129 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » Bottom

Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v4, Share your joy and your pain here

shanecross
post Nov 24 2009, 11:11 AM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

QUOTE(MinK @ Nov 24 2009, 11:39 AM)
absolutely. well getting the lower end model for the 13" mid 2009 MBP seems to be a better idea if u have cheap access to buying 2 2GB ddr3 rams and 250GB hd since upgrading both will cost less than CAD$300 here (since the lower end and higher end model differs by 300CAD). however, i u dont want to go thru the hassle of having to find a better deal for 2 2gb ddr3 rams and 250 gb ram then i suggest getting the higher end model. since 2.26GHz and 2.53GHz is hardly noticable except when u run bechmark tests. then againn it all depends on what kinda user are u. if ure just gonna use ur MBP for simple tasks like surfint the web, chatting, office and whatnot. get the lower end model.
I just do Uni work, edit some basic videos ( iMovie ), some photoshop work , itunes, youtubing etc. Any shops in KL that have a good deal on rams or should I just get it when I get my MBP together? I'm still contemplating to either get a MBP or Dell SXPS. It is kind of obvious that Dell has better specs but in terms of reliability the MBP is leagues ahead...hmmmm.....
davidmak
post Nov 24 2009, 02:15 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(shanecross @ Nov 24 2009, 09:47 AM)
Ahh..I plan to get the first spec mbp 13inch. I also plan to upgrade it to 4gb ram. So when I get a dual OS, I can do whatever a regular Windows can on a Mac like setting up an ad hoc connection etc?
QUOTE(MinK @ Nov 24 2009, 10:39 AM)
absolutely. well getting the lower end model for the 13" mid 2009 MBP seems to be a better idea if u have cheap access to buying 2 2GB ddr3 rams and 250GB hd since upgrading both will cost less than CAD$300 here (since the lower end and higher end model differs by 300CAD). however, i u dont want to go thru the hassle of having to find a better deal for 2 2gb ddr3 rams and 250 gb ram then i suggest getting the higher end model. since 2.26GHz and 2.53GHz is hardly noticable except when u run bechmark tests. then againn it all depends on what kinda user are u. if ure just gonna use ur MBP for simple tasks like surfint the web, chatting, office and whatnot. get the lower end model.
Thats absolutely what I did for my purchase. Took the entry level model and then 'spec out' the rest of it. Save me some money too. All you need is a set of special screw drivers, some knowledge of PC hardware and you're good to go.
itypewithkeyboard
post Nov 24 2009, 03:59 PM

61 posts

anybody experiencing speaker "pecah" on the macbook?
im wondering if we were to maxed out the volume of the macbook speaker boleh pecah ka in the future?
sweat.gif
cRazYee
post Nov 24 2009, 07:35 PM

2,642 posts

well for FYI
any speaker, max volume will definitely break the speakers
when it's brand new, maintain volume below 70%
Jing-leBelle
post Nov 24 2009, 08:16 PM

Very New Member
2,003 posts

Anyone know is mac have the feature of "task manager" in Windows?
Because i feel opened few softwares and the ram eat up almost all. sigh.
Or any other way to see what program is open so i can close it?
shanecross
post Nov 24 2009, 08:32 PM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

Can the MBP use any regular laptop ddr3 ram or it needs a specific one?
prasys
post Nov 24 2009, 08:35 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(Jing-leBelle @ Nov 24 2009, 08:16 PM)
Its called activity monitor , type that in spotlight
itypewithkeyboard
post Nov 24 2009, 10:58 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(shanecross @ Nov 24 2009, 09:32 PM)
hurm yeah its the same.
u have to choose the 1066mhz or higher and you are good to go.
i think so.
i also dunno.
thinking of upgrading my ram too to 4gb.
but theres one thread called OCZ ram.
is it good guys?
shanecross
post Nov 24 2009, 11:06 PM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

if got budget, you can push the ram up to 8gb biggrin.gif
dvlzplayground
post Nov 24 2009, 11:09 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Jing-leBelle @ Nov 24 2009, 08:16 PM)
Applications > Utilities > Activity Monitor. can check CPU n disk usage as well. if u just wanna see what program is open, juz use CMD+Tab...while still holding down Cmd, u can use the arrow keys (or cursor) to highlight the app u wanna close n press Q. for more stubborn apps that dont wanna quit, option+cmd+esc to force quit.

QUOTE(shanecross @ Nov 24 2009, 08:32 PM)
QUOTE(itypewithkeyboard @ Nov 24 2009, 10:58 PM)
hurm yeah its the same.
u have to choose the 1066mhz or higher and you are good to go.
i think so.
i also dunno.
thinking of upgrading my ram too to 4gb.
but theres one thread called OCZ ram.
is it good guys?
there's a thread about this. theoretically all DDR3 1066 Mhz RAMs should work, but there are reports of come incompatibilities for certain brands. iinm hynix, micron n samsung chips are fine
itypewithkeyboard
post Nov 24 2009, 11:09 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(shanecross @ Nov 25 2009, 12:06 AM)
if got budget, you can push the ram up to 8gb biggrin.gif
mine is macbook white.
so yeah only up to 4gb.
8GB shocking.gif cost thousands weh.
hahaha
SUSMinK
post Nov 25 2009, 03:38 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(itypewithkeyboard @ Nov 24 2009, 03:59 PM)
anybody experiencing speaker "pecah" on the macbook?
im wondering if we were to maxed out the volume of the macbook speaker boleh pecah ka in the future?
sweat.gif
just becareful when u max out ur volume. tho im sure the apple engineers have set the max volume to the point where the speakers can hold out, im pretty sure after much wear the speakers can get weak and starts distorting and crack when u max out the volume.
Jing-leBelle
post Nov 25 2009, 04:08 AM

Very New Member
2,003 posts

@prasys and @dvlzplayground
Thanks alot! got it! biggrin.gif
cRazYee
post Nov 25 2009, 04:42 AM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(MinK @ Nov 25 2009, 03:38 AM)
just becareful when u max out ur volume. tho im sure the apple engineers have set the max volume to the point where the speakers can hold out, im pretty sure after much wear the speakers can get weak and starts distorting and crack when u max out the volume.
apple engineer did limit it i believe cuz in bootcamp windows the volume just boost up like mad
dvlzplayground
post Nov 25 2009, 11:17 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Nov 25 2009, 04:42 AM)
apple engineer did limit it i believe cuz in bootcamp windows the volume just boost up like mad
and VLC? ;p
THE DEEPER
post Nov 25 2009, 11:36 AM

186 posts

I'm getting a Macbook Pro 13" soon. I plan to use the machine as my main PC for my work with graphic, programming, video editing stuff...in short, so many windows and cluttered workspace. So I guess the 13" screen won't be enough. But I chose it, anyway, over the 15" coz of the portability. And with the price difference, I plan to buy a 24" or 30" Dell Monitor to compensate for the small screen.

My question is: will the GPU in the notebook be able to support high resolutions in these monitors? and how easy it is to setup the dual screen mode? any special stuff I need to know about?

Thank you in advance for helping a new mac convert. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by THE DEEPER: Nov 25 2009, 11:37 AM
cRazYee
post Nov 25 2009, 11:40 AM

2,642 posts

yes, possible to support

for 30" you need mini display port to dual link display adapter

Added on November 25, 2009, 11:41 amto be honest, if you got money for 30", you rather spend on other

27" imac for mainstream, plus macbook white for portable

This post has been edited by cRazYee: Nov 25 2009, 11:41 AM
uniquexme
post Nov 25 2009, 12:30 PM

839 posts

guys, m posting this for my sister.. she is working overseas and somehow at that area, they don't have broadband, so the only method is via dial-up.. She ask me to get her a usb 56k modem for her MBP running leopard... May i ask where can i get one that is compatible for mac? coz not very familiar with mac... i tried search mac site, but can't find the modem, but i found a few apple usb modem from google.... so i m asking is there anywhere i can get it here in JB for the apple usb modem? if can't, is there any other brand or make that is compatible? thanks

SUSMinK
post Nov 25 2009, 02:07 PM

31 posts

overseas ??? what kinda crap god forsaken country is your sister in that has a land line but no broadband ? ask the isp if they can get her one. why go thru all the hassle of duties and customs and shipping ?

This post has been edited by MinK: Nov 25 2009, 02:15 PM
dvlzplayground
post Nov 25 2009, 08:00 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(THE DEEPER @ Nov 25 2009, 11:36 AM)

I'm getting a Macbook Pro 13" soon. I plan to use the machine as my main PC for my work with graphic, programming, video editing stuff...in short, so many windows and cluttered workspace. So I guess the 13" screen won't be enough.  But I chose it, anyway, over the 15" coz of the portability. And with the price difference, I plan to buy a 24" or 30" Dell Monitor to compensate for the small screen.

My question is: will the GPU in the notebook be able to support high resolutions in these monitors? and how easy it is to setup the dual screen mode? any special stuff I need to know about?

Thank you in advance for helping a new mac convert. tongue.gif
the GPU can handle the 30". if the monitor uses DVI then u need dual-link only for the 30". u can also use HDMI instead of DVI, but u'll need to get a miniDP-to-HDMI adapter..i got one for around rm150 with shipping. if i remember right, dual-link dvi is more expensive.

setup is pretty simple. u get to set which monitor will have the menu bar n dock, n the other one is just plain space where u can drag ur apps to. one annoying thing 4 me is regarding about Spaces. both screens will be recognized as one space. so when u change spaces on ur notebook, the space on the external monitor will change as well.

129 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » Top

0.0342sec    1.14    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:15 AM