4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Bodybuilding Thread V6, Bodybuilding Discussion

ken86
post Nov 3 2009, 10:17 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(de.crystal @ Nov 2 2009, 10:52 PM)
am i asking stupid questions?
no one seems to answer my questions  cry.gif
1. What supplement should i take to increase my strength and in the meantime, wont cause high bf? Planning to reduce my bf first.
Are u even following a sound nutrition plan ? why not keep your diet in check and follow proper progression in weights/intensity, rest periods, etc? Supplement are meant to supplement what you are doing not do wonders .. stick to the basics,not paralysis by over-analysis

2. overhead press in sitting position is better or should do it while standing? as i realise if i do it in sitting position, my abs also being worked out (mb i perasan?). Cause i have to suck in my tummy in doing so.

just stop complaining and do it, worry bout details later. I prefer doing it standing, works my CORE lol laugh.gif
The "crunch generation" has been brainwashed into sucking their tummy in when performing exercises. You are supposed to have your core tight and full of energy, you supposed to feel anchored in your lower abdomen. what do u feel when u suck ur tummy in. Like a weak disconnected beauty queen. Go get a manicure !

3. because of doing all these, i have not been doing cardio, will it affect my fat burning effect? cz i wanna loose bf

I know having low bf is wonderful but how much do you weight at the moment ? a paltry 60 kgs ? why not concentrate on building some muscle mass and strength then talk about looking all "TONED" AND CUT UP. can't believe I used the word TONE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

over and out, I can see why questions like these pisses all the veterannss away.

This post has been edited by ken86: Nov 3 2009, 10:24 AM
ken86
post Nov 3 2009, 11:44 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Nov 3 2009, 11:42 PM)
Increase your calories by a significant margin and continue the workout. Not optimal, but when you're chasing 2 things at one time, chances are you'll end up being good at nothing, and mediocre at both. Something that's expected anyway.
EXACTLY .. well said, you can't serve two masters at once smile.gif
ken86
post Nov 9 2009, 02:29 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(Hammond Tan @ Nov 8 2009, 08:10 PM)
I've been going to gym for about 1 month now.
173cm 89kg
my form isn't 100% correct but i think i should be able to get like..7/10 for my form
What you guys think of my routine?

Back Squat        5x5
Bench Press        5x5
Deadlift              1x5
Overhead Press  5x5

My rule is these core exercises must be done every workout with increasing weight.

Reverse Crunch              3x12
Prone Bridge                  3x30 seconds
Bench Dumbbell Press    4 sets of 12 10 8 6
Bench Dumbbell Flat        same
Incline Dumbbell Press    same
Dips                              3xf
Push ups                        3xf    both hands close together, medium and far apart.

HIIT

The Bear Complex WOD

Power clean
Front squat
Push press
Back squat
Push press

7 sets x 5 rounds (or till i'm half dead)
Go home.....

Reverse Crunch, Prone Bridge , The Bear Complex WOD are done everyday too.
First post in Lowyat forum!

rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Wow.. the volume of the workout is insane .. You are gonna be over-reaching soon (over-reaching is not overtraining). Why not start with a basic strength routine like 5x5, starting strength stuffs, or a basic full body routine.

I know the temptation of gaining MIRROR muscles (too many chest exercises for your core routine ??) and losing fat(from you Bear Complex WOD for METCON), but you can't serve two masters at once plus U've only been to the gym for one month. Take it easy, eat well, rest well, train hard and READ. U will make gains easily (especially beginners just starting out, perfect for growth)

And the technical lifts(power clean, front squat).Contrary to popular beliefs, watching youtube doesn't count and this lifts can';t be mastered with one month of training.

ken86
post Nov 10 2009, 10:04 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Nov 9 2009, 07:32 PM)
First time I look at his workouts, I instantly thought "Greg Everett" and "Dan Brown" and "Mark Rippetoe" are SO not gonna be happy.
HAHAHAHAHA

Dan Brown ? Are u talking bout dan john lol? isn't dan brown = author of da vincci's code

how was the teaching session ? I envy your technical knowledge on olympic lifts !!!
ken86
post Nov 12 2009, 04:03 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Nov 12 2009, 12:07 PM)
yes.
no. They are actually called cross-dresser.

Added on November 12, 2009, 4:23 pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RZXb-U7vRmM

HAHA !

This post has been edited by ken86: Nov 12 2009, 04:26 PM
ken86
post Nov 16 2009, 10:55 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(angrydog @ Nov 15 2009, 09:27 PM)
The mirror.
I couldn't concur more to your statement but no one seem to see it the same light as you and I do sad.gif. They choose to worry bout minutia stuffs, so what if the caliper shows you are at 17.12345% BF. If you can't see your abs, you aren't lean enough (I am aware that abs are not the epitome of a strong muscular physique)
ken86
post Nov 17 2009, 09:16 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(pedro @ Nov 17 2009, 08:04 AM)
Anybody have experience with Tendinitis?

I have a dull pain in the right elbow that increases when i move it,not sure of the diagnostic yet.
I used to have the same problem when I first started. It feels like the elbow is ripping off during barbell tricep extension !!!!!!! Too much pressing movement in your routine, I was going thru your journal. Pressing movement > Pulling movement both horizontal and vertical plane. You need to include more rowing motions (from waht i Conceived, there is no rowing motion in your routine) and layoff the pressing movement or start adding some board presses(let me know if u wanna know how)

it's disheartening i know. But taking two steps back now ensures long term progress.

A few solutions I learnt from EliteFTS

1)Tricep extension using chains (go to a hardware store and get the 1/4' or 5/8' diameter chains) instead of DB's or BB's. This way there is less weight at the bottom of the lift where there's more stress on the joint and more at the top. It's has worked well and I have gotten stronger while doing it.

2)JM press while lying on the floor and using a fat bar (get some air conditioning ductin(black in colour), cut it and wrap it around the bar). Not sure about all of the science behind it, but the fat bar changes the angle of the movement and seems to take some of the pressure off the elbow and puts it on the meaty portion of the tricep just above the elbow. It does put some stress on the joint, but the shortened movement aleviates a lot of it.

3)High Board presses (1-board, 2-board, 3-board press) also shorten the range of motion and stress placed on the joint, but still put a tremendous amount of stress on the tricep allowing it get stronger. Even using heavier weights you should still be alright.

4)Wear neoprene elbow sleeves. It keeps the joint warm and offers some support at the same time.

5)Glucosamine/Chondroitin and Fish oil supplements. I have been taking these for a while and have noticed a huge difference. Plus, all three of the Orthopaedists I see recommended it. They can't all be wrong, right?

ken86
post Nov 17 2009, 10:10 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(pedro @ Nov 17 2009, 09:28 AM)
Thanx bro!

Used to be on Glucosamine for the knee problem,I'll start again!

I had to Google the board press and JM press but now i know what they are and how to do it!

You're right my rows are somewhat limited.

I guess I should rest it now,right?
But for how long?
It's very subjective. Glucosamine + Fish Oil. Yes layoff pressing movement, how many pullups do u do ?

I suggest about a month ? i know the temptation to starting pressing again ASAP (it happened many times when I tell others that have elbow problems). to be frank, you have a lot mirror muscle movements (chest , biceps , etc.) in your routine. Why not work on squats ? more back exercises ? lower back exercises ? hamstring movement ?
ken86
post Nov 17 2009, 12:09 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Nov 17 2009, 11:43 AM)
The more you avoid the squats saying it's a knee problem, the more it isn't going to go away. There's a reason why things such as a 1/4 squats, box squats, atg squats, half squats, eccentric pin squats, squats from bottom up are used.

You don't have to go heavy in fact, you can always do between 16-20 repetitions with an empty bar and focus on standing up straight, and not round the buttocks up thus using the hamstrings (A LOT of ppl do that)
pizza care to explain more ? there are many school for squats, the powerlifting squat (wide stance, sit back), olympic squat (narrow stance, atg ) and then the rippetoe squat (using the hip drive, low bar position)

even the box squat , u have the mike boyle's touch and go style box squat or the dave tate's louie simmon's style box squat.

Pedro - I highly suggest you read http://www.tmuscle.com/free_online_article...for_dummies&cr=

it;s not your conventional bodybuilding type routine but there are many imbalances in your routine structure now. and U dun need CURLZ FOR BIG GUNZ, I may not have big arms but I NEVER DO barbell curls or whatever (only weighted chip/pullups and lots of them) and 1-arm DB Row.

many probodybuilders barbell curl with a strong foundation to start with and hoping it will increase their arm size (they've been training for years !!).
ken86
post Nov 17 2009, 12:25 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Nov 17 2009, 12:15 PM)
A lot of people, even in Pushmore that I've seen, round up. Meaning, it looks as if they are standing up, but they go backwards instead of upwards. Then their torso position has 3 angles. Start angle, then midway, then finishing angle.

My torso if I am at the lowest position and my angle's at 60 degrees, all the way till before lockout, I'll ensure it's at 60 degrees.

It's one of those things you'll get after seeing hundreds of hours of squatting and your own squatting too.
Another way to ensure this, is by pushing against the weights while descending. As in, don't let the weights drive you in, rather you drive against the weights and control the descend. I've seen too many people control until 3/4 squat and just a second before they hit depth, they lose tightness and then have the knees in, torso haywire, butt sideways.
that being said, when performing squat, what coaching cues do you give ?

So what you are trying to say is the bar should stay centered at mid-foot. Keep your muscles tight ALL THE WAY for elastic energy. Don't go down too fast. Hips and shoulder rise at the same pace. maintain back angle during descent. stay tight. Do not let knee travel forward and knee caving in/collapsing inwards ?

thanks for your time and great weightlifting article!
ken86
post Nov 17 2009, 10:36 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(pedro @ Nov 17 2009, 09:13 PM)
Thanx for the explanation!

If i recall correctly there is 2 types of muscle fibers,fast twitch and another,which one is doing most of the job here?
does it matter whether is type I or type IIa and IIb fibers (these are minutia stuffs for the advanced trainees), Keep pounding the weights with a balance sound routine (like what pizzaboy suggested), with strength comes hyperthrophy !

power to you comrade. (pavel style lol)
ken86
post Nov 20 2009, 12:27 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(david890701 @ Nov 20 2009, 11:12 AM)
i was just posting a question here, looking for a guide from anyone less hostile. Thanks for calling me thickheaded though. That makes me respect u less

Added on November 20, 2009, 11:16 amif i'd have access to scale, would i even go google for "how to calculate body fat" ? Thats pretty clear isnt it?
he's not being hostile, he;s just being brutally honest. No one likes honesty , everyone likes to lie themselves aka rationalizing. Look at your picture, you have no visible abs outline and hence 13% is well ... ludicrous

few ways to measure body fat if you really want to know

1. using calipers - jackson/pollock 3,4 or 7 site method.

2. using bod pods/dexa scan

3. some weird device that puts u in chamber filled with water can't recall the name cause I don't need to know.

as i mentioned before, what if you know your BF% = 17.53212312% , will you do anything any different ?. You need a sound nutrition plan and training routine not worrying bout the exact figures of your BF% cause no matter what the numbers are, you have a long way more to go buddy.

keep pushin on david. good luck

just a note.
I am being honest , not hostile.
ken86
post Nov 21 2009, 11:29 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(-Dan @ Nov 21 2009, 11:02 AM)
I got an x-ray and he confirmed that I had damaged a muscle/ligament in my lower back. I got a few painkillers but they don't do much good. Been injured for nearly 3 months now. Can't do any lower body work because anything that puts my body in a squatting position or arches/curls my back to a certain degree causes a sharp pain in my lower back which goes down to the pelvic area.
where exactly is the pain projecting ? The lumbar spine or thoracic region ? what did the doctor said ? lordotic or kyphotic curve ? I m no expert but x-ray is to diagnose the problem . You need a proper physiotherapist to get you back on track. painkillers is just gonna make matters worse, get to the root of the problem, rehab , start light. it's better to take two steps back now for long term progress instead of getting an injury and can't lift forever.

I highly suggest you pick up stuart mc gill's lower back disorder book , very "sciency" but contains tons of info.

Added on November 21, 2009, 11:31 am
QUOTE(yeah_guyz @ Nov 21 2009, 11:25 AM)
take a rest, and go buy a tennis ball, try to roll it around your glute area, google the Tennis ball trigger point
see whether it helps or not?
seriously, the glute and the lower back may be part of the posterior chain. but giving suggestion without knowing where exactly is he injured, imho is dangerous.

This post has been edited by ken86: Nov 21 2009, 11:31 AM
ken86
post Nov 23 2009, 11:04 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(Florian @ Nov 21 2009, 07:14 PM)
I feel that the carb cycling thing is lowering my lifts. I've been cutting my rice/oatmeal intake into half for the past 3 weeks I today suddenly when I do chest, lifting 60kg on incline for 8 reps felt like lifting a ton. I have been sleeping a lot for the past 1 week, 12+hours, and still I want to sleep more.
Florian - How's your carb rotation like ? When the carbs are high, gotta keep the fats low and vice versa.

desvaro - nice link , I almost forgot I had the videos damn. Also check out their products inside-out, magnificent mobility, bullet proof knees, indianapolis seminar, building the efficient athlete. Can be found 'online if you look hard enough.

alzaim - whole foods man .. whole foods .. or some quality whey products . The nitric oxide dilates your blood vessels, it doesn't help shuffling nutrients besides giving you a pump (which I think is a highly placebo effect).
ken86
post Nov 23 2009, 10:34 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(angrydog @ Nov 23 2009, 07:51 PM)
Stew.  Make a big pot of it, freeze individual portions.
exactly what I do.

I go to the morning butcher, buy 3 lbs worth of eye of round. I wash it, trim any visible fats (eye of round are really really lean), I marinate it with paprika, pepper, salt, mustard seed and some turmeric. Pan seared it for 3 - 5 minutes each side.

Cut up shit load of onions, fennel (if you can find them), carrots and brussel sprouts. Put some rosemary sprigs, fresh thyme leaves and a hint of basil. (yea I like to cook, u can cut all these out if you want to)

throw them all in the crock pot with the pan seared eye of rounds and the veges. 8 hours later, it taste like heaven.

I portion the meat in 5 oz sizes (bout 45-50g of protein) in ziploc bag, freeze it. In fact I just made a batch, and the meat separates upon putting in your mouth. orgasmic.
ken86
post Nov 23 2009, 10:53 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(Florian @ Nov 23 2009, 10:48 PM)
Not sure la, I'm "trying" as much as possible to cut down carbs towards the night, and more carbs in the morning/day, no choice, had to choose the right food to eat since I'm eating out for every meal...talked to my friends to ban McD/KFC and more of dai chao food. But I feel my pants is getting tighter...not sure if I'm getting fat or it's the creatine making me to get bloated again. But I'm starting to see veins popping out from my biceps when I'm halfway training, but not sure if that has any significance or not because I never have veins popping out from my skin while training before.

I overheard a competitive bodybuilder in Melaka talking about that fat burner lipoX to his other BBer friend. I heard it will make you awake or more energy some sort, so I thought since I'm getting these narcoleptic spells, feeling sleepy all the time, should I give lipoX a shot, it's like hitting 2 birds in 1 stone, to get myself able to keep my eyes open throughout the day to study and to help to burn these fat. I haven't tried those yet and I want to give it a try. Know anywhere to get it? They are not selling it in GNC and Ego.
carb cycling involves high carb days, moderate carb days and low carb days. I am sure you are aware of that. Try to put your carbs in the morning and post workout. I will put up my diet plan if you are interested.

I use lipo 6 black for occasional energy jolt and I highly recommend it. But well try to use it gradually or cycle it, if you use it too often, your receptors starts to build tolerance towards it and a higher dosage is required.

where to get it ? BATA ?
ken86
post Nov 23 2009, 11:16 PM

406 posts

okay i will make it quick, it's bed time for me soon. I will post a detailed with macros when I have the time.

Sample day (today which is a low day, when the carbs are low , I will keep the fat higher) I am following Shelby Starnes's protocol exclusively, IF you are doubtful bout carb cycling working, I think I made quite some progress following it to the T for 14 weeks.

Today (low day)
meal 1 : 4 whole eggs, 4 egg whites, sauteed button mushrooms with some rosemary sprigs and kosher salt and one small salad drizzled with balsamic vinegar.
meal 2 : 6 oz of chicken , 1/3 cup of almonds+walnuts mix , 2 cups of brocolli + cauliflower in lunchbox
meal 3 : Shake consist 1 scoop of casein and 1 scoop of whey and 1/3 cup of nuts mix
meal 4 : Same as Meal 2
meal 5 : Post Training the shake but with 1 cup of oats instead
meal 6 : My crock pot beef (see above) plus pan seared okra aka lady fingers garnished with mashed whole black pepper (F*ck other pre mashed type, taste like smoke ash) and kosher salt and cumin

my low day are pretty much the same. High and med day has more carbs but it's running late. Just to give u an idea.

One bottle is more than sufficient. How far are your from the exams ? If you are looking for energy jolt, brew some coffee (what I do, refer to my nescafe ICE recipe in my tips and tricks post) or just put 2 scoops to cup with hot water and down it (I like the bitter taste of coffee, normally I add a cinammon stick and used it as a spoon for a nice aroma). Instant energy buzz at a low cost.

ken86
post Nov 24 2009, 02:49 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Nov 24 2009, 02:23 PM)
You guys, crack me up so bad.
jamis - depends this week is indian spiced - turmeric, diced ginger, paprika, mustard seeds. last week was the balsamic rosemary chicken I posted in my tips and tricks post.

Florian - you are falling into yeah_guyz loop hole again. Justifying for your procrastination, rationalizing (I know it's hard studying medicine, judging by your posts. But you can always display adaptability) I thought those long ass post I wrote might change the mindset of the forever "bulker". sad.gif If you don't have ur abs now and is doing the
same thing day in day out, don't expect your abs to magically appear the next year or following year.

You don't need caffeine pills, brewed coffee without the sugar!! has the exact same effect.

I've made my own ergolean amp using chocamine (got it from the states from my cousin) and following the shelby's suggestion

Power Mocha – 1 serving
2/3 cup coffee
¼ teaspoon Chocamine
¼ teaspoon Dutch Baking Cocoa
1.5 packets Splenda
Pinch of salt
¼ cup hot water

I pour the coffee, then add everything else in and mix. It’s virtually calorie-free, and the caffeine, theobromine, theophylline & PEA (from chocamine) all combine to provide a nice smooth buzz (better energy and focus, enhanced mood, appetite suppression, fat-burning effects). The chocamine and baking cocoa are pretty bitter, so don’t forget the sweetener. If any of you have ever taken Ergopharm’s AMP, this drink will remind you of that (two of the three ingredients in AMP are caffeine and chocamine). Chocamine can be purchased from bulknutrition.com.

but at the end of the day, coffee alone works but avoid over-relying it. You can add a scoop of chocolate flavoured whey for a MOCHA or follow the healthy nescafe ice I posted in tips and tricks!!
pizzaboy - lol.

This post has been edited by ken86: Nov 24 2009, 02:51 PM
ken86
post Nov 24 2009, 02:52 PM

406 posts

depends if I have any left lol , we will see biggrin.gif
ken86
post Nov 24 2009, 06:34 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(registryeditor @ Nov 24 2009, 06:12 PM)
do u know the amount of coffee you need to drink in order to get 300mg of caffeine? purely? no offence mate, but not everyone has the luxury of time to brew that special coffee of yours although it does look tempting.
No I have no idea (bout 125 - 150mg) besides that 300 mg is slightly high on a single dosage, I reckon 200 mg is more than sufficient and No, It doesn't require brewing that special coffee just mixing the ingredients together with a spoon in a cup or put it all in a shaker. I use instant nescafe coffee powder not some fancy special brewed coffee. I use a measuring spoon,measure and dump everything in the shaker and shake vigorously. and then I drink it. Doesn't take much time at all. I am a student pursuing my Masters while working part time, I am well aware of the importance of time.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0479sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:22 AM