Shoes for (real) men

MeToo
post Jul 10 2010, 11:45 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(Cheenoo @ Jul 10 2010, 12:25 AM)
oh damn, who is this crockett and jones guy?

I don't use shoe trees, I don't even use a shoehorn, I wear all my shoes with my index finger.
OT : Using your index finger implies you actually bend down. Just stuff your foot into the shoe, stamp on it a few times, or you might need to kick it against the wall abit to move your foot further forward to get it in. With practice you can do it in less then 3 sec.
MeToo
post Jul 16 2010, 10:23 AM

9,333 posts

Anyone have shoes made of kangaroo skin? Any comments?

I have a pair of riding gloves made with kangaroo leather and they are very strong but supple, i like it. Since i'm heading down under next month, thinking of maybe getting a pair of shoes made from the same material.
MeToo
post Jul 16 2010, 11:05 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(lanatir @ Jul 16 2010, 10:28 AM)
i am sure a pair of kangaroo boots from RM Williams would be nice
I think that's the problem, they usually only carry boots or atleast ankle high stuff... and I only really wear boots when riding. Kinda looking for day to day office wear.
MeToo
post Jul 16 2010, 01:20 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(lanatir @ Jul 16 2010, 11:06 AM)
so u wont consider chukkas?
Trying to avoid them, i find them uncomfortable when driving, and not as formal for my office.
MeToo
post Jul 16 2010, 02:20 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(lanatir @ Jul 16 2010, 01:21 PM)
too bad then blink.gif
By the way, slightly offtopic. I noticed the soles of my shoes are worn off due to driving. I drive only manual cars and both shoes have uneven wear pattern due to scraping against the floor mat. Anyone else have this problem? And how do you guys avoid it?
MeToo
post Jul 16 2010, 03:18 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Jul 16 2010, 03:12 PM)
Wear better shoes.
You mean something like these then...

MeToo
post Jul 16 2010, 04:04 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(FusioneX @ Jul 16 2010, 03:54 PM)
Driving shoes were created for a damn good reason. I always keep a pair in my car to be worn in lieu of my dress shoes when driving.
I thought of that, but not every car can keep another pair of shoes out of view. I have to either put it at the back in full view and direct sunlight or at the passenger side to be step on/seen by any girl that sits there. Neither option is very good sad.gif
MeToo
post Aug 12 2010, 02:49 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Aug 7 2010, 07:19 PM)
You're 21 but have graduated? So what are you gonna do now, go work for papa?
Um.. i graduated 1 month shy of my 21st birthday... and I didnt work for papa... i dont see the big deal..

This post has been edited by MeToo: Aug 12 2010, 02:49 PM
MeToo
post Aug 17 2010, 12:25 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(BikerVoodoo @ Aug 17 2010, 11:58 AM)
Recently a colleague started wearing Hugo Boss shoes. He doesn't care or know much about the construction, quality, etc. I asked him why and he replied, "The Chairman likes the brand and knows I'm using Hugo Boss suits and shoes. That's all that matters".
Well I suppose everyone have different reason for dressing up. Just like some buy a car without caring about the model's heritage, construction, engine/gearbox design etc, all they know is that it's Merc, BMW, etc. Anyone here know what kind of brake pads they are currently using? tongue.gif
MeToo
post Aug 17 2010, 05:10 PM

9,333 posts

I use Endless... i'm a wannabe with no value for heritage...
MeToo
post Aug 17 2010, 05:19 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(BikerVoodoo @ Aug 17 2010, 05:14 PM)
If your vehicle is under warranty, stick to original equipment.
After the new hks extractor, full exhaust system, rims, antiroll bars, plenum, cold air intake, bodykits, brake pads, suspension... i think warranty is not really applicable.

QUOTE(kotmj @ Aug 17 2010, 12:28 PM)
I had wonderful brake pads installed on my car. Buttery smooth pedal feel, more cengkam than OEMs. Cannot tell you the brand though.
Would you like to share your supplier? maybe we can do some bulk bespoke purchase?

On Topic : Is it even possible to have a nice shoe which we only need to polish once a month and is durable enough to wear daily?
MeToo
post Aug 17 2010, 05:52 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Aug 17 2010, 05:22 PM)
I do not polish my Chucks and I used to wear them daily.
Chucks? Um.. Converse? blink.gif
MeToo
post Aug 18 2010, 09:27 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(beau @ Aug 17 2010, 09:53 PM)

Better have the brakes & suspension ( as well as common sense ) to go with all the power. Otherwise the driver of the vehicle will be dressed by a mortician!!

I always wonder, do the mortician provide the black suit or one have to get it premade just incase? How about the shoes?

Brakes 4 pot front, 2 pot rear brembo (do not use brembo pads ever, they are like the bonia of the shoe world). Nismo S-tune suspension complate set, which makes my car love speed bumps.. *scrape sssscrape*

QUOTE(beau @ Aug 17 2010, 09:53 PM)

Sad to say , the retail trade here has poor standards. Not only do the shop assistants have poor product knowledge, some of them tend to treat customers like imbeciles .

I have to agree on poor product knowledge, most of the time if the customer even did a teeny bit of research before going into the shop, they would have mnore product knowledge then the sales person.

However, I did find the customer service to be improving, we have less of those dumb sales people who still judge customer by what they wear. Cause most are learning the hard way that those ah pek type with shorts and sandals are the ones with wads of cash in the pocket..
MeToo
post Aug 18 2010, 11:52 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(beau @ Aug 18 2010, 11:16 AM)
They have to fit the jacket in quick time before rigor mortis sets in. No need to show the shoes as the bottom half of the coffin can be kept closed to cover the mutilated limbs resulting from the car crash. Otherwise buy the stripe pants from Kotmj's bundle shop.

Most folks focus on the engine & HP without taking a holistic view of the driving experience & safety.Good tyres are also essential.

Great thing about shopping  in the West is the fact that they treat everyone as a potential customer which should be the case. The customer may not be able to afford the product today but you want him to think of how well he was treated & aspire to owning your product , purchasing it one day when he can afford it..

Paris & Parisians in general may be arrogant but the warmest & best customer service I've encountered there was at Charvet the shirtmakers. Made me feel as welcome as a kampung wedding!!
I try not to touch my car's engine, just make the ride safer/more comfy. My tyre is shit i gotta admit, FK452... feels like SS tyres when it rains.. and being FR doesnt help..

Parisians are pretty arrogant, even their ugly stewardess is bad. Infact, their service sector made me feel as if I owe them $$ the moment i walk in. However, the LV store is decent, maybe cause they have a bunch of diff ethnicity to service different clients. Actually, most of the stores that deals with tourist on regular basis is more acceptable.

By the way, any thoughts on these?

MeToo
post Aug 18 2010, 04:15 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(beau @ Aug 18 2010, 03:32 PM)
Good tyres are essential to safety & performance. I usually use different widths in my front & back to give mine better handling. Downside is the costs as tyres can only be swapped left to right & not rotated in the normal manner .

Interesting although I'm not partial to square toes. It could do with some polish & glazing at the quarters & toes to give it a bid of patina . Care to provide more details on the shoes & where you got them from?
The shoes is China made... one of my supplier have a pair, seems decent (to my untrained eyes anyway) that's why I went looking for it.
http://www.tradevv.com/chinasuppliers/tylx...ther-shoes.html

OT : as for tyres, yes, I'm in the same situation as you, using 245 front, 275 rear. Depends on how heavy my right foot is, usually 1 year at best.... and 19" aint cheap in KL...
MeToo
post Aug 18 2010, 04:26 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Aug 18 2010, 04:21 PM)
I think those shoes would fit you very well. Buy a few pairs and make them your OneShoe. Really, I'm not being being sarcastic or trying to lead you down the road to sartorial perdition. I'm too pure a soul for those.
I have decided to stick with chucks. Save cost for needing to buy any shoe trees!! That's a plate of fried rice right there!
MeToo
post Aug 21 2010, 10:12 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(BikerVoodoo @ Aug 21 2010, 10:07 AM)
I predict the horse bit Gucci loafer (circa 1966?) will make a comeback after Wall Street 2 hits the cinemas.

hmm.gif Which works better? Black or brown?
I'll go for the black if I have to make a choice. The metal bits is kinda of a turn off for me.

ps : Anyone noticed the crotch area kinda looks funny... pants cut or something else? Can the crotch expert kotmj shed some light? hmm.gif
MeToo
post Aug 24 2010, 06:06 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(attacusatlas @ Aug 24 2010, 06:05 PM)
i do have another pair in brown suede but i doubt i have posted it here......
You ever doubt kotmj is stalking everyone here?
MeToo
post Sep 3 2010, 11:45 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(pupjoint @ Sep 3 2010, 10:40 AM)
thanks beau. i am in south jakarta, apartment's there but i move around quite a lot.

You can get it done and bring it back to Msia easily. I have no experience by post, but checking in a decently size wooden box at the airport, you can bring to msia without much trouble.

Maybe i should start a side biz takign custom made order considering i travel to JKT every month hehe..
MeToo
post Sep 3 2010, 02:39 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(pupjoint @ Sep 3 2010, 02:26 PM)
sorry dude, i dont know how to use drawing softwares.very bad at it too during school. 

being a foreigener here, i could not continue with one of my main hobbies, automobiles. so i am turning to shoes, wood work, antiques and very recently, clothes to tinker about in my spare time.
Um... i didnt know you cannot buy a car in JKT? Anyway, who in their right mind would want to drive in that place anyway? I drove for a week there, felt liek i ran a full marathon after reaching the office in the morning.

Every tom, d***, and harry have a driver. Cheap too.

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0758sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:27 PM