will that slow my phone down?possible to switch/move all under 'main storage' to 'my storage'?
Samsung I8000 Omnia II v2, All-in-one. Redefined
Nov 9 2009, 10:55 AM
392 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: land with lots of chocolates~~ |
hey guys a question, i was browsing through my memory setting and found "main storage" and "my storage"..my "main storage" has only 512mb and my garmin, spb, and games are all under that...what's the difference between both storage?
will that slow my phone down?possible to switch/move all under 'main storage' to 'my storage'? thanks |
Nov 9 2009, 11:08 AM
192 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Somewhere in the Northern Hemisphere... |
QUOTE(lord @ Nov 9 2009, 10:55 AM) hey guys a question, i was browsing through my memory setting and found "main storage" and "my storage"..my "main storage" has only 512mb and my garmin, spb, and games are all under that...what's the difference between both storage? Main Storage is the main phone memory where the OS is installed. It has a total of 512MB but 3/4 of it is reserved for the phone OS. Its like our PC hard drive which contains Windows folder in it.will that slow my phone down?possible to switch/move all under 'main storage' to 'my storage'? thanks My Storage is the 8GB storage which is built in to the Omnia II. Traditionally, its best to install all applications to the 8GB section except the important system applications (install them to the 512MB location). Based on your examples, install Garmin and games to My Storage and SPB to Main Storage. Also, Main Storage tend to be slightly better in performance than My Storage but its not noticeable. Added on November 9, 2009, 11:17 am QUOTE(skymade @ Nov 9 2009, 01:08 AM) QUOTE(thinakaran @ Nov 5 2009, 10:11 PM) I suppose no one has any idea bout the youtube streaming failure. currently using the youtube.cab from youtube website, working well. I have answered this question many times. The latest post here: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...20&p=29376662 After removing the proxy server, I was able to play Youtube files but a day later I get different errors, "RTSP Bad Reply". So, I too gave up and ended up using youtube.cab from YouTube itself. Have to admit that after using it, I like it WAY better than the default streaming player. I am able to search, preview, read details directly from app and it loads quickly too! This post has been edited by bluhound: Nov 9 2009, 11:24 AM |
Nov 9 2009, 11:46 AM
136 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
anyone knows any news regarding our new official ROM from Samsung?
Nov 9 2009, 12:00 PM
14 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
I tried Mapking R12 but it interfered with the Menu Button. But when tried to assign the button back to Menu, something strange happen. Menu button became very laggy.
Had to clean up the memory to remove the laggy problem :-( Is Garmin good? Does it default the turn on button to the Menu button? Thanks for your input. |
Nov 9 2009, 12:15 PM
136 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
QUOTE(April2009 @ Nov 9 2009, 12:00 PM) I tried Mapking R12 but it interfered with the Menu Button. But when tried to assign the button back to Menu, something strange happen. Menu button became very laggy. Garmin is a way better and works great for meHad to clean up the memory to remove the laggy problem :-( Is Garmin good? Does it default the turn on button to the Menu button? Thanks for your input. PM u later This post has been edited by thinakaran: Nov 9 2009, 09:10 PM |
Nov 9 2009, 01:05 PM
14 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
Thanks Thinakaran! I'll give it a try.
Nov 9 2009, 02:10 PM
btw for garmin, do you guys use bluetooth signal or gps intermediate driver? This post has been edited by lord: Nov 9 2009, 02:11 PM |
Nov 9 2009, 06:45 PM
93 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
how to do youtube.cab thingy? kinda lost..... hehe.
any idea if samsung waranthy cover dead-pixel problem or not. or should i just call them? the dead-pixel appears a few days ago. aiyooo so sad. spm 9 more days to go... matilah gua kali ni =( got the shitty A+ some more.kacau btul,startla next year since they announce the plan so late already! |
Nov 9 2009, 09:02 PM
1,604 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: Seremban |
@ thinakaran
You might want to PM him the link instead. That site contains warez. |
Nov 9 2009, 09:53 PM
303 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Cheras |
QUOTE(lord @ Nov 9 2009, 02:10 PM) Thanks. 1) You are browsing the "Main Storage" page where it show you the space that you consume in "Main Storage".btw for garmin, do you guys use bluetooth signal or gps intermediate driver? 2) In the same windows, the program list show you the program installed into your phones NOT your "Main Storage", even you might installed to "My Storage or Storage Card", .... imagine it is "Add/Remove Program" on you WinXP. 3) Even if you installed the program to "My Storage or Storage Card". It consume some space in your "Main Storage" for certain program. Imagine on WinXP, you installed to D but there are some DLL copied to Windows folder. 4) Garmin is one of the example will installed it's main program on root folder, but user folder on where you choose from. My Garmin using the default setting, which are COM 7 and COM 9, worked perfectly. This post has been edited by skymade: Nov 9 2009, 09:56 PM |
Nov 9 2009, 10:00 PM
25 posts Joined: May 2007 |
hi everyone...
i did a survey with i8000 , and comparing with diamond 2... i love i8000 very much due to AMOLED screen... but , when slide the samsung UI.. few a bit lag leh...is it common with others owner too..? i check on it last weekend at mid valley and the unit still in WM6.1 .. is it available in retail with WM6.5 ? currently I'm HTC user , too me is quite ok...but this i8000 really attractive... any comment guys.?? |
Nov 9 2009, 10:06 PM
QUOTE(cired @ Nov 9 2009, 10:00 PM) hi everyone... No doubt, the Samsung UI (called Samsung WidgetPlus) is laggy which affect all of us. The dream will come true once you disable it and use other UI (ex. SPB MSH).i did a survey with i8000 , and comparing with diamond 2... i love i8000 very much due to AMOLED screen... but , when slide the samsung UI.. few a bit lag leh...is it common with others owner too..? i check on it last weekend at mid valley and the unit still in WM6.1 .. is it available in retail with WM6.5 ? currently I'm HTC user , too me is quite ok...but this i8000 really attractive... any comment guys.?? I8000 with AMOLED, 800MHz processor, 3.7" touch screen, fully compatible with WM6.5, 3.5mm headphone jack, TV-Out (never tried)....etc. You make your chioce.... Added on November 9, 2009, 10:14 pm QUOTE(bluhound @ Nov 9 2009, 11:08 AM) After removing the proxy server, I was able to play Youtube files but a day later I get different errors, "RTSP Bad Reply". I'm interesting on your issue So, I too gave up and ended up using youtube.cab from YouTube itself. Have to admit that after using it, I like it WAY better than the default streaming player. I am able to search, preview, read details directly from app and it loads quickly too! Btw, "RTSP Bad reply" is the exact error appear? or RTSP Bad request? This post has been edited by skymade: Nov 9 2009, 10:14 PM |
Nov 9 2009, 10:16 PM
255 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
QUOTE(cired @ Nov 9 2009, 10:00 PM) hi everyone... watch movie/drama syiok also coz very cleari did a survey with i8000 , and comparing with diamond 2... i love i8000 very much due to AMOLED screen... but , when slide the samsung UI.. few a bit lag leh...is it common with others owner too..? i check on it last weekend at mid valley and the unit still in WM6.1 .. is it available in retail with WM6.5 ? currently I'm HTC user , too me is quite ok...but this i8000 really attractive... any comment guys.?? |
Nov 9 2009, 10:19 PM
Nov 9 2009, 10:24 PM
192 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Somewhere in the Northern Hemisphere... |
QUOTE(skymade @ Nov 9 2009, 10:06 PM) No doubt, the Samsung UI (called Samsung WidgetPlus) is laggy which affect all of us. The dream will come true once you disable it and use other UI (ex. SPB MSH). lol..yep its its 'RTSP Bad Request'... May bad.....I8000 with AMOLED, 800MHz processor, 3.7" touch screen, fully compatible with WM6.5, 3.5mm headphone jack, TV-Out (never tried)....etc. You make your chioce.... Added on November 9, 2009, 10:14 pm I'm interesting on your issue Btw, "RTSP Bad reply" is the exact error appear? or RTSP Bad request? Added on November 9, 2009, 10:29 pm QUOTE(lord @ Nov 9 2009, 02:10 PM) Thanks. Sozz... I forgot to explain this part too....btw for garmin, do you guys use bluetooth signal or gps intermediate driver? That is one quirk in Samsung's Settings app. No matter where you install your stuff (be it in main storage, my storage or storage card) it will still show under Main Storage but actually its installed in the location you selected. There are a handful of apps though which install in multiple places which skymade has mentioned. Anyway, if you are curious on where your apps are installed, you can try using file manager and browse though Program Files folder in all drives and find the name of the app you just installed.... This post has been edited by bluhound: Nov 9 2009, 10:29 PM |
Nov 9 2009, 10:57 PM
Great news to all of us omnia 2 users.
I have been waiting this for a long time and finally... We meet Samsung Application Store on our PC now. Be ready for the Samsung's wave. Samsung just release an application "Samsun Kies" with features like download those (free or paid) applications specifically designed for our belove Omnia 2. That's not all, Kies allow us to browse through our Omnia phone, backup/edit contacts list, copy media to/from phones.... and much more features, all under Kies. 1) Browse to this webpage: http://www.samsungapps.com/ 2) Click on 'about' and follow the instruction to download the application. 3) During installation, select your prefer language, BUT CHOOSE YOUR COUNTRY AS "UK/ITALY/FRANCE". You couldn't run application store if you choose Malaysia or Singapore due to it's not available in our region yet. ) Have FUN!!! Below image capture from my PC: I've tried on few free applications, Band Drum really amazing me, i never thought i can play drums on my phones. .wakakkaka, i'm not a musician. This post has been edited by skymade: Nov 9 2009, 11:16 PM |
Nov 10 2009, 01:27 AM
14 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
Aloha OmnIan...
What is the price for omnia 2 right now? Anyone know? Must have been drop below 1800? |
Nov 10 2009, 05:33 AM
QUOTE(skymade @ Nov 9 2009, 09:53 PM) 1) You are browsing the "Main Storage" page where it show you the space that you consume in "Main Storage". 2) In the same windows, the program list show you the program installed into your phones NOT your "Main Storage", even you might installed to "My Storage or Storage Card", .... imagine it is "Add/Remove Program" on you WinXP. 3) Even if you installed the program to "My Storage or Storage Card". It consume some space in your "Main Storage" for certain program. Imagine on WinXP, you installed to D but there are some DLL copied to Windows folder. 4) Garmin is one of the example will installed it's main program on root folder, but user folder on where you choose from. My Garmin using the default setting, which are COM 7 and COM 9, worked perfectly. QUOTE(bluhound @ Nov 9 2009, 10:24 PM) lol..yep its its 'RTSP Bad Request'... May bad..... thanks for explaining Added on November 9, 2009, 10:29 pm Sozz... I forgot to explain this part too.... That is one quirk in Samsung's Settings app. No matter where you install your stuff (be it in main storage, my storage or storage card) it will still show under Main Storage but actually its installed in the location you selected. There are a handful of apps though which install in multiple places which skymade has mentioned. Anyway, if you are curious on where your apps are installed, you can try using file manager and browse though Program Files folder in all drives and find the name of the app you just installed.... |
Nov 10 2009, 05:48 AM
1,604 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: Seremban |
Nov 10 2009, 11:40 AM
130 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
QUOTE(72nd @ Nov 9 2009, 06:45 PM) how to do youtube.cab thingy? kinda lost..... hehe. so fast get dead pixel? sad to hear that.any idea if samsung waranthy cover dead-pixel problem or not. or should i just call them? the dead-pixel appears a few days ago. aiyooo so sad. spm 9 more days to go... matilah gua kali ni =( got the shitty A+ some more.kacau btul,startla next year since they announce the plan so late already! |
| Change to: | 0.0301sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:39 AM |