129 Pages « < 84 85 86 87 88 > » Bottom

HDTV FAQ, For all Console users

praetorion
post Jun 11 2007, 10:43 AM

289 posts

i am also interested in the mbf deal, but yet to find out much on the S8 model.
Roland San
post Jun 11 2007, 10:58 AM

262 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Jun 11 2007, 08:45 AM)
Thanks for the input, bro.

You're the first person so far to have positive input on the Philips sets, LOL.

But to the point, you're right - overscanning sucks. However I've not detected any in mine - but you're definitely wise checking every single avenue until YOU are satisfied.

Good luck!
I was in the shop looking at the R8, and the salesguy told me to have a look at the Phillips, cos he said the PQ was better citing the Pixel Plus tech. I'd also remembered what you said. True enough, the same DVD feed did appear better on the Phillips. The Phillips and the Regza 37" did look good with the DVD feed, and on SD, the Regza performed better than most other screens in the place (there were no new Samsung 37" tho, only the 40" S8 and R8).

I then checked out the specs for the VGA input, and found out all about it. However, after checking the AVS forums and reading here n there and with the x360, I managed to get the Regza going nicely through VGA with no overscan, through VGA at 1280x1048 from the x360, on both dashboard and in-game. How it does it, I don't know. There is no noticable loss in PQ, and in fact, after taking still photos with a tripod, it does show a tad bit more on-screen than with component, with no noticable stretching or whatever.

I know what I said b4 about watching out for this screen, but although it's no the newest tech, it looks pretty good, and they guy gave me a good deal on it with a full 5 year warranty.

Again I don't know how the xbox can send a 1280x1024 image out, and how the tv can display it at 1366x768 with no apparent ill effects, but it does it and I can't complain. Regular transmission is surprisingly decent, some channels work better than my old CRT. DVD feed looks fine, too.

Now, I wasa seriously considering a S8 40", but I figured, with the new apartment and trying to furnish it, it wasn't worth another rm1.5k, so it had to be a 37", and of them all the Regza did fit the bill, so I took it. For sure, something better, with a better price, and better tech will come along but this one seems to fit my (small) living room pretty well, and it does the job. I figured I'd rather be sitting home playing Forza than sitting in the shop trying to find fault in all the screens there.
Lord_Ashe
post Jun 11 2007, 11:26 AM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

Bro Roland, you hit the nail on the head.

Enjoy your LCD - and it's nice to know Samsung hasn't got to everyone yet!
htkaki
post Jun 12 2007, 11:15 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(praetorion @ Jun 11 2007, 10:43 AM)
i am also interested in the mbf deal, but yet to find out much on the S8 model.

A quick check on Samsung MY website, the LA37S81B is not in the list. I supposed that it is not marketed here.

Called the Samsung personnel. Confirmed. Only meant for MBF

This post has been edited by htkaki: Jun 12 2007, 10:17 PM
rx330
post Jun 12 2007, 11:23 AM

11,809 posts

just take the LA32/40S81B for reference lor...
Cool_Knights
post Jun 12 2007, 03:46 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jun 12 2007, 11:15 AM)
A quick check on Samsung MY website, the LA37S81B is not in the list. I supposed that it is marketed here.
I also looking for S8 at SenQ but can't find one. I meant for the display unit...
rx330
post Jun 12 2007, 04:07 PM

11,809 posts

i was @ senq the other day, they only had R8
bysquashy
post Jun 12 2007, 04:39 PM

Wireless Bliss [3GPP R14]
2,884 posts

Best Denki told me the 37" R8 is only for MBF, not for retail stores.
rx330
post Jun 12 2007, 05:08 PM

11,809 posts

shumaky
post Jun 14 2007, 08:26 AM

PS what.?
2,706 posts

Anyone got their MBF 37" oredi..?? care to do some review n post some pictars online...??
Cheers.
Razor
post Jun 14 2007, 11:12 AM

123 posts

yaya ... waiting for a review ..... i need to make a decision .... but know little of the 37 inch samsung given by mbf ....... anyone got it yet ? sob sob ,...

Tried a 32" philips model with pixel plus in a shop near Old Klang Road .... cant remember the model ... PQ was impressive for the price of rm2800.... but didnt like the looks of it .... sad sad ..... samsung R8 still has my heart for design and connectivity options .... lol .....

Lord_Ashe
post Jun 14 2007, 11:27 AM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(Razor @ Jun 14 2007, 11:12 AM)
yaya ... waiting for a review ..... i need to make a decision .... but know little of the 37 inch samsung given by mbf .......  anyone got it yet ? sob sob ,...
Tried a 32" philips model with pixel plus in a shop near Old Klang Road .... cant remember the model ... PQ was impressive for the price of rm2800.... but didnt like the looks of it ....  sad sad ..... samsung R8 still has my heart for design and connectivity options  .... lol  .....
RM2800?

Damn, if I find out it's my model I'm definitely kicking myself in the butt sad.gif
rx330
post Jun 14 2007, 11:54 AM

11,809 posts

no worries lar ashe... its biasa for LCD prices mar, today 3k, tomolo 2.7k biggrin.gif
neoardi
post Jun 14 2007, 12:00 PM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Jun 14 2007, 11:27 AM)
RM2800?

Damn, if I find out it's my model I'm definitely kicking myself in the butt sad.gif
laugh.gif Hahaha, i hope u dun mind taking picture and share it here of u kicking ur own butt. Thats gonna be hilariously funny...... laugh.gif
JK... icon_rolleyes.gif
Lord_Ashe
post Jun 14 2007, 12:19 PM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jun 14 2007, 11:54 AM)
no worries lar ashe... its biasa for LCD prices mar, today 3k, tomolo 2.7k biggrin.gif
Yes, very true.

QUOTE(neoardi @ Jun 14 2007, 12:00 PM)
laugh.gif Hahaha, i hope u dun mind taking picture and share it here of u kicking ur own butt. Thats gonna be hilariously funny...... laugh.gif
JK... icon_rolleyes.gif
Eh, if can do that, I sell tickets to the event okay?
rx330
post Jun 14 2007, 12:43 PM

11,809 posts

i publicise for u, i take 20 % of the total revenue, can?
neoardi
post Jun 14 2007, 01:36 PM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

Hell no, i'm taking 50% bcoz this was my idea laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
rx330
post Jun 14 2007, 02:58 PM

11,809 posts

like tat ar, then u go kick ur own butt and take ur own picture, u get 100% share biggrin.gif
Lord_Ashe
post Jun 14 2007, 03:32 PM

1,495 posts

Aiyo, I thought HDTV thread tongue.gif
silencer
post Jun 15 2007, 01:16 AM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Jun 14 2007, 03:32 PM)
Aiyo, I thought HDTV thread tongue.gif
hahahahaha...good for a break from HDTV topic sometimes...i wonder ...if people will kick his head once the price level down below rm2000... doh.gif

129 Pages « < 84 85 86 87 88 > » Top

0.0244sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:00 PM