130 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Bottom

Lets Talk Salary! v3

static
post May 13 2010, 01:24 PM

782 posts

Fresh grad for 3000. Oil & Gas? The fresh grads in my inductry only earning the most 2500, specialized industry.

Added on May 13, 2010, 1:27 pmAnd after confirming with the fresh grad, 2.5k is on contractual basis, means no EPF. I guess I'm in the wrong field, or .. just gotta be patient.

This post has been edited by static: May 13 2010, 01:27 PM
kidmad
post May 13 2010, 01:38 PM

4,481 posts

QUOTE(static @ May 13 2010, 01:24 PM)
Fresh grad for 3000. Oil & Gas? The fresh grads in my inductry only earning the most 2500, specialized industry.

Added on May 13, 2010, 1:27 pmAnd after confirming with the fresh grad, 2.5k is on contractual basis, means no EPF. I guess I'm in the wrong field, or .. just gotta be patient.
what industry your in? FYI, lotta peeps from oil & gas is getting very well paid. before i graduate my father was asking on whether am i a chemical engineer coz his company is paying rm5k + allowance for those with chemical engineering certification (fresh grad).
static
post May 13 2010, 02:47 PM

782 posts

Doing SAS though. Might try SAP in the near future.
yvanser
post May 13 2010, 10:37 PM

QUOTE(tcping @ Sep 24 2009, 06:28 PM)
Job Title : Customer Service Engineer
Job Desciption : Helpdesk, Admin
Years spent in company : 3 months
Company : MNC
Industry : Bank / IT
Tenure : Contract
Employment Level : Executive
Experience before joining : Fresh Grad
Salary : RM 1900
Engineer title has became a "everyone can use" name is Malaysia nowadays. Even Customer Service also has Engineer? Seriously... Engineer title is a respectable title in Europeen countries (except UK), but Malaysia has totally ruin it. It's sad.

Added on May 13, 2010, 10:42 pm
QUOTE(static @ May 13 2010, 01:24 PM)

Yes, I work in the O&G industrial, in this industry you are worth NOTHING until your 3rd or 4th year. My company starting pay for fresh graduate engineer is only RM2200, but offshore allowance is RM300 per day. Don't see only basic pay, see overall.

This post has been edited by yvanser: May 13 2010, 10:42 PM
danieltan
post May 13 2010, 10:43 PM

Abuthen
750 posts

ob Title: Software Engineer
Job Desciption: Everything, from coding to little involve in QC.
Years spent in company: 10 months
Company: Local
Industry: Software
Tenure: Permanent
Education: Degree
Employment Before Joining: Fresh
Salary : 2.2k
Working hrs: 8.30am - 6pm(Mostly will work till 8pm more or less)
Benefit: Medical, MC, but don have OT claim.

still confused wanna jump to another field. programmer not easy as it done

This post has been edited by danieltan: May 13 2010, 10:51 PM
static
post May 14 2010, 12:54 AM

782 posts

QUOTE(yvanser @ May 13 2010, 10:37 PM)
Engineer title has became a "everyone can use" name is Malaysia nowadays. Even Customer Service also has Engineer? Seriously... Engineer title is a respectable title in Europeen countries (except UK), but Malaysia has totally ruin it. It's sad.

Added on May 13, 2010, 10:42 pm

Yes, I work in the O&G industrial, in this industry you are worth NOTHING until your 3rd or 4th year. My company starting pay for fresh graduate engineer is only RM2200, but offshore allowance is RM300 per day. Don't see only basic pay, see overall.
Yeah, I have a few friends working in O&G. Their basic pay is almost the same as me, but with offshore allowance, it's another story. They gain another 50% from their basic from there. Perhaps, it is time for me to move on to O&G wink.gif

yvanser
post May 14 2010, 01:14 AM

QUOTE(static @ May 14 2010, 12:54 AM)
Yeah, I have a few friends working in O&G. Their basic pay is almost the same as me, but with offshore allowance, it's another story. They gain another 50% from their basic from there. Perhaps, it is time for me to move on to O&G wink.gif
I know a fresh grad from UK even lowered his pay to RM1800 to enter to my company. Starting pay is really not that important. In this industry, I have never met a guy with 4 years experience that earns less than 10k a month, of course I mean Engineers (exclude the Customer Service Engineer). If you have 4 years experience and still earn less than 10k in O&G, then you might want to change company because you are consider as underpaid.
TommyTan
post May 14 2010, 09:17 AM

You can call me Mr. Tan or Tommy
1,777 posts

QUOTE(static @ May 13 2010, 02:47 PM)
Doing SAS though. Might try SAP in the near future.
Are you with the principal? SAS is "#1 best company to work with" in US according to Fortune

Added on May 14, 2010, 9:19 am
QUOTE(yvanser @ May 14 2010, 01:14 AM)
I have never met a guy with 4 years experience that earns less than 10k a month
No wonder those fella I met all 20+ drive BMW one.

At first I thought they anak Datuk, but they say they anak kampung aje.

This post has been edited by TommyTan: May 14 2010, 09:19 AM
static
post May 14 2010, 09:34 AM

782 posts

QUOTE(TommyTan @ May 14 2010, 09:17 AM)
Are you with the principal? SAS is "#1 best company to work with" in US according to Fortune
Nope, I'm with the MSIA one. It's different ... whistling.gif
yvanser
post May 14 2010, 10:14 AM

QUOTE(TommyTan @ May 14 2010, 09:17 AM)

Added on May 14, 2010, 9:19 am
No wonder those fella I met all 20+ drive BMW one.

At first I thought they anak Datuk, but they say they anak kampung aje.
Yep even the riggers I met Offshore drive Perdana V6...
jaclynjac
post May 14 2010, 12:03 PM

297 posts

what is the starting salary for fresh graduate ? especially for bacelor degree in business admin ?
vin_ann
post May 14 2010, 12:25 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(jaclynjac @ May 14 2010, 12:03 PM)
what is the starting salary for fresh graduate ? especially for bacelor degree in business admin ?
its depend on the individual company.

MNC pay higher

bigbangformula
post May 14 2010, 11:00 PM

1,872 posts

QUOTE(yvanser @ May 14 2010, 01:14 AM)
I know a fresh grad from UK even lowered his pay to RM1800 to enter to my company. Starting pay is really not that important. In this industry, I have never met a guy with 4 years experience that earns less than 10k a month, of course I mean Engineers (exclude the Customer Service Engineer). If you have 4 years experience and still earn less than 10k in O&G, then you might want to change company because you are consider as underpaid.
But I wonder,now I'm planning to get into engineering,as you all say,O&G salary is very high and all that,but can this bidang suddenly stop?Because the oil in the world is geting lesser and lesser right?

Those who in O&G,how is it like working offshore?Really like no life?
yvanser
post May 15 2010, 09:16 AM

QUOTE(bigbangformula @ May 14 2010, 11:00 PM)
But I wonder,now I'm planning to get into engineering,as you all say,O&G salary is very high and all that,but can this bidang suddenly stop?Because the oil in the world is geting lesser and lesser right?

Those who in O&G,how is it like working offshore?Really like no life?
Yep the oil will end one day, but no one knows when, someone said in 30 years, or in 50 years. Anyway this industry probably won't pass to the next generation, so I guess we will maybe be the last batch that involved in this sector. The pay is high because O&G consists huge project, hence require higher technic and higher risk, it doesn't mean that once you enter you will earn money like crazy, it depends on your performance also.

You will be required to work 12 hours a day offshore, either day shift or night shift. It's not easy. And no life or not it depends on people, my manager always carry 30+ novel books with him when he goes offshore, so I don't think he feels no life.
Jurlique
post May 15 2010, 10:53 AM

The Hajok
1,695 posts

How about:-

- MNC
- Chinaman company (like Tan Ah Beng S/B)
- GLC or government agencies
- Listed companies

Which one higher pay?
underpressure
post May 15 2010, 01:06 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ May 15 2010, 10:53 AM)
How about:-

- MNC
- Chinaman company (like Tan Ah Beng S/B)
- GLC or government agencies
- Listed companies

Which one higher pay?
From the local banking industry. If you factor peaks and benefit (not including bonus),

I would say MNC like HSBC, SCB and CITI rank highly. Follow by CIMB then Public Bank (good pay IF you perform). China bank like HL and OCBC rank quite low. Lowest is Asian Finance Bank and Bank Islam
bigbangformula
post May 15 2010, 05:38 PM

1,872 posts

QUOTE(yvanser @ May 15 2010, 09:16 AM)
Yep the oil will end one day, but no one knows when, someone said in 30 years, or in 50 years. Anyway this industry probably won't pass to the next generation, so I guess we will maybe be the last batch that involved in this sector. The pay is high because O&G consists huge project, hence require higher technic and higher risk, it doesn't mean that once you enter you will earn money like crazy, it depends on your performance also.

You will be required to work 12 hours a day offshore, either day shift or night shift. It's not easy. And no life or not it depends on people, my manager always carry 30+ novel books with him when he goes offshore, so I don't think he feels no life.
Usually offshore is how long?

Then after your offshore duty,you have a break of about 1 month+,is that right?
yvanser
post May 15 2010, 06:54 PM

QUOTE(bigbangformula @ May 15 2010, 05:38 PM)
Usually offshore is how long?

Then after your offshore duty,you have a break of about 1 month+,is that right?
It depends on Operators (Shell, Petronas, BP...), if Shell is the operator, offshore is usually 45 days, but it could be extended to 60 days maximum. Then you will need to go back onshore.

It depends on company also, some companies are 2 months offshore + 1 month office, or even worse like 2 months offshore + 2 weeks office, then go offshore again, if you want a break after offshore then u will need to apply before you go offshore. Not every companies will automatically let you have a break after offshore, you will need to negociate during your interview.
depster666
post May 15 2010, 10:35 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(yvanser @ May 15 2010, 06:54 PM)
It depends on Operators (Shell, Petronas, BP...), if Shell is the operator, offshore is usually 45 days, but it could be extended to 60 days maximum. Then you will need to go back onshore.

It depends on company also, some companies are 2 months offshore + 1 month office, or even worse like 2 months offshore + 2 weeks office, then go offshore again, if you want a break after offshore then u will need to apply before you go offshore. Not every companies will automatically let you have a break after offshore, you will need to negociate during your interview.
Shell, Exxon and Petronas are on 2 weeks on, 2 weeks off... better get the facts right
yvanser
post May 16 2010, 07:38 AM

QUOTE(depster666 @ May 15 2010, 10:35 PM)
Shell, Exxon and Petronas are on 2 weeks on, 2 weeks off... better get the facts right
Read my post again before asking me to get my fact right. I said "if Shell is the operator", they fix the offshore period to 45 days to 60 days for their contractors. I'm not saying if you work directly under Shell.

130 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Top

0.0257sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:20 AM