Samsung I8000 Omnia II v2, All-in-one. Redefined

HM_Apfelbomb
post Nov 1 2009, 07:03 PM

46 posts

greetings all,

aftrer around 40 pages of getting poisoned here, i finally decided to part with my $$ and bought the O2 from Mobile City outlet in Sunway Carnival, Seb Jaya yesterday. Back home, charged it for >8 hrs as suggested and this morning when I worked up it showed only around 90% charged. Started to played around for about 1 hr, checked the battery now already at 40%. WTH, so makan battery one ka? Felt the device was hot even not running anything. Decided to give a hard eset and now the battery was showing below 10%..Bloody hell mad.gif mad.gif Man,, this is my 1st WM phone after years of using Treo650 and immediately i am in this kind of unwanted situations.

Anybody facing the same issues? I brought back the device to the sale outlet today and managed to simulate the issue. She said it could be battery issue but since no spare, i have to wait for few days before they can replace it......it the phone itself or the battery??

rgds...
HM_Apfelbomb
post Nov 1 2009, 07:16 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Nov 1 2009, 07:13 PM)
This is AP, SG or FMG/Brightstar set? Your phone is definitely got problem...should give 2 or 3 days charge under normal usage. If it's an ori FMG/Brightstar, i suggest u make OFFICIAL complain to Samsung if the dealer can't solve it to you after 1 week.
thanks for the prompt reply.. i definitelty will do taht if it is not fixed.. this is FMG set BTW..

rgds
HM_Apfelbomb
post Nov 1 2009, 09:40 PM

46 posts

i used the charger...when using usb cable i could see the battery was losing it;s power slowly instead of getting charged...i can connect the phone thru PC Studio..so that showed nothing wrong with the USB power and connection..Also checked the battery pins if loose or waht but saw nothing fishy...

Added on November 1, 2009, 9:02 pm
u use the charger or usb cable connected to pc to charge??
if u were using the charger and after 8freaking hours of charging still not full,confirm battery issue...
my O2 can tahan 4days with minimal usage(mostly phone calls and sms only)

[/quote]

HM_Apfelbomb
post Nov 2 2009, 09:35 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(my_nickleo @ Nov 2 2009, 09:15 AM)
How much is your O2 and what's in the package?
RM2300 - apart from the standard package, a Canon mobile photo printer was also included. I declined the Canon and chosed 8G micro SD instead.

Ajip, i did end tasks all application and off the phone. The phone was at 40% when i turned it off. Immediately I turn ON the phone and checked the power now only at 10%. This one i managed to simulate at the sale centre, so they have no dispute but to accept the device for further checks. I will follow up with them by lunch today...

rgds
HM_Apfelbomb
post Nov 2 2009, 01:22 PM

46 posts

This is my 1st complaint email to Samsung customer service with regard to my faulty Omnia2. I know this is kind of early and not so much details but man,,i just spent >RM2000 of my hard earned money to be in this shitty thingy. What do u expect..jumping around happily???

"Hi, I bought a new Omina2 from Mobile City outlet in Sunway Carnival Seberang Jaya on 31/10/2009. Brought home and have it charged for 8 hrs as suggested. Yesterday morning (1/11/2009) when woke up, i checked the power at around 90%. Played around about 1 hr, the power somehow dropped to around 40%. The phone felt kind of warm even though no tasks were running. Completely power off the phone and upon power up, it now showed less than 10%. I brought back the phone to the mobile city yesterday noon and managed to simulate the power loss during off/on to the sale lady. She agreed taht there was something wrong with the phone or battery. I then insisted to have immediate replacement but was astonished when told no spare is available even in the whole penang and she has no idea when the spare will come. I left the phone for repair and this morning i called her up to follow up and was told the same story. She has no clue when will I get my phone back..

I just spent >RM2000 for a brand new Samsung smartphone and immediately I am in this kind of unwanted situation. I am expecting the phone to be replaced on the spot or reimburse me back my hard earned money as clearly i have nothing to do with the phone issue.
This is my 1st official email to you and if not taken seriously, next step will be taken accordingly."

HM_Apfelbomb
post Nov 2 2009, 03:34 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Nov 2 2009, 01:52 PM)
Please keep us updated. If cannot kaw-tim, make official complain to the National Consumer Complaint.

http://www.nccc.org.my/v2/
Thanks for the link..Samsung customer service gal just called me up about 15 minutes ago up to check for more details– warranty card and proof of purchase resit which I have submitted to Mobile City when making the complaint. My mistake, I forgot to duplicate those documents. What I have now is only service acknowledgement form from the outlet (complete with their company stamp). Anyway she promised to call me back once she get more details from the outlet or service center.

rgds
HM_Apfelbomb
post Nov 3 2009, 08:07 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(faidz85 @ Nov 2 2009, 10:20 PM)
Exciting things are happening =)
care to elaborate more?? hmm.gif hmm.gif

rgds
HM_Apfelbomb
post Nov 3 2009, 10:11 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(HM_Apfelbomb @ Nov 2 2009, 03:34 PM)
Thanks for the link..Samsung customer service gal just called me up about 15 minutes ago up to check for more details– warranty card and proof of purchase resit which I have submitted to Mobile City when making the complaint. My mistake, I forgot to duplicate those documents. What I have now is only service acknowledgement form from the outlet (complete with their company stamp). Anyway she promised to call me back once she get more details from the outlet or service center.

rgds
More updates:

2 Nov 2009 – 3:10pm: Elaine from Samsung custormer service called me up asking for details – warranty card and proof of purchase which I have submitted to Mobile City when making the complaint. I actually forgot to duplicate the documents. What I have now is only service acknowledgement form from Mobile City. She promised to call me back once she get more details from Mobile City. She never call me back today!!!! mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif

2 Nov 2009 – 8 pm: Mobile City outlet salegirl sent me SMS saying my phone still not ready and will need another day for SC to check. Called up the manager (Sammy) but got the same message. This is getting nowhere !!!!! mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif

3rd Nov 2009 :
9:15am: Elaine from Samsung CS called up and to inform that they have got all the documentation (warranty card and receipt) and they are willing to replace me with a new phone or cash back but will need to wait within 1 month period for processing!!!! Bloody hell!!! Her boss promised to call me back within 1 hr for further discussions. She wasn;t willing to provide her boss contact number.. Hmmmm

9:30am: Not satisfied, I called up Mobile City northern region manager (got the number after calling their HQ in Subang Jaya). She was shocked when I told her it would take 1 month to replace the phone. She promised to follow up and call me back ASAP.

9:55am: The Northern region manager called me up and told me that I can get replacement within 1 or 2 days when the outlet receives their latest shipment. The outlet will call me up once they got the new phone. Apparently, she called up Samsung HQ to verify the replacement status. Basically outlets will agree for 1 to 1 replacement if they have stock AND if the service center had confirmed the phone defect is due to manufacturer’s fault.

10:00 am: Received another call from Mobile City outlet manager asking me to get the new phone at around 6pm today.. Yippe kaye…at last rclxms.gif rclxms.gif She will call me again once the courier delivered the phone to them.

10:10am: Elaine called me up again to confirm on the deal.

Wish me luck my friends..

This post has been edited by HM_Apfelbomb: Nov 3 2009, 10:35 AM
HM_Apfelbomb
post Nov 3 2009, 09:06 PM

46 posts

guys,

I got my new replacement phone sharp at 6:30pm today, on the 2nd day after I wrote the official email to Samsung yesterday. Confirmed SN, checked for any abnomalities and now i'm back exploring the phone's features.

Key take aways:
1. Samsung CS responding to my official email and attending to my complaints is A++ (for a Malaysian std). U hear that Samsung..let;s give credits where credits due.. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
2. However their processing time of replacement or cash back policy need improvement. One month? C'mon..
3. I think this Mobile City outlet was trying their best to help me getting the replacement (albeit all the esclations though). I have no problem buying a new phone from them again in future. However, my advice is when buying new phone, make sure to choose an authorized outlet. Better still go to big authorized outlet which has few units on hand. U will have better chance to get replacemetn on the spot if anything goes wrong. The outlet where i bought the phone basically only has only one set any one time. T
4. Tough luck for all the SG sets
5. if u are shopping for new O2 , avoid a set with SN: 3523 4403 0504 795 at all cost..dont tell me i didn't warn u...

Any further input??

HM_Apfelbomb
post Nov 5 2009, 05:40 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(72nd @ Nov 5 2009, 11:38 AM)
ok i have a battery problem like the one someone had mention before. it feels hot at the back and the battery runs out fast. however, sometimes the battery ok and its not hot. its being bothering me for 2 weeks now. kejap ok, kejap x.....

my steeaming player kinda gila already. it was ok last week, but suddenly kantoi. it would say 'data or sever time out' or it would buffer half-way only or it would play, but no visual comes out and the audio would be like when we fastfoward something... or sometimes it would play ok.
today it even stuck or lag when i open streaming player.  ihave turn off the phone to stop it.
my phone ikut mood if ut wants to run smoothly is it? lol

can i go to any samsung store to try and fixed this problem? because i bought this phone at LWP and i live in kedah~
thanks^^
check battery level => off phone => wait 1 minute => on phone => check battery level again

if battery level is significantly degrades after power on again, means hang punya phone kantoi la...

rgds Apfelbomb
HM_Apfelbomb
post Nov 7 2009, 11:31 PM

46 posts

Asphalt4 is nice..but damn power hungry game...

any similar games for recomendations?? drool.gif drool.gif

rgds
HM_Apfelbomb
post Nov 10 2009, 03:40 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(cired @ Nov 10 2009, 02:46 PM)
thanks for the feedback....

i think i will go ahead with omnia... will wait until WM 6.5 available in retail and try on it..
aiyaaa,,,,why wait one? flash yrself la to 6.5...

rgds
HM_Apfelbomb
post Nov 11 2009, 08:56 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(Punch_hOle @ Nov 10 2009, 11:42 PM)
How to define dead pixel?

have any pic?
it;s an annoying dot on the screen,, similar to yr nick... Punch_hOle....lol... rclxm9.gif
HM_Apfelbomb
post Nov 11 2009, 11:25 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(shutterdll @ Nov 11 2009, 11:20 AM)
k2 crash a lot.
tis morning almost cannot wake up coz samsung alarm crash lol

Added on November 11, 2009, 11:22 ambtw i flashed with vista x64.
click Detect first without plug-in o2,
then turn off and plug in, the download button will enable.

do it at ur own risk
major lag IK1..i had gone back to IJ9,,very stable,,still minor lag so i installed Spb Mobile Shell 3.5 on top ..man..i love every bit of it... thumbup.gif

rgds
HM_Apfelbomb
post Nov 11 2009, 01:28 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(shutterdll @ Nov 11 2009, 11:44 AM)
IJ9 got crash ?
nope..running fine few days already with ZERO crash/hang

Added on November 11, 2009, 1:31 pm
QUOTE(April2009 @ Nov 11 2009, 01:27 PM)
Happy with my Omnia 2. No battery issue mah. Win Mobile got more SW options to play with.
yeah..just installed the autorotation program (AutoRotation v1.1 from KingMobile by Pompoko)..
cool stuff,,now i can garmin in landscape mode,,,,wush wush ,,,, thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by HM_Apfelbomb: Nov 11 2009, 01:31 PM
HM_Apfelbomb
post Nov 11 2009, 04:09 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(72nd @ Nov 11 2009, 04:06 PM)
thanks  forthe reply. the deadpixel is really small one but pretty annoying because it  isnear  the center.
i'll go check/change the phone after spm ^^

that day i forgot that  iwas charging  thephone.  after5hours it only charge 92%. kong

already...and yes itis a FMGset
kaya la lu... baru mau ambik SPM dah boleh pakai h/p > RM2K... icon_rolleyes.gif
HM_Apfelbomb
post Nov 12 2009, 12:03 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(thinakaran @ Nov 11 2009, 10:59 PM)
I just flashed to IJ9... did some prog installing

AND just noticed that my speed dial in phone book is giving problem!! When ever i get to that window...
"problem has occured with SECContact.exe"
and error reporting page pops up!!!
Any ideas?

Wonder what else there is
ohmy.gif  shocking.gif  rclxub.gif
can't help u here..maybe reflash will rectify things...me, I just jumped to IJC from IJ9 tonite,,,so far so good.. nod.gif

rgds
HM_Apfelbomb
post Nov 12 2009, 11:50 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(thinakaran @ Nov 12 2009, 01:30 AM)
reflashed + hard reset... working perfectly now.

anyways... U flashed with the Sorg or Secany Singapore ROM?

Is there Asphalt4 included and the threaded sms by default?
I thought they were unmodified ROMs.

And theres no battery level shown on the taskbar  ohmy.gif

OMG, now the timezone cant be modified. I can't even change the clock time coz nothing happens when I click on 'New'.

Btw, flashing is really not the prob, its the installing softwares and setups that take a lot of time.  cool.gif
icon_rolleyes.gif
IJ9 was from Secani and IJC from Sorg but both should be official ROM with IJC more updated tahn IJ9.. I have no issues as u mentioned on both versions.

Asphalt is included and threaded SMS is by default for WM6.5

rgds

This post has been edited by HM_Apfelbomb: Nov 12 2009, 11:57 AM
HM_Apfelbomb
post Nov 13 2009, 03:51 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(lhongwuh @ Nov 13 2009, 01:45 PM)
1st time using digital camera/phone camera meh?
indoor/dark places sure quality not that good la..confirm got noise ma..
if not enuf light, the shutter will not be able to capture enuf light to produce a clear picture

i captured a funny picture today..
[attachmentid=1301676]
mat skodeng betol la kau ni,,lalat beromen pun kau snap....lol rclxm9.gif
nice pic though...
HM_Apfelbomb
post Nov 14 2009, 01:05 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(faidz85 @ Nov 13 2009, 09:37 PM)
Some input from me just in case anyone is wondering.

Firmware IK1/2 is not stable. Crashed randomly. I'm finding time to download IJC firmware since people said that it is the best so far.

As for accesories, I'd recommend capdase's softjacket over pdair silicone. The PDAir's is too soft and it behaves like rubber case.
I think as of now i will stay on IJC too quite a while until next major upgrades. Too many flashing is bad for yr health and yr phone too.. IJC has been great for me since my upgade 2 days ago or so...not a single hiccup..and IK1 is suck big time..

rgds

0.0452sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:23 PM