Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V34!, The Orange Legion

jimlim007
post Dec 5 2009, 12:31 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ Dec 5 2009, 12:25 PM)
Oooh a new 17-70? Not sure about this but the old one doesnt have OS for Sony mount. (:
got la for sony mount, it got for all brand mount C, N, S (click n snap tongue.gif )
Sp00kY
post Dec 5 2009, 12:40 PM

3,366 posts

what moo is trying to say is that the older sigma lenses for sony were without OS (even if there is OS for other mounts).

from dpreview, it says that
"For Sony and Pentax mount, the built-in OS function of this lens can be used even if the camera body is equipped with an anti-shake function. As the compensation for camera shake is visible in the view finder, the photographer can easily check for accurate focus and ensure there is no subject movement"

Something new for sony then....u can now feel the OS in the VF!
jimlim007
post Dec 5 2009, 12:51 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

1770 f2.8, is a walk around lens thumbup.gif 2470 f2.8 also cant beat it wide angle

This post has been edited by jimlim007: Dec 5 2009, 12:52 PM
signither
post Dec 5 2009, 02:53 PM

Certified Mutant
3,557 posts

it/s f/2.8-4 right??
post Dec 5 2009, 03:01 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

Cant imagine the size if 17-70 f/2.8 tongue.gif
signither
post Dec 5 2009, 03:18 PM

Certified Mutant
3,557 posts

QUOTE(168257061 @ Dec 5 2009, 03:01 PM)
Cant imagine the size if 17-70 f/2.8 tongue.gif
it'll be much bigger than 16-35 f/2.8 icon_question.gif
albnok
post Dec 5 2009, 03:20 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

lwliam: Shooting wide open to increase vignetting is a common tactic used for full-frame cameras. It is far more obvious.

Soony: Here is one from the A900 with Sigma 30mm F1.4 in full-frame mode hence even more vignetting:

You could say the Sony is better - it's one of the best 50mm lenses there is. However the Sigma definitely stands on its on.

0168257061: Studio Zaloon, Pudu Plaza, or any Tarita, Boeing or Sony Center or Sony Style.

Well the Zeiss T* filters are so much easier to find than the Nikon NC or Canon filters!

neo_lam: For your 16-80mm, yes.

jimlim_007: If you use Kelvin WB all the time, you will not have a problem. Use Live View to set your Kelvin lah easier that way.

gizmo_pony: The framing will be steady (but some people do not like the swimming look in the viewfinder.) Also, some lens-stabilization is very audible (if you have good ears, you can hear an annoying high-pitched sound e.g. Nikkor AF-S 18-200mm F3.5-5.6 VR.)

Sweet, 17-70mm gets an upgrade! It used to be:
Sigma 17-70mm F2.8-4.5 DC
Sigma 17-70mm F2.8-4 DC Macro HSM

Unfortunately they have chopped off 2 cm from the MFD - so the original 17-70mm is the true 20cm MFD champion with 1:2.3x magnification. The new 17-70mm only does 1:2.7x.

SpOOkY: There are Sigma OS lenses in Sony mount.

http://www.photoclubalpha.com/2009/08/09/s...-6-3-dc-os-hsm/

You can't turn on both OS and SSS though...

Kul | Mo0: The old Sigma didn't have OS for Canon/Nikon mount!
jimlim007
post Dec 5 2009, 03:27 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

vignetting is a bad thing? i used to see the limix LX3 shoot with vignetting, it look like more creative...
post Dec 5 2009, 04:12 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

Not all photo suit to vignetting. biggrin.gif
But I noticed some wed-shooter their photo contain a lot of vignetting after pp. Maybe a style ? tongue.gif
jimlim007
post Dec 5 2009, 04:24 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Dec 5 2009, 03:20 PM)
lwliam: Shooting wide open to increase vignetting is a common tactic used for full-frame cameras. It is far more obvious.

Soony: Here is one from the A900 with Sigma 30mm F1.4 in full-frame mode hence even more vignetting:

this picture is also not in focus right...
albnok
post Dec 5 2009, 04:31 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

jimlim007: The focus is on the strings near the mike. F1.4 obviously has very shallow DOF and that is why his face is not in focus.

This post has been edited by albnok: Dec 5 2009, 04:31 PM
jimlim007
post Dec 5 2009, 04:51 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Dec 5 2009, 04:31 PM)
jimlim007: The focus is on the strings near the mike. F1.4 obviously has very shallow DOF and that is why his face is not in focus.
hi albnok, for those prime lens, can we get the picture have same DOF (the person face n string), eg in this picture, can it be done?

This post has been edited by jimlim007: Dec 5 2009, 04:52 PM
albnok
post Dec 5 2009, 05:05 PM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

IF the face and strings are both in the focus plane, yes. Often, guitar straps and faces are at the same focus plane when shot from right in front. In this case though, if I shot from a higher angle and turned the camera downwards, I might be able to get both face and strings in focus.
ieR
post Dec 5 2009, 05:21 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

Soony: 30mm is sweet, like shooting ur date from ur sitting on a dinning table, just fine, with large apperture softening the background, w00t. tongue.gif but i think 1750 can easily do this, but lack of the bokeh though.

gizmo_pony: i rather pay rm400 less for Non-OS version. wink.gif i'm not sure, when using 200mm, i felt SSS are more stable compare to VR/IS at the same shutter speed(although it dont physically shows in OVF). so i would stick with SSS, summore the newer alpha model will have even better SSS
jimlim007
post Dec 5 2009, 05:41 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Dec 5 2009, 05:05 PM)
IF the face and strings are both in the focus plane, yes. Often, guitar straps and faces are at the same focus plane when shot from right in front. In this case though, if I shot from a higher angle and turned the camera downwards, I might be able to get both face and strings in focus.
i see. some time prime lens also have weakness due to dof laugh.gif

This post has been edited by jimlim007: Dec 5 2009, 05:45 PM
weixuan
post Dec 5 2009, 06:41 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Dec 5 2009, 05:41 PM)
i see. some time prime lens also have weakness due to dof laugh.gif
but you do have the option of shooting in smaller aperture to keep everything sharp, right?
shootkk
post Dec 5 2009, 07:19 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

For pics taken at the PC fair today, head over to this thread:

PC Fair pics

Some pics to share here only:

1. Ahmike and kysham being 'part-time' HP promoters:

2. The failed prototype of Astro Boy... reduced to being a mascot....

3. Klingons have landed at PC Fair!

4. 'Who's weirder? Me or him?' ahmike muses...

5. Ahmike with Carace Kwan

Cheers!

I dun have any wireless flash pics... coz I was too busy holding the strobes!!!! With kysham's help holding 2 other strobes, ahmike managed to get one very nice shot using 4 strobes!

Ahmike ! Quick! Quick! Post up the pic!

Innovation
post Dec 5 2009, 07:28 PM

244 posts

"o, so fast post pic d..nice nice
tat gal name spell in carace eh, i still thinking of carrace..><''
hokc77
post Dec 5 2009, 07:28 PM

425 posts

Group outing today to Bukit Cahaya for some macro fun.

1. user posted image

2. user posted image

3. user posted image

4. Not so macro..

5. My 1st porno shot laugh.gif
Poadster
post Dec 5 2009, 08:05 PM

inspiRED: Fast and Furious
647 posts

Taken during today's Alpha Flash Workshop, these were the two models today..... guess which one William was totally smitten by??

Mavis...

Slyvia...

Sweet Slyvia... wub.gif wub.gif

Wireless flashes fired front right of her face, and left back of her head...
wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif

No PP, straight from cam...

Added on December 5, 2009, 8:12 pm
Someone mentioned WIRELESS FLASH???

The magic of wireless flash, basement carpark, and F11... (this is NOT in a studio!!)... tongue.gif

1 wireless flash from right (trainer)

1 wireless flash from left (William)

2 wireless flashes from left (William held close) and right (trainer far)

2 wireless flashes from left (William held close) and right (trainer is closer)

wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif

C&C pls.... no PP, straight from cam...

This post has been edited by Poadster: Dec 5 2009, 08:30 PM

125 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Top

0.0210sec    1.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:19 PM