129 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Bottom

Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v4, Share your joy and your pain here

kimurastanley
post Oct 17 2009, 08:16 PM

Freak
1,580 posts

Mac really that good???

xeichaipao
post Oct 17 2009, 08:38 PM

87 posts

mac is just an alternative if you are sick of windoze , basically it's more user friendly , less issues compare with windoze
it cost more than a normal pc but people are willing to pay for it becoz of it's apple logo =)

This post has been edited by xeichaipao: Oct 17 2009, 08:42 PM
tinkerbel
post Oct 18 2009, 12:26 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@kimurastanley,
There are pros and cons; and v much depending on what you want to use the machine for. If you're a hard core gamer, I would advice against getting a Mac.
cRazYee
post Oct 18 2009, 03:27 AM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(xeichaipao @ Oct 17 2009, 08:38 PM)
mac is just an alternative if you are sick of windoze , basically it's more user friendly , less issues compare with windoze
it cost more than a normal pc but people are willing to pay for it becoz of it's apple logo =)
definitely wrong, it's the technology and engineering behind the apple logo

you definitely got steve ballmer's laptop hunter's virus.
thinking on one site only
kimurastanley
post Oct 18 2009, 11:41 AM

Freak
1,580 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Oct 18 2009, 12:26 AM)
@kimurastanley,
There are pros and cons; and v much depending on what you want to use the machine for.  If you're a hard core gamer, I would advice against getting a Mac.
so mac is bad for gaming??
U mean the performance will be worse than windows?
xeichaipao
post Oct 18 2009, 11:57 AM

87 posts

if your computer is meant for gaming , pc is better as in price and varieties of specs. you prefer =)
Kyoshiro
post Oct 18 2009, 12:08 PM

372 posts

@kimurastanley
Usually games are developed based on windows, hence less games on Mac OS.
If u were to play windows based game on a Mac, u need to boot into windows in order to play them.
If u're thinking to boot windows on a Mac all the time, then don go for mac.
Criollo
post Oct 18 2009, 12:12 PM

Pew Pew Pew
845 posts

Not to mention the heat. The mini fans on the macbooks just won't do the job.
CapKapak
post Oct 18 2009, 02:33 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Oct 18 2009, 03:27 AM)
definitely wrong, it's the technology and engineering behind the apple logo
you definitely got steve ballmer's laptop hunter's virus.
thinking on one site only
Can't say I agree with you. The technology and engineering behind the apple logo, in case of the 'book's, plays only a small small part on why people chose to use Mac's. You can go out and get more advanced and highly customisable notebooks at a lesser price to Macs but people still go out and buy Macs.

I switched from PC to Mac back in 2007 when the Mac's started using Intel processors and since then purchased 6 'books to date. For me the switch was due to MacOSX and the fact that it Unix based, and also (important) dual bootable. So I would say it was the software that Mac's ran on that made me switch.

This post has been edited by CapKapak: Oct 18 2009, 02:35 PM
xeichaipao
post Oct 18 2009, 02:49 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(CapKapak @ Oct 18 2009, 02:33 PM)
Can't say I agree with you. The technology and engineering behind the apple logo, in case of the 'book's, plays only a small small part on why people chose to use Mac's. You can go out and get more advanced and highly customisable notebooks at a lesser price to Macs but people still go out and buy Macs.

I switched from PC to Mac back in 2007 when the Mac's started using Intel processors and since then purchased 6 'books to date. For me the switch was due to MacOSX and the fact that it Unix based, and also (important) dual bootable. So I would say it was the software that Mac's ran on that made me switch.
2nd that,

and for people who really into games , why so troublesome to get a mac and install windows just to play game? =( i dont understand , lol

lawl
post Oct 18 2009, 03:13 PM

574 posts

Any one of u using notebook cooler? As in the external fan. Macbook pro is quite hot isnt it?
devabby
post Oct 18 2009, 03:41 PM

672 posts

QUOTE(xeichaipao @ Oct 18 2009, 02:49 PM)
2nd that,

and for people who really into games , why so troublesome to get a mac and install windows just to play game? =( i dont understand , lol
Agree with you, but other than game, do other stuff is 100% ++ than window
xeichaipao
post Oct 18 2009, 04:03 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(lawl @ Oct 18 2009, 03:13 PM)
Any one of u using notebook cooler? As in the external fan. Macbook pro is quite hot isnt it?
mine is 60 celcius now but it wont burn your computer.. so... cooler is sumthing extra for the mac =)
davidmak
post Oct 18 2009, 05:02 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Oct 17 2009, 07:20 PM)
@davidmak,
Most people prefer installment plans because it gives them more "cash flow" - I on the other hand, prefer to pay things off cash; I don't like the idea of owing people $ tongue.gif  And Yes, the early settlement interest are really stupid but it's really a way of the bank making U keep the CC smile.gif
Yeah very true, prefer to pay things one time off and forget about it. Either that or postpone the purchase until times are comfortable.

QUOTE(xeichaipao @ Oct 17 2009, 08:38 PM)
I also have to add that it doesn't require a lot of maintenance to keep it in a good condition. I like the idea of installing an application as easy as 'copying it over'. Uninstalling is as easy as 'thrashing it'. Unlike on Windows where I would have to worry looking for certain folders that may harbor some leftover files and registries.. I think MacOSX does have a certain area keeping important information but its very manageable. So the notion of user friendly really applies here. Less focus onto maintaining it and more time into experiencing it.

The reason I have interests into Mac now is really due to the release of Macbook Pro/unibody style. Every single 'latest update/trends' can be bought at RM4499 like the flushed screen, 60% increase color gamut, unibody construction, thinness, magsafe feature, multitouch pad, hardware specifications, etc. Thats how Apple bought me over. Of course, I have not make my purchase yet. But I already have a decision biggrin.gif

QUOTE(kimurastanley @ Oct 18 2009, 11:41 AM)
so mac is bad for gaming??
U mean the performance will be worse than windows?
Yes and no. Yes in the sense that very little games are published over Mac due a smaller audience compared to the Windows platform. So a lot of developments and work are done over there because larger audience and market share are great encouragements.

No in the sense that games that are published for Mac really works very well. I will not say how good or worse they will be because they're both running on different ways of handling hardware like graphics, etc. Can't really compare unless you're talking FPS and other unit measurements. Still there will be correlation differences.

But one thing I can tell you is that with Snow Leopard, there are 2 things that will get developers excited: OpenCL and Grand Central Despatch. Hint: The power of harness GPU power in an OS and really the matter of making use all the cores on the CPU available.

Although GPGPU has been available over at Windows, there's no real finalized framework on the underlying side that will make it become a standard. Some people may disagree with me but one thing I'm sure, GPGPU over Windows is very technical to run. All I care is to have the OS decide for me whether the GPU or CPU can handle a particular task better.

By the way, if you like gaming on a laptop Macbook should not be on your list. You should go for Windows laptops that has an ATI HD4670 or something else.
cRazYee
post Oct 18 2009, 05:30 PM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(xeichaipao @ Oct 18 2009, 04:03 PM)
mine is 60 celcius now but it wont burn your computer..  so... cooler is sumthing extra for the mac =)
well cooler stuff is really extra to every lappie
Kernkraft400
post Oct 18 2009, 05:33 PM

Master Chief
2,977 posts

Can anyone advice on where to get the ThermaPack for MBP 13"
cRazYee
post Oct 18 2009, 05:36 PM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Oct 18 2009, 05:02 PM)
Yeah very true, prefer to pay things one time off and forget about it. Either that or postpone the purchase until times are comfortable.
I also have to add that it doesn't require a lot of maintenance to keep it in a good condition. I like the idea of installing an application as easy as 'copying it over'. Uninstalling is as easy as 'thrashing it'. Unlike on Windows where I would have to worry looking for certain folders that may harbor some leftover files and registries.. I think MacOSX does have a certain area keeping important information but its very manageable.  So the notion of user friendly really applies here. Less focus onto maintaining it and more time into experiencing it.

The reason I have interests into Mac now is really due to the release of Macbook Pro/unibody style. Every single 'latest update/trends' can be bought at RM4499 like the flushed screen, 60% increase color gamut, unibody construction, thinness, magsafe feature, multitouch pad, hardware specifications, etc. Thats how Apple bought me over. Of course, I have not make my purchase yet. But I already have a decision biggrin.gif
Yes and no. Yes in the sense that very little games are published over Mac due a smaller audience compared to the Windows platform. So a lot of developments and work are done over there because larger audience and market share are great encouragements.

No in the sense that games that are published for Mac really works very well. I will not say how good or worse they will be because they're both running on different ways of handling hardware like graphics, etc. Can't really compare unless you're talking FPS and other unit measurements. Still there will be correlation differences.

But one thing I can tell you is that with Snow Leopard, there are 2 things that will get developers excited: OpenCL and Grand Central Despatch. Hint: The power of harness GPU power in an OS and really the matter of making use all the cores on the CPU available.

Although GPGPU has been available over at Windows, there's no real finalized framework on the underlying side that will make it become a standard. Some people may disagree with me but one thing I'm sure, GPGPU over Windows is very technical to run. All I care is to have the OS decide for me whether the GPU or CPU can handle a particular task better.

By the way, if you like gaming on a laptop Macbook should not be on your list. You should go for Windows laptops that has an ATI HD4670 or something else.
actually believe you me, all time favourite is not GPU hunger somehow, like WoW. but still Mac is not for gaming......

davidmak
post Oct 18 2009, 05:49 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Oct 18 2009, 05:36 PM)
actually believe you me, all time favourite is not GPU hunger somehow, like WoW. but still Mac is not for gaming......
True, WoW favorite are not GPU intensive for the latest crops of integrated GPUs. But gamers tend to speak games like Crysis and the likes. Definitely not a good choice hehehehe... Still the Nvidia 9400M can handle some nice games, probably not the latest ones. Thats if you can find one on Mac. Speaking of titles, I believe we have quite a few nice ones over at Mac.
cRazYee
post Oct 18 2009, 05:54 PM

2,642 posts

but, developer like stop making any new titles for mac
just forget it, mac no meant for gaming, that's the fact

i found something, those so called gaming laptops, must be very ugly, bulky, very non portable design, like the real alienware, XPS, toshiba, acer..... they are big big big and big, thick thick thick and thick, heavy heavy heavy and heavy
really define the users very well, tak ada taste of choice. Even go out to street, also wanna tell ppl you're typical nerd gamers. But they never brought to mainstream in gaming.

This post has been edited by cRazYee: Oct 18 2009, 05:56 PM
hapa
post Oct 18 2009, 08:10 PM

i kill u!!
828 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Oct 18 2009, 05:54 PM)
but, developer like stop making any new titles for mac
just forget it, mac no meant for gaming, that's the fact

i found something, those so called gaming laptops, must be very ugly, bulky, very non portable design, like the real alienware, XPS, toshiba, acer..... they are big big big and big, thick thick thick and thick, heavy heavy heavy and heavy
really define the users very well, tak ada taste of choice. Even go out to street, also wanna tell ppl you're typical nerd gamers. But they never brought to mainstream in gaming.
depend... Some ppl are looking deep into the lappy spec, not jz the look or design.

129 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0204sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:17 AM