QUOTE(xrossf1re @ Aug 11 2009, 12:17 AM)
my company just ordered 10 units of bd-rom from hp.... looks like it is getting really cheap... at RM190 per unit 
Internal or External unit? What's the exact model number? Thanks.Bluray Players ~ V2, Profile 1.1 ~ 2.0 ~ BD-Live ~ Mutimedia
Aug 11 2009, 08:48 AM
2,170 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Aug 12 2009, 05:49 PM
QUOTE(redrum77 @ Aug 12 2009, 04:56 PM) Yeah oppo83 does support MKV, but i think that will cost alot. I am looking for an basic entry bd player. The jvc seems to fit the bill. Check out the review [AVS Forum] Post #590 Wow!!! I'm sold. *Scraps BD60 off imaginary list* |
Aug 26 2009, 04:55 PM
New PS3 Slim can bitstream. I'm holding back on the BD60 purchase until I read the reviews for the slim...
Aug 26 2009, 05:00 PM
And don't forget it will load those BDs faster than any standalone BD player. Good for impatient people like me.
Aug 26 2009, 05:13 PM
Aug 26 2009, 05:25 PM
QUOTE(ar188 @ Aug 26 2009, 05:24 PM) depends on whether playonhd meed your expectation.. Cilakak faster PM me and share share lah...dun keep me in suspense... anyway I got another solution that may fit your needs and wallet.. but will discuss with you next month la.. |
Aug 26 2009, 09:31 PM
Foosh...old sub wanna sell or not?
Aug 26 2009, 10:03 PM
sibeh elite pepur all here...I think I should start to stay away from this Home Entertainment sub-forum...
Aug 26 2009, 11:30 PM
S350 and even S360 cannot properly deinterlace 1080i contents properly but BD60 can. Perhaps sifu Andfieldude can shed more light here...
Aug 27 2009, 06:52 AM
Aug 27 2009, 09:13 AM
Aug 27 2009, 09:34 AM
Lightning strike your chest, please donate all your toys to me.
Aug 27 2009, 09:42 AM
Foosh.....got love story one...
Aug 27 2009, 09:47 AM
ar188, check your PM please.
Aug 28 2009, 09:31 AM
Aug 28 2009, 09:38 AM
PS3 cannot mod lah bro...
Aug 28 2009, 11:25 PM
http://www.blu-ray.com/news/?id=3335
Slim PS3 Reviewed as a BD Player Posted August 28, 2009 05:14 AM by Juan Calonge PlayStation 3 slim Tech site Engadget and AV site Home Cinema Choice have just published two reviews of the slim PS3, including its performance as a Blu-ray player. One of the reviews' findings is that the new PS3 is noticeably slower when loading a Blu-ray disc. On the other hand, improvements such as reduced power consumption and lower noise are confirmed. Load times The Engadget crew was surprised by the slower BD load times. They measured two sets of data: the time between inserting the disc (listening for that last little "click" sound) and having it register in the XMB; and the time it takes to get a non-loading once you click on the disc and actually launch into the movie. Disc recognition time was virtually the same, but actual loading took a few seconds longer on the slim PS3. For example, 'Watchmen' took 27 seconds to show the first disc screen on the slim, versus 23 seconds on the original. The smallest difference recorded was 2 seconds with 'Air Force One', and the largest was 10 seconds with 'The Nightmare before Christmas'. Home Cinema Choice confirmed that the slot mechanism on this model is inferior to that of the first-gen model, and concludes that "few will be impressed by the grumpy mechanical noise it makes when loading discs." BD-J Performance Engadget didn't cover this, but Home Cinema Choice found Java loading speed to be "phenomenally fast. 'Crank 2: High Voltage' "bedded-in faster on the PS3 Slim than it did on a high-end Sony BDP-5000ES." Power consumption The power drawn when watching a Blu-ray was drastically reduced, even beyond Sony's announcement. The slim PS3 drew 75 watt during Blu-ray playback, versus 167 watt on the classic 60GB PS3. Noise Engadget confirmed its initial findings: the PS3 is up to 10 decibels quieter than the classic 60GB PS3 while watching Blu-ray movies. In their own words, "during the quieter, more suspenseful moments of 'Watchmen', there wasn't any loud whirring noises this time to ruin the mood." Home Cinema Choice confirmed that the slim PS3 is "quieter still" than the original. However, it was noted that heat builds up quickly during use and the fan noise accelerates accordingly. The reviewer relates, "Midway through 'X-Men Origins: Wolverine', I noted that the console was disgorging a lot of heat through its rear vents, and at that point, in terms of fan noise it did not seem to be an improvement on what's gone before. The huge 95mm,17-blade fan beneath the hood clearly has its work cut out..." Bitstreaming of Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD This feature was confirmed, but the Home Cinema Choice reviewer encountered some compatibility problems: with an Arcam AVR-600, bitstream mode resulted in "some horrible buzzes and pops", whereas an Onkyo TX-NR906 recognized the stream without any hiccups. The reviewer concluded that there were issues regarding HDMI handshaking between the PS3 Slim and the Arcam. Bravia Sync Engadget tested this feature, connecting the console directly to a 32-inch BRAVIA L-Series TV via HDMI. The reviewers were able to do some basic tasks like navigate the XMB menu and control video playback, but not much more - you still need a controller or BD remote to operate the PS3. Miscellaneous Engadget also mentions that unlike the classic PS3, the new console doesn't have a physical on/off switch. The Home Cinema Choice tech lab measured the drive in the slim PS3 and it rated much worse than the original with CD and DVD. For example, measured audio jitter was 461.7ps, while the original deliverd only 137.9ps. And as a DVD player it's "poor", with a measured high frequency response of -6.14dB. But the reviewer remarks, "does anyone really care about DVD playback on the PS3 Slim?" [Well, going from the comments to this post, a fair number of people do, and they should bear this information in mind if they are thinking of buying a new PS3.] The Home Cinema choice reviewer thought that the new power-on and disc eject push buttons were way better than the "infuriating" soft-touch buttons on the original machine. |
Aug 28 2009, 11:43 PM
Bitstream vs LPCM mah....how to compare? Summore U use elite AVR.
Aug 28 2009, 11:51 PM
1 use PS3 to decode, 1 use high end amp to decode. How to compare lah?
Aug 28 2009, 11:54 PM
| Change to: | 0.0386sec