Samsung I8000 Omnia II v2, All-in-one. Redefined

skymade
post Nov 9 2009, 10:06 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(cired @ Nov 9 2009, 10:00 PM)
hi everyone...

i did a survey with i8000 , and comparing with diamond 2...
i love i8000 very much due to AMOLED screen...

but , when slide the samsung UI.. few a bit lag leh...is it common with others owner too..?

i check on it last weekend at mid valley and the unit still in WM6.1 ..
is it available in retail with WM6.5 ?

currently I'm HTC user , too me is quite ok...but this i8000 really attractive... any comment guys.??
No doubt, the Samsung UI (called Samsung WidgetPlus) is laggy which affect all of us. The dream will come true once you disable it and use other UI (ex. SPB MSH).
I8000 with AMOLED, 800MHz processor, 3.7" touch screen, fully compatible with WM6.5, 3.5mm headphone jack, TV-Out (never tried)....etc. You make your chioce.... tongue.gif

Added on November 9, 2009, 10:14 pm
QUOTE(bluhound @ Nov 9 2009, 11:08 AM)
After removing the proxy server, I was able to play Youtube files but a day later I get different errors, "RTSP Bad Reply".
So, I too gave up and ended up using youtube.cab from YouTube itself.  Have to admit that after using it, I like it WAY better than the default streaming player.
I am able to search, preview, read details directly from app and it loads quickly too!  biggrin.gif
I'm interesting on your issue biggrin.gif and would like to simulate your problem and thrown it to Samsung to fix it, if it's a bug issue.
Btw, "RTSP Bad reply" is the exact error appear? or RTSP Bad request?

This post has been edited by skymade: Nov 9 2009, 10:14 PM
shutterdll
post Nov 9 2009, 10:16 PM

255 posts

hi everyone...

but , when slide the samsung UI.. few a bit lag leh...is it common with others owner too..?

currently I'm HTC user , too me is quite ok...but this i8000 really attractive... any comment guys.??
watch movie/drama syiok also coz very clear
skymade
post Nov 9 2009, 10:19 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(shutterdll @ Nov 9 2009, 10:16 PM)
watch movie/drama syiok also coz very clear
Megan Fox look great hahh brows.gif
bluhound
post Nov 9 2009, 10:24 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(skymade @ Nov 9 2009, 10:06 PM)
No doubt, the Samsung UI (called Samsung WidgetPlus) is laggy which affect all of us. The dream will come true once you disable it and use other UI (ex. SPB MSH).
I8000 with AMOLED, 800MHz processor, 3.7" touch screen, fully compatible with WM6.5, 3.5mm headphone jack, TV-Out (never tried)....etc. You make your chioce.... tongue.gif

Added on November 9, 2009, 10:14 pm
I'm interesting on your issue  biggrin.gif  and would like to simulate your problem and thrown it to Samsung to fix it, if it's a bug issue.
Btw, "RTSP Bad reply" is the exact error appear? or RTSP Bad request?
lol..yep its its 'RTSP Bad Request'... May bad.....

Added on November 9, 2009, 10:29 pm
QUOTE(lord @ Nov 9 2009, 02:10 PM)
Thanks.  biggrin.gif I just deleted my games and reinstalled one to "my storage" but when I go back to the memory setting the game is still @ "main storage". I'm not sure how to check the memory consumption for each application but when i install i only got 3 places to install which are "my device", "my storage", and "storage card". I already picked "my storage" but it still appears at "main storage" rclxub.gif

btw for garmin, do you guys use bluetooth signal or gps intermediate driver?
Sozz... I forgot to explain this part too....
That is one quirk in Samsung's Settings app. No matter where you install your stuff (be it in main storage, my storage or storage card) it will still show under Main Storage but actually its installed in the location you selected. There are a handful of apps though which install in multiple places which skymade has mentioned.

Anyway, if you are curious on where your apps are installed, you can try using file manager and browse though Program Files folder in all drives and find the name of the app you just installed....

This post has been edited by bluhound: Nov 9 2009, 10:29 PM
skymade
post Nov 9 2009, 10:57 PM

303 posts

Great news to all of us omnia 2 users. flex.gif
I have been waiting this for a long time and finally... We meet Samsung Application Store on our PC now. Be ready for the Samsung's wave.

Samsung just release an application "Samsun Kies" with features like download those (free or paid) applications specifically designed for our belove Omnia 2. That's not all, Kies allow us to browse through our Omnia phone, backup/edit contacts list, copy media to/from phones.... and much more features, all under Kies. rclxms.gif

1) Browse to this webpage: http://www.samsungapps.com/
2) Click on 'about' and follow the instruction to download the application.
3) During installation, select your prefer language, BUT CHOOSE YOUR COUNTRY AS "UK/ITALY/FRANCE". You couldn't run application store if you choose Malaysia or Singapore due to it's not available in our region yet.
) Have FUN!!! icon_rolleyes.gif

Below image capture from my PC:

I've tried on few free applications, Band Drum really amazing me, i never thought i can play drums on my phones. .wakakkaka, i'm not a musician. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by skymade: Nov 9 2009, 11:16 PM
Punch_hOle
post Nov 10 2009, 01:27 AM

14 posts

Aloha OmnIan...

What is the price for omnia 2 right now? Anyone know? Must have been drop below 1800?
lord
post Nov 10 2009, 05:33 AM

392 posts

QUOTE(skymade @ Nov 9 2009, 09:53 PM)
1) You are browsing the "Main Storage" page where it show you the space that you consume in "Main Storage".
2) In the same windows, the program list show you the program installed into your phones NOT your "Main Storage", even you might installed to "My Storage or Storage Card", .... imagine it is "Add/Remove Program" on you WinXP.
3) Even if you installed the program to "My Storage or Storage Card". It consume some space in your "Main Storage" for certain program. Imagine on WinXP, you installed to D but there are some DLL copied to Windows folder.
4) Garmin is one of the example will installed it's main program on root folder, but user folder on where you choose from.
My Garmin using the default setting, which are COM 7 and COM 9, worked perfectly.
QUOTE(bluhound @ Nov 9 2009, 10:24 PM)
lol..yep its its 'RTSP Bad Request'... May bad.....

Added on November 9, 2009, 10:29 pm
Sozz... I forgot to explain this part too....
That is one quirk in Samsung's Settings app.  No matter where you install your stuff (be it in main storage, my storage or storage card) it will still show under Main Storage but actually its installed in the location you selected.  There are a handful of apps though which install in multiple places which skymade has mentioned.

Anyway, if you are curious on where your apps are installed, you can try using file manager and browse though Program Files folder in all drives and find the name of the app you just installed....
thanks for explaining notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
faidz85
post Nov 10 2009, 05:48 AM

-=[ Stars ]=-
1,604 posts

@skymade

Can you try this one? http://www.samsungapps.com/topApps/topApps...Id=000000005348
mrdvil
post Nov 10 2009, 11:40 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(72nd @ Nov 9 2009, 06:45 PM)
how to do youtube.cab thingy? kinda lost..... hehe.

any idea if samsung waranthy cover dead-pixel problem or not. or should i just call them? the dead-pixel appears a few days ago. aiyooo so sad.

spm 9 more days to go... matilah gua kali ni =( got the shitty A+ some more.kacau btul,startla next year since they announce the plan so late already!
so fast get dead pixel? sad to hear that.
SUSMatrix
post Nov 10 2009, 12:36 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

hi everyone...

Frankly, the SAMSUNG HomeScreen UI sucks sh***. And yes, it's pretty laggy. But once you entered into the other sub menu, it is quite fast. Only the homescreen with those widgets damn slow. Personally, i would prefer SPB shell, so zippy. Hopefully, with the WM 6.5 coming, it should be much faster and better and u can turn off the Samsung UI permanently.
cired
post Nov 10 2009, 02:46 PM

25 posts

thanks for the feedback....

i think i will go ahead with omnia... will wait until WM 6.5 available in retail and try on it..

HM_Apfelbomb
post Nov 10 2009, 03:40 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(cired @ Nov 10 2009, 02:46 PM)
thanks for the feedback....

i think i will go ahead with omnia... will wait until WM 6.5 available in retail and try on it..
aiyaaa,,,,why wait one? flash yrself la to 6.5...

rgds
cired
post Nov 10 2009, 03:46 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(HM_Apfelbomb @ Nov 10 2009, 03:40 PM)
aiyaaa,,,,why wait one? flash yrself la to 6.5...

rgds
hope the unit run well with 6.5 and no lag even with samsung UI..

i've use 3 unit of HTC before , 1st time with samsung... hmm.gif

another issue is waiting for bonus ma...lol
jianjie
post Nov 10 2009, 09:11 PM

290 posts

QUOTE(Punch_hOle @ Nov 10 2009, 01:27 AM)
Aloha OmnIan...

What is the price for omnia 2 right now? Anyone know? Must have been drop below 1800?
u r devilish pal...stop cursing us..

btw, for those of u who cant load youtube, or load with terribly low quality, or the streaming player frustrates u, go download a software specially designed by youtube to let yr windows mobile phone watch youtube videos smoothly..i tried it and i must say it works far beyond my expectation.. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

m.youtube.com/app
faidz85
post Nov 10 2009, 09:26 PM

-=[ Stars ]=-
1,604 posts

Flashing to secany's IK2 now. *crosses finger*
Punch_hOle
post Nov 10 2009, 11:05 PM

14 posts

jianjie,

no laa.... i'm using omnia 2 also loo... just bought 3 weeks ago.. just curios... not cursing... i love my omnia..... sori for the comment.. huk huk ^^"

try already the application dun no why it it appear msg" Youtube is not supported on your device"... ><
72nd
post Nov 10 2009, 11:16 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(mrdvil @ Nov 10 2009, 12:40 PM)
so fast get dead pixel? sad to hear that.
I know! I paid >rm2000 and got dead pixels now =( Sedih mencengkam sanubari dude.... still didnt call samsung yet to ask about the dead-pixel problem...

I'm bringing it to samsung after SPM maybe. Battery totally got problem meh. Off the phone and charge it and check back few minutes later the phone was hot (or is it normal?).

Anyway the phone also feel hot even if i close all aplication, and the battery run out cepat (sometimes).
faidz85
post Nov 10 2009, 11:30 PM

-=[ Stars ]=-
1,604 posts

Dead pixel I believe is covered under the warranty.

As for the battery problem, my phone never actually hot. But warm when I gayut. But seriously, I can use 2 days without problem. Though I charge it everyday =P

Better get yours checked. And relax cause I believe yours is FMG's? I'm using an SG set and I don't want to think any problem with my set.

But I've flashed it 3 times already and still going strong =)
Punch_hOle
post Nov 10 2009, 11:42 PM

14 posts

How to define dead pixel?

have any pic?
HM_Apfelbomb
post Nov 11 2009, 08:56 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(Punch_hOle @ Nov 10 2009, 11:42 PM)
How to define dead pixel?

have any pic?
it;s an annoying dot on the screen,, similar to yr nick... Punch_hOle....lol... rclxm9.gif

142 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 > » Top

0.0326sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:41 PM