Bodybuilding Thread V6, Bodybuilding Discussion

ken86
post Jan 27 2010, 04:42 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(Majinity @ Jan 27 2010, 11:56 AM)
DL the file below and perform the assessment.

I will give you the corresponding corrective exercises

it's from eric cressey's latest assess and correct. Great product

This post has been edited by ken86: Jan 27 2010, 04:51 PM

Attached File(s)
Attached File  Shoulder_Assessment.pdf ( 814.55k ) Number of downloads: 61
Majinity
post Jan 27 2010, 06:49 PM

792 posts

QUOTE(shanecross @ Jan 27 2010, 02:12 PM)
UiTM has no gym?
I'm not sure where. Anyone?

QUOTE(ken86 @ Jan 27 2010, 04:42 PM)
DL the file below and perform the assessment.

I will give you the corresponding corrective exercises

it's from eric cressey's latest assess and correct. Great product
Thanks. This is to cure the pain? (Man, I've so much to learn)

ken86
post Jan 27 2010, 08:48 PM

406 posts

it's an assessment. IF you are right, you will probably not pass one/two of them out of the four(I am not gonna reveal which one as people tend to be aware of that particular movement and try hard to convince themselves they are ok when performing that movement)

It will help alleviate your pain by laying off pressing motion and working on the corrective exercises.
Majinity
post Jan 27 2010, 10:08 PM

792 posts

QUOTE(ken86 @ Jan 27 2010, 08:48 PM)
it's an assessment. IF you are right, you will probably not pass one/two of them out of the four(I am not gonna reveal which one as people tend to be aware of that particular movement and try hard to convince themselves they are ok when performing that movement)
It will help alleviate your pain by laying off pressing motion and working on the corrective exercises.
I can do all. But on the 3rd one, feel a bit pain. That means I'm all good? This is great news.
ken86
post Jan 27 2010, 11:02 PM

406 posts

I think i phrase it wrongly

"If you are right about where the pain is radiating from ... "

3rd assessment - that's a sign of rotator cuff impingement that is expected which is very normal for instance flaring your elbows excessively when bench pressing, etc. I am surprised you can perform the 4th one.

the 3rd one what is your definition of pain ?

do u have
1) less than 70 degree of rotation
2) You raise your head upwards to compensate for the lack of rotation?

Majinity
post Jan 27 2010, 11:29 PM

792 posts

"flaring elbows excessively" , I've been working on that in my last bench. And whats the 4th saying?

3rd one, when near and at 70 degree, feel the pain like kena tekan like that. No raising head.
yeah_guyz
post Jan 27 2010, 11:39 PM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

i have my inner part of my elbow pain recently whenever i holding the bar during squat.

i was thinking perhaps it is the trigger point. and i tried to roll my triceps today.. and damn..it is so damn painful, so damn tight tongue.gif .. i hope..it is the trigger point matter rather than other problem
ken86
post Jan 27 2010, 11:51 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(Majinity @ Jan 27 2010, 11:29 PM)
"flaring elbows excessively" , I've been working on that in my last bench. And whats the 4th saying?

3rd one, when near and at 70 degree, feel the pain like kena tekan like that. No raising head.
rotator cuff impingement is bad = DON"T BENCH WITH YOUR ELBOWS FLARED OUT. a slight tuck is best. the 4th is saying a lot of things which I dun think you can capture it well.

just stay with the rotator cuff impingement and I know the age old bb saying of benching with your elbows flared for more chest involvement. which would you prefer ? short term benching or long term shoulder health.

work on strengthening the rotator cuff stability.

How much do u bench ? if it's at least 60kgs and you can't even pullup, that's clearly an imbalance there.

bata
post Jan 28 2010, 01:27 AM

3,726 posts

QUOTE(Majinity @ Jan 27 2010, 06:49 PM)
I'm not sure where. Anyone?
Thanks. This is to cure the pain? (Man, I've so much to learn)
got. search harder, its your study place. LOL.
ask speedom, he posted it HERE

almost all U got gym.

Chow
Majinity
post Jan 28 2010, 07:52 AM

792 posts

QUOTE(ken86 @ Jan 27 2010, 11:51 PM)
rotator cuff impingement is bad = DON"T BENCH WITH YOUR ELBOWS FLARED OUT. a slight tuck is best. the 4th is saying a lot of things which I dun think you can capture it well.

just stay with the rotator cuff impingement and I know the age old bb saying of benching with your elbows flared for more chest involvement. which would you prefer ? short term benching or long term shoulder health.

work on strengthening the rotator cuff stability.

How much do u bench ? if it's at least 60kgs and you can't even pullup, that's clearly an imbalance there.
Nah. 60kg too much. I'm just starting out, and just got a hold on bench. Last time doing dumbbell bench never had the pain, or maybe last time because its never heavy? For the nearly 2weeks, I've been trying with bench of only Oly bar to work with my form. My weight around 47kg, skinny.

Thanks again, I'd do a look up on strengthening my rotator cuff stability. rclxms.gif
ken86
post Jan 28 2010, 10:28 AM

406 posts

just follow these
http://www.tmuscle.com/free_online_article...nster_shoulders

If you can bench with the Oly bar for 8-10 reps, I suggest adding the weight progressively.

DB bench is sometimes easier on the shoulder as we vary the angle freely as opposed to the pressing the barbell (a long rigid stick) with both hands

Regardless, you are still not awesome if you can't pullup at all.
swks26
post Jan 28 2010, 10:46 AM

CEO RM20k/day
942 posts

QUOTE(ken86 @ Jan 28 2010, 10:28 AM)

Am I awesome if I can do chin ups? laugh.gif

kurtkob78
post Jan 28 2010, 11:06 AM

Do your best
3,833 posts

Chin up is easier than pull up. I donno why. And wide pull up is harder than narrow pull up. I'm working on my wide pullup now. What's you guys max pull up ? thumbup.gif
JonYeap
post Jan 28 2010, 11:20 AM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

i am fat and weigh around 87-88kg.
max pull up, around 10 reps
iamyuanwu
post Jan 28 2010, 11:44 AM

2,425 posts

AWESOME if you can do 20 pull ups.

AAAWWWWWWWESOME when you can do 1 arm pull ups.

I can do neither.
Therefore I'm not awesome.

[/rant]

Added on January 28, 2010, 11:46 am
QUOTE(ken86 @ Jan 28 2010, 10:28 AM)
just follow these
http://www.tmuscle.com/free_online_article...nster_shoulders

If you can bench with the Oly bar for 8-10 reps, I suggest adding the weight progressively. 

DB bench is sometimes easier on the shoulder as we vary the angle freely as opposed to the pressing the barbell (a long rigid stick) with both hands

Speaking of YTWL, you guys really have got to check out Tumminello's guide on YTWL.
He modded it and called it LYTP.

http://nicktumminello.com/2009/07/a-new-and-improved-ytwl/

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Jan 28 2010, 11:46 AM
JonYeap
post Jan 28 2010, 01:39 PM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

my aim is to do 3 sets of 12 by end of march
kurtkob78
post Jan 28 2010, 02:00 PM

Do your best
3,833 posts

what u mean ? Pull up ? I find that pull up use alot of my energy. Can do set 1 with almost perfect form. Set 2, with worse form and set 3 with worst form. Pull up drain so much of the energy. Now I'm trying to eat more carb before pull up session drool.gif
iamyuanwu
post Jan 28 2010, 02:07 PM

2,425 posts

Just started the Armstrong routine.
It says 20 pullups in 6-8 weeks woh. See how it goes. =D

I want lats so wide, I can glide in the air when I jump! X^D

I guess the best way to add more pull ups is to add weights. The stronger you are, the more pull ups you can do.
ken86
post Jan 28 2010, 02:54 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(kurtkob78 @ Jan 28 2010, 02:00 PM)
what u mean ? Pull up ? I find that pull up use alot of my energy. Can do set 1 with almost perfect form. Set 2, with worse form and set 3 with worst form. Pull up drain so much of the energy. Now I'm trying to eat more carb before pull up session drool.gif
sign of weak lats. Pull-ups are harder. This is because your biceps are in a mechanically less efficient position, which is fancy talk for “you can’t use them as much.” By putting the biceps in a weaker arrangement, you create a weak link. Movement will stop when this link fails, and the decreased load that you can use with pull-ups because of mechanical inefficiency at the elbow joint carries over to less loading on the lats. Therefore, the harder the movement, the less you can do.

But I strongly believe in doing things you suck at, I could do 20 reps of pullups easily when I managed 10 sets of 10 reps per session. Another thing is pavel's mantra of greasing the groove.
yeah_guyz
post Jan 28 2010, 03:15 PM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

the best way to train pull up is get the door bar gym imo

everytime u pass the door, do 1 set.

keep increasing the reps every week.

that is what i do for dips...lol

if you guy have any good article/ journal for pull up, do share here.

http://talkback.stomp.com.sg/forums/showthread.php?t=10779

http://manlypat.wordpress.com/2009/05/21/r...ull-up-program/

150 Pages « < 79 80 81 82 83 > » Top

0.0226sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:40 PM