You can just slide it off, the buckles are fixed to elastic bands.
Shoes for (real) men
Mar 28 2011, 04:40 PM
3,802 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: City of Anggerik |
You can just slide it off, the buckles are fixed to elastic bands.
Mar 28 2011, 05:12 PM
201 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
Mar 28 2011, 05:50 PM
Mar 28 2011, 06:50 PM
388 posts Joined: Sep 2004 |
Mar 28 2011, 07:46 PM
845 posts Joined: May 2010 |
QUOTE(kotmj @ Mar 28 2011, 04:40 PM) QUOTE(stylophile @ Mar 28 2011, 05:12 PM) monks/double monks are slip-ons. I hope you guys are not trolling me. I was genuinely curious. =/there could possibly be a situation where one would want to unbuckle them before removal, such as when there are people waiting for you. Added on March 28, 2011, 7:49 pmsilvertan, brand or design of the watch contribute more to the impact? This post has been edited by Cheenoo: Mar 28 2011, 07:49 PM |
Mar 28 2011, 09:19 PM
10 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
Just received my Alden Shell Cordovan LongWing Bluchers in Color 8 (Burgundy)
First impression, this is not a sleek shoe. The soles are large, heel is larger,compared to the english shoes, although the width and length of the leather upper is the same. ![]() Comparison shot. You can see the leather uppers are about the same size, but Alden's sole/weld is much larger ![]() This post has been edited by beatific: Mar 28 2011, 09:46 PM |
Mar 28 2011, 09:29 PM
QUOTE(Cheenoo @ Mar 28 2011, 07:46 PM) I hope you guys are not trolling me. I was genuinely curious. =/ I would say design contributed more. You don't want to see a man in suit with nice leather shoes wearing a plastic sport watch, right?Added on March 28, 2011, 7:49 pmsilvertan, brand or design of the watch contribute more to the impact? For me, i have different type of watches, depend on what occasion, what outfit then i will choose which watch to wear. leather strap (black, brown), small dial, big dial, round dial, square dial or metal bracelet. |
Mar 28 2011, 09:53 PM
845 posts Joined: May 2010 |
QUOTE(silverstan @ Mar 28 2011, 09:29 PM) I would say design contributed more. You don't want to see a man in suit with nice leather shoes wearing a plastic sport watch, right? Poor man like me can only rely on designs to make maximum impact.For me, i have different type of watches, depend on what occasion, what outfit then i will choose which watch to wear. leather strap (black, brown), small dial, big dial, round dial, square dial or metal bracelet. |
Mar 28 2011, 10:12 PM
Watches is a particularly unfruitful arena to compete in. It's all about money. It also happens to be an object people are willing to pay absurb amounts for, like cars. Someone wearing an 18K rose gold JLC Reverso will win. Regardless of what a well-chosen Seiko you may be wearing.
But shoes is an area nobody pays any attention to. RM1.5K will get you very good shoes, but will only buy you an unremarkable watch. Almost nobody in KL pays RM1.5K for shoes. When was the last time you saw a pair? Shirts is another area one can routinely win without spending much money and IMO shirts (and particularly suits) influence how you are perceived a lot more than a watch. If you get shirt, trouser and shoes right you don't need a watch to stand out. Added on March 28, 2011, 10:17 pmI mean, my MD wears a Rolex Explorer and my GM wears a Lange. How the f*** can you compete? But they wear plasticky black loafers and (mostly) RTW shirts. This post has been edited by kotmj: Mar 28 2011, 10:17 PM |
Mar 28 2011, 10:32 PM
2,664 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
QUOTE(kotmj @ Mar 28 2011, 10:12 PM) Watches is a particularly unfruitful arena to compete in. It's all about money. It also happens to be an object people are willing to pay absurb amounts for, like cars. Someone wearing an 18K rose gold JLC Reverso will win. Regardless of what a well-chosen Seiko you may be wearing. ...ahem....... But shoes is an area nobody pays any attention to. RM1.5K will get you very good shoes, but will only buy you an unremarkable watch. Almost nobody in KL pays RM1.5K for shoes. When was the last time you saw a pair? Shirts is another area one can routinely win without spending much money and IMO shirts (and particularly suits) influence how you are perceived a lot more than a watch. If you get shirt, trouser and shoes right you don't need a watch to stand out. Added on March 28, 2011, 10:17 pmI mean, my MD wears a Rolex Explorer and my GM wears a Lange. How the f*** can you compete? But they wear plasticky black loafers and (mostly) RTW shirts. |
Mar 28 2011, 10:41 PM
don't need to compete the brand, just choose the right watch to match your outfit. Tha'ts why i said design come first.
outfit (shirt, suit) belt, watch, shoes, bags all are connected. An expensive watch just to proof they are rich, doesn't mean they have taste with fashion. |
Mar 29 2011, 07:51 AM
silverstan has a point. if your md shows up to a black tie event with his rolex explorer and you show up with a gold plated casing black leather strap tissot or longines, you are going to win hands down.
Mar 29 2011, 09:07 AM
Apr 2 2011, 06:57 PM
2,664 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
Apr 2 2011, 10:09 PM
QUOTE(stylophile @ Mar 29 2011, 07:51 AM) silverstan has a point. if your md shows up to a black tie event with his rolex explorer and you show up with a gold plated casing black leather strap tissot or longines, you are going to win hands down. Actually, he still wins, because with the Rolex he has higher status. |
Apr 4 2011, 10:44 AM
Apr 4 2011, 12:49 PM
No, in that specific situation (black tie) where everyone is dressed homogenously, having this on your wrist
![]() beats having this ![]() However, in situations where there is no uniform, having an expensive watch doesn't even begin to compensate for deficiencies in the wardrobe department. |
Apr 4 2011, 03:13 PM
1,846 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: City^of^Anggerik |
naaa....the MD still win ..no matter what his staff wearing......
Apr 4 2011, 05:14 PM
QUOTE(silencer @ Apr 4 2011, 03:13 PM) so if the staff is wearing a lange, and the md is wearing a swatch, md still wins? i suppose in a way md cannot lose lah. but we are looking at the perspective of an outside who was no idea of each person's position/rank.anyway, this is a shoe topic. so, what do you guys think - if i have a certain budget for shoes, and i can afford 2 pairs of paul smith, OR 1 pair of C&J, which should i go for? |
Apr 5 2011, 10:38 AM
220 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
dear all real men shoes pro,
have u guys heard of samuel windsor shoes? anyone owns a pair here? their website is selling 2 pairs of goodyear welted for 100pound Samuel Windsor link any opinions? |
| Change to: | 0.0214sec
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 02:59 AM |