 2009, 09:32 PM

561 posts

woot forgot to update here.... at 4.00pm I got my B-yond working..... Then it's raining heavy and no signal lost huhuhuhu lucky me..... Only 4-channel in HD supesport natgeo history and HBO so far so good .... can see the different quality from HD and sd very far indeed.... so satisfied.... hopefully the other channel will go HD faster....

C-band transponder is more reliable then Ku-band because it's not affected by rain but more expensive but the footprint is much smaller then Ku-band.....

Ah 1 more things... the installer said to me that they only install in Klang valley first... then outside maybe end of next week or 2 more week to go before they proceed.... huhuhu....

BTW anyone know if ESPN going HD how to update our decoder?? Autoupdate or must manually do it?
minimize
post Dec 20 2009, 10:08 PM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Dec 20 2009, 09:02 PM)
Pls note the issue here is 2 channels showing same movies not about Astro ! Batman on 411 and 431 at the same time !  icon_rolleyes.gif
The RM20 is a price for HD service not for a new channel.
Same way with Sky TV (UK paying TV broadcaster) pacakge that customer have to pay some extra money monthly to make HD service are available in their decoder.
That means you can see same channel and is in HD.

129 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Top

0.0163sec    0.07    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:43 AM