Shoes for (real) men

MeToo
post Aug 18 2010, 11:52 AM

9,336 posts

QUOTE(beau @ Aug 18 2010, 11:16 AM)
They have to fit the jacket in quick time before rigor mortis sets in. No need to show the shoes as the bottom half of the coffin can be kept closed to cover the mutilated limbs resulting from the car crash. Otherwise buy the stripe pants from Kotmj's bundle shop.

Most folks focus on the engine & HP without taking a holistic view of the driving experience & safety.Good tyres are also essential.

Great thing about shopping  in the West is the fact that they treat everyone as a potential customer which should be the case. The customer may not be able to afford the product today but you want him to think of how well he was treated & aspire to owning your product , purchasing it one day when he can afford it..

Paris & Parisians in general may be arrogant but the warmest & best customer service I've encountered there was at Charvet the shirtmakers. Made me feel as welcome as a kampung wedding!!
I try not to touch my car's engine, just make the ride safer/more comfy. My tyre is shit i gotta admit, FK452... feels like SS tyres when it rains.. and being FR doesnt help..

Parisians are pretty arrogant, even their ugly stewardess is bad. Infact, their service sector made me feel as if I owe them $$ the moment i walk in. However, the LV store is decent, maybe cause they have a bunch of diff ethnicity to service different clients. Actually, most of the stores that deals with tourist on regular basis is more acceptable.

By the way, any thoughts on these?

beau
post Aug 18 2010, 03:32 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Aug 18 2010, 11:52 AM)
I try not to touch my car's engine, just make the ride safer/more comfy. My tyre is shit i gotta admit, FK452... feels like SS tyres when it rains.. and being FR doesnt help..

Parisians are pretty arrogant, even their ugly stewardess is bad. Infact, their service sector made me feel as if I owe them $$ the moment i walk in. However, the LV store is decent, maybe cause they have a bunch of diff ethnicity to service different clients. Actually, most of the stores that deals with tourist on regular basis is more acceptable.

By the way, any thoughts on these?
Good tyres are essential to safety & performance. I usually use different widths in my front & back to give mine better handling. Downside is the costs as tyres can only be swapped left to right & not rotated in the normal manner .

Interesting although I'm not partial to square toes. It could do with some polish & glazing at the quarters & toes to give it a bid of patina . Care to provide more details on the shoes & where you got them from?
MeToo
post Aug 18 2010, 04:15 PM

9,336 posts

QUOTE(beau @ Aug 18 2010, 03:32 PM)
Good tyres are essential to safety & performance. I usually use different widths in my front & back to give mine better handling. Downside is the costs as tyres can only be swapped left to right & not rotated in the normal manner .

Interesting although I'm not partial to square toes. It could do with some polish & glazing at the quarters & toes to give it a bid of patina . Care to provide more details on the shoes & where you got them from?
The shoes is China made... one of my supplier have a pair, seems decent (to my untrained eyes anyway) that's why I went looking for it.
http://www.tradevv.com/chinasuppliers/tylx...ther-shoes.html

OT : as for tyres, yes, I'm in the same situation as you, using 245 front, 275 rear. Depends on how heavy my right foot is, usually 1 year at best.... and 19" aint cheap in KL...
TSkotmj
post Aug 18 2010, 04:21 PM

The Coatmaker's Apprentice
3,802 posts

I think those shoes would fit you very well. Buy a few pairs and make them your OneShoe. Really, I'm not being being sarcastic or trying to lead you down the road to sartorial perdition. I'm too pure a soul for those.
MeToo
post Aug 18 2010, 04:26 PM

9,336 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Aug 18 2010, 04:21 PM)
I think those shoes would fit you very well. Buy a few pairs and make them your OneShoe. Really, I'm not being being sarcastic or trying to lead you down the road to sartorial perdition. I'm too pure a soul for those.
I have decided to stick with chucks. Save cost for needing to buy any shoe trees!! That's a plate of fried rice right there!
SUSLiLFreaK
post Aug 19 2010, 07:11 AM

374 posts

QUOTE(BikerVoodoo @ Aug 17 2010, 11:58 AM)
Yeah same thing happened with me at Airmoney's clothes outlet at KLCC. There was this sales dude who sort of talked down to me with a cynical smile, saying "Our suits are RM10,000". Then he went and spoiled the image TOTALLY by saying, "But we have a 50% discount"!!! I left questioning just how much their suits actually cost.

As for shoemakers yes I fully agree! Fashion brands, be it watches, shoes or ties - we've got to be very careful. I'd never buy a fashion brand watch.

Recently a colleague started wearing Hugo Boss shoes. He doesn't care or know much about the construction, quality, etc. I asked him why and he replied, "The Chairman likes the brand and knows I'm using Hugo Boss suits and shoes. That's all that matters".
its armani ?

i think 50% discount are for last for 2 last seasons stuffs (F/W 2009)

previous season stuffs are discount at 30%-40% i think(S/S 2010)

no discount on F/W 2010 stuffs yet
BikerVoodoo
post Aug 19 2010, 07:24 AM

448 posts

They're not on my shopping list, that's for sure.
attacusatlas
post Aug 19 2010, 03:51 PM

A Nasty Professional
2,664 posts

QUOTE(attacusatlas @ Aug 12 2010, 02:22 PM)
i just placed an order for half a dozen of Rochester Woodard red cedar wood shoe trees. full cedar hook heel, split toe with automatic spreader adjustment.

i shall reveal further once they hit our shore.
my order just arrived. the seller packed them neatly in a sturdy standard parcel box. i slit open it and 6 pairs of aromatic cedar woods are sitting inside. can't wait to bring these home.

*please pm me should you require further details*

more revealings, photos taken with my crappy mobile phone:

"Rochester Shoe Tree Co. Ashland N.H. USA"

after taken the photos, even my fingers smelt like cedar wood......

This post has been edited by attacusatlas: Aug 19 2010, 05:37 PM
TSkotmj
post Aug 19 2010, 04:15 PM

3,802 posts

How much did this cost, in all?
BikerVoodoo
post Aug 19 2010, 04:55 PM

448 posts

Excellent. I can almost imagine the cedar fragrance from here. How much?
TSkotmj
post Aug 19 2010, 07:49 PM

3,802 posts

nice trousers. what material and brand?
attacusatlas
post Aug 19 2010, 11:06 PM

A Nasty Professional
2,664 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Aug 19 2010, 07:49 PM)

nice trousers. what material and brand?
sehli super 120's cashmere wool, tailored by an unknown local tailor.

please don't ask for detail photos, it is nothing impressive.

TSkotmj
post Aug 19 2010, 11:28 PM

3,802 posts

just a pic of the crotch will do
attacusatlas
post Aug 19 2010, 11:42 PM

A Nasty Professional
2,664 posts

nah, i don't wish to invite any unnecessary trouble from bloke1
bloke1
post Aug 20 2010, 10:51 AM

Yang Paling Cemerlang
996 posts

Dream on lah. Only the best of the best will get their crotch treatment.
chuakz
post Aug 20 2010, 12:05 PM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(LiLFreaK @ Aug 19 2010, 07:11 AM)
its armani ?

he's just being sarcastic by saying airmoney.....
beau
post Aug 20 2010, 11:11 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(LiLFreaK @ Aug 19 2010, 07:11 AM)
its armani ?

Hate to rain on your parade but what you've paid for a RTW Armani here could have bought you a started Hand made to measure version in Italy!!

BikerVoodoo
post Aug 21 2010, 10:07 AM

448 posts

I predict the horse bit Gucci loafer (circa 1966?) will make a comeback after Wall Street 2 hits the cinemas.

hmm.gif Which works better? Black or brown?

Edited by moderator: Pictures too large - Spoiler tag added.

This post has been edited by Fusion[eX]: Aug 21 2010, 10:16 AM
MeToo
post Aug 21 2010, 10:12 AM

9,336 posts

QUOTE(BikerVoodoo @ Aug 21 2010, 10:07 AM)
I predict the horse bit Gucci loafer (circa 1966?) will make a comeback after Wall Street 2 hits the cinemas.

hmm.gif Which works better? Black or brown?
I'll go for the black if I have to make a choice. The metal bits is kinda of a turn off for me.

ps : Anyone noticed the crotch area kinda looks funny... pants cut or something else? Can the crotch expert kotmj shed some light? hmm.gif
BikerVoodoo
post Aug 21 2010, 10:37 AM

448 posts

Yikes I didn't notice. Shia is definitely a 'park left' kinda fella I guess.

290 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0577sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:34 AM