Astro B.yond, HD Content Available

boxsystem
post Dec 20 2009, 02:10 AM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(JonC @ Dec 19 2009, 11:39 PM)
Registered online on Tuesday and got the call from them yesterday. Today, the installer called me and already installed my unit! Apparently, among the first units to be installed in Klang after the units were assign and released to the astro contractors to be installed!  rclxms.gif

Happy to jump to the HD tv bandwagon. I'm a big football fan and seriously never thought games will look so gooooood in hd. Looking forward to watch the 2010 WC in full hd glory!
JonC, bro .. have you watched ESPN HD? How was it?

As for me, I registered on Thursday and they called me on Friday and informed me that my ASTRO B-yond will be installed within 10 days.

Got a call from BLOCKED number earlier. Answered but no one on the other line. Might be them. Will have to wait maybe ..
boxsystem
post Dec 20 2009, 06:00 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Dec 20 2009, 05:07 PM)
Make sure they call u to confirm your order dont just wait the installer wont come !
I am in Johor.Applied on11-12-09, after  vmad.gif  mad.gif  order confirmed on 17-12-09 and stiil awaiting installation ! As I have said Astro and TM take it or leave it, they always win !! They have 100 % govt. backing !
Another silly thing is HBO, why is HBO having the same movies on HBO SD and HBO HD ? So we pay for 2 same channels ! HBO should have some brains to show selected hits on HBO HD!
About NGC why do they  have NGC Rojak ? I think NGC Wild and NGC Adventure wld be fine.
Now the sound level ,why is it getting softer and softer ? From level 20 now i use level 35 for my hall viewing.!  cry.gif  rclxub.gif
Wow, I thought I have cleared the explanation on HBO years ago in an another one of ASTRO's thread.

Same movies playing all over again? Blame HBO not ASTRO. ASTRO is just only paying for their rights to broadcast it all over Malaysia. They don't have any control on which and what movies to be played and whatnot. Same goes to ESPN, Star Movies, Cinemax and others.

We/you can only blame ASTRO for its poor customer service and bad receptions whenever it pours. Well, maybe some of us need to read that with KU-band, we are prone to be having interrupted signals and whatnot. KU-band is more suitable to be broadcasted over countries which aren't having heavy rains. Try to google around.

I've been working for ASTRO in the past and now working for company which mingle around with satellite and receptions has helped me in understanding the nature of this type of technology.
boxsystem
post Dec 20 2009, 06:22 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(minimize @ Dec 20 2009, 06:17 PM)
Which band are u think are suitable for Malaysia?
I am not sure tongue.gif

But my office is working around with C-band. Hehe. Anyway .. ASTRO could improve their signals by transmitting with more power.

FTA channels eh? Some of them are available in KU and some with C. If you have dishes for both then .. voila! Woohoo!

But can KENA with MCMC lah ...

This post has been edited by boxsystem: Dec 20 2009, 06:24 PM
boxsystem
post Dec 20 2009, 07:13 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Dec 20 2009, 06:33 PM)
just realized that dish size increase is not to tackle rain-fade, but to allow for drifting error in one of the satellite position, measat 3a seems to be drifting from 91.5° east, also the dish must now pointed at centre position between these 2 satellites to receive optimum signal.
[attachmentid=1367471]
astro currently uses these ku-band transponders on measat 3 for SDTV broadcast, each transponder carried about 14 SDTV channels:
10982, 11062, 11102, 11182, 11482, 11522, 11562, 11602, 11642, 11682 (in MHz)
for these downlink frequencies, 9750MHz lo (local oscillating) frequncy is used, no need to use 22KHz to switch to 10600MHz, that is why we can share sigle LNB dish to multiple decoders.

if astro is to use higher downlink frequency to broadcast HD channel, thus must use 22KHZ switch to select 10600MHz lo frequency, then dish can no be shared
wow lots of money to spend for HD broadcasting! rclxub.gif
[attachmentid=1367563]
It is ... tongue.gif

boxsystem
post Dec 22 2009, 08:48 AM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Dec 21 2009, 11:09 PM)
Personally I am not sooo convince about paying a standard RM20 fee every month. It feels like a ripp off when u are on a low package customer. not the mention the channels are repeatable programs as usual.

I am sticking with my SD until then...
My goodness! Care to elaborate on which channels that are repeating its programs?
boxsystem
post Dec 22 2009, 09:55 AM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Dec 22 2009, 09:34 AM)
Wrong, after weeks I still can see quite a number of the programs are repeated, for example, the seven sins from History channel, the Hitler 6 chapter WWII from Natgeo. 

Sometimes some programs still come back after months. The original 2 hour "Life after people" has been repeated a few times across months b4 they roll out the new special series.

I personally understand that programs can be repeated within 1-2 weeks, but months? again and again for more than 5-10 times? come on....
Let me tell you what ASTRO does. They buy rights from content companies such as HBO and etc.

I used to complaint before, just as you do. It all changed when I started to work for them. I've learned what type of programmes they offered. Let me enlighten you.

There 2 types of channels. Pass thru and In house.

Pass thru :
HBO, Cinemax and etc. In other words, ALL OVERSEAS channels and other local TV stations.

In house ;
RIA, PRIMA, CERIA, HHD and etc.

The pass thru channels are nothing within ASTRO's control. They aren't responsible on what to be played or currently playing. What can they do is to replace the ads that came along with the channel. For an example, ESPN originally playing a lot of alcohol/beer ads but ASTRO change them with local ads such as Maxis and etc.

But they do have total control over in house channels. That, you can criticize them. Even so, for someone like me that often misses shows when showing for the first time, wouldn't mind to watch the replays.

p/s: ASTRO is NOT PAYING me to clear things up. I left the company long time ago. And I do hope this clears up some misunderstanding.
boxsystem
post Dec 22 2009, 10:49 AM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(kaspersky-fan @ Dec 22 2009, 10:43 AM)
I think repeating the programs are good for those who dont have time sitting infront of the telly 24/7. For those who do, pls go out and do something fun, theres much more things you can do in life rather than being a potato couch. And what the hell, Astro can negotiate with the content providers, but HBO is not just for Malaysia, its the whole asian region. If you insist rescheduling, astro would need to cooperate with hbo to set up hbo malaysia, and that costs money. If you expect every channel to be this way, the fees will be very expensive since you guys want exclusive treatment. Heck even I want MTV to repeat more "non stop hits" rather than playing their cheesy reality shows/dramas, but its MTVasia, not MTV Malaysia... what I could probably do is at most tune in to [v]/hitz or best of all, get my own off the internet.
Thank you. notworthy.gif

It is always like that with people. I've traveled around and yet people from first world countries are still criticizing their governments, providers and etc.

Even Sky in the UK also having this kind of problem. TM HSBB is trying to emulate Virgin.
boxsystem
post Dec 22 2009, 11:00 AM

Legend
1,573 posts

okay people. this is Astro Beyond's thread not RWI! tongue.gif

Please please please put some more screenies here!!

I am still waiting for my installer call. It is the 6th/7th day now. Oh .. I'm in KL.
boxsystem
post Dec 22 2009, 11:43 AM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(sg999 @ Dec 22 2009, 11:39 AM)
U R RIGHT!
astro is suck company!!! rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Yeah .. all msian company sux.

I wonder why people don't even bother to read on the posts a few pages back. I remembered someone literally explaining regarding 1080p and 1080i standards. How BD differs? How 1080p isn't even being broadcast live in any part in the world and how it consumes bandwidth.

Sure, you can get 1080p quality but all are after market products.
boxsystem
post Dec 22 2009, 12:44 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(kaspersky-fan @ Dec 22 2009, 12:27 PM)
It won't be 16:9 but they have the aspect ratio flag set to 16:9...so when the decoder sees that flag, it will automatically pull the picture to 16:9.... and you wont notice much diff because your eyes are not that sensitive as to vertical resolution.
Maybe we should complain that no company broadcasts in 4:4:4. laugh.gif
boxsystem
post Dec 22 2009, 12:54 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(kaspersky-fan @ Dec 22 2009, 12:50 PM)
ai... i dont know about you, but i cant see much diff... as long the colour is vibrant, the sound is good, picture is detailed and sharp without pixellated images, i'm dead happy with it.... (though of course im not happy now, considering how vile their SD transmissions are lol...)
I was being sarcastic .. LOL.

Yeah .. our eyes aren't that sensitive to colors. ASTRO's SD txn is crap. That's why I'm opting for B.yond. Anticipating sports in HD.
boxsystem
post Dec 22 2009, 03:43 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

Called the CS and inquired about my installation. She told me that there's a long queue due to large request. I told her back .. why got people registered later got theirs installed first? She said she will do something about it. I doubt it. Hehe.
boxsystem
post Dec 22 2009, 06:46 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ Dec 22 2009, 06:39 PM)
Applied online on Sunday night.
KL office contacted me yesterday noon.
Installer came today.

Super efficient. Ipoh.
So lucky lah you ..

Like the rest of us, I am still waiting ...
boxsystem
post Dec 22 2009, 07:35 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

Got my call from the installer as well. He will come tonight!!!!

HD for me. Any live games on Supersport HD? ESPN HD still not available eh?
boxsystem
post Dec 22 2009, 10:34 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

Installer came as promised. Really thumbs up for the HD channels. Really satisfied. Watching football would be much more entertaining after this. Woohooo.

boxsystem
post Dec 23 2009, 01:06 AM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Dec 22 2009, 11:36 PM)
Does it matter when switching signal like from Ku-band to C-Band?
Oh yes. Differ microwave spectrum. Meaning .. differ kind of dishes.

C band 4 to 8 GHz
Ku band 12 to 18 GHz

Yup, certainly having problems with Audio. Hope ASTRO will improve on that.

The ASTRO B.yond remote is rather useful. Easily 'integrates' with my TV.

This post has been edited by boxsystem: Dec 23 2009, 01:08 AM
boxsystem
post Dec 23 2009, 07:07 AM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Dec 23 2009, 06:29 AM)
Friend I am NOT complaining here ! You guys Baca dulu dont simply make noiselah ! Im saying it wld be better if HBo considers a different schedule for HD cos same movie same time on both channels leave  viewers with no other alternative,got it ? I made this suggestion to HBO to consider why you guys offended ? You quote US also same you do this in US ? No way !! In Asia u can do this not in US, i know there is HBO HD there but the format is NOT like ours.Everything you all say satelite broadcasting means like this you try telling in US if rain NO service see what happens, they wld take you to Court and the Court ensures Justice.Here we just talk justice only people jump say we always complain! Forum is a place everyone can pour thier hearts out we dont need anyone to defend service providers  and they dont provide anything free for your info. doh.gif
Chill down guys.

smileguy, basically the contents would be the same between HBO and HBO HD. The only difference is the quality of the movies. Maybe, somewhere in the future, there will be more HD movies channels in ASTRO. I am not sure. But last time when I was in the UK, I also 'pening' on which channel to watch. So many channels there.

I don't really know ASTRO's capabilities in downlinking channels from UK, Europe and US. As what of I know, there aren't many interesting channels are being broadcast here in Southeast Asia. Normally, the ones that we are able to get are those being turned around from some source. But if you would like to have channels with ethnic(is this even the correct word?)/regional/specific countries contents, there are a lot lying around.

People in the US/UK/Europe can sue/claim for their rights because of their nature surroundings. I think that I've mentioned before that Ku-Band isn't really suitable with countries that are having heavy pours all year throughout. Well, there are ways to overcome the rain fade problems such as transmitting the signals with more power but that wouldn't be cost efficient.

These are the rates that I know :

SD transmission space segment uplink charges
First 10 minutes : $375(more or less)
Every minute afterwards : $50(more or less)

These rates are paid to the company that uplinking signals from their site to bird. Yet, you still have to pay the company that owns the bird. I am not sure about HD charges as I would like to think it would be much much more expensive considering the bandwidth it requires.

This post has been edited by boxsystem: Dec 23 2009, 07:08 AM
boxsystem
post Dec 23 2009, 09:20 AM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Dec 23 2009, 09:16 AM)
Let it be silly, I have made my point and I dont see anything wrong in it.The channel arrangement is silly one channel for  hd content what the big deal ? Even HBO said it may look into it,wats ur problem ?We are comparing and defending one provider who provides less then 100 channels to countrise which provide  300 over channels for a nominal sum ! doh.gif
Dude, check my earlier post.

It's good that you emailed HBO. I am thankful for you to ask them regarding the scheduling.

Yet, the purpose to have HD channels is to have the content in HD. I know that there are some channels that are having diff contents for their SD and HD. Iti is totally up to them. But just bear in mind, normally it is just to serve the purpose of having a higher quality transmission/broadcast.

This post has been edited by boxsystem: Dec 23 2009, 09:20 AM
boxsystem
post Dec 23 2009, 02:29 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Dec 23 2009, 01:56 PM)
Yep , I am going to do that with my PC. So my PC would be another "TV". I was told its possible. Going to do that later

Setapak (Kuala Lumpur)
Oh yeah some more good news :-

1. The system runs Linux. Yes , it uses Linux. It has OpenSSH installed (allows you to remotely control the box and run lots of stuff. Yep , its a full blown Linux box - those who are into hacking , would know this)

2. HDMI is v1.3 compliant , even if you have HDMI 1.0 , it would still work. you'll get HD output and HD streams are HDCP. So meaning that they will only work if its done via HDMI

3. The decoder is locked (thanks to Linux and SHA-1 encryption) to the Smart Card. you can't swap the smart cards with your friends , like last time it was possible to swap smart cards (i.e if your mate has package c and hes out of town and he gives you his smart card. You can use that and view whatever channel he has). Now the decoder is smart , it knows its Smart Card. Again we can reset this stuff , if we know the root password tongue.gif

4. The USB port at the back is a USB Host and not a Client port. So meaning that we can link it to a PC and I bet its used for something or troubleshooting. I am not sure about this.

5. The LAN is 10/100 and not 1000Mbps tongue.gif

Thats all for now. I'll be doing some more paperwork/research alter and let you guys know about it
Thanks for the hindsight!

Any of you need screenies of the new machine? I'll try to snap a few later on ...
boxsystem
post Dec 23 2009, 03:48 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(jonrulezz @ Dec 23 2009, 03:17 PM)
11/12/09- register via phone
17 (or was it 18? blink.gif )/ 12/09- t&C-astro called
20/12/09- astro installer came and installed, put a new wire for the sattellite dish. he forgot to take my decoder and remote...biggrin.gif
21/12/09- MY DECODER GOT AN UPDATE! THE ORIGINAL FIRMWARE WAS DATED OCT 07 AND THE UPDATED ONE WAS NOV 17 (or some other date in november blink.gif ) no new features, just the UI is A BIT better for the 16:9 aspect ratio.

anyway, i think i'm the first one to find a GLITCH! YES A GLITCH! icon_idea.gif
here they are

I was watching SuperSport HD, the audio was repeating every 3 seconds itself like an echo...i dun think it has to do with my decoder... i turned the channel and turned back, same thing. Onned and offed same thing.  blink.gif i didnt turn it back the rest of the day and the next day it was okay. rclxms.gif

heres the MAJOR GLITCH! when i turned to HBO HD, the thing that shows the current program when you turn (i think its called a banner) showed a different program that was showing...when i pressed ok on the remote, IT SHOWED THE RIGHT PROGRAM!  blink.gif  IT HAPPEND THE NEXT DAY ON SUPERSPORT HD!

but im still happy i get to enjoy hd... rclxms.gif
Was having the same problem last night while watching Sevilla VS (forgot) ...

0.0458sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:17 PM