129 Pages « < 86 87 88 89 90 > » Bottom

HDTV FAQ, For all Console users

welwitchia
post Jun 20 2007, 08:16 AM

1,219 posts

Went to Best Denki again yesterday..after much contemplation, I got myself a 32" R8.. yup, that's exactly 4 months after i got my R7. So now my R7 goes to my living room.

Was considering the 32" Sharp PX but after looking at if for like 10mins, i noticed it had the same bluish black that drove me crazy on the R7 and it had only 2 HDMI ports. So I went back to the R8.

So far so good. This one doesn't have that bluish black backlight.. Instead this one is slightly greyish. The default setting is way too bright but at least I can adjust the backlight and brightness on this one.

Sigh..took me 2 tries to get a LCD panel that i'm satisfied with. Waste money. sad.gif

Edit : Anyone knows where to get cheap HDMI cables? The cheapest I've seen is at Jusco selling @ RM 50.

This post has been edited by welwitchia: Jun 20 2007, 11:08 AM
rx330
post Jun 20 2007, 12:04 PM

11,809 posts

i think playasia sellign for rm 25 biggrin.gif

so is the R8 good? i like tat model too, but still waiting for the price to drop tongue.gif
welwitchia
post Jun 20 2007, 01:29 PM

1,219 posts

Coming from a R7 (maybe a defective one..but Samsung says is normal!!!) I can say its way better than my previous R7.
rx330
post Jun 20 2007, 01:35 PM

11,809 posts

in wat terms?
nowadays plasma pricing also not bad ler...
welwitchia
post Jun 20 2007, 02:06 PM

1,219 posts

I have pictures of my "blue backlight" R7 at home. I'll post them here when i get back.. problem is, they brought a replacement R7 to my house and its the same thing..blue backlight. When i was there at Best Denki last night, the Sharp PX and Samsung S7, S8 (to a lesser degree) panels also exhibit the same blue backlight.. I was told by the sales guy there that its normal..who knows, maybe it is.

So maybe I just like to nit-pick (yes..i'm pretty fussy tongue.gif ) but this R8 that i bought last night does not have that "problem".
rx330
post Jun 20 2007, 02:07 PM

11,809 posts

too bad the +1 HDMI @ the side, must be shared, if not make it true 3 HDMI would be shiok
welwitchia
post Jun 20 2007, 10:21 PM

1,219 posts

Here are the pictures i promised.

PS3 : U guys should know better, the background is supposed to be black

Phillips DVD screen saver. On the R8, the background is not blue but slightly grey.

Ghost Rider : Capture from Original DVD.

That about says it all, damn a$$ Samsung has the audacity to say its "normal"

So guys, becareful before u make u'r purchase.. Dont end with a lemon like mine. sad.gif

This post has been edited by welwitchia: Jun 20 2007, 10:23 PM
rx330
post Jun 21 2007, 09:28 AM

11,809 posts

so all this 3 pics from R8? u aredi do the settings? or is it still factory settings?
welwitchia
post Jun 21 2007, 09:34 AM

1,219 posts

^ If these pics are from my R8, I be freaking pissed. No, they're from my "problematic" R7. The R8 is way better in terms of black levels.
rx330
post Jun 21 2007, 09:42 AM

11,809 posts

phew... and i tot its from the r8 biggrin.gif
teruk black
but if plasma shud produce better kalers than the r8?
Lord_Ashe
post Jun 21 2007, 09:44 AM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

Damn. Even my Philips doesn't do that blue...
JiauBoy
post Jun 21 2007, 11:47 AM

727 posts

looks like better bring my ps3 along when i do any purchase
rx330
post Jun 21 2007, 11:55 AM

11,809 posts

aiyor... i was thinking abt tat, but not quite possible lar

knn, later anything happen during the transition of the PS3 how?
JiauBoy
post Jun 21 2007, 12:03 PM

727 posts

will i did that once to test n projector.... damn nice
rx330
post Jun 21 2007, 12:05 PM

11,809 posts

so u bought tat projector? tongue.gif
Lord_Ashe
post Jun 21 2007, 12:05 PM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jun 21 2007, 11:55 AM)
aiyor... i was thinking abt tat, but not quite possible lar

knn, later anything happen during the transition of the PS3 how?
Aiya bro, the PS3 is a very solid machine la...what can happen? You plug in HDMI cable, power cable, connect to the TV in Best Denki.

Then you see PQ. No nice, then you don't buy, connect to another one. Okay what. smile.gif
rx330
post Jun 21 2007, 12:20 PM

11,809 posts

bro, im in jaybee town, aka cowboy town
later kena rob also lan lan biggrin.gif
Lord_Ashe
post Jun 21 2007, 12:23 PM

1,495 posts

Ooo like that. Then cannot la scared you kena chase down and rob smile.gif
rx330
post Jun 21 2007, 12:24 PM

11,809 posts

now u know biggrin.gif
put inside car also not safe

here unlike kl, ppl can demo tis and tat, jaybee they only let u see the demo dvd or HDD source nia
JiauBoy
post Jun 21 2007, 01:33 PM

727 posts

dont worry lah, may b they wonlt want u to band down

129 Pages « < 86 87 88 89 90 > » Top

0.0268sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:10 AM