103 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Bottom

- (( ** House of Miniature Schnauzers V9 ** )) -, Welcome to our cosy little home!

rkkyong
post Jan 11 2010, 01:07 PM

QUOTE(rkkyong @ Jan 8 2010, 02:23 PM)
Actually the white MS i have seen and like are pure white , like a Westie !!! i kind of like that but pretty pricey

Friend has a salt and pepper. Over the years , it has turned greyish white !!!!! the fur has strands of darker grey fur interspersed in between the white fur.

it looks like the hair of a man who is turning white but not fully white yet
I just saw the dog 2 days ago. it is all white now .......

My fren told me it was originally light salt n pepper . Can this happen ?
Rayne
post Jan 11 2010, 01:49 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(rkkyong @ Jan 11 2010, 01:07 PM)
I just saw the dog 2 days ago. it is all white now .......

My fren told me it was originally light salt n pepper . Can this happen ?
Yes it can, especially when grooming is done using clippers instead of stripping. Refer here: http://britmorschnauzers.com/handstrip.html

I've also posted before on Scottie's color change due to clipping. See here: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...post&p=29679055

Nitrous
post Jan 11 2010, 05:43 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(Rayne @ Jan 11 2010, 01:49 PM)
Yes it can, especially when grooming is done using clippers instead of stripping. Refer here: http://britmorschnauzers.com/handstrip.html

I've also posted before on Scottie's color change due to clipping. See here: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...post&p=29679055
Interesting, I didn't realize this as well. One question, does this happen to black and silver MS as well? Mine have 'grey' hair on his back, and we wondered why that happened. It is like humans having grey hair, and when cut short, it looks even more obvious. Strange...
Rayne
post Jan 11 2010, 06:01 PM

24 posts

I don't really know about black and silver colors, as I only have Scottie...and he's a salt and pepper. But generally, from what I've read about clipping, it will MOST probably cause the coat of the dog to be softer and color will fade. How much it would fade I am not sure, but this is what I've read. I did want to try stripping at one time, but after inquiring at the groomers I felt it too expensive to do...hence the clipping. I don't mind the color change in Scottie that much since he's more of a pet dog than a show dog anyways, and I think I've grown to like the lighter color in him (I guess I'm biased tongue.gif). I'm hoping his colors won't get too light, but I guess there's no guarantee
GenkiGal
post Jan 11 2010, 07:15 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(bebe_jenny28 @ Jan 11 2010, 12:12 AM)
hi...im using the wee wee pad tray currently...it works perfectly with Tom...i think the function is quite the same as the yogi pee tray rite...mayb wee wee pad tray will be easier to get here... smile.gif

hi jen, yeah i blif the function is the same..
Pepper is using the base of her cage now as potty place (i disassembled the whole cage, left just the bottom n tray tongue.gif), she's doing good..
Just tht i think it's painful for her to step onto the metal rod as their paws are still small..very kesian...

the reason i wanna get d yogi pee tray becoz d pee will flow to the tray and it's comfortable for her to step on..for wee wee pad tray if they accidentally step on d pee it'll stained their feet rite..
if she runs around the hse with the pee stained paws..it's gonna b a nightmare for me as i need to mop the whole hse again.. sad.gif
bebe_jenny28
post Jan 12 2010, 01:07 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(GenkiGal @ Jan 11 2010, 07:15 PM)
hi jen, yeah i blif the function is the same..
Pepper is using the base of her cage now as potty place (i disassembled the whole cage, left just the bottom n tray tongue.gif), she's doing good..
Just tht i think it's painful for her to step onto the metal rod as their paws are still small..very kesian...

the reason i wanna get d yogi pee tray becoz d pee will flow to the tray and it's comfortable for her to step on..for wee wee pad tray if they accidentally step on d pee it'll stained their feet rite..
if she runs around the hse with the pee stained paws..it's gonna b a nightmare for me as i need to mop the whole hse again.. sad.gif
hahaha...true...coz they are still very small size tats why he will step on it...for jerry...he very scared of dirty...everytime after pee and poo he will make sure he wont step on it...really surprise me smile.gif

rkkyong
post Jan 12 2010, 09:50 AM

Max is around 5 months old. On and off , he will lift up his leg when he pees on th epee tray. This means the pee will end up on the floor. Is there any way to train n stop him from doing that ?

Actually thinkin of getting him neutered but that will have to wait until he is 6 mths old which actrually coincides with CNY. That means I can only do it after CNY. I just called the vet the last Saturday and he does not recommend neutering a puppy earlier than 6 mths of age

This post has been edited by rkkyong: Jan 12 2010, 09:57 AM
devil86
post Jan 12 2010, 11:30 AM

446 posts

closed

This post has been edited by devil86: Jan 12 2010, 12:11 PM
kerrie
post Jan 12 2010, 02:33 PM

my fren once told me dat her vet told her only spay da dogs after 2years old. but my vet disagreed. so, hard to say lar.

rkkyong
post Jan 12 2010, 04:09 PM

from what i read a good time to do it would be around 6 months . i was thinkin of doing it earlier as max has started to hike up his legs whenever he pees. i am afraid he will "mark" the house
Rayne
post Jan 12 2010, 04:27 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(rkkyong @ Jan 12 2010, 04:09 PM)
from what i read a good time to do it would be around 6 months . i was thinkin of doing it earlier as max has started to hike up his legs whenever he pees. i am afraid he will "mark" the house
Marking is very natural, especially in male dogs. Although neutering might help, it may not necessarily eliminate the dog's need to mark as I've heard of neutered male dogs still marking smile.gif Scottie is 2+ years old now, and yes he does mark, but outside the house. Sometimes, he forgets and will mark some corners, but I have 'adjusted' to it by giving him a stern warning whenever I see him sniff around wanting to mark. He won't mark after my warning. Another thing is that I always try to block him from marking our rooms by not allowing him to enter the rooms. He is mostly confined to the kitchen, living room and the outside patio. Sometimes he goes into my room to sleep too, but he knows not to mark there, or he gets a good spanking from me. I guess from the many times of spanking and warning, he seems to get the idea that the house is not for marking. This doesn't apply for other people's house though...only my house. Which is why I let him wear a 'loin cloth' thingy when I go for gatherings at people's houses, so if he DOES mark, it's in control. laugh.gif

It's up to you to decide when to neuter...I have read also that it is more feasible to neuter after the dog has reached maturity, as removing the hormones inside the testicles will cause the dog to be sort of underdeveloped. You'll be surprised at how important sexual hormones are for growth (even for humans), so I'd think of both sides first before going for the snip wink.gif
rkkyong
post Jan 12 2010, 04:33 PM

QUOTE(Rayne @ Jan 12 2010, 04:27 PM)
Marking is very natural, especially in male dogs. Although neutering might help, it may not necessarily eliminate the dog's need to mark as I've heard of neutered male dogs still marking smile.gif Scottie is 2+ years old now, and yes he does mark, but outside the house. Sometimes, he forgets and will mark some corners, but I have 'adjusted' to it by giving him a stern warning whenever I see him sniff around wanting to mark. He won't mark after my warning. Another thing is that I always try to block him from marking our rooms by not allowing him to enter the rooms. He is mostly confined to the kitchen, living room and the outside patio. Sometimes he goes into my room to sleep too, but he knows not to mark there, or he gets a good spanking from me. I guess from the many times of spanking and warning, he seems to get the idea that the house is not for marking. This doesn't apply for other people's house though...only my house. Which is why I let him wear a 'loin cloth' thingy when I go for gatherings at people's houses, so if he DOES mark, it's in control. laugh.gif

It's up to you to decide when to neuter...I have read also that it is more feasible to neuter after the dog has reached maturity, as removing the hormones inside the testicles will cause the dog to be sort of underdeveloped. You'll be surprised at how important sexual hormones are for growth (even for humans), so I'd think of both sides first before going for the snip wink.gif
thanks audrey

i was also told by my vet that neuterin doesnt provide any assurance that max will not hike up his leg or mark

Added on January 12, 2010, 4:35 pm
QUOTE(Rayne @ Jan 12 2010, 04:27 PM)

thanks audrey

i was also told by my vet that neuterin doesnt provide any assurance that max will not hike up his leg or mark

This post has been edited by rkkyong: Jan 12 2010, 04:35 PM
bebe_jenny28
post Jan 12 2010, 05:20 PM

51 posts

im very worried about this oso...jerry is around 6 mths now but he still pee like a gal...hehehe...but im very afraid he will do it soon...marking and pee with a leg up...but we cant do anything if they want to do it rite...coz is natural for them... sad.gif
Rayne
post Jan 12 2010, 05:35 PM

24 posts

I don't know about the others, but when Scottie is in his play pen, I put his pee tray inside...when he does pee on the tray, he does it like a girl. laugh.gif This also happens on walks in places with grass. tongue.gif But when we let him out to go outside, he will pee with one leg up...haha!

Marking and peeing with one leg up are part and parcel of having a male dog, so since we've already got one, we make do with what we have and try our best to discourage marking. I'm guessing it could be possible to train (or at least they get it about 80% of the time...MUCH better than none!) but like all trainings, we all have to be consistent and it takes quite a bit of patience. Scottie started lifting his leg to pee at about 6-7 months old, and I'm STILL reminding him until today...laugh.gif
devil86
post Jan 12 2010, 08:55 PM

446 posts

anyone know any professional trainer or where can i toilet train my MS....? as i'm difficult to toilet my little MS... T.T
kerrie
post Jan 12 2010, 09:26 PM

ANyone here noe Palate Palette? They are having a function on 23rd Jan, eat and selling stuff and half da profit will go to Furry Friends Farm, thou i dunno wat dat is, but it sounds fun. anyone going?
rkkyong
post Jan 12 2010, 10:28 PM

QUOTE(kerrie @ Jan 12 2010, 09:26 PM)
ANyone here noe Palate Palette? They are having a function on 23rd Jan, eat and selling stuff and half da profit will go to Furry Friends Farm, thou i dunno wat dat is, but it sounds fun. anyone going?
it is a restaurant/bar at jln mesui. Located along the same row as "no black tie"- the jazz bar

This post has been edited by rkkyong: Jan 13 2010, 10:32 AM
yennchin
post Jan 12 2010, 11:30 PM

i think doggy will pee with one leg up when there is a "tiang" lol..
choongal
post Jan 12 2010, 11:43 PM

QUOTE(devil86 @ Jan 12 2010, 08:55 PM)
anyone know any professional trainer or where can i toilet train my MS....? as i'm difficult to toilet my little MS...  T.T
MS are relatively easier to toilet train, my pup knows where to pee after 2 week... compared to my miniature pincher, which took about 1+ month. Toilet training is hard work, i must admit that. I lost lots of sleep during the first week coz i just don't know her habits yet, and always on the look out.

Maybe you'd want to read up on some tips on how to toilet train a miniature schnauzer... i believe they are really stubborn and need loads of praise when they do it right. Try to train up pup urself first before seeking help... i feel that during this training time is when the bonding between the pup and you happens... surely you would'nt want to miss that.

For example, i'm the one training the pup which is probably why she's closer to me compared to my parents and bro.
rkkyong
post Jan 13 2010, 10:33 AM

QUOTE(yennchin @ Jan 12 2010, 11:30 PM)
i think doggy will pee with one leg up when there is a "tiang" lol..
actually my pee tray comes with a "tiang". i dunno where i have put it

103 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0306sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:59 PM