129 Pages « < 64 65 66 67 68 > » Bottom

Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v4, Share your joy and your pain here

ujoewong
post Nov 28 2009, 11:58 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(th3_glove20 @ Nov 28 2009, 11:09 PM)
hey guys just today i was trying to copy some files into my ext. hdd. i realise i'm not able to copy from my MBP to my HDD, i heard there r some restriction or something??
correct me if im wrong...but please not flame me *paisey* new user
Is it in NTFS format? If it is, you need software like Paragon NTFS to write on your HDD on a Mac.
th3_glove20
post Nov 29 2009, 12:51 AM

Bla Blaa Blaaaa ~~
702 posts

yes its NFS...
does that me ever single HDD tat plugs into our MAC hav to go thru this paragon NTFS?? btw i think i saw some article saying there r some settings hav to b change??

This post has been edited by th3_glove20: Nov 29 2009, 02:27 AM
ujoewong
post Nov 29 2009, 02:46 AM

348 posts

QUOTE(th3_glove20 @ Nov 29 2009, 12:51 AM)
yes its NFS...
does that me ever single HDD tat plugs into our MAC hav to go thru this paragon NTFS?? btw i think i saw some article saying there r some settings hav to b change??
As long as your Mac has Paragon NTFS installed. It will perform normally as you plug in every external HDD.

Unfortunately it is not free, but do try it out the trial version.

If your HDD is in FAT32, any Mac's will be able to write on it but not in NTFS format. smile.gif
cRazYee
post Nov 29 2009, 06:37 AM

2,642 posts

you can use NTFS 3G
it's free
th3_glove20
post Nov 29 2009, 11:01 AM

Bla Blaa Blaaaa ~~
702 posts

alright will give it a try... but what is the reason ntfs is not able to read by mac?
so mostly all the forumers r installed with this 2 applications?? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by th3_glove20: Nov 29 2009, 11:03 AM
xaw5126
post Nov 29 2009, 12:16 PM

3,488 posts

Mac OS X can definitely read NTFS ... wow... this topic has been covered so many times...

just cannot modify, since its a Microsoft technology...
dvlzplayground
post Nov 29 2009, 04:01 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(th3_glove20 @ Nov 29 2009, 11:01 AM)
alright will give it a try... but what is the reason ntfs is not able to read by mac?
so mostly all the forumers r installed with this 2 applications?? hmm.gif
nfts is windows technology. but at least OSX can READ ntfs.... windows cant do anything with HFS (apple tech). normally when u buy external hdd they're formatted as NTFS. USB drives (afaik) are normally formatted as FAT32. both mac n windows can play nice with FAT32.

so when buying an external hdd, d 1st thing u should do is to format to FAT32. of course u can format as HFS if u dont need it to be accessible to any windows computer. 2 of my external drives are in FAT32 cuz wanna plug into a PS3 ;p

another alternative to read ntfs volumes on OSX is MacFUSE. but if ur external doesnt have much stuff on it, i suggest u copy everything to ur internal drive, format the external drive to fat32, n copy back the files. this way u dont need to install anything.

anyway if u're not clear on how to change the format to FAT32, i'd suggest u read around n dun ever ask here...later u kena bomb.. hahah

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Nov 29 2009, 04:02 PM
defectivelasagna
post Nov 29 2009, 04:11 PM

304 posts

Just sold my old MBP smile.gif looking to buy a new MBP 13". Do you guys think i should wait til a possible January/February update or get one now?
ndaboo
post Nov 29 2009, 04:18 PM

get my manufacture defect MBP 13 instead. tongue.gif
dvlzplayground
post Nov 29 2009, 04:21 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(defectivelasagna @ Nov 29 2009, 04:11 PM)
Just sold my old MBP smile.gif looking to buy a new MBP 13". Do you guys think i should wait til a possible January/February update or get one now?
if there's no harm, i'd wait smile.gif nevermind if no i7... i5 i happy already.. heehe
defectivelasagna
post Nov 29 2009, 04:26 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Nov 29 2009, 04:21 PM)
if there's no harm, i'd wait smile.gif nevermind if no i7... i5 i happy already.. heehe
I guess i don't mind waiting, but would the price increase with a spec update?
dvlzplayground
post Nov 29 2009, 04:37 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(defectivelasagna @ Nov 29 2009, 04:26 PM)
I guess i don't mind waiting, but would the price increase with a spec update?
macbookpro refresh normally the price n go down and/or spec go up. only the latest refresh was different... from the rm7.2k model with 9600m GT... now got the 6.4k w/o 9600 n the 7.5k with 9600. but even the 6.4k model got a speedbump... from 2.4ghz to 2.53ghz.

so maybe we can expect a ~6.4k i5 without a discrete GPU. the 9600 is pretty outdated anyway. well, we can dream smile.gif
cRazYee
post Nov 29 2009, 08:21 PM

2,642 posts

i core with GT210m probably!
if intel and nvidia din increase the price, i see no reason price will go out

i sked icore 5/7 with be mainstream
icore 3 maybe
lawl
post Nov 29 2009, 09:19 PM

574 posts

Guys, how do i add apps to dock ar? Like Frostwire that kind. I cant drag and drop it on the dock. Any idea?
prasys
post Nov 29 2009, 09:36 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(lawl @ Nov 29 2009, 09:19 PM)
Guys, how do i add apps to dock ar? Like Frostwire that kind. I cant drag and drop it on the dock. Any idea?
If the app is running , right click the app icon in dock , options -> keep in dock
dvlzplayground
post Nov 29 2009, 11:12 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(lawl @ Nov 29 2009, 09:19 PM)
cannot drag n drop from applications folder?
Jing-leBelle
post Nov 30 2009, 02:31 AM

Very New Member
2,003 posts

direct drop to the dock from application shall do that job.
hellfried
post Nov 30 2009, 09:48 AM

436 posts

i just got a brand new macbook 2 days ago and immediately noticed that there was something funky about airport. i have a WEP-secured home wireless network. my wifi router is a netgear wgr614v5 and it is hooked up to my adsl modem. i have an imac (running snow leopard) which is connected to the router via the ethernet card. i have a 4 year old ibook hooked up to this network wirelessly running leopard. this laptop is not on most of the time. intermittently i will hook into this wireless network with my iphone and ipod touch.

everything was fine until i tried connecting my new macbook. it dropped wifi signal a few times during the 1st few hours of use. this was very disconcerting to say the least. initially i thought it was the position i was in and had something to do with distance. when i moved out of a 5 meter radius i could not connect to the internet at all. however when i moved closer it could pick up the signals.

after more testing i realised that it was dropping signals regardless of where i was especially after closing the lid and allowing the laptop to go to sleep. when the lid is reopened it takes about 5-10 seconds to reconnect and sometimes it just sits there until i turn airport off and then on again.

i have currently assigned it a fixed ip address to see whether it will stabilise. the reasoning behind is that i have noticed that i do not get connected if the automatically assigned ip goes beyond 192.168.1.5.

one more thing is that i see that airport is constantly searching for network even after it has established a stable connection with my home network. is this normal?
th3_glove20
post Nov 30 2009, 10:44 AM

Bla Blaa Blaaaa ~~
702 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Nov 29 2009, 04:01 PM)
nfts is windows technology. but at least OSX can READ ntfs.... windows cant do anything with HFS (apple tech). normally when u buy external hdd they're formatted as NTFS. USB drives (afaik) are normally formatted as FAT32. both mac n windows can play nice with FAT32.

so when buying an external hdd, d 1st thing u should do is to format to FAT32. of course u can format as HFS if u dont need it to be accessible to any windows computer. 2 of my external drives are in FAT32 cuz wanna plug into a PS3 ;p

another alternative to read ntfs volumes on OSX is MacFUSE. but if ur external doesnt have much stuff on it, i suggest u copy everything to ur internal drive, format the external drive to fat32, n copy back the files. this way u dont need to install anything.

anyway if u're not clear on how to change the format to FAT32, i'd suggest u read around n dun ever ask here...later u kena bomb.. hahah
understood...eventhough i format my own HDD to FAT32...but how about somebody else HHD??
this was happened to me last weekend, i was trying to save some documents out to my colleague's ext. HDD. and i was having difficulty to save the documents...that's y i bring this up to share, see if there is any solution?? or am I still new to this blush.gif paisey..
neekun
post Nov 30 2009, 02:35 PM

I'm a Mac
2,570 posts

QUOTE(hellfried @ Nov 30 2009, 09:48 AM)
i just got a brand new macbook 2 days ago and immediately noticed that there was something funky about airport. i have a WEP-secured home wireless network. my wifi router is a netgear wgr614v5 and it is hooked up to my adsl modem. i have an imac (running snow leopard) which is connected to the router via the ethernet card. i have a 4 year old ibook hooked up to this network wirelessly running leopard. this laptop is not on most of the time. intermittently i will hook into this wireless network with my iphone and ipod touch.

everything was fine until i tried connecting my new macbook. it dropped wifi signal a few times during the 1st few hours of use. this was very disconcerting to say the least. initially i thought it was the position i was in and had something to do with distance. when i moved out of a 5 meter radius i could not connect to the internet at all. however when i moved closer it could pick up the signals.

after more testing i realised that it was dropping signals regardless of where i was especially after closing the lid and allowing the laptop to go to sleep. when the lid is reopened it takes about 5-10 seconds to reconnect and sometimes it just sits there until i turn airport off and then on again.

i have currently assigned it a fixed ip address to see whether it will stabilise. the reasoning behind is that i have noticed that i do not get connected if the automatically assigned ip goes beyond 192.168.1.5.

one more thing is that i see that airport is constantly searching for network even after it has established a stable connection with my home network. is this normal?
Have you tried updating to 10.6.2?

129 Pages « < 64 65 66 67 68 > » Top

0.0327sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:43 AM