116 Pages « < 56 57 58 59 60 > » Bottom

Bluray Players ~ V2, Profile 1.1 ~ 2.0 ~ BD-Live ~ Mutimedia

Lone*Wolf
post Dec 4 2009, 07:46 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(geforce1999 @ Dec 4 2009, 09:35 AM)
25GB BD pirate is selling around RM48 locally if not mistaken. Never bought any locally unless the original is 25G, else it will be compromised to loose some PQ or SQ to be squeezed the content in 25GB... 

I have got some exact duplicate of BD-R copies from China via a friend previously.  Meaning the copies are same size as original, be it 50GB or 25GB.  So far I have no problem on playing them on my PS3. thumbup.gif

Added on December 4, 2009, 9:59 am25GB for around RM13 and 50GB for around RM40, I think it is a steal, at least for me tongue.gif

! tongue.gif

No one could have said it better! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Lone*Wolf: Dec 4 2009, 07:48 PM
ar188
post Dec 4 2009, 09:24 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Dec 4 2009, 07:46 PM)
tongue.gif

No one could have said it better!  tongue.gif
yeah the choice of words.. ohmy.gif laugh.gif
tracktion3
post Dec 5 2009, 12:19 AM

532 posts

QUOTE(nazmanson @ Dec 3 2009, 09:03 PM)
My Phillip BDP3000/98 plays all my BDs fine but I just got two dissatisfaction

1) It can't play my GI Joe Disc 2  mad.gif

2) I also use it to watch movies that I downloaded from the net avi format plays fine including the subtitles BUT MP4 format the picture plays with no sound  vmad.gif

I chose it over BD60 and BD360 because the salesman told me, it is the only player that supports internet movies  doh.gif
in my last search for a BD player, I remember reading that Philips BDP3000 cant decode DTS master audio and can not bitstream it either. Is a big lost if a BD cant do that. correct me if i'm wrong. Cant remember de.... blush.gif
Ngto
post Dec 5 2009, 01:23 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(tracktion3 @ Dec 5 2009, 12:19 AM)
in my last search for a BD player, I remember reading that Philips BDP3000 cant decode DTS master audio and can not bitstream it either. Is a big lost if a BD cant do that. correct me if i'm wrong. Cant remember de....  blush.gif
It should be can't decode DTS-MA but can Bitstream.
chewkl
post Dec 5 2009, 02:47 PM

Peasant
2,170 posts

I "heard" PCFair in PISA SEC is selling BD60 and S360 for RM599. Those that are interested should check it out.
tracktion3
post Dec 5 2009, 06:25 PM

532 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Dec 5 2009, 01:23 PM)
You are right... smile.gif here is the review.

So, the only thing is it cant decode. Oh well.. most people bitstream anyway. tongue.gif
nazmanson
post Dec 5 2009, 07:18 PM

Smell Like Teen Spirit
1,275 posts

QUOTE(tracktion3 @ Dec 5 2009, 12:19 AM)
in my last search for a BD player, I remember reading that Philips BDP3000 cant decode DTS master audio and can not bitstream it either. Is a big lost if a BD cant do that. correct me if i'm wrong. Cant remember de....  blush.gif
QUOTE(Ngto @ Dec 5 2009, 01:23 PM)
Yeap I confirm it.....its another of the player disadvantage ohmy.gif
Ngto
post Dec 5 2009, 10:13 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(nazmanson @ Dec 5 2009, 07:18 PM)
Yeap I confirm it.....its another of the player disadvantage  ohmy.gif
Disadvantage only for people using old AVR without decoders but with HDMI which can accept decoded LPCM.
TSmoomoos
post Dec 6 2009, 10:33 AM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

Haha... didnt know trusted review also use this bamboo scene track 11, from House of Flying Daggers to test biggrin.gif

extract from Trusted Reviews

Good though it is, the Sony certainly isn't the last word in Blu-ray picture quality. More expensive players like the Panasonic DMP-BD80 or the Denon DVD-3800BD increase the wow factor further with even better detail retrieval, more effective noise reduction and punchier blacks, but in this price range there aren't many better.

This deck certainly punches above its weight with the Silicon Optix HQV Blu-ray disc - apart from some strobing in the corners of the Video Resolution test, it doesn't put a foot wrong. Diagonal edges on the Jaggies tests are smooth as a baby's bum and rotate without judder, while the HD colour bars are bleed-free and the panning shot across the empty stadium looks sharp and composed.

The deck also turns in a strong performance with DVDs. The bamboo fight scene in House of Flying Daggers (chapter 11) is masterfully reproduced, with no jaggies on the long bamboo poles, gorgeous organic-looking greens, smooth motion tracking and plenty of depth. DVD torture tests are also ably handled, particularly when it comes to jaggie suppression and detail rendering.
de_lasoul
post Dec 6 2009, 03:54 PM

624 posts

QUOTE(moomoos @ Dec 6 2009, 10:33 AM)
Haha... didnt know trusted review also use this bamboo scene track 11, from House of Flying Daggers to test biggrin.gif

extract from Trusted Reviews
Good though it is, the Sony certainly isn't the last word in Blu-ray picture quality. More expensive players like the Panasonic DMP-BD80 or the Denon DVD-3800BD increase the wow factor further with even better detail retrieval, more effective noise reduction and punchier blacks, but in this price range there aren't many better.

This deck certainly punches above its weight with the Silicon Optix HQV Blu-ray disc - apart from some strobing in the corners of the Video Resolution test, it doesn't put a foot wrong. Diagonal edges on the Jaggies tests are smooth as a baby's bum and rotate without judder, while the HD colour bars are bleed-free and the panning shot across the empty stadium looks sharp and composed.

The deck also turns in a strong performance with DVDs. The bamboo fight scene in House of Flying Daggers (chapter 11) is masterfully reproduced, with no jaggies on the long bamboo poles, gorgeous organic-looking greens, smooth motion tracking and plenty of depth. DVD torture tests are also ably handled, particularly when it comes to jaggie suppression and detail rendering.
So I invested in the right player?? whistling.gif
TSmoomoos
post Dec 6 2009, 05:45 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(de_lasoul @ Dec 6 2009, 03:54 PM)
So I invested in the right player??  whistling.gif
yup, sony's philosophy is geared towards Sight & Sound the same for Pioneer

just heard yesterday... dont know how far is it true,

if you demo "Columbia Piitures" stuff with Sony BD & LCD, it seems other brands ( at more or less the same price ) cant match the PQ of the sony

anyone sifu's can clarify or its just rumours....

ar188
post Dec 6 2009, 10:42 PM

9,206 posts

so basic sony BDP and basic sony LCD will be better than Panny Plasma (which is cheap also) + Panny BDP ?
TSmoomoos
post Dec 7 2009, 07:52 AM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 6 2009, 10:42 PM)
so basic sony BDP and basic sony LCD will be better than Panny Plasma (which is cheap also) + Panny BDP ?
thats what my fren said, when he audition with the same disc, and confirmed by other salesrep too, as they found it unbelievable biggrin.gif

no doubt, my fren settled on plasma for some reasons, he owns a 50" pamnny plasma, BD30, kuro 50 and now pending delivery of the latest kuro 60" and LX-91.....

his suggestion too is always pair the same brands, sony BD + LCD or Panny BD + LCD as it will give the best PQ combination smile.gif
anfieldude
post Dec 7 2009, 08:10 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(moomoos @ Dec 7 2009, 07:52 AM)
thats what my fren said, when he audition with the same disc, and confirmed by other salesrep too, as they found it unbelievable biggrin.gif

no doubt, my fren settled on plasma for some reasons, he owns a 50" pamnny plasma, BD30, kuro 50 and now pending delivery of the latest kuro 60" and LX-91.....

his suggestion too is always pair the same brands, sony BD + LCD or Panny BD + LCD as it will give the best PQ combination smile.gif
Sorry moomos, I believe this is not true. I think it is marketing gimmick.

How about the BD player makers that do not make displays (ie, Denon, Oppo), so in essence their do not have the optimal picture quality.

There are some advantages but it is not in terms of PQ...
tracktion3
post Dec 7 2009, 09:26 AM

532 posts

I originally chosen the Sony, but change my mind when I google more sites for the review of these 2 model. What HiFi rated the Sony 5 star and drop a star for the Panny after just afew months. The reason is they said Sony is better. But when I read other site such as these 2, I could read better review and details hence change my mind to Panny instead.

But I do agree, Panny outlook design is not sexy vs others.

Here are the reviews:

Trusted review:
Sony BDP-S360
http://www.trustedreviews.com/home-cinema/...u-ray-Player/p1

Panasonic DMP- BD60
http://www.trustedreviews.com/home-cinema/...u-ray-Player/p1

Home Theater Review:
Panny chosen as top pic
http://www.hometheatermag.com/discplayers/...blu-ray_player/

Sony
http://www.hometheatermag.com/discplayers/...blu-ray_player/

What HiFI
Panny lost a star:
http://www.whathifi.com/Review/Panasonic-DMP-BD60/

Sony 5 star rating
http://www.whathifi.com/Review/Sony-BDP-S360/

And many more if you google around.

So which one you can trust? Hmmmm well.. more importantly, it is suitable for our local use.

One of the reason that I decided to move to Pana is because of youtube. At 1st, I feel that this is a gimmick. But is kinda fund when I play with it and let it on when I have guest came to my home. I just get it connected which chit chat and drink. Is kinda.... entertaining wathching preview like Avatar, 2012 etc etc.... and the HD pictures on Picassa is really nice too. smile.gif

TSmoomoos
post Dec 7 2009, 05:32 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Dec 7 2009, 08:10 AM)
Sorry moomos, I believe this is not true. I think it is marketing gimmick.

How about the BD player makers that do not make displays (ie, Denon, Oppo), so in essence their do not have the optimal picture quality.

There are some advantages but it is not in terms of PQ...
i'm quite secptical tho, unless i test it myself, not salesman talk,

its my fren (the buyer himself) who told me, he said he saw the demo on Sony, then take the same BD-Disc... demo on other brands, cant get the same PQ effect, at first the other sales rep don believe, but at last they agree also, then maybe they say columbia pictures stuff play back on sony range gives better PQ

like the s360 and BD60 if match back their own LCD maybe Pioneer 120 cant beat them,
maybe maybe all 3 BD players use a reference Samsung or LG LCD/Plasma... pioneer will be the winner on PQ

like bro anfield said, my fren could have misled the situation smile.gif
well .... but something worth pondering
jchong
post Dec 7 2009, 05:39 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(moomoos @ Dec 7 2009, 05:32 PM)
i'm quite secptical tho, unless i test it myself, not salesman talk,

its my fren (the buyer himself) who told me, he said he saw the demo on Sony, then take the same BD-Disc... demo on other brands, cant get the same PQ effect, at first the other sales rep don believe, but at  last they agree also, then maybe they say columbia pictures stuff play back on sony range gives better PQ

like the s360 and BD60 if match back their own LCD maybe Pioneer 120 cant beat them,
maybe maybe all 3 BD players use a reference Samsung or LG LCD/Plasma... pioneer will be the winner on PQ

like bro anfield said, my fren could have misled the situation smile.gif
well .... but something worth pondering
I suspect if there is any difference it is due mainly to the display TV (different setting or model quality). Or is it that your friend tested with same TV but different BD player?
tracktion3
post Dec 7 2009, 08:45 PM

532 posts

Interesting fact about HD motion-adaptive deinter-lacing......

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Deinterlacing

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1157287

those who like concerts... some hd BD is in 1080i, so better make sure to get a player that support this. smile.gif

FYi Panny BD60 has full and the standard deinterlacing... now I only i know. smile.gif

TSmoomoos
post Dec 7 2009, 10:03 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Dec 7 2009, 05:39 PM)
I suspect if there is any difference it is due mainly to the display TV (different setting or model quality). Or is it that your friend tested with same TV but different BD player?
my fren himself is a fanatic of audio and video biggrin.gif

but his preference is on plasma, so he got the pana 50" plasma ( dont know which model ... seems whole front piece is glass panel ) ordered ...took 6mths to arrive via singapore, then kuro 50 and now like i said ordered the 60"kuro & LX91, he even showed me the receipt from Harvey Norman

well maybe setting also can affect, but the salesrep really calibrated to their best.

talking about calibration, this afternoon i dropped by SenQ in Ipoh parade, all their 8 panasonic 50"/42"Plasma/ 37"LCD was i think out of calibration except for one 37"LCD for which i consider good only

i ask the salesman, that time... Fast & Furious 4 on demo

Q&A

me >>)) are you playing DVD or BD-Disk?
Salesman>>)) BD-dsik....
me >>)) are you sure?
SM >>)) ya.... good le...
me >>)) NO
SM >>)) oh you are watching Plasma, its like that one, you see that one (pointing to the 37"LCD) this very clear and got depth one

a megastore giant like SenQ being handled unprofessionally, somemore if its calibration, then Panasonic, is also a piss off, by not sending their team to calibrate to perfection.

another instance, ipoh Parade also now at Sony Center

me >>)) how come you all dont demo BD materials, do you all have BD player for sale??
SM >>)) ya, showed me that inner corner, S350 at RM1299.00
me >>)) wou 1299 ah, i thiought got discount, penang selling for 599 only
SM >>)) oh ya, was 599 now 699 adi
me >>)) S350 old model still have meh??? i thought S360
SM >>)) ya still have we selling oni S350
me >>)) wats the difference between S360 and S350, is the S360 Better???
SM >>)) no la, there are the same la

i stopped asking ady, look at him and smiled then walk off ( wat type of sales knowledge, these sales ppl have now adays)))

thats y forum's are created rclxms.gif
soree for the long winded text.... thousand apologies biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by moomoos: Dec 7 2009, 10:07 PM
leyley
post Dec 7 2009, 10:16 PM

2,096 posts

Nice thread. A very informative players reviews here before getting one soon. biggrin.gif

116 Pages « < 56 57 58 59 60 > » Top

0.0367sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:13 AM