142 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Samsung I8000 Omnia II v2, All-in-one. Redefined

bluhound
post Sep 21 2009, 01:07 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(thinakaran @ Sep 21 2009, 12:29 PM)
How bout NAVFon that comes with some Omnia 2 phones? Is it any better?
QUOTE(thinakaran @ Sep 21 2009, 12:40 PM)
it comes with a free license from NAVFon.
Reseller's Page
QUOTE(thinakaran @ Sep 21 2009, 12:47 PM)
aites dude.. let us know..
OK, tested it. Not exactly to my liking though. The layout is crude. Not as refined as Garmin Mobile XT. Maps are also not as detailed as MFM and MSM maps.
Looks like its more suitable for Singapore maps.
GPS lock on is about the same as Garmin's.
However, I need to set the GPS baud rate to 9600 for NavFone and 57600 for Garmin. As for me, I'll stick to my trusty ol' Garmin. smile.gif

Added on September 21, 2009, 1:09 pm
QUOTE(fhfoomelaka @ Sep 21 2009, 01:00 PM)
i made a hard reset, looks like the main storage becomes 104mb, i don't know if i sync with my outlook what will happen.
this is the pouch I bought in Singapore S$18
Dang, been looking all around for that kind of casing... The stock pouch is troublesome. When someone calls me, by the time I managed to take my phone out... 1 miss call.
Too bad I'm staying on the other side of M'sia. sad.gif

This post has been edited by bluhound: Sep 21 2009, 01:09 PM
HoneyBadger
post Sep 21 2009, 01:27 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(CrisisX @ Sep 21 2009, 11:34 AM)
talking bout s2u2, i tried once and need to unlock from the ori lock screen, then only unlock again with s2u2, which i feel kinda pointless

or izit some settings tat can allow s2u2 to totally replace the ori lock screen?
you can turn off the stock lock screen by going to Samsung's 'Setting'->'Display & Light'->'Lock Screen' and untick 'Lock when device is woken up'
thinakaran
post Sep 21 2009, 01:33 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(bluhound @ Sep 21 2009, 01:07 PM)
OK, tested it.  Not exactly to my liking though.  The layout is crude.  Not as refined as Garmin Mobile XT.  Maps are also not as detailed as MFM and MSM maps.
Looks like its more suitable for Singapore maps.
GPS lock on is about the same as Garmin's.
However, I need to set the GPS baud rate to 9600 for NavFone and 57600 for Garmin.  As for me, I'll stick to my trusty ol' Garmin.  smile.gif

Added on September 21, 2009, 1:09 pm

Dang, been looking all around for that kind of casing...  The stock pouch is troublesome.  When someone calls me, by the time I managed to take my phone out... 1 miss call.
Too bad I'm staying on the other side of M'sia.  sad.gif
thanks a lot dude.. that was a fast update!!
so we shall stick to Garmin whistling.gif
HoneyBadger
post Sep 21 2009, 01:47 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(fhfoomelaka @ Sep 21 2009, 01:42 AM)
just got my singtel Set yesterday at S$598.
Now try to figure how to activate threaded sms, anyone got any clue?
and the auto screen orientation only works for opera mobile?
This might help SMS Tweaker or you can download Vito's SMS-Chat

deeplyheartbroken
post Sep 21 2009, 04:02 PM

774 posts

The satelite lock for Omnia II is pretty slow on Garmin Mobile XT despite having XTRA/A-GPS support. Not sure if it works better on other software.
CrisisX
post Sep 21 2009, 04:13 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(HoneyBadger @ Sep 21 2009, 01:27 PM)
you can turn off the stock lock screen by going to Samsung's 'Setting'->'Display & Light'->'Lock Screen' and untick 'Lock when device is woken up'
Thanks bro, this solve my problem

This post has been edited by CrisisX: Sep 21 2009, 04:19 PM
bluhound
post Sep 21 2009, 04:22 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(deeplyheartbroken @ Sep 21 2009, 04:02 PM)
The satelite lock for Omnia II is pretty slow on Garmin Mobile XT despite having XTRA/A-GPS support. Not sure if it works better on other software.
It is quite slow for the first startup. I guess its the weak antenna inside. When I first used the GPS it took me more than 10 mins to get a lock. After that it only takes less than a minute.

QUOTE(CrisisX @ Sep 21 2009, 04:13 PM)
Thanks bro, this solve my problem

btw, i noticed some users have asphalt n crayon physics game, but i don have these games
is this because malaysia omnia does not provide this?
is there anywhere i can get a hold of these games?
or can some1 recommend some website to download free games?

Crayon Physics and Asphalt are somewhere in Modaco forum. "Search".

shutterdll
post Sep 21 2009, 05:20 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(CrisisX @ Sep 21 2009, 11:34 AM)
talking bout s2u2, i tried once and need to unlock from the ori lock screen, then only unlock again with s2u2, which i feel kinda pointless

or izit some settings tat can allow s2u2 to totally replace the ori lock screen?
setting-general setting-display and light-lock screen, then u can disable it.
lhongwuh
post Sep 21 2009, 09:06 PM

~stary stary nite~
1,991 posts

GPS lockdown speed is hardware matter,not software.
regardless of whether u use garmion or agis,the lockdown speed should be similar..
o ya...did u guys notice the gps extender slot when u open up the back case?
looks like those in my old dopod d810..
bluhound
post Sep 21 2009, 10:42 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(lhongwuh @ Sep 21 2009, 09:06 PM)
GPS lockdown speed is hardware matter,not software.
regardless of whether u use garmion or agis,the lockdown speed should be similar..
o ya...did u guys notice the gps extender slot when u open up the back case?
looks like those in my old dopod d810..
Couldn't agree more. smile.gif

Yep, I have noticed the GPS socket. Its an MCX connector. I have an external GPS antenna but I have no idea how to plug it in while keeping the back case closed.
A future custom or extra enhancement back panel, maybe? whistling.gif

thinakaran
post Sep 21 2009, 11:47 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(bluhound @ Sep 21 2009, 10:42 PM)
Couldn't agree more.  smile.gif

Yep, I have noticed the GPS socket.  Its an MCX connector.  I have an external GPS antenna but I have no idea how to plug it in while keeping the back case closed.
A future custom or extra enhancement back panel, maybe?  whistling.gif
owh this is something new, even I didn't realize the socket... hmmm hw shall it be used eyh rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

Baronic
post Sep 22 2009, 02:10 AM

Problem?
7,533 posts

interesting. i maybe interested in this device for my next try. i wanna test the gaming capabilities though. anyone available for a meet up in TTDI / 1U area? wanna install some games and test the hardware acceleration. will leave whatever i install in your phone thumbup.gif

btw, why dont u guys use the standard 6.5 plug in instead of that touch wiz?

also, where do u guys go for your cooked roms? for HTC we go for XDA devs. for Samsung? are there any cooked roms?

This post has been edited by Baronic: Sep 22 2009, 02:13 AM
korbin
post Sep 22 2009, 02:22 AM

441 posts

i m getting the phone tomorrow,but i m still in doubt to pick diamond 2 or omnia.
LuVz
post Sep 22 2009, 04:17 AM

169 posts

bro. u can add me in the user list..

btw.. can i noe how to update my firmware ?

and where do i get more games and themes on it ?
TSauhckw
post Sep 22 2009, 07:35 AM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Sep 22 2009, 02:10 AM)
interesting. i maybe interested in this device for my next try. i wanna test the gaming capabilities though. anyone available for a meet up in TTDI / 1U area? wanna install some games and test the hardware acceleration. will leave whatever i install in your phone  thumbup.gif

also, where do u guys go for your cooked roms? for HTC we go for XDA devs. for Samsung? are there any cooked roms?
For ROM - http://www.modaco.com/category/410/i8000-o...000-modaco-com/

Currently I have not come across cooked ROM for Omnia II yet. But Samsung seems to release their ROM quite fast. At times, 3 times a week.

QUOTE(korbin @ Sep 22 2009, 02:22 AM)
i m getting the phone tomorrow,but i m still in doubt to pick diamond 2 or omnia.
Diamond 2 - small screen + lower CPU.

QUOTE(LuVz @ Sep 22 2009, 04:17 AM)
bro. u can add me in the user list..

btw.. can i noe how to update my firmware ?

and where do i get more games and themes on it ?
Firmware - Post #3 - Do this at your own risk smile.gif
mikehwy
post Sep 22 2009, 11:28 AM

17,100 posts

hi all,

what is the price for this Omnia II now?

anyone willing to let go here pleaase/

thank you.

TSauhckw
post Sep 22 2009, 11:34 AM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(mikehwy @ Sep 22 2009, 11:28 AM)
hi all,

thank you.
As of last Sat, RM2100.

I can let go for RM2300? Mau? brows.gif
scofield
post Sep 22 2009, 11:39 AM

1,252 posts

QUOTE(mikehwy @ Sep 22 2009, 11:28 AM)
hi all,

thank you.
FMG set are priced around RM2100..you can look around at garage sales section..that price is the cheapest so far for a new set..
binqo89
post Sep 22 2009, 11:54 AM

138 posts

the oxford english - chinese dictionary isit free ?
where to download thanks !
lhongwuh
post Sep 22 2009, 03:10 PM

~stary stary nite~
1,991 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Sep 22 2009, 02:10 AM)
interesting. i maybe interested in this device for my next try. i wanna test the gaming capabilities though. anyone available for a meet up in TTDI / 1U area? wanna install some games and test the hardware acceleration. will leave whatever i install in your phone  thumbup.gif

wow...Baronic joining the samsung clan?
this is grand bro! laugh.gif u've always been a htc kaki all this while..
too bad u r in that area.i'm in batu caves area...otherwise can borrow u play for a day...hehe
btw,the standard is still 6.1...6.5 not out leh..

142 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0232sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 01:24 AM