Yamaha AVR Thread v2.00, Discussions about Yamaha AVR
avantasia
Aug 1 2012, 06:43 PM
QUOTE(Dum^Dum @ Aug 1 2012, 04:33 PM) Hi Yamaha fans, can guide me where to get a good deal for RX v473 + 5.1 speakers around PJ or Kl. my budget is only $2500.00. Planning to get Yamaha 5.1 NS-P40 speakers along with the receiver do I have any other choice without exceeding the budget? I guess A & L can give a best price. Try it out.
XPS
Aug 1 2012, 07:25 PM
QUOTE(Dum^Dum @ Aug 1 2012, 04:33 PM) Hi Yamaha fans, can guide me where to get a good deal for RX v473 + 5.1 speakers around PJ or Kl. my budget is only $2500.00. Planning to get Yamaha 5.1 NS-P40 speakers along with the receiver do I have any other choice without exceeding the budget? If budget is limited, spend on the cheapest AVR that meets your needs and the rest on good speakers. Even 2 x Front + Centre as a start is better. Maybe some cheap speakers for back surround if you need them now. Speakers last a long time but AVR gets technologically displaced after a couple of years. The Yamaha entry level AVR is V373 and is plenty to handle your initial setup I think.
htkia
Aug 1 2012, 07:41 PM
QUOTE(kasimura @ Jul 30 2012, 02:35 PM) Went to Amcorp Mall yesterday but Accoustique was closed. Jalan-jalan a bit enjoyed the flea-market there. Incidentally saw A&L there. Spoke to Desmond and indeed the price quoted was very attractive. Will check out the Bangsar branch since nearer to my place. Don't know if my ears can appreciate any thing better than a V673! Getting it for the future proof thingy (4k scaling). I think it's value for money. If you go to Bangsar A&L branch, make sure you talk to CT Seong to give you a good price. I probably going to buy 473 from him soon.
Dum^Dum
Aug 1 2012, 09:28 PM
Thanks for the suggestion, I'm choosing v473 because i'm interested in the network function it have. HarveyNorman quoted the receiver around 1.6k and speaker about 900. As for sound quality, i don't have much demand, just would like to know if i have other choice besides the yamaha speakers.
went to A&L @ Amcorp last Sat but i kinda feel embarrassed because it seems like they don't cater to poor guy like me. A sales guys quoted me the cheapest bundle set to start at around $4k. So guys, you sure they have entry level stuff too? I don't mind going again if they have.
tbcheese
Aug 1 2012, 11:14 PM
QUOTE(Dum^Dum @ Aug 1 2012, 09:28 PM) Thanks for the suggestion, I'm choosing v473 because i'm interested in the network function it have. HarveyNorman quoted the receiver around 1.6k and speaker about 900. As for sound quality, i don't have much demand, just would like to know if i have other choice besides the yamaha speakers. went to A&L @ Amcorp last Sat but i kinda feel embarrassed because it seems like they don't cater to poor guy like me. A sales guys quoted me the cheapest bundle set to start at around $4k. So guys, you sure they have entry level stuff too? I don't mind going again if they have. What speakers did they recommend for the v473?
Will.i.am.Smith
Aug 1 2012, 11:41 PM
QUOTE(Dum^Dum @ Aug 1 2012, 09:28 PM) Thanks for the suggestion, I'm choosing v473 because i'm interested in the network function it have. HarveyNorman quoted the receiver around 1.6k and speaker about 900. As for sound quality, i don't have much demand, just would like to know if i have other choice besides the yamaha speakers. went to A&L @ Amcorp last Sat but i kinda feel embarrassed because it seems like they don't cater to poor guy like me. A sales guys quoted me the cheapest bundle set to start at around $4k. So guys, you sure they have entry level stuff too? I don't mind going again if they have. Lolx..sometimes these ppl also not consistent one..maybe did some high end deals the day before or the week hence still cannot adjust back to the reality that majority of us is still entry level folks. It's good that they actually even entertain you because i usually got their RRP without even a cent discount. Dont know who they're targeting, entry, mid atau high end? I find hiwaylaser is more consistent in their approach these days which i felt consistency in not discriminating the walk in enquiries irregardless buy on the spot or not is the way to go. If your price is competitive enough, there's no worry that the customer wont buy from you but if we have to pay premium for what's supposed to be attitude to serve you, then i think it's a rip off and there're many shops here in Malaysia that have such attitude..maybe partly due to the spoilt apples as well. Some customers are just unimaginably annoying and unreasonable in their approach.
Dum^Dum
Aug 3 2012, 11:25 PM
Finally got my new toy today. Any tips on how to maximize the performance?
XPS
Aug 3 2012, 11:57 PM
QUOTE(Dum^Dum @ Aug 3 2012, 11:25 PM) Finally got my new toy today. Any tips on how to maximize the performance? Run YPAO and then use manual setup to fine tune the speakers and subwoofer. Pay close attention to subwoofer crossover frequency and dB as you may need to fine tune a fair bit. Enjoy !
kasimura
Aug 6 2012, 12:21 PM
QUOTE(htkia @ Aug 1 2012, 07:41 PM) If you go to Bangsar A&L branch, make sure you talk to CT Seong to give you a good price. I probably going to buy 473 from him soon. Went to A&L Bangsar on Saturday, and sure enough CT Seong gave a very good price which I couldn't resist. Unfortunately no stock! Felt like tayar poncet!
dynasty88
Aug 7 2012, 11:16 AM

QUOTE(Dum^Dum @ Aug 1 2012, 09:28 PM) Thanks for the suggestion, I'm choosing v473 because i'm interested in the network function it have. HarveyNorman quoted the receiver around 1.6k and speaker about 900. As for sound quality, i don't have much demand, just would like to know if i have other choice besides the yamaha speakers. went to A&L @ Amcorp last Sat but i kinda feel embarrassed because it seems like they don't cater to poor guy like me. A sales guys quoted me the cheapest bundle set to start at around $4k. So guys, you sure they have entry level stuff too? I don't mind going again if they have. Just got the PSB Alpha 5.0 system with V473 from A&L Amcorp. I'm happy with the spend of ~4k++ with the delivery and installation provided.
htkia
Aug 7 2012, 12:20 PM
QUOTE(dynasty88 @ Aug 7 2012, 11:16 AM) Just got the PSB Alpha 5.0 system with V473 from A&L Amcorp. I'm happy with the spend of ~4k++ with the delivery and installation provided. Wah nice I am also waiting for 473 to pair with my PSB Alpha. But A&L has not delivered cos onr of the component is not ready. Please post your setup for sharing and your feedback on your new set hehe
dynasty88
Aug 7 2012, 02:04 PM

QUOTE(htkia @ Aug 7 2012, 12:20 PM) Wah nice I am also waiting for 473 to pair with my PSB Alpha. But A&L has not delivered cos onr of the component is not ready. Please post your setup for sharing and your feedback on your new set hehe   Great!! My setup is 2 x T1 for front, 1 x C1 for Center, 2 x B1 for surround. Plus AL 5021 subwoofer (still saving money for Rythmik F12). So far I'm satisfy with the front soundstage and clarity. But the surround still need some adjustment because it is hangs on the wall directly. I'm still looking for the wall mount bracket which is adjustable. Any idea where to get the speaker wall mount bracket?
ajay
Aug 13 2012, 06:37 PM
I am still searching for my forst AVR...
This post has been edited by ajay: Aug 15 2012, 05:47 PM
pknride
Aug 14 2012, 03:15 AM

hi to all yammy sifu here... i just bought RX473 + NS8390 + NSP60 + SW310. i'm totally noob in HT setup.. can sifu-sifu here recommend me how to setting my SW310 sub to match with my NS8390 front speaker? thanks in advance..
XPS
Aug 14 2012, 09:34 AM
Run YPAO and play around with sub level manually until it sounds right. Crossover frequency probably needs some work. Try something between 60Hz to 100Hz as a start.
ajay
Aug 15 2012, 05:47 PM
Guys... I am really confuse now. Got an offer for Yamaha 673 for RM2.2k and Marantz 5006 for RM2.5k.
Whicch one is the best value for money?
Really appreciate feedback.
otnuus
Aug 15 2012, 07:51 PM
QUOTE(ajay @ Aug 15 2012, 05:47 PM) Guys... I am really confuse now. Got an offer for Yamaha 673 for RM2.2k and Marantz 5006 for RM2.5k. Whicch one is the best value for money? Really appreciate feedback. RX-V673 is the latest model while the Marantz 5006 is last year model. You may also want to look at Yamaha Aventage RX-A810 which is also the last year model. Should be about the same price as 673.
XPS
Aug 15 2012, 08:48 PM
QUOTE(ajay @ Aug 15 2012, 05:47 PM) Guys... I am really confuse now. Got an offer for Yamaha 673 for RM2.2k and Marantz 5006 for RM2.5k. Whicch one is the best value for money? Do you need 4k video upscaling and pass through as "future proof"? Thats one main difference you need to ask yourself.
ajay
Aug 16 2012, 12:24 AM
Is it good to buy 810 as compared with 673?
avantasia
Aug 16 2012, 04:25 PM
Wanna ask u guys whether my astro beyond can be connected to HDMI port at Amp?