Serious Making Cupid's Corner great, A serious discussion

SUSDickson Poon
post Jul 28 2009, 01:36 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(ac_N1 @ Jul 28 2009, 09:08 AM)
First and foremost, this is the place where ppl seeks for advise. So this suggestion thread should be moved to Helpdesk.
And secondly the aim of an argument or discussion should not be victory, but progress.
Such sanctimony.

Half of this thread is addressed to the members here ourselves, asking us what WE can do to make this thread better, instead of crying for help to the mods for every little thing.

So please, I think you need to stfu before spouting more pithy sayings.

Added on July 28, 2009, 1:42 pm
QUOTE(nickisthemost @ Jul 28 2009, 08:37 AM)
i'm talking about rooms for improvement not about whether it is easy or hard, mods are given authority to handle immature people with maturity unlike the rest of the forummer which doesn't neccesary need to be commited when things go bad
true, what have you change about yourself lately hmm.gif ?
erm trying to be creative other than trying to make more excuses ? like chasing after a girl, we can't just jump in front of her and said "hi, i like you !" with a serious face =X

and this is so creative
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1110862

if people don't take it seriously lol
A personal question in response to a general statement, Nick?

I'm disappointed. I expected much more from you.

Also, for the record I think that Baronic is doing a great job moderating the place. He is enforcing the rules without fear or favor very consistently, and I think that is a lot more important than being polite and pandering to dumbasses who like things the way they are right now... only because they're afraid something might happen to their personal playground.

This post has been edited by Dickson Poon: Jul 28 2009, 01:58 PM
ac_N1
post Jul 28 2009, 03:11 PM

brotherhood of the leaves
1,029 posts

QUOTE(Dickson Poon @ Jul 28 2009, 01:36 PM)
Such sanctimony.

Half of this thread is addressed to the members here ourselves, asking us what WE can do to make this thread better, instead of crying for help to the mods for every little thing.

So please, I think you need to stfu before spouting more pithy sayings.
Crying for help to the mods? Only u would do that.

I don't think u know how the forums work here. I'm suggesting you to post this over there simply because all the higher ups is there, which I don't have to mention who. Only cc forumer and some mods can see this thread here, which will make no difference.

The key to make this sub a better place is actually lies within each and every forumer itself. And seriously this place wont turn into a better place when someone like u is around. When you don't like others opinion you'll just ask them to stfu. If you want to flame me, you can pm me and flame me there. Flaming in an open thread shows how immature you are.
nickisthemost
post Jul 28 2009, 03:18 PM

388 posts

QUOTE(Dickson Poon @ Jul 28 2009, 01:36 PM)
A personal question in response to a general statement, Nick?

I'm disappointed. I expected much more from you.

Also, for the record I think that Baronic is doing a great job moderating the place. He is enforcing the rules without fear or favor very consistently, and I think that is a lot more important than being polite and pandering to dumbasses who like things the way they are right now... only because they're afraid something might happen to their personal playground.
which one ?

attack the point not the person, so pls disappoint about yourself now lulz

baronic ? hmm i wonder if this is what goldfries talk about
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1110857

to cure cancer we need to find the main cause not slicing it down, do you know why people flame/troll or acting retarded ? a few new rules won't even help, see kopitiam ? how many rules had been implemented lol but it's still the same plus newcomer entering it everyday , so i think caring for everyone is still the best solution regardless they are troll or not =P
nickisthemost
post Jul 28 2009, 03:23 PM

388 posts

QUOTE(ac_N1 @ Jul 28 2009, 03:11 PM)

I don't think u know how the forums work here. I'm suggesting you to post this over there simply because all the higher ups is there, which I don't have to mention who. Only cc forumer and some mods can see this thread here, which will make no difference.

The key to make this sub a better place is actually lies within each and every forumer itself. And seriously this place wont turn into a better place when someone like u is around. When you don't like others opinion you'll just ask them to stfu. If you want to flame me, you can pm me and flame me there. Flaming in an open thread shows how immature you are.
hmm how ironic, he's telling everyone to change but not himself, hmm.gif
silverhawk
post Jul 28 2009, 03:30 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(nickisthemost @ Jul 28 2009, 08:37 AM)
i'm talking about rooms for improvement not about whether it is easy or hard, mods are given authority to handle immature people with maturity unlike the rest of the forummer which doesn't neccesary need to be commited when things go bad

Have the mods handled any case here immaturely? No? Then you have no case.

SUSDickson Poon
post Jul 28 2009, 03:48 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Jul 28 2009, 03:30 PM)
Have the mods handled any case here immaturely? No? Then you have no case.
Of course he doesn't have a case. He's just pulling a chicken little and running around crying out that the sky REALLY IS going to fall.

Added on July 28, 2009, 3:52 pm
QUOTE(ac_N1 @ Jul 28 2009, 03:11 PM)

Do you even have a mind capable of basic comprehension?

Or do you need to conform everything you see to what little you know (which seems to be nothing more than a collection of platitudes and pithy saying anyway)?

You'll need to take the effort to grow a BRAIN before I'll even talk to you in a civil manner.

Added on July 28, 2009, 3:53 pm
QUOTE(nickisthemost @ Jul 28 2009, 03:23 PM)
hmm how ironic, he's telling everyone to change but not himself, hmm.gif
Ya man, I need to "change". From now on the only thing I'll do in Cupid's Corner is to post in chat threads, just like you, and when something looks like it's about to hppen I'll jump up and down crying out "oh noez" for every stupid reason I can think of.

This post has been edited by Dickson Poon: Jul 28 2009, 03:53 PM
Cheesenium
post Jul 28 2009, 04:03 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

Chill guys,i dont want to see this to be a flame war here.

ac_N1
post Jul 28 2009, 04:18 PM

1,029 posts

QUOTE(Dickson Poon @ Jul 28 2009, 03:48 PM)

Or do you need to conform everything you see to what little you know (which seems to be nothing more than a collection of platitudes and pithy saying anyway)?

You'll need to take the effort to grow a BRAIN before I'll even talk to you in a civil manner.
Convincing yourself doesn't win an argument biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jul 28 2009, 04:03 PM)
Chill guys,i dont want to see this to be a flame war here.
Let it be cheese.... let mod close this as it's turning into flame thread.
I hate talking to idiots. They'll only pull you down to their level and pawn you with their so called 'experience'. Lolz
SUSDickson Poon
post Jul 28 2009, 04:22 PM

140 posts

ROFL!

You're trying really hard to derail and close this thread, aren't you?

Why? Does it threaten you that much?

It's quite revealing who the posters here are, who want things to remain the way it is because they feel that any change threatens their "lulz" and serenity.

No, moderators. Keep this thread OPEN.

<inappropriate language masked>

This post has been edited by samurai1337: Jul 29 2009, 08:14 AM
ac_N1
post Jul 28 2009, 04:24 PM

1,029 posts

QUOTE(Dickson Poon @ Jul 28 2009, 04:22 PM)
ROFL!

You're trying really hard to derail and close this thread, aren't you?

Why? Does it threaten you that much?

It's quite revealing who the posters here are, who want things to remain the way it is because they feel that any change threatens their "lulz" and serenity.

No, moderators. Keep this thread OPEN.

I will simply IGNORE the fu.cktards here creating a rabble assembly.
You're right rclxms.gif
Cheesenium
post Jul 28 2009, 04:24 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

So,you all want CC to be in /k forever and let /k degrade it to another /k forum with CC tag on the door?

If you want it to be like that,so be it.
n00b13
post Jul 28 2009, 04:28 PM

364 posts

Actually, I don't think flame wars are a bad thing, as long as it's still two people presenting their differing opinions. It might even be entertaining. biggrin.gif

SUSDickson Poon
post Jul 28 2009, 04:29 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jul 28 2009, 04:24 PM)
So,you all want CC to be in /k forever and let /k degrade it to another /k forum with CC tag on the door?

If you want it to be like that,so be it.
Pshaw, don't let them.

I've beaten pariah dogs before with my bare hands.

Let me tell you their behavior: these skinny cretins are very fierce and loud and they will automatically gang up on anybody or anything they think is weak or alone.

The first kick in the ribs will take all of them by surprise even as their friend sails through the air, and then when you grab the next one by the legs and dash it against the ground the rest will be running away so hard with their tails between their legs you can hardly chase them to catch them anymore.
7chai
post Jul 28 2009, 04:32 PM

online pelayan
921 posts

making cupid's corner great ? only lifeless creature do that.
SUSDickson Poon
post Jul 28 2009, 04:38 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(7chai @ Jul 28 2009, 04:32 PM)
Please don't insult people like Silverhawk, Tatsumaki, Duke Red, Deadlocks, Noob13, and dozens of other people here who have at one time or another who have actually taken the time to advise and help fellow posters here, in comparison with people who only post mindless nonsense.

You should be ashamed of yourself for saying shit like this.

This post has been edited by Dickson Poon: Jul 28 2009, 04:39 PM
Cheesenium
post Jul 28 2009, 04:39 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(7chai @ Jul 28 2009, 04:32 PM)
Making a forum a better place doesnt mean you have to be here 24/7.
ac_N1
post Jul 28 2009, 04:40 PM

1,029 posts

QUOTE(n00b13 @ Jul 28 2009, 04:28 PM)
Actually, I don't think flame wars are a bad thing, as long as it's still two people presenting their differing opinions. It might even be entertaining.  biggrin.gif
Fear not those who argue but those who dodge.
SUSDickson Poon
post Jul 28 2009, 04:48 PM

140 posts

Men, do you see those other forums out there in Lowyat.net?

Forums such as

1. Health and Fitness
2. Travel and Living
3. Careers
4. Education Essentials

We can make Cupid's Corner exactly like those places.

We can turn Cupid's Corner into a repository of real knowledge, to truly benefit people.

There are many people who fear such a change. When they open their mouths to protest you know why they do so.
^Hobbes^
post Jul 28 2009, 06:00 PM

I'm surreal only imaginary
777 posts

Allow an uneducated fellow like me to chip in his 0.000002 rupiah worth of opinions

QUOTE(Dickson Poon @ Jul 28 2009, 04:48 PM)
Men, do you see those other forums out there in Lowyat.net?

Forums such as

1. Health and Fitness
2. Travel and Living
3. Careers
4. Education Essentials

We can make Cupid's Corner exactly like those places.
Those forums appeal to different set of people with different set of attitude

Allow me to illustrate my above point in a crudely manner if you dont mind;
Start a thread in Health and Fitness and ask if its ok to eat junk food to save money , what kind of answers would you expect?
Now start another thread in Education Essentials and ask If its ok to eat junk food to save money for education , what kind of answers would you expect?

IMHO, its a no brainer to force the majority of the people here to think, act, behave and rationalize like what they do on the other forums/subforums
Rather allow the majority to dictate the environment that suits them in this specific forum.

We can turn Cupid's Corner into a repository of real knowledge, to truly benefit people.
True and very noble, but at what cost?
I'll explain more on this below.

There are many people who fear such a change. When they open their mouths to protest you know why they do so.
Perhaps some of them resent the elitism attitude that they have felt as of late?

According to this and this, elitism can be defined as

1.The belief that certain persons or members of certain classes or groups deserve favored treatment by virtue of their perceived superiority, as in intellect, social status, or financial resources

2.Elitism may also refer to situations in which an elite individual assumes special privileges and responsibilities in the hope that this arrangement will benefit humanity or themselves

3.The term elitism is also sometimes used to denote situations in which a group of people claiming to possess high abilities or simply an in-group or cadre grant themselves extra privileges at the expense of others.

Now is it not whats happening here?

A certain classes appealing or thinks that their notion of how CC should be as per their point of view asking for privileges to change the rules to their idea of an ideal forum?
And its quite obvious too that they perceived themselves as superior intellectually and social status wise as compare to other fellow forumers and thus the request for a change?
Perhaps snobbism?

Examples or am i building castles in thin air?

Right, I'm gonna do an ezralimm and attempt to impart my precious wisdom onto you noobs.
NOTICE/WARNING: The contents of this thread may offend, hurt, belittle or "put down" some people with sensitive egos or self-image issues.

There are plenty more which i dont think i have enough time to go digging them, i guess and hope its sufficient enough to drive my point across

And now pictures some what related

Walk the talk instead of talk the talk
Run a poll and see if the majority thinks that CC is broken, if its aint broken, then dont fix it
If majority of them thinks that CC is broken, im all for a change with the majority

This post has been edited by ^Hobbes^: Jul 28 2009, 06:10 PM
happy4ever
post Jul 28 2009, 06:16 PM

(✿◠‿◠) Queen of Love ⎝⏠⏝⏠⎠
7,194 posts

QUOTE(^Hobbes^ @ Jul 28 2009, 06:00 PM)

I think CC should be in /k/, so I can lure some nice fresh young meat into my Love Nest of Heaven. wub.gif

All this talk is making me so hawt!!!...ooh...i'm sweating now...

11 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0180sec    0.29    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:18 PM