Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V34!, The Orange Legion

shootkk
post Dec 1 2009, 02:39 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

Using the cable to transfer pic will eat into your battery. That's a fact.

If your alpha battery is low then do not transfer the pics until you have charged the battery. If the battery runs out while in the middle of the transfer, most probably you will get corrupted files.
shootkk
post Dec 2 2009, 09:54 AM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

Anyone planning on going to shoot them promoter gals in PC Fair this Saturday? I am going - early in the morning - 11am so that the gals will be fresh... hehehehehe....

Anyone wants to come along? Can go TT afterwards also....
shootkk
post Dec 2 2009, 11:47 AM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

lwliam : Where's the flash workshop? I will be there up till about 3 or 4pm so if you can, meet up after your workshop lor...

So here's the plan ler:

Showgals shoot and TT on Saturday 5th Dec 2009:

Where : PC Fair KLCC
Time : 11am (shoot first, TT later) till it ends lor... if got many people come, sure can continue until they chase you away ler...

Who's coming :
1. shootkk
2. zicron

zero 1 two 311 four 2 one 8

What you can molest at TT or during shoot:

A850 - with KM 50mm and KM 24-85mm
F58 cobra
F42 (viper?)
F20 (tentative... trying to buy from seller tonite...)
A100 - the classic Sony DSLR that started the Alpha line!!!
SAL18250

Maybe can do multi-strobe wireless shoot also if 'models' are willing and enough people to hold them flashes around!

shootkk
post Dec 3 2009, 10:27 AM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

Time : 11am (shoot first, TT later) till it ends lor... if got many people come, sure can continue until they chase you away ler...

Who's coming :
1. shootkk
2. zicron
3. @bout @perture (come for TT only)

F58 cobra
F42 (viper?)
F20
SAL18250

No one else wanna come ar? cry.gif Come lar... come lar... Come for TT only also can mah... sweat.gif
shootkk
post Dec 3 2009, 04:57 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

QUOTE(Innovation @ Dec 3 2009, 04:14 PM)
sat'day..hmm...can i join in? smile.gif plan to meet some lyn alpha user
Sure! Come, come! The more the merrier...! Bring your frens too! thumbup.gif

Who's coming :
1. shootkk
2. zicron
4. Innovation

F58 cobra
F42 (viper?)
F20
SAL18250
No one else wanna come ar? Come lar... come lar... Come for TT only also can mah...

shootkk
post Dec 4 2009, 11:43 AM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

Who's coming :
1. shootkk
2. zicron
4. Innovation
5. lwliam (50%)

Wokeh! Here's what time and where to meet:

Time to meet : 10.30am

Where to meet : Uncle Ho's Foodcourt in Avenue K. When you come out of the LRT station in KLCC. Turn right and you will see a Secret Recipe restaurant. Walk towards Secret Recipe and then turn right again in front of Secret Recipe and walk to the end of the corridor. Uncle Ho's Foodcourt is there. DO NOT go up the stairs/escalator.

We will proceed to PC Fair around 11.30am for shooting, then TT again....
shootkk
post Dec 4 2009, 01:31 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

Who's coming :
1. shootkk
2. zicron
4. Innovation
5. lwliam (50%)
6. ahmike zero12-262289seven

Wokeh! Here's what time and where to meet:

Time to meet : 10.30am

Where to meet : Uncle Ho's Foodcourt in Avenue K. When you come out of the LRT station in KLCC. Turn right and you will see a Secret Recipe restaurant. Walk towards Secret Recipe and then turn right again in front of Secret Recipe and walk to the end of the corridor. Uncle Ho's Foodcourt is there. DO NOT go up the stairs/escalator.

We will proceed to PC Fair around 11.30am for shooting, then TT again....

UPDATE:

ahmike is coming.... those of you who wants to poison yourself with the whitey 70-200G and/or 2470Z please make an effort to come ler.... rclxms.gif but dunno if he will bring them or not loh.... tongue.gif
shootkk
post Dec 5 2009, 07:19 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

For pics taken at the PC fair today, head over to this thread:

PC Fair pics

Some pics to share here only:

1. Ahmike and kysham being 'part-time' HP promoters:

2. The failed prototype of Astro Boy... reduced to being a mascot....

3. Klingons have landed at PC Fair!

4. 'Who's weirder? Me or him?' ahmike muses...

5. Ahmike with Carace Kwan

Cheers!

I dun have any wireless flash pics... coz I was too busy holding the strobes!!!! With kysham's help holding 2 other strobes, ahmike managed to get one very nice shot using 4 strobes!

Ahmike ! Quick! Quick! Post up the pic!

shootkk
post Dec 5 2009, 08:33 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

QUOTE(Zen-X @ Dec 5 2009, 08:26 PM)
guys..can i simply format my CF?
If you mean format it using your camera, then yes.

Guys, anyone please go add a comment on the PC Fair thread so that I can post up more pics!
shootkk
post Dec 5 2009, 08:51 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

Poadster : Done! All pics added. Saw that you got some nice wireless shots at the workshop. The last pic though I would have preferred just a little fill flash on her face. Just a little bit to lighten it up a tad but keep the mood.

And we have one shot using 4 strobes at the PC Fair. It's with ahmike.
shootkk
post Dec 5 2009, 09:02 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

Poadster : Talk about uncontrolled! There's hoards of people at the PC Fair leh! Imagine the crowd and us with the model standing in an area about 10 square feet with four strobes - 2 left (held by Kysham) and 2 right (held by me) in a sea of other people! Hehehehehehe...

Kysham even asked the model if she got sun tan lotion or not. The flashes were barely 3 feet away and the photogs standing about 3 feet in front of her also!

I know it can get crazy but it was fun!
shootkk
post Dec 5 2009, 09:07 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

Poadster : Go ahead and post! The more the merrier! And yes the shot is in Ahmike's cam.
shootkk
post Dec 5 2009, 10:52 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

Quick, quick post! All can post my thread. Even non alpha users also can... I don't mind. Just post up them photos!!!!!!!

**edit**

Arghhhh!!!! Goldfries closed my thread!!! Now dunno where you guys wanna post the pics.... post here lor... maybe...

This post has been edited by shootkk: Dec 5 2009, 11:02 PM
shootkk
post Dec 6 2009, 12:15 AM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

QUOTE(finejava @ Dec 5 2009, 11:41 PM)
Poadster: mind asking how do make the background till all is black except for where the flash is fired? how bout the build-in flash? i though the build-in flash is the controller?
To kill the ambient, close down the aperture and use a higher shutter speed. But I personally do not recommend going into HSS as HSS flash output greatly reduces the power and you may not be able to light your subject properly.
shootkk
post Dec 6 2009, 11:19 AM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

QUOTE(amadeo @ Dec 6 2009, 07:30 AM)
very interesting read indeed!  thumbup.gif
..and now, i wanna go and buy zeiss lenses laugh.gif

No need to buy. Just rent from ahmike can ady! LOL!!!!
shootkk
post Dec 11 2009, 11:05 AM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

augustinestyle : A a glance the picture is pretty normal. I dunno perhaps my monitor is not as bright as it should be but to me the foreground part is pretty dark. I can't make out much details there. Maybe pop a wireless flash there from the side to light things up a little?

If it were me, I would move closer and eliminate the top part that's currently empty. Always try to fill the frame with your subject.

The flare at the lower right is a bit distracting to me. Did you put it there for a purpose? Maybe moving a little to the side will remove that.

Just my thoughts...
shootkk
post Dec 14 2009, 09:39 AM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

QUOTE(lencent @ Dec 14 2009, 01:40 AM)
means only flash can help in this scenario? sad.gif tot i can play around with the metering to get a proper expose backlit portrait shoot...

not really sunlight at the back, but more like the background is brighter.

used diffused built in flash, the skin tone still ok ok, but i increased the EV to +1.3. Take a look at the background, it is totally overexposed sad.gif
In this kind of scenario, you would need an external flash. If you want to get a balanced picture without doing extensive PP, here's what you can do:

1. Have an external flash ready.
2. Meter the background to get a proper exposure and lock the exposure on the background.

Step no. 2 will guarantee you that your subject and/or foreground will be UNDEREXPOSED. So to bring it up:

3. Use your flash in manual mode and dial in the setting so that the subject will be properly exposed. The background will not blow out coz you've metered it correctly.

It may be time consuming to set/reset the flash power output so in a hectic shoot, it may not be practical. I haven't tried TTL in this kind of scenario so I don't know if it will give the correct flash output.

Else you can find a different angle where the background is not so bright.

Hope that helps.
shootkk
post Dec 14 2009, 10:08 AM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

QUOTE(Uzumaki NaruTo @ Dec 14 2009, 09:59 AM)
is it because he meters the background? If meter the background correctly (no overexpose) Then the foreground will be somewhat darker than the background right?
Exactly! You are metering for a bright background. So if the background is exposed properly, then the foreground which is in some shade or is less bright will be underexposed. Thus you need to bring it up using your flash. Like I said, I have not tried using the flash in TTL when I am metering not on the subject but the background. You guys could try it out and see what the result is.
shootkk
post Dec 14 2009, 03:26 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

jr.precrime : I like the second one better. The warm colored one is a bit too warm for me but that just me. smile.gif
shootkk
post Dec 16 2009, 04:11 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

QUOTE(kurzit @ Dec 16 2009, 04:02 PM)
hey guys.i sometimes came across with this situation.is this focusing prob with my 1750 f2.8 tamron lens or its my setting mistake . hmm.gif attach here is my pic.hope sifu can clarify this.thnx a lot in adv. rclxms.gif

You need to provide more info. For starters:

In both your pics, please state where you focussed at. Also state the aperture you are using. If you are using f2.8 then it just might be the shallow DOF that's throwing you off.

0.0258sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:14 AM