103 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Bottom

- (( ** House of Miniature Schnauzers V9 ** )) -, Welcome to our cosy little home!

ericyong
post Jun 4 2010, 02:01 AM

530 posts

ehehehe meet Fatty the model.

n then theres Ally the model.

oh, n this is from La Castle - 6 schnauzers together.
furrybutts
post Jun 4 2010, 02:32 PM

24 posts

Nice shots, hot models! wink.gif

wow 6 schnauzers in a pen! next time i'll bring my Sherry along to join the gang! She's getting her 3rd vac jab soon.. can start bringing her out after that rclxms.gif
DansonDD
post Jun 5 2010, 12:36 AM

Hello. Anyone how r u? im Danson Here. is MS member also..i wan to ask what product can wash schnauzer mouth beside tat hair Yellow colour?
yukiz85
post Jun 8 2010, 10:04 AM

brows.gif

xbeeboo
post Jun 8 2010, 11:36 PM

Hi everyone,

I have a problem here regarding dog food. my girl is currently taking eukanuba puppy food for small breed. she is 14 months now so i'm thinking of changing her food to adult ones since the puppy food is finishing. i went to the pet shop and the sales girl recommend me royal cannal for schnauzer or the other one is orijen. i'm from penang and the pet shops here are quite limited if compared to KL. so is there anyone from penang can recommend me the suitable food for my girl.

And i think because of the whether now she's having rashes on her skin. a bit here and there, mostly on the back. or maybe it's because of the food that i gave her. she seemed to be not interested with her dog food and my mum added in steam chicken to add the taste. she did not add in anything just steam the chicken itself only.

thank you in advance for your kind and helpful suggestions and comments.
devil86
post Jun 9 2010, 12:16 AM

446 posts

QUOTE(xbeeboo @ Jun 8 2010, 11:36 PM)
Hi everyone,

I have a problem here regarding dog food. my girl is currently taking eukanuba puppy food for small breed. she is 14 months now so i'm thinking of changing her food to adult ones since the puppy food is finishing. i went to the pet shop and the sales girl recommend me royal cannal for schnauzer or the other one is orijen. i'm from penang and the pet shops here are quite limited if compared to KL. so is there anyone from penang can recommend me the suitable food for my girl.

And i think because of the whether now she's having rashes on her skin. a bit here and there, mostly on the back. or maybe it's because of the food that i gave her. she seemed to be not interested with her dog food and my mum added in steam chicken to add the taste. she did not add in anything just steam the chicken itself only.

thank you in advance for your kind and helpful suggestions and comments.
i think u better fast fast change pup's dog food as eukanuba is not a good dog food, based on ur post, i recommend u go for orijen and it is a premium dog food.
xbeeboo
post Jun 9 2010, 07:00 AM

QUOTE(devil86 @ Jun 9 2010, 12:16 AM)
i think u better fast fast change pup's dog food as eukanuba is not a good dog food, based on ur post, i recommend u go for orijen and it is a premium dog food.
ah i tot it was good because my girl had been taking it since young when the breeder passed her to me.
devil86
post Jun 9 2010, 04:43 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(xbeeboo @ Jun 9 2010, 07:00 AM)
ah i tot it was good because my girl had been taking it since young when the breeder passed her to me.
Mayb u can read this dog food discussion to get more info bout kibble..

Added on June 9, 2010, 4:46 pm
QUOTE(xbeeboo @ Jun 9 2010, 07:00 AM)

This post has been edited by devil86: Jun 9 2010, 04:46 PM
xbeeboo
post Jun 9 2010, 11:09 PM

QUOTE(devil86 @ Jun 9 2010, 04:43 PM)

Added on June 9, 2010, 4:46 pm
thank you. ;]
ericyong
post Jun 10 2010, 12:15 AM

530 posts

eukanuba is cheap, thats why breeder pass to u.

I'm giving Fatty and Ally Avoderm, not too bad i think. I used to give them Eagle Pack (now called Eagle Pro - n manufactured different place already) - that one is pretty good.

importantly, must avoid eukanuba, bil jac and royal canin. all 3 also make ur dogs shit SUPER EXTRA SMELLY wan.

Added on June 14, 2010, 12:51 amy so quiet...

This post has been edited by ericyong: Jun 14 2010, 12:51 AM
mtee7
post Jun 14 2010, 05:21 PM

54 posts

Just some update on my Poppy (I posted about 2 weeks back on her potty training).

After learning that giving her a large space to roam around wun help in the potty traning at all, I have made a crate / fencing area around my room where her cage and bed is also inside. Outside of her cage, there will be a peepad with newspaper on it. When I wake up in the morning, I will feed her and wait for her to do her stuff (meaning I will sit inside the fence and wait with her). When that happens, she will certainly do it at the right place because any indication of her starting to pee/shit, I will direct her to the peepad.

However, my only problem is..I work full time. During the day, she will be caged (because she will absolutely destroy the peepad and the newspapers) and she pee/shit inside the cage (not on the bed but next to her bed). That means, I only can train her twice a day; once in the morning before I go to work...and once at night when I'm home from work.

When she is downstairs with the family, she will totally forget about the peepad and will do it anywhere she likes. I've tried being very stern and scold her very loudly and even once whacked her (very softly of course) and I think she is now scared to do it downstairs even with her peepad on.

I know its only 1 month since I brought Poppy home but I think untill now she's still confused about where to do it. What am I doing wrong here? I've tried putting her in the fencing area without locking her and she ended up peeing outside the peepad and biting the entire newspaper in it around. I dun mind cleaning up when I am around but when I'm working, it'll mean that the pee and shit will be there for hours and she'll end up walking and stepping on it.

Its been a very frustrating month for me but I still love her very very much. I just need to know if I'm doing it right or if there's anything I can improve. My next step is to get rid of the newspapers in the peepad and use those pampers like (but very costly) and hope Poppy doesn't bite those. If that works, I wun cage her anymore.

Is there a dog trainer I can attend the classes on house-training the dogs? Been searching the internet and other forums and I've been doing most of the things ppl say such as:

1) Crate her and wait for the signs of doing her pee/poo and carry her to peepad.

2) Avoid large roaming areas.

3) Praise non-stop when she does it at the right place

4) Be firm when she does it at the wrong place

Need some advise from all fellow MS owners here who all have gone through this period of time. Thx all for your advises.

furrybutts
post Jun 15 2010, 11:35 AM

24 posts

hi mtee7,

I'm more or less going through the same stage with my puppy as you are.

I keep her in a play pen with pee pad when I'm out at work or at night when I'm sleeping. She does her business on the pee pad most of the time, but there are days when she tosses the pee pad around. On days like these, her pee will end up on the floor and she steps on it. I don't think there is much we can do about that except to clean up when we get home. I would like to get something like this but haven't seen it on sale in KL yet: http://www.wizdog.com/

When she's outside of her play pen, she does her business anywhere she likes. I've tried bringing her to the pee pad and waiting with her there until she pee/poo but that was very difficult because her pee/poo time is very inconsistent and most of the time she won't pee/poo when I bring her to the pee pad.

But these few days, she seems to be getting it right. What I did was, each time I'm home, I let her out of the play pen and keep a very close eye on her. If she wanders off from me, I'll follow her and if she starts sniffing on the ground I immediately bring her back to the pee pad and I keep repeating it until she finally does her business (basically I dont get to do anything else at home, I just trail her around all the time tongue.gif ). When she pee/poo, I praise her AND I give her treats. Previously I used to praise her only, without giving treats.. it didn't seem to work very well. But now that I've started giving her treats, she seems to finally understand that she's doing something right when she pee/poo on the pee pad. it's been about a week since I started offering her treats when she gets it right. Yesterday was a good day, 99% of the time she used the pee pad when she was out of her play pen biggrin.gif

As for scolding her when she does it in the wrong place, I read that this will have a negative effect. Because the dog will feel afraid when its scolded by the owner, and it will think that its wrong to pee/poo and in the end the dog will pee/poo in secret (i.e. in places where the owner can't see or during times when the owner is not around).

lynnoyw
post Jun 15 2010, 05:48 PM

103 posts

My Notti Baby Girl **MONEY** tongue.gif

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
furrybutts
post Jun 16 2010, 12:31 PM

24 posts

Wow Money's a pretty girl!! biggrin.gif How old is she?

mtee7, just to add a bit on Poppy biting the newspaper in the play pen.. maybe you could distract her with some toys? I bought some Kong rubber toys which are hollow in the middle, and I stuff kibbles inside. I give these toys to my puppy when I leave for work.. it keeps her occupied cos she'll be busy trying to get her kibbles out from the toy. I can't say it keeps her occupied 100% of the time, but it does help.. less time spent on biting/tossing her pee pad around smile.gif
ranchu
post Jun 16 2010, 03:44 PM

22 posts

Money is sure an adorable and pretty girl.. smile.gif
my schnauzer is also a good bitter and now is almost to 6 months, have not try using Kong yet.. will try one of these day..
she loves to jump on the sofa and bed.. but so far she knows the place that she can let go her poo2 and ocassionally she missed out, is this normal? she loves to bark very loudly when she saw me coming back from work, looks like wanting more attention.. how bout your 6 months old schnauzer? anyone kind to share?? thanks.. biggrin.gif
mtee7
post Jun 16 2010, 04:05 PM

54 posts

Hi furrybutts,

Thx so much for your inputs. From what you've written here, your MS is quite similar to mine now. I guess we'll just have to be extra patient when it comes to potty training.

For now, Poppy's been doing it correctly again. She seems to be on a cycle when she does it right for 2 days then seem to totally forget about it for another 2 days before doing it right again.

I've stopped scolding her totally even when she does it wrongly because I don't want her to develop the fear of doing it in front of me and its worst when she hides in a corner to do it without my knowledge.

As for giving her treats..I've started doing that right now. She's a very very greedy dog and never seem to have enough food so treats will be good way to learn I guess.

Poppy's such a smart girl cause in less than 1 week, she's learned to sit, stay and give hand. Just I dunno why she's taking slightly longer to learn to potty train.

One last question..she's almost due for her final vacination. Her fur is getting very long and I have no idea how to cut for her. Is it safe to bring her to the groomers before her 3rd vac? I spoke to HOG and they said all the dogs dun mix around while in grooming so Poppy should be ok. Her Vacination is only due end of next week and after the vac shot, she cannot shower for 10 days. I only worry her fur will be so long and it might be uncomfortable for her. Kindly advise as I've so far only kept her in the house and the only other dog Poppy have in contact with is a healthy fully vacinated adult min. poodle.

Cheers!

Added on June 16, 2010, 4:26 pm
QUOTE(furrybutts @ Jun 16 2010, 12:31 PM)
Wow Money's a pretty girl!! biggrin.gif How old is she?

mtee7, just to add a bit on Poppy biting the newspaper in the play pen.. maybe you could distract her with some toys? I bought some Kong rubber toys which are hollow in the middle, and I stuff kibbles inside. I give these toys to my puppy when I leave for work.. it keeps her occupied cos she'll be busy trying to get her kibbles out from the toy. I can't say it keeps her occupied 100% of the time, but it does help.. less time spent on biting/tossing her pee pad around smile.gif
She does have her toys given to her but she still ends up playing her pee pan sometimes. She stopped doing it for 2 days already so hopefully she has kicked out that habit.

I've seen the pee-pan (wizdog) and it looks great. Wonder if its available in M'sia?

This post has been edited by mtee7: Jun 16 2010, 04:26 PM
furrybutts
post Jun 16 2010, 04:41 PM

24 posts

LOL, Poppy is really similar to Sherry! Sherry LOVES to eat (she even wants to eat my rabbits' hay!). I taught her to Sit in less than an hour, and I had the very same thought as you.. how is it that she can learn to sit so quickly but still can't understand where she's supposed to go potty?? Thankfully she's starting to get the hang of it now.. can't wait for her to be fully toilet trained, then I won't need to keep her in a play pen anymore smile.gif

Hmm.. not so sure about the grooming thing.. I suppose if you really want to play it safe, it's best not to send her for grooming til she has had her 3rd jab. Perhaps just keep combing her fur daily so that its not tangled in the meantime.

I haven't seen the wizdog pan on sale here.. if anyone has, pls let me know smile.gif

P/S: Sherry says hi to all tongue.gif

This post has been edited by furrybutts: Jun 16 2010, 04:48 PM
mtee7
post Jun 16 2010, 06:42 PM

54 posts

Wow....sherry is such a cutie!

Well, I guess I'll just tahan a little longer and maybe just trim Poppy's fur a little. I do comb her hair on a almost daily basis cause her hair gets tangled up quite often.

Poppy's 3rd vacination is due next week. Can't wait to bring her out to venture and also to socialise with other dogs. I heard it is important to have our puppies to socialise since young or they will not like to make friends with other dogs and will bark at all strangers.

Based on Sherry and Poppy's behaviour..maybe they'll be best friends in the future. My Poppy's a girl..is yours a female too? They'll be BFF's wink.gif

One question for all MS sifu's here (sorry, i always seem to have questions)..I intend to spay Poppy once she turns 6 months old. Is it better to do it before her 1st period or after he 1st period? What is expected after the procedure (if she needs any extra special care) because i'll have to take leave to take care of her if needed.

Anyone with a good experience or recommendation on vet to go for this procedure? I've sent Poppy to Mayo (or sumthing like that) in USJ Taipan and I intend to let Poppy have the op done by this vet if its ok. Anyone got a bad / good experience with this vet..kindly share.

Is there a MS gathering anytime soon? My Poppy will be ready to venture out in 3 weeks time! Woo hoo
furrybutts
post Jun 17 2010, 10:01 AM

24 posts

Yup, Sherry's female too biggrin.gif let's have a gathering so the girls can meet up!

Sherry's going for puppy obedience class this sunday. It'll be her first time out meeting people and puppies. Hope she has fun!

I plan to spay Sherry too. I get conflicting information on the net about the best time to spay. Majority of sites advocate spaying before the 1st period as the chances of cancer increases with each heat. But there are also a handful of sites which say that we should wait until after the 1st period for the female hormones to kick in and complete their growth cycle.

My vet says to spay at around 6 months..

I'd like to hear what the rest here have to say smile.gif
Rayne
post Jun 17 2010, 11:58 AM

24 posts

Wow, it's been a while since I've posted....glad to see so many cute pups joining the group smile.gif Welcome!

My two cents' worth on the spaying: I find it more logical to spay after the first heat, as furrybutts mention...we should let the hormones take its course first, so there won't be as many problems with growth (sexual hormones are actually very important in growth).

I'd like to think also that although there will be chances of cancer, they are just that: chance. I mean, spaying does remove the chance of cancer and all (because they don't have the organs already), but there is also a CHANCE that they might not get it.

Again, this is my own opinion...if you don't intend to breed, there are always more benefits to spaying and neutering our furkids. But I'm always wondering as well...people keep saying that it reduces the risk of cancer when we neuter our pets, but that's just eliminating one or a few types of cancer. There are also other possibilities of cancer happening...like us, for ladies we will always have the chance of getting breast cancer. Does it mean that we should remove the breasts early so we don't get it?

103 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Top

0.0185sec    1.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 05:14 PM