Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v4, Share your joy and your pain here
cRazYee
Oct 12 2009, 04:28 AM
QUOTE(Victor3010 @ Oct 11 2009, 10:42 PM) Hey guys I'm planning to get a new Macbook Pro 15", the 2.53GHz model, for my uni probably during christmas or should I wait till next CNY for newer specs? Anyway, is it worth investing in the ACPP? i think by christmas time, they will update the spec already one verdict is, as long as new spec coming out, it's good time to have it
llsphinxll
Oct 12 2009, 10:10 AM
QUOTE(cRazYee @ Oct 12 2009, 04:28 AM) i think by christmas time, they will update the spec already one verdict is, as long as new spec coming out, it's good time to have it true la. but when new specs come out the price will b sky high.
Kyoshiro
Oct 12 2009, 12:09 PM
QUOTE(llsphinxll @ Oct 12 2009, 10:10 AM) true la. but when new specs come out the price will b sky high.  That's not for sure, apple always gives us surprises  Maybe new specs same price, who knows?
ginolo
Oct 12 2009, 12:28 PM
QUOTE(Victor3010 @ Oct 11 2009, 10:42 PM) Hey guys I'm planning to get a new Macbook Pro 15", the 2.53GHz model, for my uni probably during christmas or should I wait till next CNY for newer specs? Anyway, is it worth investing in the ACPP? Just buy it when you can't tahan at all because your hands too "gatal" d. Else wait for the next update =)
cRazYee
Oct 12 2009, 06:45 PM
QUOTE(llsphinxll @ Oct 12 2009, 10:10 AM) true la. but when new specs come out the price will b sky high.  suppose wont sky high cuz the cost for the icore 7 never have significant increment check the price here current line up http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Intel...microprocessorsi7 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Intel...microprocessorsunless they come out quad core extreme for 17 mbp then could be price different
dvlzplayground
Oct 12 2009, 11:38 PM
i dont think price will go up...normally just better specs but price stay the same. anyway, Intel had stopped Nvidia on working with chips that are compatible to intel chips (reports only mentioned the nforce, but i guess it includes the 9400m as well). supposedly intel was outraged when apple replaced the GMAs with the 9400M. i just hope the next 'refresh' wont see the return of the dreadful GMA chips
Victor3010
Oct 13 2009, 09:57 AM
QUOTE(llsphinxll @ Oct 12 2009, 11:10 AM) true la. but when new specs come out the price will b sky high.  No la, price will be the same one, just that the old models will be under clearance price, I do hope that Apple will include the i7 or i5 processor into their new lines of MBP, kinda bored of core 2 duo adi
CapKapak
Oct 13 2009, 10:43 AM

Definitely something happening soon. I just did a CTO 15" MBP and it went to ships in 4 business days when its usually 1-3 business days.
Maybe something, maybe not. Just wait and see I guess.
This post has been edited by CapKapak: Oct 13 2009, 10:44 AM
davidmak
Oct 13 2009, 11:00 AM
QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Oct 12 2009, 11:38 PM) i dont think price will go up...normally just better specs but price stay the same. anyway, Intel had stopped Nvidia on working with chips that are compatible to intel chips (reports only mentioned the nforce, but i guess it includes the 9400m as well). supposedly intel was outraged when apple replaced the GMAs with the 9400M. i just hope the next 'refresh' wont see the return of the dreadful GMA chips  Actually the licensing issues only prevent Nvidia from making chipsets to support newer i5 and i7 Intel microprocessors. The current line of products can continue to sell. According to latest news, Nvidia has stopped all development to support for future Intel processors until the dispute is resolved. Which means Apple may have a problem supporting newer processors unless it jumps back to Intel which they had pissed. OR it can do the impossible by adopting AMD/ATI which is highly unlikely. Guess the current line of products are going to stay where they are a little longer? SOURCE
dinodog_Jr
Oct 13 2009, 11:07 AM
Guys,
Where can i get Firewire to USB convertor(unibody model) at KL area? What is the price roughly?
Thx...~!
tr|n|ty
Oct 13 2009, 12:54 PM
by christmas will have new models which include mac book air? currently i want to spend some money but dont know what to do with it. so i thought of getting macbook air. i dont play much games, design, photoshop etc. just doing normal paperwork plus online. well the only games i normally played on pc is simulation games, like sims, football manager and stuff. so i'm having this dilenma not sure of getting it now or after christmas or after cny? any advise?
CapKapak
Oct 13 2009, 01:26 PM

QUOTE(tr|n|ty @ Oct 13 2009, 12:54 PM) by christmas will have new models which include mac book air? currently i want to spend some money but dont know what to do with it. so i thought of getting macbook air. i dont play much games, design, photoshop etc. just doing normal paperwork plus online. well the only games i normally played on pc is simulation games, like sims, football manager and stuff. so i'm having this dilenma not sure of getting it now or after christmas or after cny? any advise? Rumour is that the mac mini and iMac's most probably see a refresh by end of this month. MBP refresh slated for Q1 of next year. But now with Nvidia pulling out the GPU market, there's a further speculation on what good video cards Apple will use in their next refresh.
davidmak
Oct 13 2009, 01:35 PM
QUOTE(CapKapak @ Oct 13 2009, 01:26 PM) Rumour is that the mac mini and iMac's most probably see a refresh by end of this month. MBP refresh slated for Q1 of next year. But now with Nvidia pulling out the GPU market, there's a further speculation on what good video cards Apple will use in their next refresh. Yes, thats true. Don't buy anymore Minis or iMacs as they are overdue for a new announcement. We just don't know when but its near. MBP will see a refresh somewhere in Q1-2 like when we saw Macbook Pro refresh Q2 this year. I think it is reasonable to expect a resolution between Nvidia and Intel by the end of Q4. Nvidia will not pull out of the GPU market for Macs since it can still offer its dedicated GPUs. The integrated ones may continue to stagnate at the current 9400 chipset. I don't remember Intel working on any new integrated graphics other than the current 4500MHD. Maybe a Larrabee? Hmm.. its premature to speculate now.
tomz
Oct 14 2009, 07:38 PM

I wanted to get an external dvd drive with single USB corded drive for my mac book air. What are some good drives I can get that is not the one from the apple store super drive?
Please recommend n also latest price.
thanks yaaa
ginolo
Oct 14 2009, 08:00 PM
Kernkraft400
Oct 14 2009, 08:52 PM
Hope that Apple won't upgrade the specs, well not a least until not year, cause i just bought mine. Or unless they have a trade in program, that could at least incur some cost.
ginolo
Oct 14 2009, 09:17 PM
i bought mine at Aug near 2X. they upgrade or not actually don't really affect us.
davidmak
Oct 15 2009, 12:01 AM
QUOTE(Kernkraft400 @ Oct 14 2009, 08:52 PM) Hope that Apple won't upgrade the specs, well not a least until not year, cause i just bought mine. Or unless they have a trade in program, that could at least incur some cost. On a second thought, I think Apple do product refresh every 6-8 months now just like Sony is doing for its VAIO. I remember the first Macbook Unibody was announced somewhere in Q3 of 2008. Then June 2009 we have the Macbook Pro (where the 13" was upgraded). That is around slightly less than a year. So I guess we should expect another one sometime next year for sure.
lawl
Oct 15 2009, 02:24 AM
Hi everyone, I just purchased 2.26 mbp last sunday. So im considered still new to new os and machine. Can anyone enlighten me on how to transfer songs from itouch to mbp?
lemonie
Oct 15 2009, 10:55 AM

transfer songs from your itouch? i don't think you can do that. cause most of the songs are converted after transferrred unless you can find it using ssh (winscp). hmm. correct me if i'm wrong