Job Desciption : Helpdesk, Admin
Years spent in company : 3 months
Company : MNC
Industry : Bank / IT
Tenure : Contract
Employment Level : Executive
Experience before joining : Fresh Grad
Salary : RM 1900
Engineer title has became a "everyone can use" name is Malaysia nowadays. Even Customer Service also has Engineer? Seriously... Engineer title is a respectable title in Europeen countries (except UK), but Malaysia has totally ruin it. It's sad.

Added on May 13, 2010, 10:42 pm
QUOTE(static @ May 13 2010, 01:24 PM)
Fresh grad for 3000. Oil & Gas? The fresh grads in my inductry only earning the most 2500, specialized industry.

Added on May 13, 2010, 1:27 pmAnd after confirming with the fresh grad, 2.5k is on contractual basis, means no EPF. I guess I'm in the wrong field, or .. just gotta be patient.
Yes, I work in the O&G industrial, in this industry you are worth NOTHING until your 3rd or 4th year. My company starting pay for fresh graduate engineer is only RM2200, but offshore allowance is RM300 per day. Don't see only basic pay, see overall.

This post has been edited by yvanser: May 13 2010, 10:42 PM
yvanser
post May 14 2010, 01:14 AM

QUOTE(static @ May 14 2010, 12:54 AM)
Yeah, I have a few friends working in O&G. Their basic pay is almost the same as me, but with offshore allowance, it's another story. They gain another 50% from their basic from there. Perhaps, it is time for me to move on to O&G wink.gif
I know a fresh grad from UK even lowered his pay to RM1800 to enter to my company. Starting pay is really not that important. In this industry, I have never met a guy with 4 years experience that earns less than 10k a month, of course I mean Engineers (exclude the Customer Service Engineer). If you have 4 years experience and still earn less than 10k in O&G, then you might want to change company because you are consider as underpaid.
yvanser
post May 14 2010, 10:14 AM

QUOTE(TommyTan @ May 14 2010, 09:17 AM)
Are you with the principal? SAS is "#1 best company to work with" in US according to Fortune

Added on May 14, 2010, 9:19 am
No wonder those fella I met all 20+ drive BMW one.

At first I thought they anak Datuk, but they say they anak kampung aje.
Yep even the riggers I met Offshore drive Perdana V6...
yvanser
post May 15 2010, 09:16 AM

QUOTE(bigbangformula @ May 14 2010, 11:00 PM)
But I wonder,now I'm planning to get into engineering,as you all say,O&G salary is very high and all that,but can this bidang suddenly stop?Because the oil in the world is geting lesser and lesser right?

Those who in O&G,how is it like working offshore?Really like no life?
Yep the oil will end one day, but no one knows when, someone said in 30 years, or in 50 years. Anyway this industry probably won't pass to the next generation, so I guess we will maybe be the last batch that involved in this sector. The pay is high because O&G consists huge project, hence require higher technic and higher risk, it doesn't mean that once you enter you will earn money like crazy, it depends on your performance also.

You will be required to work 12 hours a day offshore, either day shift or night shift. It's not easy. And no life or not it depends on people, my manager always carry 30+ novel books with him when he goes offshore, so I don't think he feels no life.
yvanser
post May 15 2010, 06:54 PM

QUOTE(bigbangformula @ May 15 2010, 05:38 PM)
Usually offshore is how long?

Then after your offshore duty,you have a break of about 1 month+,is that right?
It depends on Operators (Shell, Petronas, BP...), if Shell is the operator, offshore is usually 45 days, but it could be extended to 60 days maximum. Then you will need to go back onshore.

It depends on company also, some companies are 2 months offshore + 1 month office, or even worse like 2 months offshore + 2 weeks office, then go offshore again, if you want a break after offshore then u will need to apply before you go offshore. Not every companies will automatically let you have a break after offshore, you will need to negociate during your interview.
yvanser
post May 16 2010, 07:38 AM

QUOTE(depster666 @ May 15 2010, 10:35 PM)
Shell, Exxon and Petronas are on 2 weeks on, 2 weeks off... better get the facts right
Read my post again before asking me to get my fact right. I said "if Shell is the operator", they fix the offshore period to 45 days to 60 days for their contractors. I'm not saying if you work directly under Shell.
yvanser
post May 19 2010, 09:59 PM

QUOTE(ethalion @ May 19 2010, 04:13 PM)
Job Title : PDS Engineer
Job Desciption : Electrical Engineer
Years spent in company : 9 months
Company : MNC (Australian Base)
Industry : Oil & Gas
Tenure : Permanent
Employment Level : Executive
Experience before joining : Fresh Grad
Salary : RM 2346.00
Working Hours: At the office - 9.30am till 6pm ( its my time...flex actually)
                      At the site - Depends....but i've been experience from 4am till 12 am...huhuhuhhuhuhu

Hi all, how bout my description....but im totally not agreed with this kind of pay...really low n i ald went to Indonesia to do the commissioning there...about 3 months and 7 days a week!..i dun have any extra allowances such as travel n car allowance...just claim only...huhuhuhu.... sad.gif For me...as MNC company...allowances is not a big issue...but im quite dissatisfied with this company...

So how bout you guys...
That's abit low for O&G. Try to negociate for an increment after 1 year. smile.gif
yvanser
post May 21 2010, 05:45 PM

QUOTE(Selectt @ May 21 2010, 11:36 AM)
u guys dint read the recent news? one oil platform oil exploded and it killed all workers.
I don't know what newspaper you read that says 'it killed all workers', but my newspaper told me that 100 among 126 workers were saved by the life boat. Every job has its risk, the higher the risk is, the better the pay will be, that's the rule of living. Offshore is not that dangerous as you think, I have seen 3 accidents happened infront of me, but for me these accidents are avoidable.
yvanser
post Jun 30 2010, 10:42 AM

QUOTE(lynn1901 @ Jun 27 2010, 10:44 PM)
I've interviewed a few fresh graduates asking for salary above RM2500, reason is they graduated from oversea and some because they are 1st class honour. Honestly, I won't choose those fresh graduate who demand so much. At last, I choose a fresh graduate with CGPA 3.65 and expected salary is RM2000. I offered her RM1700 + allowance + commission and she accepted. After 6 months, she can perform and I increased her salary to RM2000. I think the most importance is you love the job, put effort to perform the best, innovative and learn. Your boss will knew it. If they don't appreciate you, learn everything and jump la.
I think it's reasonable that an overseas graduate demand more, even RM2500 is a bit less, they should be paid around the range of RM3000-RM4000 depends on location. Please bear in mind that those who graduated from overseas have certain qualities that local graduates don't have, you can't hire someone ONLY based on their results. For example an overseas graduate need to stay far from his family, be independent, interact with people with totally different background, settle most of the stuff by himself (find a place to stay, pay electrical bills, cook by himself... etc), and some of them even work as cleaners in restaurants during summer holiday. These experience might not be significant, but certainly will develope the capabilities of someone in terms of handling problems and difficulties... Of course my statements are exclude those who are super rich and their parents flew to see them 5 times a year and settle everything for them.

And a typical chinaman company problem: Always press down someone's salary. I told my boss last time that money maybe is not everything, but it CERTAINLY will motivate the employees, the more you pay, the more the employees feel appreciated (tell me if I'm wrong!), don't expect to pay a price of a kancil and hope to drive it like a ferrari... you pay the price of a kancil, you will get a kancil (even if you boost the engine you will need to add more money). Always keep that in mind.

If you are the boss and you have a budget for your employees' salary, my advise to you is to hire less people and increase their salary, rather than hire a bunch of people and everyone getting very little pay.

0.0197sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:49 AM