podrunner
post Apr 4 2012, 07:49 PM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Apr 4 2012, 07:42 PM)
dear medical friends,

what does per pt and chase blood means?

Full context:

1. Pt claims hit on L side. Landed on ground then head. Per pt. Denies Loc.

2. Plan: NBM, IVF, chase bloods

thank you for your help notworthy.gif
Not a medical person, BUT was this written up by a doctor in a patient's notes/case history?
zstan
post Apr 4 2012, 08:02 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Apr 4 2012, 07:49 PM)
Not a medical person, BUT was this written up by a doctor in a patient's notes/case history?
i think so. it's one of my case studies in my medical abbreviation class lol.
personaforever6789
post Apr 4 2012, 08:30 PM

475 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Apr 4 2012, 07:49 PM)
chase bloods proabably means get the results for the blood ix..
cckkpr
post Apr 4 2012, 08:38 PM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Apr 4 2012, 07:42 PM)
dear medical friends,

what does per pt and chase blood means?

Full context:

1. Pt claims hit on L side. Landed on ground then head. Per pt. Denies Loc.

2. Plan: NBM, IVF, chase bloods

thank you for your help notworthy.gif
Pt is for patient, I guess. The other one maybe on blood clot! Just a longshot.
zstan
post Apr 4 2012, 08:45 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(iamtheone2020 @ Apr 4 2012, 08:30 PM)
chase bloods proabably means get the results for the blood ix..
hmm. blood test? seems logical hmm.gif

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Apr 4 2012, 08:38 PM)
Pt is for patient, I guess. The other one maybe on blood clot! Just a longshot.
haha it's not blood clot. Plan here means the plan to treat the patient.
wgy589
post Apr 4 2012, 10:01 PM

759 posts

not locally trained, but think "per pt" is "according to pt" based on the structure of the sentence.
zstan
post Apr 4 2012, 10:11 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(wgy589 @ Apr 4 2012, 10:01 PM)
not locally trained, but think "per pt" is "according to pt" based on the structure of the sentence.
ahhhhhhhhh makes sense now. thanks a lot! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
ex-killer
post Apr 5 2012, 04:52 PM

21 posts

Any mahsa mbbs student here?
onelove89
post Apr 6 2012, 06:38 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

chase blood = get blood test. (non specific, depending on what to order) that's how i write it too.

This post has been edited by onelove89: Apr 6 2012, 06:39 AM
cckkpr
post Apr 6 2012, 08:57 PM

4,518 posts

With the increasing numbers of houseman over the next few years and the likelihood of the gomen doing away with compulsory service, will the gomen release JPA scholars from their obligations? For engineers n other professions, they don't release them but placed them in MACC n IRB. Surely for doctors, they can't do that! Moving forward, JPA will be very reluctant to give med scholarships.
zstan
post Apr 6 2012, 10:29 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Apr 6 2012, 06:38 AM)
chase blood = get blood test. (non specific, depending on what to order) that's how i write it too.
ahhh..makes a lot of sense.. thank you! notworthy.gif

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Apr 6 2012, 08:57 PM)
With the increasing numbers of houseman over the next few years and the likelihood of the gomen doing away with compulsory service, will the gomen release JPA scholars from their obligations? For engineers n other professions, they don't release them but placed them in MACC n IRB. Surely for doctors, they can't do that! Moving forward, JPA will be very reluctant to give med scholarships.
they are already reluctant. this year they will only give those who managed to enter Ivy league equivalent medical schools if i read correctly.
BrachialPlexus
post Apr 6 2012, 10:41 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Apr 6 2012, 10:29 PM)
they are already reluctant. this year they will only give those who managed to enter Ivy league equivalent medical schools if i read correctly.
Ivy league or equivalent? All the ivy med schools are post graduate. I can't imagine any other equivalent schools except maybe oxbridge or possibly imperial college/UCL/etc, although these numbers will probably be very low.
zstan
post Apr 6 2012, 10:57 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(BrachialPlexus @ Apr 6 2012, 10:41 PM)
Ivy league or equivalent? All the ivy med schools are post graduate. I can't imagine any other equivalent schools except maybe oxbridge or possibly imperial college/UCL/etc, although these numbers will probably be very low.
Exactly. smile.gif
limeuu
post Apr 6 2012, 11:42 PM

12,293 posts

just a word of caution about the impending surplus of medical personnel....

the assumption is that the 'poorly trained' ones will be the ones who will fall by the wayside....

in real life, that is not necessarily the case....

what is the definition of a 'good' doctor?....

it varies depending who is looking....

to the patient, a good doctor is one who is nice, listens, agrees with the patient, gives sick leaves, makes them well fast, etc....not necessarily the competent one....

to a private hospital, it is one who orders the most investigations, admits the most patients, and do the most procedures....doesn't matter whether indicated or not....

to the gov administrator, it is one who agrees to be posted to where ever, without protest....doesn't matter if he/she knows nuts....

therefore, it is possible for a well trained, competent, and empathic doctor to be rejected because he scolds recalcitrant patients, does not do unnecessary tests/procedures, and wants to live with his ageing parents in the cities....

fact is, even now, some of the most successful gps are those who trained from dubious unis, performed badly while in compulsory gov service, but loved by patients because he seems to do miracles making patients recover from urti in record time....anyone can guess how/why?..... smile.gif
podrunner
post Apr 6 2012, 11:58 PM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 6 2012, 11:42 PM)
just a word of caution about the impending surplus of medical personnel....

the assumption is that the 'poorly trained' ones will be the ones who will fall by the wayside....

in real life, that is not necessarily the case....

what is the definition of a 'good' doctor?....

it varies depending who is looking....

to the patient, a good doctor is one who is nice, listens, agrees with the patient, gives sick leaves, makes them well fast, etc....not necessarily the competent one....

to a private hospital, it is one who orders the most investigations, admits the most patients, and do the most procedures....doesn't matter whether indicated or not....

to the gov administrator, it is one who agrees to be posted to where ever, without protest....doesn't matter if he/she knows nuts....

therefore, it is possible for a well trained, competent, and empathic doctor to be rejected because he scolds recalcitrant patients, does not do unnecessary tests/procedures, and wants to live with his ageing parents in the cities....

fact is, even now, some of the most successful gps are those who trained from dubious unis, performed badly while in compulsory gov service, but loved by patients because he seems to do miracles making patients recover from urti in record time....anyone can guess how/why?..... smile.gif
My guess:
How - steroids
Why - speedy recovery, so patients translate that to being a good doctor

zstan
post Apr 7 2012, 12:06 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Apr 6 2012, 11:58 PM)
My guess:
How - steroids
Why - speedy recovery, so patients translate that to being a good doctor
i think over prescribing of antibiotics would be the case.
podrunner
post Apr 7 2012, 12:17 AM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Apr 7 2012, 12:06 AM)
I thought urti is a viral infection? Correct me if I'm wrong.
limeuu
post Apr 7 2012, 12:17 AM

12,293 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Apr 7 2012, 12:06 AM)
contrary to popular belief, antibiotics do not make you recover faster from urti, which is mostly viral in nature....
zstan
post Apr 7 2012, 12:26 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Apr 7 2012, 12:17 AM)
QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 7 2012, 12:17 AM)
contrary to popular belief, antibiotics do not make you recover faster from urti, which is mostly viral in nature....
yes but antibiotics are the most profitable and gps seem happy to include them in most prescriptions, whether they work or not. correct me if i'm wrong smile.gif
CyberSetan
post Apr 7 2012, 12:32 AM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 7 2012, 12:17 AM)
.. they are given anyway - for potential secondary bacterial infection~

Added on April 7, 2012, 12:34 am
QUOTE(podrunner @ Apr 7 2012, 12:17 AM)
Not necesarily... Streptococcal pharyngitis is an example....

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Apr 7 2012, 12:34 AM

128 Pages « < 114 115 116 117 118 > » Top

0.0261sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 11:59 AM