130 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Lets Talk Salary! v3

debbieyss
post Oct 28 2009, 09:23 PM

Look at all my stars! I want to be a SUPERSTAR!
4,458 posts

QUOTE(jacktai @ Oct 28 2009, 09:15 PM)
Is it that teaching Pop/Jazz are more expensive? Didn't realise that.

I'm use to be a Classical Guitar teacher, pop are quite easy, & no need special skill & technique. So I charge same rate as Classical. Only thing trouble is Pop song available for guitar are limited, you need to arrange it for student.

Anyway teaching music not as that easy & can earn a lot, my friend full time teaching Violin in Yamaha, most student are beginning to Grade 3. Although the school assign all Violin student to him, but still only have 20+ student. Teach during Thursday to Sunday. So far the paid not >2k.
Yes, pop and jazz music do charge at higher fees.

Classical music lessons need attention and more stressed cos parents expect their children take exam but somehow students are lazy, failed the exam and parents can push the blame on you.

I prefer teach pop music, less pressure and more pleasure cos most of the students are adults, easy to teach! thumbup.gif
jacktai
post Oct 28 2009, 09:53 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Oct 28 2009, 10:23 PM)
Yes, pop and jazz music do charge at higher fees.

Classical music lessons need attention and more stressed cos parents expect their children take exam but somehow students are lazy, failed the exam and parents can push the blame on you.

I prefer teach pop music, less pressure and more pleasure cos most of the students are adults, easy to teach!  thumbup.gif
Ha ha.. it seem we discuss in the wrong topic. Anyway is nice to meet people who know & teach music. You teach in music school or house to house?
Of course, teaching pop is quite relax, no technical stuff to teach. Some more in some level just teach them how to arrange song like organ/keyboard player do. Just learning accompany & chord is enough. But normally pop song student won't be long term as compare to exam base student. They can learn when ever their sweet time, but exam student sure will bind to you till the exam over. Of course, a bit stress, but sure you can know whether they can pass or not before the exam. So just honestly tell the parent the student situation & confidentiality level.

For me, Teaching music is just as a hobby, may be a sub-income. It never can replace my main profession (Accounts & Finance)
debbieyss
post Oct 28 2009, 10:35 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(jacktai @ Oct 28 2009, 09:53 PM)
Ha ha.. it seem we discuss in the wrong topic. Anyway is nice to meet people who know & teach music. You teach in music school or house to house?
Of course, teaching pop is quite relax, no technical stuff to teach. Some more in some level just teach them how to arrange song like organ/keyboard player do. Just learning accompany & chord is enough. But normally pop song student won't be long term as compare to exam base student. They can learn when ever their sweet time, but exam student sure will bind to you till the exam over. Of course, a bit stress, but sure you can know whether they can pass or not before the exam. So just honestly tell the parent the student situation & confidentiality level.

For me, Teaching music is just as a hobby, may be a sub-income. It never can replace my main profession (Accounts & Finance)
Yes, pop song students are not learning for long term but at least they take the initiative to look for pop music lessons and they practise as what instructed. Exam based students are normally taking classes just to fulfill parents' order.

I'ld rather go for pop music students anyway.
jacktai
post Oct 28 2009, 10:45 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Oct 28 2009, 11:35 PM)
Yes, pop song students are not learning for long term but at least they take the initiative to look for pop music lessons and they practise as what instructed. Exam based students are normally taking classes just to fulfill parents' order.

I'ld rather go for pop music students anyway.
ic ic, maybe piano are very popular which have alot of people want to learn, so you dun mind of losing student, & lot of nice pop song compare to Classical Guitar. And a lot of people have wrong impression between Classical & Acoustic Guitar. So I always emphasize to classical then pop in my teaching. Thus, Classical Guitar student will be not so popular, & most student are from 10-20 years old. Rarely have 5-10 years kids learning Guitar.
debbieyss
post Oct 28 2009, 10:48 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(jacktai @ Oct 28 2009, 10:45 PM)
ic ic, maybe piano are very popular which have alot of people want to learn, so you dun mind of losing student, & lot of nice pop song compare to Classical Guitar. And a lot of people have wrong impression between Classical & Acoustic Guitar. So I always emphasize to classical then pop in my teaching. Thus, Classical Guitar student will be not so popular, & most student are from 10-20 years old. Rarely have 5-10 years kids learning Guitar.
5-10 years old kids need special small guitar, which is more expensive.

Yes, i don't mind my adult students come and go. I enjoy having classes with students who have the heart to learn, than those who merely to fulfill parents' order but stick to me for long term.
jacktai
post Oct 28 2009, 11:56 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Oct 28 2009, 11:48 PM)
5-10 years old kids need special small guitar, which is more expensive.

Yes, i don't mind my adult students come and go. I enjoy having classes with students who have the heart to learn, than those who merely to fulfill parents' order but stick to me for long term.
Smaller Guitar... u mean half size or 3/4 size. Not that expensive lah... RM150-400 can get it already not really expensive. But not much choice.
My 1st Guitar cost RM800, current Guitar cost me 2k plus with case.

Anyway, you are right, willing learning student are more enjoy to teach. You can teach anything & explain all thing they interested to learn. And the achievement of student is enjoyable. At least all your hard work are worth it.
WhoIsKenneth
post Oct 29 2009, 12:33 PM

99 posts

This is going way off topic
chezzball
post Oct 30 2009, 02:55 AM

Cheese
1,542 posts

Did i accidentally stumbled upon Musician section instead of J&Career?
TSb00n
post Oct 31 2009, 03:29 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

Let's not go too much off topic ok.
mjy1984
post Nov 2 2009, 09:38 AM

37 posts

Job Title : Admin. Exec
Job Desciption : admin., account book keeping, secretary, inventory/logistics, sales report
Years spent in company : 1 year, 10 months
Company : Small sized company
Industry : Construction
Tenure : permanent
Employment Level : exec. I guess..
Experience before joining : Fresh graduate
salary : RM 1800
alex13
post Nov 2 2009, 10:57 AM

400 posts

QUOTE(Dark NT @ Oct 28 2009, 01:37 AM)
RM3000 not even enough to pay mortgage and car loan  cry.gif
Aiyoyo,

NT, if my situation continues, it will take me at least 2 more years to reach that.....I don't want to be "urban poor" at 28 years old cry.gif
mangsa_prejudis
post Nov 2 2009, 12:12 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(jacktai @ Oct 27 2009, 12:12 PM)
Sorry to tell, no office will hired under working age youngster.

Get a job in restaurant/small factory. Which I did it when I still secondary.

Or study hard, learn new thing. Look for long term. Once you are graduate from university, The world is waiting for you. You can easily earn 2-3k with your degree. Without degree you will be forever stuck in 1-2k salary, unless you do sales/own a business.

Remember when studying is your R & D period, after that will be your production period.
So what can you produce depend on how is your R & D in the pass.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I LOLed at this statement "You can easily earn 2-3k with your degree" . Stop being so proud about it smile.gif . Btw, I am just a 23 years old diploma(I grad when I was 21) holder where my post now needs you to have degree with more than 2 years experience smile.gif . "Without degree you will be forever stuck in 1-2k salary, unless you do sales/own a business. " this is another yawn.gif statement. smile.gif Degree nowadays is nothing (but for those who pursuing their studies for Degree or higher I would say go for it, it is a good advantage with it) , work hard and know your own strength then you will surely excel no matter in any fields you are in. Then only you can demand the figures needed. I do respect a lot of 'forum' mers here gaining more than 10k per month even without degree smile.gif
cactuscch
post Nov 2 2009, 08:46 PM

747 posts

Job Title : Asst Manager
Job Desciption : healthcare
Years spent in company : 6
Tenure : permanent
Employment Level : Manager
Experience before joining : 3
salary : ~RM 4k

Actually considering my 9y experience in the field my current salary is considered 15-20% below market value. I'm being head-hunted and will go for the 2nd interview at the hiring company soon.

The headhunter reminded me NOT to negotiate directly with the hiring company as they will negotiate for me. The head-hunter said 35-40% increment is possible.

Anybody had experience dealing with headhunter? Mind to share?
jacktai
post Nov 2 2009, 10:06 PM

339 posts

I LOLed at this statement "You can easily earn 2-3k with your degree" . Stop being so proud about it smile.gif . Btw, I am just a 23 years old diploma(I grad when I was 21) holder where my post now needs you to have degree with more than 2 years experience smile.gif . "Without degree you will be forever stuck in 1-2k salary, unless you do sales/own a business. " this is another yawn.gif statement. smile.gif Degree nowadays is nothing (but for those who pursuing their studies for Degree or higher I would say go for it, it is a good advantage with it) , work hard and know your own strength then you will surely excel no matter in any fields you are in. Then only you can demand the figures needed. I do respect a lot of 'forum' mers here gaining more than 10k per month even without degree smile.gif

[/quote]

As everyone working as employee know how important is your qualification. With a degree mean you are in par. Without it, the Co. won't even look at your resume. With a higher qualification mean you are in prestigious position then other staff. Without a degree, no matter how hard you work you will unable to reach manager level in normal Co. Unless you start your own Co. or its ur father Co.

Anyway, sad to tell, time had change, our dad or grandfather work hard & excel moment its a pass. When come to promotion, your qualification come first, then only your achievement. Some of my colleague work for 20years with SPM, still at the same post. Other with degree, just work for 4years already in manager level.

Welcome to a realistic world, little boy. Join it or leave it.

Unless you wanna be businessman, then that's another story. Or doing sales, which just need to good in talking & convince people.
But if you wanna compare to working in those peanut Co. then so sad your at that level only.

How many people without a proper education earning >10k. And how many suffer to survive. Try to do some statistic & some study.

This post has been edited by jacktai: Nov 2 2009, 10:26 PM
kenjen
post Nov 3 2009, 12:40 PM

109 posts

Job Title : Analyst Programmer
Years spent in company : 2 years and 1 month
Company : MNC
Industry : Banking
Tenure : Permanent
Employment Level : Not sure.
Experience before joining : 2 years and 3 months
salary : RM 3700

What kind of level am I in - underpaid, average or overpaid? Am thinking of changing.

rattan
post Nov 3 2009, 12:45 PM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

QUOTE(kenjen @ Nov 3 2009, 12:40 PM)
Job Title : Analyst Programmer
Years spent in company : 2 years and 1 month
Company : MNC
Industry : Banking
Tenure : Permanent
Employment Level : Not sure.
Experience before joining : 2 years and 3 months
salary : RM 3700

What kind of level am I in - underpaid, average or overpaid? Am thinking of changing.
I think u are paid well. Think twice before leaving.
kenjen
post Nov 3 2009, 01:28 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ Nov 3 2009, 12:45 PM)
I think u are paid well. Think twice before leaving.
Thanks for your reply. Would definitely consider with care.
LOOOOOOL
post Nov 3 2009, 03:50 PM

what is this
704 posts

@kenjen
how old are u? o.O

btw, 1 question. for example u are getting 4k paid in msia, if u go over to SG, will you still getting SGD4k? or less?
kenjen
post Nov 3 2009, 05:58 PM

109 posts

am 27.
depster666
post Nov 3 2009, 10:50 PM

452 posts

[quote=jacktai,Nov 2 2009, 10:06 PM]

[/quote]

As everyone working as employee know how important is your qualification. With a degree mean you are in par. Without it, the Co. won't even look at your resume. With a higher qualification mean you are in prestigious position then other staff. Without a degree, no matter how hard you work you will unable to reach manager level in normal Co. Unless you start your own Co. or its ur father Co.

Anyway, sad to tell, time had change, our dad or grandfather work hard & excel moment its a pass. When come to promotion, your qualification come first, then only your achievement. Some of my colleague work for 20years with SPM, still at the same post. Other with degree, just work for 4years already in manager level.

Welcome to a realistic world, little boy. Join it or leave it.

Unless you wanna be businessman, then that's another story. Or doing sales, which just need to good in talking & convince people.
But if you wanna compare to working in those peanut Co. then so sad your at that level only.

How many people without a proper education earning >10k. And how many suffer to survive. Try to do some statistic & some study.

[/quote]

To get in nowadays, u need a degree. But if u are already inside, starting without a degree, u can still climb up to managerial level in some companies, for example a certain Anglo-Dutch O&G company

130 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0177sec    0.77    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:32 AM