CLOSED

SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 4 2011, 07:12 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Jan 3 2011, 11:32 PM)
i used to reject plasma for the same reason.  But I'm totally reversed now after seeing the Pana P42V20K surface..

LED is not glaring at all if you look at LG's LE5500 

so, yeah..choices are there now!
Other option is to dim the light, pull the curtain and put on some rear ambient lights. And yes, that's my No.1 complaint of Plasma as well.

jenli_84
post Jan 4 2011, 10:14 AM

377 posts

btw panasonic plasma 50inch v series and lg LED 47" le7500? which is better?
my cousin keep telling to to buy the panasonic plasma v series (roughly rm5500) but sunday i went to desa home theater doing promo. The salesman keep pursude me to get lg led 47" 7500 (which is promo price RM5300).

He told me why get plasma is back end technology...will obsolete in 2 yrs for lcd n plasma...with life span
he told me LED no life span and energy saving...better techno...

i dunno which to choose? or any of u sifu have better suggestion?
Slekerz
post Jan 4 2011, 10:23 AM

Life is like a Box of Chocolate
806 posts

I have select 3 lcd to buy sony klvbx32 RM1299; lg 32ld460 full hd for rm 1299; sharp full hd lc32a66m for 1499, which one you guys think best for me I will use it for ps3, watching movies n tv.
SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 4 2011, 11:03 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(jenli_84 @ Jan 4 2011, 10:14 AM)
btw panasonic plasma 50inch v series and lg LED 47" le7500? which is better?
my cousin keep telling to to buy the panasonic plasma v series (roughly rm5500) but sunday i went to desa home theater doing promo. The salesman keep pursude me to get lg led 47" 7500 (which is promo price RM5300).

He told me why get plasma is back end technology...will obsolete in 2 yrs for lcd n plasma...with life span
he told me LED no life span and energy saving...better techno...

i dunno which to choose? or any of u sifu have better suggestion?
Don't listen to those idiot salesman. Some people love LED. Some people love Plasma and coincidentally, most Western consumer and reviewers love Plasma's picture so may be all Westerner like obsolete technology? Go figure.

jenli_84
post Jan 4 2011, 11:47 AM

377 posts

i really dunno which to get...i'm confused?
ageh84
post Jan 4 2011, 12:09 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(art6969 @ Jan 3 2011, 05:33 PM)
if u buy plasma, it seem like you bought mirror for comb your hair

reflex issue
At midnight you watching ghost movie.. later u can see real ghost from your plasma!! behind you!!
shocking.gif shocking.gif

SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 4 2011, 12:29 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(jenli_84 @ Jan 4 2011, 11:47 AM)
i really dunno which to get...i'm confused?
It's like buying cars. Some like Honda whereas some like Toyota. So you alone should make that decision.

Added on January 4, 2011, 12:31 pm
QUOTE(ageh84 @ Jan 4 2011, 12:09 PM)
At midnight you watching ghost movie.. later u can see real ghost from your plasma!! behind you!!
shocking.gif  shocking.gif
Wow, Plasma can recreate real life experience, then I really must go find myself some Victoria Secret HD programs drool.gif

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Jan 4 2011, 12:32 PM
nwk
post Jan 4 2011, 12:45 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(ageh84 @ Jan 4 2011, 12:09 PM)
shocking.gif  shocking.gif
who needs 3d tv when you can get real ghost from plasma.... doh.gif
tZZ
post Jan 4 2011, 05:54 PM

466 posts

I was offered Sony 52EX700 for 7000rm. Is it worth it ?
mfa333
post Jan 4 2011, 08:28 PM

Huhah!
2,588 posts

Hi, is there any software to calibrate newly-bought LED TV?
numbertwo
post Jan 5 2011, 10:00 AM

1,790 posts

seriously, the pana V series don't have that reflection ghost anymore...

Now, between 50inch v series and lg LED 47" le7500(or LE5500), the obvious comparison for noob like is are :
1. Pana V couldn't play mkv files straight from USB so got to buy a player (It has DLNA & LAN Port though, so no sure if we could stream the movie directly from our laptop/PC?).
2. is energy saving a big factor

On the other hand, I love the Pana V's colour (i've seen a side by side comparo between plasma, LED, LCD from Panasonic) and its price is cheaper than LED .. smile.gif so, let's see what other comments from the sifus here got to give..
SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 5 2011, 10:54 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Jan 5 2011, 10:00 AM)
seriously, the pana V series don't have that reflection ghost anymore...

Now, between  50inch v series and lg LED 47" le7500(or LE5500),  the obvious comparison for noob like is are :
1.  Pana V couldn't play mkv files straight from USB so got to buy a player (It has DLNA & LAN Port though, so no sure if we could stream the movie directly from our laptop/PC?).
2.  is energy saving a big factor

On the other hand, I love the Pana V's colour (i've seen a side by side comparo between plasma, LED, LCD from Panasonic) and its price is cheaper than LED ..  smile.gif so, let's see what other comments from the sifus here got to give..
Pana V uses 415W
Sony may be 115W
Difference of 300W

5 hrs usage difference ix 5x300=1.5KW or 35sen difference?

So you have to ask yourself whether a saving of 35 sen extra per night is worth the higher price of Sony. Since you said you love the Plasma's color, is the color worth an extra of 35 sen per night? Only you can answer that question yourself.

As for playing of mkv files. If you are already paying so much for TV, then you must seriously consider a dedicated media player. I was told those built-in into TV are not very good.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Jan 5 2011, 11:05 AM
numbertwo
post Jan 5 2011, 12:19 PM

1,790 posts

points taken. Sometimes it is hard to justify the cost of using energy saving stuff...just wanna play a role heh..
SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 5 2011, 12:30 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Jan 5 2011, 12:19 PM)
points taken.  Sometimes it is hard to justify the cost of using energy saving stuff...just wanna play a role heh..
Pana V uses 415W. But with movies with lot of dark scene, it will use less than this and may be as low as 100W.
Sony may be 115W. It will be 115W regardless of bright or dark scene.

So if you do indeed like Plasma, I wouldn't worry too much about this energy stuff.

Dickong
post Jan 5 2011, 04:34 PM

1,689 posts

Let say your tv is 10 bit panel n your blu ray player set to 12 bit. Question is there any effects or any color different
billytong
post Jan 5 2011, 04:53 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jan 4 2011, 11:03 AM)
Don't listen to those idiot salesman. Some people love LED. Some people love Plasma and coincidentally, most Western consumer and reviewers love Plasma's picture so may be all Westerner like obsolete technology? Go figure.

Lol must be same salesman who tries hard explain to me and my family @ Desa home theater. LCD no life span = I had a wtf moment doh.gif . But hey since I know something about all these stuff, it doesnt bother me to listen what he explain and see if I can pick something else that I didnt know yet. No harm right? tongue.gif

I think the main issue with Plasma is STILL the burn-in prob on station image + the reflection on bright light/sunlight. These 2 are the main reason i got 2 unit of LG 47LE7500 LED TV. Since I will be watching the SD astro in 4:3 standard in long hours with 2 black bar on each side all the time and other kind of still image stuff. Plasma TV do not like this kind of setup. And then on top of that my Living room is a row of glass window with direct sunlight. Plasma will perform real horrible here.
SUSOptiplex330
post Jan 5 2011, 05:26 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Jan 5 2011, 04:53 PM)
Lol must be same salesman who tries hard explain to me and my family @ Desa home theater. LCD no life span = I had a wtf moment doh.gif . But hey since I know something about all these stuff, it doesnt bother me to listen what he explain and see if I can pick something else that I didnt know yet. No harm right? tongue.gif

I think the main issue with Plasma is STILL the burn-in prob on station image + the reflection on bright light/sunlight. These 2 are the main reason i got 2 unit of LG 47LE7500 LED TV. Since I will be watching the SD astro in 4:3 standard in long hours with 2 black bar on each side all the time and other kind of still image stuff. Plasma TV do not like this kind of setup. And then on top of that my Living room is a row of glass window with direct sunlight. Plasma will perform real horrible here.
Both TV have pros and cons and what you said of Plasma are correct. But I was told for SD Astro, Plasma gives better pictures. The word "better" means absolutely nothing unless you go compare them yourself.

As for window. I think as long as the window is not behind where you are sitting, may not be a problem.

billytong
post Jan 5 2011, 06:24 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

I Was told the same about SD astro better @ plasma too, but generally speaking by running "not native" resolution on LCD. LCD is going to lose out the PQ. Plasma is Analog base, so it wont have issue on different resolution. LCD is only good at the native resolution. Astro SD is not in HD 1920*1080, so LCD will suffer on this. Plasma will probably better in SD.

For window, it is not just window behind u, even window beside you will affect the reflection. Plasma is horrible if you have lots of windows. PQ is pretty much a subjective manner, a Low end Plasma is might not able to produce PQ that is better than some LCD. It is very hard to judge unless u put side by side and optimize color setting each of them. Our eyes is best judge. As for the frame rate I think LCD these days especially LED are good enough to *not notice the different. Again it is hard to notice by most people on these days LCD. *who would notice frame rate faster than 2ms when he is enjoying the movie?

I am the guy who WILL not watch SD in stretch mode + the reflection in my room, so Plasma will be totally out of question.

This post has been edited by billytong: Jan 5 2011, 06:25 PM
numbertwo
post Jan 5 2011, 11:13 PM

1,790 posts

Pana's latest V series plasma isn't that glaring, reflection has been reduced sharply from what I can see comparing to the old Pana plasma model..
stimix
post Jan 6 2011, 10:15 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

For SD channels, CRT still the best, Plasam 2nd and last LCD.

142 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Top

0.0214sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:57 PM